54

4.3 based on 54 customer reviews

32
14
5
0
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best all-in-one soundbar on the market!

HT-X8500 17 September 2019 by Mahir007 (United Kingdom)

I bought this soundbar about a month ago now and have been loving it ever since! I specifically got it as I wanted an upgrade over my old compact one with a soundbar that had more features (e.g. Dolby Atmos) and crucially, had full 4K HDR pass-through. This one ticked all the boxes, so I decided to buy it and I'm very glad I did. It has very pronounced & detailed bass (a suprise considering) and overall, great/clear sound quality that's a joy to experience. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a great, fully featured, soundbar but is short on space and wants the benefits of an all-in-one unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great Sounds

HT-X8500 04 August 2020 by Yorkiecherry (United Kingdom)

Sounds are brilliant but disappointed with lack of onscreen display.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

54 Customer Reviews

0

Love the sound, love the bass undertones.

HT-X8500 13 September 2020 by Ste701 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a high quality soundbar and this is just the ticket. Lovely bass sound, different sound features depending on what you are viewing or listening to

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Difficult to setup

HT-X8500 10 September 2020 by Mal0122 (United Kingdom)

Difficult to setup but once it was working with my 3 year old 4K UHD curved Samsung TV, after buying a high speed hdmi lead and starting the setup from scratch, it works fine. The sound quality is adequate but disappointed with Dolby Atmos as it is not as I thought it would be. I nearly returned the soundbar but decided to see how it goes.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

So far - very happy

HT-X8500 10 September 2020 by Bravie (United Kingdom)

We bought this as a partner to our Sony Bravia KD43XH8196 which we bought two weeks ago and so far we are very pleased with it, although I'm still learning how to use it properly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Product.

HT-X8500 31 August 2020 by Cuke (United Kingdom)

Purchased this product to use with my smart TV and I and I am quite impressed with the sound and features. No issues with lip sync at all and the soundbar works well with the tv's builtin apps. I would be happier if there was a little more bass and if I could add a separate bass speaker I would but unfortunately I cannot do this. Over-all though the soundbar is good value for money.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great quality

HT-X8500 27 August 2020 by andy d to bad (United Kingdom)

i am happy i bought this item and iam very happy with quality of the item

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Soundbar but

HT-X8500 05 August 2020  (United Kingdom)

the main reason to buy this was to compliment my new tv and upgrade from an old sound system. The sound is great and makes tv programmes better, so i would recommend it for that. The down side is that it doesn't come with an onscreen display. this means that you never really know what setting you are on or what the setting was the last time it was used. This leaves to a lot of guess work and pushing of buttons. I probably would have bought something else had i know this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Great Sounds

HT-X8500 04 August 2020 by Yorkiecherry (United Kingdom)

Sounds are brilliant but disappointed with lack of onscreen display.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Not impressed.

HT-X8500 28 July 2020 by Swstn (United Kingdom)

I bought this with high expectations. I found the background sounds completely over powered the voices making it virtually impossible to follow storylines.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great sound

HT-X8500 27 June 2020 by Fabby 48 (United Kingdom)

I bought this soundbar a few weeks ago, the sound is very good, loud and crisp especially connected with a 4k blu ray player. But the functionality is not impressive with no display on tv, the flashing lights on the top of the bar are confusing at best and they should have been on the front to be easily seen while seating down. So to summarise, this bar produces great sound, and I'm happy with it, but the lack of tv display is a real let down

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Beyond expectations

HT-X8500 22 June 2020 by Babs16 (United Kingdom)

Sound when playing films is out of this world. Could be sitting in cinema

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Compliments the TV

HT-X8500 10 June 2020 by Del5 (United Kingdom)

This soundbar in a word is ”Billiant” and ands to the experience when watching various types of programmes from movies to sport.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent sound but lack of inputs.

