90

4.2 based on 90 customer reviews

52
21
8
4
5
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sounds good.

HT-ZF9 03 April 2020 by bratters (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needs a way to program preferred HDMI input/ output so you don't need to change it every time you power on. But the sound is very clear and spacious. Sub woofer works a treat just behind my seating position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Technically flawed

HT-ZF9 28 March 2021 by Chis44 (United Kingdom)

This product has the following technical problems: Does not stay connected to the subwoofer (the sound drops out for no reason). Looses connection to the Subwoofer permanently requiring a factory reset). Losses connection the Rear Speakers. When connected to a Sony TV over eARC and using the TV apps (eg Netflix) the sound drops out completely and require a power cycle to resume. There are people complaining about these issues from 2 years ago on AB forums, but these have not been addressed by Sony. For a £1000 soundbar and rear speaker this is totally unacceptable. My previous Sony Soundbar (SA-NT3) had a wireless subwoofer and in 4 years never Lost connection once. I cannot recommend this product at all. I have contacted technical support but the just asked my to connect to another TV and give it a factory reset. Also the manual states to connect the Subwoofer by cable if you have connection issues, but does not explain were to plug this (there is a hidden 3mm jack in the subwoofer, but nothing on the soundbar?) It needs a serious firmware update Sony! lost connection once.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

14

0

90 Customer Reviews

0

Amazing

HT-ZF9 12 January 2022 by Haroon54 (United Kingdom)

Really impressed with this sound bar have upgraded from yamaha

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Soundbar for the price

HT-ZF9 03 January 2022 by CH82 (United Kingdom)

I have had this about a month now and it really makes a difference. I used to think the speaker on the TV was decent (Sony TV with Atmos speaker), but after having this it now doesn't sound the same. I like the fact you can turn the subwoofer off for watching normal TV, so sounds more like a normal TV sound, or turn the sub up for a true cinema feel. Although I can imagine rear speakers would make a bit of a difference, I think the surround sound is still good enough that it's not really worth the extra.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

excellent sound

HT-ZF9 28 December 2021 by mark1958hjkijjuuuuuuhbyfv (United Kingdom)

excellent sound powerful easy to use would recommend to anyone

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sounds very good

HT-ZF9 25 December 2021 by DJAW (United Kingdom)

Works well with my Sony TV and sounds good, main disappointment is a week after I purchsed the main box I went to purchase the rear matching wirelss speakers only to find they had been discontinued. Been nice to have been warned that was going to be the sae so disappointed.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

No expert but love it

HT-ZF9 16 December 2021 by MikeeeE (United Kingdom)

I've had this about 2 years, bought with rear speaker. Work well seemless integration TV and peripherals. Given room size and shape this was perfect solution for me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Quality Dolby Soundbar, even better 'wired'

HT-ZF9 13 December 2021 by VCR959 (United Kingdom)

I bought this soundbar after reading many, and I mean 'many' reviews if not all that was out there. Some people seem to have no signal 'drop out' while others do. I did not have an issue with drop out with my subwoofer until i managed to find some new rear speakers to give me the proper 5.1 surround sound, believe me it makes a world of difference, if a bit on the pricey side, anyway as soon as I paired them up to the unit, the Subwoofer did not like it and kept cutting out making the sound on the light side and not immersive. I tried everything suggested by people on the various forums that had suffered these issues, then I read on one of the forums that there were 'secret' jack ports hidden under hard plastic glued on covers (which can be removed fairly easily) that Sony does not mention on the unit and all of the speakers, so I removed them to take a look purchased some high quality 3.5mm jack cables and har wired them all to the sound bar and it now sounds terrific with no issues whstsoever, in an ideal world you wouldn't need the speaker cables, and the unit would work wirelessly as described, but mine was not an ideal world and I could hide the cables. You know there is no shame on Sony to say that if you struggle with the wireless option, you can actually wire them for a more solid solution, and revesl where the ports are. The power lights change to a yellow/ orange colour when wired instead of green. The Soundbar is brilliant for the price, 'galaxies' better than previous ones I have had and give you full width and height, stereo seperation excellent, no issues with 'undefined',, 'muddy' or 'confused' sound some have reported, all very clear and defined to me, Dolby Virtuslizer is brilliant for non-Atmos content, DTS sounds fab as well. These units are lower in price now that they are end of line, go and grab one while you can they are future proof with HDMI 2.1 eARC. I do get the sensation of overhead travel up to a point, and the rear speakers help that sensation, the odd little nuanced sounds coming from the right and left and above me are amazing considering only 3 front facing speakers, I dont know how it works but sounds great. Search online for rear speakers in stock somewhere, maybe not in the uk any more though, because they are worth it if you dont mind 'coughing' up about £2-£300. The bar and subwoofer still do an excellent job though and shoul pair up as intended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

