Article ID : 00161575 / Last Modified : 24/04/2023Print

What are the compatible HDR (High Dynamic Range) formats on my BRAVIA TV?

    IMPORTANT: This article only applies to specific products. Please check the Applicable Products of this article.

    Table of Contents

    What is the HDR (High Dynamic Range)?

    HDR enables handling of brightness information of a wide dynamic range compared to SDR (standard dynamic range) signals used in normal broadcasts. This reproduces shades in bright areas that tend to have blown out highlights and tones in dark areas that tend to be lost. It allows for reproduction of images with depth and three-dimensional effects that make it feel as if you were seeing it with your own eyes.

    Overview of each format

    • HDR10:
      An HDR technology standard used with Ultra HD Blu-ray.
    • HLG (Hybrid Log-gamma):
      HLG, as the name suggests, is a “hybrid” format that enables the output of HDR images similar to HDR10 and Dolby Vision. It can also express pictures with well-balanced brightness even in TVs in SDR (standard dynamic range).
    • Dolby Vision:
      One of the HDR technology standards developed by Dolby. It brings scenes to life with striking highlights, deeper darks and vibrant colors. Dolby Vision is an HDR solution that creates an immersive, engaging cinematic experience in your home. For further information, please refer to the following video:

    Compatibility table

    Choose your TV type.
    Note: For your TV model type, refer to the How to check if your BRAVIA TV is a Google TV™, Android TV™, or other TV article.

    Google TVs or Android TVs Other TV models