LINKBUDS

Product Reviews

MRP

Rs. 19,990

(incl. of all taxes)
43

4.0 based on 43 customer reviews

23
8
5
5
2
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

The World Has No Mute Button

WF-L900 23 May 2022 by JohnoRichard (United Kingdom)

I've spent a good 2 months with my Sony LinkBuds, and even now, they're a difficult novelty to review. I was attracted by the idea of being able to hear my surroundings (and the doorbell!) whilst working, converse with colleagues in the office, and simply be aware and present of the world around me when outside, all whilst having my earphones in, and they do certainly deliver on these fronts. Their downside that there a few situations where I’d prefer the world to be blocked out, like when commuting, or in a loud office, or even just walking in an area with heavy traffic, but the hole in each bud means this noise will be let in too. In a quieter environment, music comes through with a good level of detail but lacks the kick that come with earbuds which create a seal. The result is that I enjoy listening to music with my LinkBuds but I will typically reach for a pair of phones which block background noise. The quality of the sound will diminish the greater the background noise in your environment, and I would discount these headphones if your focus is on optimising your listening experience. Voices come through really nice and clear on podcasts and in calls, and have a very natural sound. Unfortunately, I would need to give up trying to listen to podcasts when on a particularly noisy commute like the underground. They are light weight and the fit is unique which helps if you intend to wear them for long periods of time. Instead of being jammed into the ear canal, they are secured in place by the top and bottom of your inner ear, and Sony provide difference size tips to fit different ear sizes. For me, the buds would become uncomfortable after wearing them for a few hours no matter which tip I used, but eventually, I learned to position them in a way that worked for me (and my ears simply became accustomed to the presence of the buds after a while) and I would now say they are comfy. I can’t say it was an immediate match made in heaven as some others have found, though, as it took a breaking in period. They are comfy enough, in fact, to be in my ears most of the time in a typical working day. They last a good 5 hours without needing to be in their case, and whilst a longer battery life would be ideal, I can't say it's ever been an issue. They are perfect for working from home and still feeling connected to the real world around you. I would, however, warn you that they may not be perfect for a noisy office, as your virtual colleagues will be competing with those next to you for your attention, which can cause you a bit of strain. They would still suit a quieter office nicely though. To close, I feel like this device is situational, and they will suit someone who has a specific practical use case in mind rather than the individual looking for the next best experience of general use headphones. Personally, I really do enjoy using them and will continue to do so, but if I was making my purchasing decision again with the benefit of hindsight, I’d probably go for the more conventional Linkbuds S (or similar device from other brands) that give you the choice of either letting the world in or blocking it out as the situation demands.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great idea, still needs refining

WF-L900 13 June 2022 by Lordposh (United Kingdom)

Bought these when they first launched, they are comfortable to wear and the sound quality is excellent. However, the software needs refining as they have a tendency to stop playing if you for example sneeze, I also found whilst they would be ideal when out riding my bike given the design lets you hear ambient noises around you, they would stop playing due to wind noise. I still feel there is very good potential with these as they just need a few minor issues addressed.

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

43 Customer Reviews

0

Linkbuds S

WF-L900 26 September 2022 by MehmetDEU (United Kingdom)

Ss a matter of fact, I bought Linkbuds S, not Linkbuds. However, Linkbuds S was not available in the product subscription menu at the moment when I wanted to subscribe. So far, I am happy with my product. I bought this product not only for casual use, but also during sleep as it is the tiniest hifi in the market. I have only to concerns: 1) The touch control functions even when in contact with other things than only finger, e.g. my pillow while sleeping. Fingerprint of the user could be an option to be used to active this function. 2) I received some buzzy sound while listening to a high volume electric guitar demonstration video. Otherwise, I am happy with my earbuds.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great but terrible Bluetooth Stability

WF-L900 31 August 2022 by SCookUK (United Kingdom)

These are great little ear buds except the Bluetooth connectivity is terrible. I have my Sony Xperia 1 ii phone in my breast pocket and the music drops out if I turn my head to the right or look up. I have to look left or done to stabilise the connection again. I don't have the same issue with my iPhone.

Performance

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

These are the ear buds I’ve been waiting for

WF-L900 18 August 2022 by Probity (United Kingdom)

Most of the time I prefer to be able to hear what’s going on around me, so I want buds that don’t close the ear canal. The type of buds that hang in the bottom of the ear, are not an option because they simply fall out of mine. All the other ear buds I have seen are held within the ear but rely on silicone tips to close off the ear canal so that the lower frequencies aren’t lost. These don’t work for me either because the openings to my ear canals are not circular - they don’t fit so they are uncomfortable, and they sound thin because the low frequencies are lost. So, LinkBuds, that fit in the ear but are not designed to fit into or close off the ear canal, meet my requirements very well. In use they work well and I would make the following comments: 1) The sound is very good although I would prefer slightly stronger lower frequencies. 2) They are light. 3) I’ve not run the batteries down, but the expected battery life is a little low 4) I’ve experienced some slight discomfort, but this is due to my ear shape. 5) I like the wide area tap. 6) Calls are clear for me and my caller. 7) I found setting up my Sony account to be rather slow. 8) I don’t much like the on-line “manual”. 9) I’ve not done anything with the app on my phone yet.