nightmare

HT-ZF9 13 December 2021 by onvcrew (United Kingdom)

sony sell brand new units as a full atmos but they forget that rear speakers are not in sell anymore! You can only buy second hand, if you are lucky. So you have no option to upgrade to full set.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Cant get rear speakers anywhere for this model

HT-ZF9 21 September 2021 by Brand85 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound bar and subwoofer have great sound but I bought this thinking I could add rear speakers to it but I cant find them anywhere to buy in the UK

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

good sound

HT-ZF9 10 August 2021 by Ray Brown (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

To replace a ht-z9000 with excellent sound but very poor vocals gets drowned out by movies music, this sound bar has a centre speaker which makes up for it, better vocally, only had a month still getting to grips with it there is a voice button to make louder but would have liked a feature the same as a amp the option to increase the volume more but then its only a bar I am happy with it any way so is the wife.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-ZF9 31 July 2021 by delboy213 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this item at the same time as a 49" XH-80/4 Ultra HD (HDR) Smart TV. The two together, absolute perfection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great furter

HT-ZF9 30 July 2021 by simon1983 (United Kingdom)

Glad I bought this product, serves me well and I am satisfied with its capabilities

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Atmos TV Gaming and Movies, hard to buy satellites

HT-ZF9 27 July 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Atmos, eARC, 3 front speakers with 1 woofer in a very competitive price. It is made in Malaysia. Satellites hard to come by. eARC (2ways) solves TV app sound out sync problem. Beside eARC port, there are 2 HDMI inputs. Don't follow the attached quick installation manual if your TV has eARC. Just connect TV eARC to this bar eARC. Reasonable sound quality and control functionalities, not shabby at all. Sony does put some efforts on the virtual sound stage and those sound category buttons on the remote. It is pleasant even for music and vocal. Nite button also useful, so your next door apartment neighbour won't be hit by bass so bad at nite hours. I listened to B&O Sound bar woofer(double the B&O bar price) , and Bose 700 with woofer (optional). Bose 700 with woofer (optional) maybe sounded better stronger and harder but without Atmos and priced at a different level since woofer sell separately.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great sound bar

HT-ZF9 25 July 2021 by Smify (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound bar, easy to setup and use and certainly sounds better and louder than my previous home cinema system it replaced.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bought in conjunction with a KD-49X8096

HT-ZF9 21 July 2021 by delboy 213 (United Kingdom)

This item connected to the above television - excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Expensive Soundbar, with sound dropping issues

HT-ZF9 16 July 2021 by Ecxx (United Kingdom)

This Soundbar is expensive, I was very disappointed with the hassle in setting it up. The HDMI ports are in an awkward place. The main issue I've had is with the sound dropping while watching content from various sources. I spent far too much time trawling the internet looking for solutions to this problem. I'm astonished a soundbar at this price has this problem. I always buy Sony, but I will be looking at alternatives in the future! When I did get it problem sorted, I have to say the sound is impressive, but the shine was taken off due to the hassle getting it set up. If you are looking for a soundbar, I would look else where, make sure before you buy to check AV forums for potential problems, not that you should have too when you are spending £600!.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

8

0

0

Disappointed.

