Article ID : SX520104 / Last Modified : 17/05/2021

Will I lose my data when I perform a software update?

    Information / Solution

    In the majority of cases, a software update does not remove any personal data from your Xperia™ device.

    We do recommend, however, that you back up photos, videos and other personal content to a non-internal memory, for example, an online backup option which saves your data to online servers (the cloud). You can do this using 

    Android 10 or 11: Settings > System >  Backup 

    Android 9 : Settings > System > (Advanced) > Backup 

    Android™ 8.x : Settings > System > Backup

    Lower Android™ versions : Settings > Backup & reset