2

8

0

Very Comfortable Buds

WF-L900 11 August 2022 by CaptCarrot (United Kingdom)

Very good sound and comfortable to wear. Easy to set up

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

5

0

Comfortable to wear, dissatisfying battery life

WF-L900 06 August 2022 by icePigeon (United Kingdom)

I bought it on the release day. It is comfortable to wear and have many good features. However, if you turn on all the features, the battery life lasts only about 2 hours.

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Love them

WF-L900 06 August 2022 by Greige (United Kingdom)

I bought these after trying my partners. I loved the way they didn’t block my ears. They are perfect for wearing around the house or out walking. I have other headphones that I would wear for serious listening to music but these are my preference for everything else.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

The worst earphones I have bought.

WF-L900 16 June 2022 by Alaktronics (United Kingdom)

They are uncomfortable in my ears and extremely painful to put in or touch when in. This might just be my ears, but ouch. They are really fiddly to fit with the bigger loops on, but fall out anyway when I eat. Don't think you can wiggle them about to make them feel more secure or for a better fit while they are playing either, you will activate some control so they can skip a track or cut off completely. Aaargh! I got them so I can be more connected, and for this they work, but high volume is not high enough and those without great hearing will struggle to have a conversation when they are in. The sound quality is not better than much cheaper ones. I think I should have gone for noise cancelling and external sound enhancement, but because they are earphones it looks like there is a no return policy so I am hoping I just lose one and have to bin them. I'm not rich enough to just stick them in a draw.

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

3

0

Great idea, still needs refining

WF-L900 13 June 2022 by Lordposh (United Kingdom)

Bought these when they first launched, they are comfortable to wear and the sound quality is excellent. However, the software needs refining as they have a tendency to stop playing if you for example sneeze, I also found whilst they would be ideal when out riding my bike given the design lets you hear ambient noises around you, they would stop playing due to wind noise. I still feel there is very good potential with these as they just need a few minor issues addressed.

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Ear Sony

WF-L900 11 June 2022 by Henpix (United Kingdom)

very uncomfortable for what they cost too expensive bad purchase I would not buy them again I do not recommend it

Performance

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

3

2

0

Small, feather light, comfortable with great sound

WF-L900 07 June 2022 by Trekky (United Kingdom)

The first thing I noticed was the size, they are half the size of any of my previous pairs of in-ear buds and a lot lighter. They fit in the ear slightly differently to previous units, bit of a twist, then once in, they are very secure. Whether it is a brisk walk or doing the gardening I never felt they were going to drop out. Connecting to my phone was instant, can’t fault. The sound quality is exceptional for such a small unit, good depth of bass and crystal-clear high notes. I have an eclectic taste in music and enjoyed putting my new LinkBuds through their paces. Classical (1812 overture, Tchaikovsky), rock (Queen and Pink Floyd), electro (Kraftwerk and Daft Punk) all sounded great. The cannons in the 1812th sounded like they were behind me. All together a great experience. Using the touch and speech controls was simple and straight forward. Playing music was simple with all the usual actions you would expect (See specs for details) and receiving and answering calls whilst listening to music was quick and easy. The controls can be configured through the phone app which I think is essential if you want to get the best out of them. I think the favourite part of these LinkBuds for me, is the slightly different way they fit in the ear, for me, comfier and far more secure. My best buds yet.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

They are great for working from home

WF-L900 31 May 2022 by Wardey (United Kingdom)

They have okay sound, nothing special. Although, I think the main use case for these earphones is allowing sound in, which helps me listen for the door and checking in on the pets. They are the product I needed to help me foucs on my work without worrying on my surroundings.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

The World Has No Mute Button

WF-L900 23 May 2022 by JohnoRichard (United Kingdom)