HT-ZF9 07 July 2021 by 55Charlie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I considered this purchase for sometime before I finally went ahead with the purchase. I found the quick setup easy to follow. Unfortunately you really need to go into the advanced settings to improve the sound experience and I found this confusing. I found the vertical sound a disappointment, or perhaps I haven't got the settings right. So I'm left wondering if the problem is me or the system. It left me thinking I should buy the rear speakers, but at £299 and difficult to source that's not really an option. The sound I have is great, but not sure I could describe it as home theater.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Excellent

HT-ZF9 21 June 2021 by Ikram Rehman (United Kingdom)

Good Sound and Excellent Build Quality. Recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good quality

HT-ZF9 06 June 2021 by PJC14 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchase this unit around a month ago and I am sure I will be pleased with it once I get it set up properly

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great Sound combined with TV

HT-ZF9 04 June 2021 by Hoodyman17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this system the sound is amazing for a £500 unit, whover it does have a couple of minor bugs.... the subwoofer can be intermitent and cuts out due to conditions i.e being 2 inches to far from soundbar or interference from surrounding brickwork etc.... my other minor niggles are sometimes when switching from HDMI 1 to 2 it sometimes goes to the home screen and also the base can at times be a tiny bit OTT and havent found a way to adjust this...... but for these minor little niggles it would have been 5stars.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The extra punch for I needed for movies

HT-ZF9 31 May 2021 by Old boy down south (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this simple litte package , ideal for my needs so I can watch movies with more punch, saddled this with the KE55 A8 and seems a very effective package for my needs easy to set up and use with enough features and connections , would not use for my music listening as I have a system more dedicated to this already but I love this with the awesome Sony A8 .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sound and great design

HT-ZF9 25 May 2021 by Kaveeraj (United Kingdom)

This is the best soundbar i can recommend with the price..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great ease of use and good sound

HT-ZF9 14 May 2021 by kevin21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item to replace a large home cinema system which was taking up a large amount of space. This soundbar bar and bass speaker are compact and produce a good sound. The soundbar integrates seamlessly with my Sony TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super sound

HT-ZF9 10 May 2021 by Flip flop phil (United Kingdom)

I've been waiting for the end of lock down to purchase this sound bar and rear speakers. The wait was worth it, super sound,easy to set up. Super product again from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All the sound you'll ever need.

HT-ZF9 10 May 2021 by wheelo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this Soundbar and Wireless Sub for two weeks and I'm thrilled with my purchase. Easy to follow instructions and all the sound you'll ever need. A high quality sound system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Happy owner

HT-ZF9 01 May 2021 by Toom0123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recommend this fantastic product to anyone looking for sound for their TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Reasonable soundbar, with poor surround features

HT-ZF9 23 April 2021 by Rob7777777 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to use with TV, PS4 and Bluetooth vinyl player. 1. TV & PS4 - sound is ok, until you add surround sound speakers. These are great, and they need to be standard, but very expensive for what they do. 2. Bluetooth music - sound from bar and sub is good, once you play around with the settings, and I like that it hooks up to google assistant. BUT, the extra surround sound speakers don't play music. This is really annoying and why I ultimately returned them. Really poor functionality from an expensive system, and had I known this was the case I would've gone down a different route. The TV sound needs the surround speakers to really shine, but they're not worth the price if they don't play music.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Excellent Dolsy Soundbar

HT-ZF9 06 April 2021 by SwLondon65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this soundbar for around a week now and am so far am extremely hasty with it. The build quality is great, as you'd expect from Sony, set up it fairly straight forward, I'd advise that you use good quality Interconnects, it comes with 1 x Optical cable but I'd recommend using quality HDMI cables where possible. There are 3 x HDMI ports, as follows: - 1 x HDMI ARC / EARC - Connect this to HDMI port on TV ( marked Arc / Earc) in / Out 2 x HDMI ports, connect 1 to Sky / Virgin box etc. and 1 to Blu Ray player / Games console 1 x Optical port 1 x 3.5mm Aux Port 1 x Wired ethernet port Once all connections have been made, following the instructions, set up is fairely easy. Connect to WIFI network etc. (Wireless Sub connects automatically.when switched for the first time). Sound quality is great, although I think it will take a while to tweak the settings and find which suit your own taste. The Sound from the sound bar is easy on the ear for film and music and had more than enough power to fill a large room, I do think the optional wireless speakers will be well worth adding attached later date though. All in all I am very happy with this soundbar. Once connected set up i

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Technically flawed

HT-ZF9 28 March 2021 by Chis44 (United Kingdom)

