Android™ 7.1, 8.0
If you’ve forgotten your screen lock PIN, password or pattern, you might be able to reset it. However, it is important to note that you lose all content stored on the internal storage of the device when resetting the screen lock.
Try one of these methods to reset your screen lock:
A. Using Find My Device to reset your device – Only a reset that erases all content on the internal storage and the external SD™ card of the device is possible.
B. Using software repair to reset your device – Only a reset that erases all content on the internal storage of the device is possible. No content on your device is kept.
A. Using Find My Device to reset your device
Note! Make sure you know your Google™ account username and password. You have to use them to be able to use your device after the reset.
This reset method requires that you have previously enabled Find My Device on your phone. The phone must also have an active internet connection (Wi-Fi® or mobile network). A full factory data reset is performed when you choose this method. All content on your phone will be deleted. In some cases, the content on the SD card might not get erased during a reset using Find My Device.
If your SD card isn't encrypted, you can remove it before you perform the reset in order to prevent its content from being erased. If you're using your device in a corporate environment however, your IT department may have enforced encryption on the SD card in your device. In this case, the content of the SD card is erased or made unreadable when you perform a reset even if you remove the card beforehand.
To reset the device using Find My Device
- On a computer or in a mobile browser, go to https://www.android.com/find.
- Sign in to the Google Account that you previously added to your device.
- If you have more than one device, select the device that you're locked out of at the top of the screen.
- Select Erase. Be aware that this action will permanently erase all of your data, for example, your apps, photos and music. After you erase the content of your device, Find My Device will no longer work on it.
- After you remotely erase the content of your device, you can set up your device again with your Google account and a new screen lock.
B. Using the software repair feature to reset your device
Tap or click here to contact us for advice on how to do a software repair. A software repair resets the device. A reset erases all content on the internal storage of the device. No content on your device is kept.