I've spent a good 2 months with my Sony LinkBuds, and even now, they're a difficult novelty to review. I was attracted by the idea of being able to hear my surroundings (and the doorbell!) whilst working, converse with colleagues in the office, and simply be aware and present of the world around me when outside, all whilst having my earphones in, and they do certainly deliver on these fronts. Their downside that there a few situations where I’d prefer the world to be blocked out, like when commuting, or in a loud office, or even just walking in an area with heavy traffic, but the hole in each bud means this noise will be let in too. In a quieter environment, music comes through with a good level of detail but lacks the kick that come with earbuds which create a seal. The result is that I enjoy listening to music with my LinkBuds but I will typically reach for a pair of phones which block background noise. The quality of the sound will diminish the greater the background noise in your environment, and I would discount these headphones if your focus is on optimising your listening experience. Voices come through really nice and clear on podcasts and in calls, and have a very natural sound. Unfortunately, I would need to give up trying to listen to podcasts when on a particularly noisy commute like the underground. They are light weight and the fit is unique which helps if you intend to wear them for long periods of time. Instead of being jammed into the ear canal, they are secured in place by the top and bottom of your inner ear, and Sony provide difference size tips to fit different ear sizes. For me, the buds would become uncomfortable after wearing them for a few hours no matter which tip I used, but eventually, I learned to position them in a way that worked for me (and my ears simply became accustomed to the presence of the buds after a while) and I would now say they are comfy. I can’t say it was an immediate match made in heaven as some others have found, though, as it took a breaking in period. They are comfy enough, in fact, to be in my ears most of the time in a typical working day. They last a good 5 hours without needing to be in their case, and whilst a longer battery life would be ideal, I can't say it's ever been an issue. They are perfect for working from home and still feeling connected to the real world around you. I would, however, warn you that they may not be perfect for a noisy office, as your virtual colleagues will be competing with those next to you for your attention, which can cause you a bit of strain. They would still suit a quieter office nicely though. To close, I feel like this device is situational, and they will suit someone who has a specific practical use case in mind rather than the individual looking for the next best experience of general use headphones. Personally, I really do enjoy using them and will continue to do so, but if I was making my purchasing decision again with the benefit of hindsight, I’d probably go for the more conventional Linkbuds S (or similar device from other brands) that give you the choice of either letting the world in or blocking it out as the situation demands.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound quality!

WF-L900 22 May 2022 by Space friend (United Kingdom)

Love these nice fit waterproof and good sound quality. I love the size of the charging case fits into an already full bumbag with ease! Got 2 pairs so while one is charging in it’s case I simply put the second pair on well done Sony! Peace Salome!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great pair of discrete earbuds

WF-L900 20 May 2022 by JG21 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a couple weeks ago for whilst I'm at work. The earbuds are discrete, easily concealed behind hair. The selling point is met, they do not obstruct hearing. Do keep in mind that you will still be fractional y less aware depending on what you are listening to (e.g music Vs learning a language) The best feature by far is the talk to speech, stopping music whilst you talk and then automatically resuming. The wide area tap is a cool feature that is straight out of the future. The buds are reasonably comfortable, but I did find my ear mildly sore after prolonged (6+h ) use. This is not really and issue. I do get the odd bug with Bluetooth, but this may be due to the age of my phone and not the headphones. In conclusion would definitely recommend if you need to be able to pay attention to people on a regular basis

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Unable to make and hear phone calls

WF-L900 03 May 2022 by Spenna40 (United Kingdom)

Since i received these ive been onto sony three times and replaced them with amazon I was disconnected twice by sony customer service and the last agent only seemed to be interested in was sending me a link to a page instead of helping me Im reg blind and would like to use these to assist me with soundscape and getting around and would like to also hear whats going on around me

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Excellent Product and Excellent Features

WF-L900 19 April 2022 by Saul2022 (United Kingdom)

I bought this LinkBuds 2 weeks ago and it delivers on all counts Work, Gym, Socially etc. I have recommended them to my Business Associates, Friends and Family

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

I can hear clearly now

WF-L900 17 April 2022 by NOBODY28 (United Kingdom)

Had these a few weeks now amazing love I can hear around me as well as music I wish tho u could add little plugs into the holes to make music more personal when you don't want to hear world around you

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Linkbuds are okay

WF-L900 13 April 2022 by LiLi Broom (United Kingdom)

Im a big user of Bluetooth ear phones. And where the linkbuds is something new and innovative, the audio and comfort of these buds aint great at all. Audio quality is next to average and the fit is way to fiddly to compliment. As usual with the Sony audio range it can be paird up with (360 reality audio) which is a subscription service for concert like sound.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

1

0

Link buds offer dog walking solution

WF-L900 09 April 2022 by Skewycat (United Kingdom)

Having transitioned from wired earphones to wireless earphones, I was finding that all the products I have, block out too much external noise, which is not what I want. Having seen the link buds reviewed on the gadget show, they offered the ability to hear external noise whilst enjoying in ear audio. I have only had them a few weeks but the fit and function are excellent. The accompanying app informs of charge status and there is an audible warning when the battery is running low. Sound quality is excellent with the ability to switch from sound quality to connection quality, depending on your needs. The case is nice and compact that easily fits in the pocket and the weight of the buds is exceptionally light, making long periods of wearing no issue, where previous buds have given me ear ache from the fit. All round, if you are after buds that allow you to hear external audio while enjoying in ear sounds, this Sony product is highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good design - Pool Sound

WF-L900 05 April 2022 by Diwi66 (United Kingdom)

Interessant Design but Pool Sound Quality - - - - - - - - - -

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic sound quality

WF-L900 02 April 2022 by Morris 1964 (United Kingdom)