This product has the following technical problems: Does not stay connected to the subwoofer (the sound drops out for no reason). Looses connection to the Subwoofer permanently requiring a factory reset). Losses connection the Rear Speakers. When connected to a Sony TV over eARC and using the TV apps (eg Netflix) the sound drops out completely and require a power cycle to resume. There are people complaining about these issues from 2 years ago on AB forums, but these have not been addressed by Sony. For a £1000 soundbar and rear speaker this is totally unacceptable. My previous Sony Soundbar (SA-NT3) had a wireless subwoofer and in 4 years never Lost connection once. I cannot recommend this product at all. I have contacted technical support but the just asked my to connect to another TV and give it a factory reset. Also the manual states to connect the Subwoofer by cable if you have connection issues, but does not explain were to plug this (there is a hidden 3mm jack in the subwoofer, but nothing on the soundbar?) It needs a serious firmware update Sony! lost connection once.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

14

0

0

Great sound, awkward user interface

HT-ZF9 14 March 2021 by Jaylo33 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the sound from this, it's got great bass and really clear dialogue. My only negative is the user setting screen that comes up on my Sony TV, it is really small and the navigation keys really don't work very well, with the screen going blank intermittently. I need to speak with Sony to understand if this is a fault or not.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

GREAT QUALITY

HT-ZF9 12 March 2021 by Spursy1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this to go with my new Sony TV and to replace an existing Sony home theatre to save on space. Works very well and easy to set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Sound bar

HT-ZF9 10 March 2021 by Ray 56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound bar fill in so many sounds that you miss when watching normal TV. Quality product from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Better than most

HT-ZF9 08 March 2021 by Allan65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Heard this on a demo instore and just had to buy it. Amazing clarity and sound quality. Also well made. Remote could be a bit more upmarket if I’m going to be picky. Overall really happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Good depth of sound

HT-ZF9 05 March 2021 by Davy20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to go with Sony Bravia TV. Size length wise is a good fit for the TV. Setting up was not straight forward but contact with Sony solved the problem. (Info bar kept popping up randomly. A factory reset on the TV was needed. There is plenty of power. I don't have the rear speakers so can't comment on their effectiveness.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great Sound

HT-ZF9 25 February 2021 by TonyT23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A massive improvement in sound quality over my previous system

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great all round performance

HT-ZF9 06 February 2021 by Johnboy65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Coming from a sony and q acoustic separates which are going in a dedicated room and remodelling the living room I must say I am really impressed with the sound quality and scale this bar produces.Also bought the wireless rears to go with it.Had no issues with the wireless connection of speakers.Over all really happy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Leaps and bounds better than the competition

HT-ZF9 02 January 2021 by Coatsy79 (United Kingdom)

Tried this in a local store and it was noticeably better than anything else at the same price, sound is rich and balanced with good punchy bass and the virtual surround is very convincing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Jagged speech

HT-ZF9 02 January 2021 by Stevew7 (United Kingdom)

I bought this (Sony's top end) sound bar to go with Sony's 55XH9505 Hi end TV. It is connected via the ARC HDMI sockets on both devices and TV speaker are set to OFF (Audio system speakers enabled) The sound bar can certainly pump out a lot of volume with depth, but speech from regular TV channels, in particular like the News or Game shows, is very rough, jagged and prickly. Using the Voice option makes it worse. In TV costume dramas the speech is marginally better, but this impediment detracts heavily from getting engrossed in a program. If there were a EQ available, perhaps some of the speech high frequencies could be reduced, but that may have a detrimental effect on other sounds All of the many sound modes, effects and compatibilities, on this device, fade into irrelevance when trying to just improve the speech. This isn't a cheap sound bar, and it's very disappointing

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

0

Great Sound

HT-ZF9 17 December 2020 by SG son (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this at the same as a Sony TV and the total package is excellent quality and we are very pleased with the purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great sound when it works!

HT-ZF9 17 November 2020 by BTK187 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the second one of these I have bought, the first being two years ago, it is already displaying the same problem of sound to the rear surround speakers cutting out, as the first one which is really annoying as this is a quality unit and sounds superb when it works properly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

1

0

Great Features

HT-ZF9 09 October 2020 by islawight51 (United Kingdom)

I am extremely pleased with the quality of the Soundbar, the sound is amazing. I can hear very clearly the speech on movies now, using the cinema setting, which in the past have been drowned by background music. T.v. is good in standard, the depth of sound is superb in all features. would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

11

0

Great sound

HT-ZF9 30 September 2020 by Bill26 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product. Accompanies Sony tv. Surround sound good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

