Article ID : SX067704 / Last Modified : 01/06/2020

Will I lose my data when I perform a factory reset?

    Note! Before performing a factory data reset, make sure you know your Google™ credentials. Depending on your security settings, you may need to enter them in order to start up the device after a factory data reset. If you do not remember your Google account name or password, you can recover them using the Google Account Recovery page at https://www.google.com/accounts/recovery/. If you still can't reactivate your device, contact us.

    When you perform a factory data reset, you erase all personal data stored on the internal storage of your Xperia™ device.

    The following are examples of data that gets overwritten:

    • Your Google account and other accounts
    • Contacts
    • Calendar items
    • Notes
    • Messages (sent via SMS, MMS and email)
    • Applications and application data including game high scores
    • Photos, videos and music
    • Settings
    • Bookmarks

    Photos, videos, music and documents stored on an SD card do not get erased during a factory data reset.

    Note! Make sure that you always back up data stored on the internal storage that you want to keep before performing a factory data reset.