Great product , looks great and sounds perfect. Highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb

WF-L900 31 March 2022 by steevo99 (United Kingdom)

These are like little jewels and are very comfortable to wear and the sound is very rich and vibrant. You are not excluded from outside sounds when you are listening such as someone knocking the door or a person is calling you from another room. They are so easy to set up and I think they are great. They are very light and not bulky ugly things.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Innovative "earphones" with top quality sound

WF-L900 22 March 2022 by Michael J (United Kingdom)

The LinkBuds come beautifully packaged, with everything you need tucked into the box is separate compartments. The charging case keeps the LinkBuds fully charged and you get notifications on your phone, and via the light on the charging case, when the case needs charging. Straight out of the box they were ready to go, and linked to my iPhone (12) very easily and quickly. I already have the Sony Headphones app and it is required to operate the LinkBuds. Initially I used the medium loops as they came on and felt fine, however, after they fell out whilst I was jogging I've moved up to the XL. The sound quality is superb with very clear highs and warm lows. When walking/running these are excellent as you can truly hear everything around you. The sound is almost as if the music was being played through a nearby speaker and conversation is easy to have without the need to remove them. This is especially useful when using them on a phone call as you don't get your own voice trapped in your ears. However, the total lack of noise cancelling does mean that louder external sounds override what can be heard. I eat my lunch in a busy staff cafeteria where chatter and coffee machines etc are prominent, and found myself turning up the volume to full in order to hear the spoken words of my show. Similarly I did have these in whilst driving the van and whilst it was very helpful to be able to hear all sounds, it meant my music was drowned out by the loud van engine, but equally I don’t tend to use headphones whilst driving anyway. I should point out that I have Sony WH-1000XM3 noise cancelling headphones that I use for travel and music production when I’m not driving. I’ve never used earphones that don’t have a rubber in-ear tip and have found that after about an hour the LinkBuds do start to become uncomfortable. I’ve tried to avoid adjusting them too much once they’re in my ears to lessen the discomfort, but they’re still not something I’m totally comfortable with. I have them in white and people generally don’t immediately notice I’m even wearing them so they do tuck away into the ear very nicely. Finally, the tap control via the top of the jaw/cheekbone is very innovative. However, I have had to turn it off as when I chewed it was triggering the sensors causing random skips of songs and volume changes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

9

0

Fantastic Product!

WF-L900 22 March 2022 by Jamie (United Kingdom)

These Link buds are great, arrived in compact packaging, and are enclosed in a small compact case, which you use to connect the Link buds to your device via Bluetooth. Oh, and they also charge the Link buds too. The case comes with a cable where you can charge it and then it charges the Link buds away from a power source which is great when you’re on the move. I use them almost every day at work, whilst in the gym. They don’t fall out whilst running which is super important thanks to the clever fitting supporters that holds them securely in your ear. They are super lightweight and comfortable to wear. With prolonged use they don’t make your ears ache either thanks to the unique design. The Headphones app that accompanies the Link buds is easy to use with set up guides that are helpful and easy to follow. Tap controls are useful and if you take a link bud out of your ear the music will pause automatically. The sound quality is great for the size of these Link buds and the 360 Reality Audio will blow your mind.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

7

0

Best ever headphones for all day use

WF-L900 20 March 2022 by Makerios (United Kingdom)

These small and rather unique headphones are fantastic, they don't push in your ear like traditional in ear headphones they more slot in and although it takes a second to get them sat in properly once they are they sit very comfortably and the sound is extremely crisp and clear including in the low frequency range which exceeded my expectations. I did find it was quite important to select the correct fitting supporter to aid them to stay securely in the correct position if you get that right and you won't even feel them on and thanks to the ring design you don't need to take them out to hear other sounds around you or to talk to people allowing you to effortlessly interact with what's going on around you while listening to your music. They are easy to setup and get running with the Sony headphone app which is packed with features and settings to aid the autonomy of your listening experience for instance it can be set up to pause your music if you start talking to someone then once you finish talking your music will resume or if the ambient noise around you increases then it turns up the volume then if that noise subsides it turns it back down. Also you have gesture control on both buds for a selection of actions including pause/skip, volume and voice assistant. In my opinion Sony have excelled again these LinkBuds look great feel great and sound fantastic and when you're done with them for the day you place them in this quaint little box which then charges them ready for next time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

9

0

Sony link buds

WF-L900 07 March 2022 by zmonia (United Kingdom)

innovative, modern and unlike any others. You hear the music clear, but still hear what's going on around you, five different sizes to fit in ear perfectly although takes a moment to learn how to fit them properly as is something completely different then any other in ear headphones on the market. As you can expect from Sony sounds great! Very good for sports as they stay in place too!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

8

0

Great Sound in an Innovative Design

WF-L900 04 March 2022  (United Kingdom)