8

0

Sounds great

HT-ZF9 29 September 2020 by KB10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall it sounds and looks great although I seem to have a slight sync problem with my Sky Q programmes which I cannot rectify. The remote speakers keep dropping out at start up and I can’t get any sound when starting my tv until I reboot the soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

7

0

Atmos Soundar and rear surround speakers

HT-ZF9 17 September 2020 by Khy786 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I ve had this 2 weeks now, bought the rear surround speakers which I say definitely helps with the surround sound. The sound bar is a little difficult in set up there is an easy set up feature but I found that it wasn't performing to its best, so I manually adjusted the distance and dB levels on all speakers and what a difference. Really impressed with the sound. Would of liked a bit of extra bass output like an extra bass button but its sufficient. The rear speakers are priced pretty high but I got £100 off buying the soundbar and surround speakers together. Overall great sound and quality and also goes well with my 65 inch TV but a little pricey but thats Sony products for you. You know that you've bought quality which will last years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

8

0

Great Sound........

HT-ZF9 02 September 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this few weeks back and pleasantly surprised...........

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great sound but problem linking to LG OLED TV

HT-ZF9 28 August 2020 by PhilA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an older soundbar hoping to get better sound and full surround by adding rear bluetooth speakers. After linking it via the HDMI ARC socket on my LG OLED55CMLB TV the sound was excellent and the surround sound reasonable.Unfortunately when I switched the TV on, which automatically switches the soundbar on the sound started then muted then restarted again. After a few weeks the sound started as uual then stopped but did not restart. I tried switching the TV, soundbar and STB on and off a few times which helped previously when I lost sound but the only way to get it to work again was to unplug it leave it a few minutes then restart it. It is a real shame that this issue has arisen on such a prestigious brand. I am very disappointed. This is the second SONY electronics item with which I have had problems so I won't be buying anything electronic from them in the future

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

2

3

0

Great system

HT-ZF9 23 July 2020 by ceebee49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an oldish quite expensive surround system and was a little apprehensive that it wouldn’t sound as good. After setting it up I am very impressed by the ease of set up and quality of sound. I’ve yet to try it on a decent movie but am confident it will be impressive

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

9

0

Super sound

HT-ZF9 22 July 2020 by Nurse23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Enjoying the sound quality and smart looks. Great connectivity to various sources.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Awesome!

HT-ZF9 06 July 2020 by TheCheese (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this sound bar 2 weeks ago. I did alot of research before purchasing. At first I was going to be looking for a Bose as that's what I had before. That is before I heard the Sony! You really have to hear them ALL before you buy. The sound of the HT-ZF9 is amazing! It has great features and very easy to set-up. Go and have a listen, you won't be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

8

0

Great sounds bar love the additional sa-z9r

HT-ZF9 09 May 2020 by Craziejae (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this in december 2019, Great soundbar love the wireless rear surround sounds speaker sa-z9r, has awesome sounds quality for watching bluray movies has great depth and the surround sounds speaker adds to the whole experience!!! I have although experience sound drop out, and then the device reboots? It has,since had a frmware update which may have cured it, not sure yet. Still love it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

0

Superb sound for the TV

HT-ZF9 02 May 2020 by Charron (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this a month now and am really pleased with it. It was easy to set up and integrates seamlessly with my XG90 TV. The sound is excellent for just a soundbar, the sub-woofer really makes a difference. Very pleased with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Excellent sound with wonderful bass

HT-ZF9 27 April 2020 by Brownie33 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago with a Sony KD 55 AG9 TV. Both products are truly superb. The sound bar produces fantastic audio with superb clarity and awe inspiring bass

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

35

0

Great sound and good looks

HT-ZF9 11 April 2020 by Aitch JM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just purchased the HT-ZF9 to go along with my newly purchased 65” Sony AG8 tv, so happy with the result, they work well together, easy set and intuitive. Great value as I purchased Grade “A” equipment that really is as good as new

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Sounds good.