So if someone said I’m going to make some earbuds with a hole in the middle I’d of thought they were a bit mad....but it turns out they were a bit of a genius. Simply put, I love them. They let you experience the world around you, but do so whilst enjoying music, voice calls and cover everything from work to pleasure. Sound- let’s start here as it‘s clearly had to be adapted to working with the background. They have good bass and sound wide, open and natural. Allowing the background sound in makes them safe for walking around in public or for hearing that essential update on public transport. The earbuds are super comfortable and very light- which is great as with this design you never need to take them out. Think about it- we all take our ear buds out when we need to do something else- not anymore.....they solve a problem you didn't even realise you had. They've been really good for working from home and they stay in all day quite easily. Call quality is top draw. Waterproof rating means that working out is no problem and the good (adjustable) fit means they stay put. Set up was a doddle- up and running in a minute. The dedicated app allows more control and is intuitive. As you would expect there are no issues with the Battery, gets me through a day no problem. Top marks for the environmental credentials- no plastic in the package and they include recycled plastic for the product. So genius is a big claim- but these ear buds really have changed how I use an everyday item.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

8

0

Earbuds that give you auditory super powers!

WF-L900 03 March 2022 by Matt (United Kingdom)

I have so much to say about these newly released little ear buds! It’s relevant for me to set the scene before I review them though. I purchased a set of Sony WF-1000-XM3 at Christmas for my wife. The sound quality of these ear buds is really quite something and their noise cancellation abilities are unrivalled. However there were some huge downsides relating to the weight of them, sheer bulkiness and general comfort. My wife found they dropped out of her ears whilst exercising, and she also couldn’t wear them at night to listen to sleep playlists because they were so uncomfortable to lie down while using them. The sound quality we couldn’t fault though. Crisp and clear for music and all other sound types. So fast forward to me getting a pair of these newbies… I can honestly say they are a refreshing advance on the downsides to the previous set. I will explain… Dual sound You will want to know first how they will give you superhero qualities. These earbuds allow you to listen to the audio stream whilst still being able to engage in external sound. But it doesn’t affect the quality or level of engagement with the audio feed from them. This is still as satisfying and creates great sound that’s is crisp and well balanced. The superhero bit is that you’re not locked out of the outside world. You just have a dual sound feed. It’s a bit strange to get used to but as a cyclist this is invaluable. I can still hear road noise and feel connected to risks and hazards while riding yet can still enjoy my playlist. It also helps with night time use in that I can still hear if the children are calling out. I’ve also worn them during a train journey and could clearly acknowledge the journey announcements while listening to a podcast. You can have a conversation whilst the music is still playing into your ear (although my wife says I do speak a bit louder lol). So clever though. I know some will want a noise cancellation facility and these do not have that facility. But for me I like that I can still get a sense of what’s happening around me without having to take them in and out of my ear all the time. Shape and comfort These earbuds are a completely different shape than standard in ear headphones, have two sections that fit snugly into the ear space and sit flush with the side of the head rather than protruding. The small silicone loops help keep them firmly in place and don’t lose their shape or get grubby. This means they are ideal for exercising and wearing in bed as well as general use. Charging case The case for the buds is compact and well designed, and of great quality. The outer exterior is smooth to touch and nicely tactile to hold. The buds are so easy to repack. They sit flat in the case and it’s totally obvious which way round they should go. This is unlike the apple AirPods which had me spinning them back and forth until they clicked. Battery life The charging case gets to full battery really quick and then offers 3 re charges of the ear buds before it needs to be re charged. This is great for longer usage or where there isn’t easy access to a charge point. The earbuds transfer charge from the case rapidly too. I’ve been really happy with this. Connectivity The earbuds require set up via the Sony app but once this is done, they connect quickly and seamlessly to my iPhone on opening of the case. I haven’t experienced any sound drop out and the functionality of the buds for volume control and track changes works perfectly. Overall I would highly recommend these earbuds that offer something fresh and different in this space right now. And it’s good to have used Apple AirPods and another Sony personal sound product so there I have a direct comparison and subsequent appreciation of the features of these ear buds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

8

0

Really innovative.

WF-L900 02 March 2022 by TheOtherOne (United Kingdom)

Sounds really good and solves a big problem with hearing your environment and dangers around you. Comfortable for me but wife couldn’t wear them, so bit hit or miss. Much better with the tap controls rather then the touch controls of the larger headphones. Not effected by wearing a hood unlike the over head headphones. Not amazing on the bass but to be expected with a hole in the middle, otherwise really happy with the sound.

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

8

0

Great comfortable link buds

WF-L900 01 March 2022 by Edward (United Kingdom)

These link buds are by far the most comfortable in ear headphones I have ever used. Over the years I’ve tried many in ear type products but these do feel like they could be worn all day without causing any discomfort at all. I like that they come with a selection of the small rubber loops so that you get a comfortable snug fit without the buds falling out or feeling too tight. I’ve found the real beauty of these buds is that you can have them on around the house listening to whatever you fancy but can still hear what’s going on within the house as they almost do the opposite to some other products that have noise cancelling feature meaning you can’t hear what’s going on around you whilst still listening to your favourite songs etc. One example of this was I was listening to a podcast whilst my baby was napping and I had the monitor next to me. I was able to listen out to the monitor and to my podcast without either interfering with one another, win/win. I’d say the sound quality on these little buds is good and for most people for general use will not be disappointed however if you really like a strong base and thumping dance music these may not be your best choice. I’m happy with them as they meet my needs, are easy to link, comfortable and very user friendly. I like the double/triple tap on your jawline feature to play/pause and skip and think they offer something a little bit different to your usual ear buds or over the head headphones. The battery life is good and if needs be a quick charge in their case and they are back up and running in just a few minutes. Great, comfortable set of ear buds.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

8

0

Sony’s game changer

WF-L900 28 February 2022 by Fitzy (United Kingdom)

These ear buds are fantastic, the case in which they come in is super cool and light. I’m not a big fan of using ear pieces, I have found them to be very uncomfortable in the past, but since I started using these I have to say I haven’t really noticed them at all. From playing music or using them to make and receive calls they are brilliant I love them so much.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

9

0

Surprising for sure!

WF-L900 28 February 2022 by Iain Mc (United Kingdom)

Only had the Linkbuds for a week, but so far I really enjoying them. I was a bit skeptical with the doughnut style design if I’m honest, but I’m actually preferring them over my in ear buds I normally use. They are very unique and……different, but in a strangely good way. The biggest thing for me is ear fatigue, if that’s even a thing. It happens to me from wearing them for extended periods of time. I find that the links are very comfy in that regard. I tried out a few of the adjusters but the ones that are on as standard ended up being ideal for my ear shape. I barely feel these sitting in my ear, so I get the ‘every day’ aspect. The design is unique, the case is very small and compact, which it needs to be. The links are tiny yet feel strong and sturdy. Sound quality is good and on par with most other buds. It’s clear and punchy if you adjust the equaliser through the Sony Headphones app, which in itself is a really good feature. I especially like the 360° audio which gives the impression you’re in the same room with sound coming from all angles in front and behind. It links seamlessly with my mobile and other devices. One thing I didn’t think I would use as much as I am is the voice integration. Alexa is my go to just now!! The tap gestures to play, pause, skip etc are a nice touch. Modern technology at its best really. Battery duration has been very good and the case keeps them going for longer. I’ve yet to really test the quick charge, but that will come. One thing I’ve only briefly tried out is the Microsoft Soundscape collaboration. It’s a really cool feature and I’m looking forward to testing them out as I wander around my city and when visiting others. Honestly give it a try for yourself to see what I mean. There’s plenty of guides in the packaging which I believe is made with all recycled materials, as are the Linkbuds I think. If pocket guides aren’t your thing, quick scan of the QR code and your off. Simple. Surprising little things with big ambitions! My new go to earbuds!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

8

0

Stunning ‘in-ear’ option

WF-L900 28 February 2022 by John-Patrick (United Kingdom)

So these were very intriguing when I seen the announcement stream; the hole in the middle to allow sound in for a safer listening experience had me intrigued about sound bleed where those noises would interfere with the listening experience. Also I was excited as these were the first ‘in-ear’ earphones, which don’t actually go inside the ear canal - I suffer with ear infections and so can’t really use earphones, because they make them worse or cause an infection as the ear canal can’t ‘breathe.’ These provided hope of a solution. I want to personally thank Sony for these earphones, as I actually have a pair of ‘in-ear’ earphones I can use, as these allow me to experience wonderful sound quality and the convenience and portability of earphones, thanks to them not actually entering the ear canal. I am also delighted to say that Sony has worked some scientific magic with these earphones: sound quality is wonderful; voice isolation is fantastic and call quality is amongst the best I’ve had reported by one friend who is a particular pain about call quality. Now don’t misunderstand me, the sound quality is wonderful, but it doesn’t replace the dynamic range and quality of high-end headphones such as the Sony WH-1000XM4 or in-ear high-end earphones such as WF-1000XM4 - but it comes extraordinarily close! But if you’re expecting that, you’re missing the point of these earphones; the sound quality is good enough and so well balanced that you can listen to literally any genre (I tried every genre I could find) using a range of streaming services, set to highest quality - taking advantage of Sony’s proprietary DSEE wireless standard - and you lose very little detail in sound, a little bit of punch from the bass - though notably not much and these earphones are so light, comfortable and do their job so well, that for casual listening and/or phone calls, and especially price range, you can’t beat these in my opinion. Oh and I felt this deserved its own little section, the pairing process is completely seamless and very, very similar to a competitors set of earphones connection process. You open the case and remove the earphones from the case near to an Android smartphone, and it will pop-up and say ‘Connect’ tap connect and that’s it, you’re done. There is a manual connection button on the case to connect to the iPhone; both work well, but you will get the best experience on Android thanks to the DSEE transfer protocol and the connection process. Also the use of recycled plastic and keeping the footprint as low as possible is something that shouldn’t be overlooked, but rather championed. They’re not perfect, there is definitely a technique to placing them on the ear lobe correctly to ensure optimum sonic performance and for them to remain secure ‘in’ the ear. However once you do place them correctly you get long battery life; wonderful sound quality; great call quality and access to all the features one would expect in a higher-end pair of earphones. If you’re an audiophile who gets easily annoyed at less than perfectly punchy lows and full sonic dynamic range, then you wouldn’t be looking to use these anyway, as you already know the importance of a multitude of factors which make earphones incredibly difficult to give you a ‘perfect’ audio experience - though I stress that the compromises here are small and should only affect the most die-hard audiophiles. But for the vast majority of people and audiophiles who are willing to forgive the minor drop in dynamic range and slightly less punchy lows for the portability and comfort; these are a no-brainer option. I tested movie playback, across all genres; podcasts; lectures and music across all genres and found the sound quality to be exemplary, especially for their size, weight and comfort.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