HT-ZF9 03 April 2020 by bratters (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needs a way to program preferred HDMI input/ output so you don't need to change it every time you power on. But the sound is very clear and spacious. Sub woofer works a treat just behind my seating position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Really enhances and compliments the 4k TV

HT-ZF9 24 March 2020 by Rich2052 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product has met expectations and comes complete with a very comprehensive instruction booklet. Its really easy to do the initial set up and connect to internet. Further fine tuning for the individual speakers is also relatively straight forward! There is volume and bass to spare and a 4k DVD really brings out the best in this product. Designed as a wall speaker but is also easily adapted to attach to a TV stand. TV stand must have the relative bracket for this procedure!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Rubbish

HT-ZF9 08 January 2020 by Bryan46 (United Kingdom)

I brought this in late October but what a load of rubbish the sound quality is poor and the sun keeps losing connection with sound bar which is about 2 feet apart This thing ruins the whole experience, I can't believe I upgraded (what I thought was to a better bar) both my £1800 sony TV and bar have been extremely disappointed. My first Sony purchases......never again

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

27

0

Consider alternatives

HT-ZF9 01 April 2019 by Natscam (United Kingdom)

I bought this in the advise of the team in the shop. I was buying a tv at the same time - tv is fantastic btw, but disappointed by the sound bar. Was advised not to go for a Bose or even Sonos but wished I had. Having listened again to both of their offerings again should have not be swayed

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

9

0

Does what it says on the box.

HT-ZF9 22 February 2019 by DrewM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to compliment a new Sony Bravia UHD TV, and is much better sound than tv speakers. Only irritation is soundbar doesn’t always kick in when tv is switched on, it should, got to restart tv, and on rare occasion switch all off at mains, then back on, could be settings, but I think all set up correctly. Otherwise great sound, subwoofer can’t be used to full effect as vibrates the neighbours.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Amazing sound

HT-ZF9 19 February 2019 by Acorn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We watch a lot of films. The sound bar has improved our experience a great deal and the separate sub is well worth the space it takes up!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

So far so good but I haven’t use it long enough

HT-ZF9 18 February 2019 by Juani r (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m sure I will give it 5 stars after I use it long enough but for the moment I haven’t so I give it 4 stars , so far I love it and the sound is really good and recommend to anyone to improve tv sound etc

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

22

0

Dreadful Support

HT-ZF9 16 February 2019 by steve21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was planning to buy Toshiba soundbar and TV, sales person in Currys pursuaded me over to Sony and the demo of piccture and sound was incredible. That being said Ive had problems with the soundbar, instructions are unclear and support is non existent. The TV channel navigation is utter garbage compared to a Toshiba as well.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

13

20

0

Great features and sound, mostly great

HT-ZF9 10 February 2019 by Musty6458 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

brought the bar over a month ago, love the sound and power. I work as an area promoter for Sony, so I have used the bar daily. i will say that the bar has an amazing range, but does lack in the upfiring part of Dolby Atmos.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

37

0

Very good features

HT-ZF9 07 February 2019 by Ray39 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a good sound bar to match the television this was recommended by the shop

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Bad design and poorly made

HT-ZF9 23 January 2019 by Grumpy Moose (United Kingdom)

Bought this just over a week ago and have had nothing but problems with it. The HDMI sockets on the rear of the sound bar are located at a funny angle and once the cable is connected it is forced against itself and therefore does not make a good connection. Also the HDMI sockets seem to be loose which is also not conducive to forming a good connection. As a result the TV does not connect correctly with the soundbar and therefore does not work properly. Fiddling with the cable can achieve a connection but this is normally lost after a few minutes. This is not really good enough for something that has cost €700 I am a long term Sony user and this is the first time I have experienced a problem with new equipment. I have notified the store I have bought it from of the problem and they have asked for photos of the problem - this is not helpful.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

5

10

0

Great sound!

HT-ZF9 21 January 2019 by NigelG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago, and, overall, have been extremely happy with its performance, and so would recommend it. There are a couple of niggles with it though, per: 1. The max volume level is 50, but that on the Sony TV it is HDMI linked with is 100. Hence a one step increment on the soundbar volume is shown as a two step increment on the TV. Why Sony hasn't better linked the two scales is beyond me. 2. The soundbar will go into standby if you pause the TV for a while. That is good. However, on unpausing the TV the soundbar remains off, so the sound you then get is from the in-built TV speakers. Some development work on this would be good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Generally good

HT-ZF9 13 January 2019 by Derek1960 (United Kingdom)

I have had this product for two weeks. The sound is very good but the are a couple of issues. Firstly, the Alexa connectivity is poor as the soundbar does not have built in microphones unlike the Bose. Secondly, it seems to randomly lose connectivity to the subwoofer requiring a manual re-link

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1