35

11

0

Sony earbuds are killing it with these latest buds

WF-L900 27 February 2022 by Kieron d (United Kingdom)

Wow factor EarPods. Excellent sound with useful features. Feel lightweight in the ear and Crystal clear sound. Adaptive volume control is great for improved experience, would highly recommend these buds

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

9

0

Link Buds great set of earphones

WF-L900 27 February 2022 by Darren Angell (United Kingdom)

These sony link buds are the best earphones ive used.really good fit in the ear,easy to set up and fantastic sound quality.love the extra features and the ability to hear other things while listenibg to mudic etc.decent charge time and good connectivity.all in a great piece of tech

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

10

0

Not while eating soup

WF-L900 27 February 2022 by Fredrik (United Kingdom)

I have been using the Some WH-1000XM3 for some time and whilst I appreciate getting completely shut away with noise cancelling for music or a film, the LinkBuds let me do the opposite. With these I am part of the conversation around me whilst enjoying music. It is down to the clever design feature letting sound pass through the ear piece. With a simple double tap on my face (cheekbone) you can pause and resume music. This works flawlessly. A triple tap skips to the next track. The LinkBuds can distinguish between speech around you and when you talk so it automatically pauses music when you start talking. This is a really good feature, particularly at work. Unfortunately pauses happen if you have a cough or try to sing along to a beat :-) Music resumes automatically after a pre-set time of quietness. I read some people think these are not loud enough but I do not feel that is the case. Not even when driving I felt the need to go full volume. There are separate size loops to fit around each earpiece that help these stay in place. It is important to pick the right size. I had a too large loop fitted initially and it made my ear ache after a while. I have had no problems with the buds falling out apart from while eating, so maybe don't use them over a bowl of soup :-) The charging case is great, good solid quality with a charging light indicator. It amazes me how small both the buds and the case are. The buds are good for being dropped on a hard floor, this happened to me a few times without any marks or damage. In-call sound/volume is excellent and people I talk to have no problem hearing me. I didn't expect to appreciate the LinkBuds as much as I have.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

10

0

Great looking comfertable linkbuds

WF-L900 27 February 2022 by Tom C (United Kingdom)

These Linkbuds are pretty cool, they look really stylish and fit in the ear comfortably and dont seem to fall out when jogging, I had them in my ears for about 4 hours non stop and almost forgot they were there! I love the fact that I can hear the environment around me when listening to music thanks to the linkbuds design. Makes me feel I can be still aware of my surroundings and at the same time enjoy my favourite music. I love the cheek tap functions to control what im listening to. I also really like the fact its all made with recycled plastic and the packaging has no plastic at all, it has a really high end luxury feel. The sound the linkbuds produce is clear and engaging. For people who love their bass the Linkbuds are probably not for you. Due to the design, the speakers are donut shaped which means the sound is not very rich and lacking bass but to most people its acceptable considering this is a new style headphone. Overall i would reccomend if your not too fussy on a bass rich sound. Its super comfertable to wear out and about and looks really stylish.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

10

0

What sorcery is this?!

WF-L900 26 February 2022 by Inderpreet (Indy) Matharu (United Kingdom)

A new category is born! Frankly Sony have invented a whole new concept and it's truly impressive. I work from home and situational awareness is something that I absolutely need whilst taking calls, listening to meetings or just enjoying music/podcasts throughout the day. Furthermore, call quality/mic has proven to be a hit with my colleagues and family on the other end of the line. The charging case is absolutely tiny, super useful for portability, fits in any pocket. Even the unboxing experience had me shocked, beautiful eco friendly packaging that was miniscule. The app experience is clear and concise and easy to follow. I quickly made a few tweaks using the equaliser to make a custom preset and voila I was off. The audio quality is truly an experience. It's as if it's all coming from inside your head. Multi-tasking has become really easy since using these, I can concentrate on the audio coming from the LinkBuds whilst also hearing my surroundings. It's all very natural and open. There's a surprising amount of bass for a product of this new category. I was expecting a thin sound, but nope... It has body and sounds great. The battery life is perfectly comfortable to get me through a full day of usage, I usually put them away for lunch breaks in their case to top them off and resume another full session of listening. Long story short. I absolutely love the LinkBuds, I have already recommended them to everyone. Bravo Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

9

0

Captivating design,clear sound but the cushions!

WF-L900 26 February 2022 by VickyA (United Kingdom)

I was captivated by the design. I have not seen an ear bud like this before, I was not surprised that I fitted it in wrongly initially. I inserted the ball part (with Sony inscription) into my ear and the sound wasn't right at all. There was no photo on the box to show how it can be used appropriately but a quick look on Sony website solved the problem. Then the sound check: clear and refreshing sounds but lacking bass. No noise cancelling at all. After about 5 days of rocking this piece of engineering, I would say the cushions (the mounting of the bud into the ear) are the problem!!! In less than an hour of use, my ear started hurting badly. I tried changing the cushions (about 10 extra cushions were in the box), no joy. I even doubled the cushions on each bud just to try my luck, but it didn't help either. The second problem is the connection. A meter or two away from my device, and I started hearing cracking noises, music stopping and starting again. In conclusion, perhaps, the shape of my ear could be the problem? The clear sound is refreshing but the mounting/cushioning, is a major setback for me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

9

0

Sony aiming for a niche too far?

WF-L900 25 February 2022 by MarkyMark (United Kingdom)

These newly designed Sony LinkBuds certainly look futuristic. Before that though I was impressed by the plastic free packaging which seemed to be fully recyclable. The small case which is made from recycled plastic has a nice mottled appearance. It is not as small as the Apple AirPod case and does not have wireless Qi charging which was a disappointment as was the hinge was allows the lid to flop closed when open. Enclosed USB-A to USB-C charging cable very short! The case weighed 41.7 g with the LinkBuds inside. Each LinkBud weighs just 4g or so, so pretty small and light. Thankfully IPX4 water resistant. Connected to Bluetooth quickly. Solid connection. The Sony Headphone Connect app allows you to customise the sounds and features, such as touch control quite extensively. Not for the not so good: due the design and where they sit in the outer part of the ear pinna, they can be uncomfortable over time. Not helped by the hard plastic which the main “doughnut” speaker is made of. Also as they are designed to allow you listen to music AND listen to the outside world, I did not find the sound quality as stellar as just about all previous Sony head or earphones I have previously tried. Typical Sony “warm” sounding but Lacking in base. Mids and trebles become harsh during rock music tracks. But for spoken speech/YouTube videos (vocal heavy) I thought they were very good indeed.They can still fall out too easily especially if you touch your ear for example. Nice to wear in bed as they are so small but if you turn on the pillow then this would cause them to fall out! Battery life ok. A bit below average in comparison to Apple AirPods. I am sure they will be a good fit for some people or for some forms of employment but are not for me. When I listen to music I want to feel the music. The ear/headphone industry is highly competitive at this price point and these Sonys are bit average overall but beautifully designed and made.

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

16

16

0

Great earbuds

WF-L900 23 February 2022 by L_O_D (United Kingdom)

I have had a lot of difficulties finding earbuds fitting my ears without being painful and was looking for earbuds which would still allow me to hear my surroundings. If you are in the same situation, look no further! These earbuds give a great background music but still allow you to hear someone calling your name in the office, but pump up the volume a bit, and you can still feel in your own bubble. I've been reading the low rated review and can honestly say that the concept of these earbuds doesn't seem to be understood. If you're looking for noise cancelling and being fully disconnected from your environment, then go for the WF-1000XM4. But if you're looking for good earbuds that don't need to be taken off to start a conversion, I would recommend the Linkbuds. They are also extremely comfortable, once you find the soft silicone top that fits your ears best, and Sony added 5 different sizes, so you're bound to find the right fit!

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

App crashes everytime I open it

WF-L900 19 February 2022 by Ranger76 (United Kingdom)

I have bought most of Sony's earbuds and am a loyal customer. I was very excited about these new buds. However, everytime I try to connect to the app, it crashes. Therefore all the options that should be available to me, aren't. The fit on these buds are awful. The only wings that keep them in place, hurt my ears after 10 minutes playing. Another own goal from Sony. I will be returning for a refund.

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

7

0

poor bass, difficult to get a good fit

WF-L900 19 February 2022 by Demario (United Kingdom)

I was so excited for this product. I love the concept of being able to hear the outside world (especially as a cyclist). But unfortunately, the sound quality is lacking and it's a real pain to try and figure out how to put them in properly. It doesn't help that you'd ideally see your ear to know if it's in properly, and... well your eyes are not positioned to do so.

Performance

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

8