HT-X8500 05 June 2020  (United Kingdom)

So what can I say about the htx-8500. Well it's a lovely looking bar, nice rounded edges and a very simple but sleek design. One earc/arc output and one hdmi 2.0 input to connect a single device to. I would have liked one or two more inputs but I can live with only one. The input is 4K and hdr pass through, I have gotten hdr and hdr 10+ but it will not pass through dolby vision. The output handles all of the major codecs including dolby atmos. Now to the sound, I'm a little of a Sony fan boy so perhaps a little bias, but the sound quality on this is really breathtaking. You can get a good sense of height for atmos and it really shines through. I have no hesitation in reccomending this at all. Oh and if Sony wanna send me anything to review please feel free lol.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Great quality sound

HT-X8500 30 May 2020 by saintybalboa (United Kingdom)

This adds to the atmosphere when watching sporting events. Not just because of the extra volume, but the quality of sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Excellent first step into Dolby Atmos

HT-X8500 21 May 2020 by Gdawson (United Kingdom)

I have had this soundbar for a week now and on the whole I am very impressed . Unfortunately Earc is very buggy and I am forever having to switch the tv off then on to get any sound from the soundbar when switching to Netflix via the onboard app?! I had bought new high speed Hdmi cables and foolishly thought buying a Sony soundbar with a Sony tv would make the Earc process Seemless ?. How wrong I was !!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

5

0

Neat one piece sound bar built in subwoofer

HT-X8500 07 May 2020 by Discerning (United Kingdom)

Quickly elevates the TV watching to an amazing immersive experience Pleased with purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great Product

HT-X8500 28 April 2020 by Carol1teach (United Kingdom)

Bought to go with new Sony tv. Very impressed with Sony as usual.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

5

0

Good sound quality

HT-X8500 21 April 2020 by Deano 7762 (United Kingdom)

Very good soundbar good features. Would recommend this soundbar

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Soundbar HT-8500

HT-X8500 21 April 2020 by Gilliarno (United Kingdom)

Brilliant sound from this Sony HT-8500 it looks smart as well easy to set up good value for money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Good product

HT-X8500 16 April 2020 by Bas23 (United Kingdom)

I purchased a while ago and all seems ok. Not sure I have it set right as I don't seem to be getting surround sound. My music from iPod is good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

pure rubbish

HT-X8500 09 April 2020 by Shod (United Kingdom)

possibly the worst thing i have ever purchased. With the soundbar connected and playing Netflix, Amazon Prime etc and selecting the pause button all sound is lost. the fix is to turn Sony Bravia TV off and on again

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

6

0

Tv excellent but sound bar exceptionally disappoin

HT-X8500 06 April 2020 by Ricardo46 (United Kingdom)

Tv has been excellent and all that I expected. Colours amazing and easy to set up and operate. This is our third Sony Bravia. Sound bar arrived in packaging that had been opened. I should have returned at the time. Base is overwhelming and unsuitable for a medium sized property. I have hardly used it because it because it spoils all tv and most music. Very disappointing Sony product.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

7

0

Superb Sound

HT-X8500 29 March 2020 by Orac1024 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this Soundbar two weeks ago with a 65" XG95 what a combination superb vision and ATMOS Sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

HT8500

HT-X8500 28 January 2020 by nicky177 (United Kingdom)

excellent soundbar very good features,great sound nice design

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

10

0

Great features! Dolby Atmos All in one Soundbar

HT-X8500 26 January 2020 by Max03 (United Kingdom)

All in one sound is amazing, options of sound effect from remote and bass options too. I will recommend using an 4K HDMI instead of optical cable as the pass through isn't supported at all rates via optical. Dolby Atmos and Vertical sound is speechless! What I don't like is: not fully compatible with AG8 model, sound bar menu not displayed on TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

6

0

Batteries!

HT-X8500 15 January 2020 by William the conker (United Kingdom)

Simple set up. Great sound. Couldn't work out why the remote wasn't working with the supplied Sony batteries. Swopped them out and all good. You don't expect supplied batteries to be stone dead!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

EASY TO SET UP

HT-X8500 12 January 2020 by MIKESCO (United Kingdom)

ONLY JUST GOT THIS VIRTUALLY A PLUG AND PLAY SET UP. WOULD RECOMMEND HDMI AS OPPOSED TO SUPPLIED OPTICAL LEAD. SO FAR IMPRESSED WITH SOUND

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

5

0

Mr

HT-X8500 09 January 2020 by GEOFFGB (United Kingdom)

excellent addition to my new sony tv which I registered thru Domestic and General on 7th January 2020

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

E, Exellent buy

HT-X8500 06 January 2020 by Lucky boy (United Kingdom)

Brilliant soundbar far exceeded my expectations in e ery way

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great sound

HT-X8500 30 November 2019 by TV favourite (United Kingdom)

Looks stylish in front of my Sony TV. Good sound on TV channels and also for music and films. Easy to use and is synced with TV automatically. Very pleased with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic sound

HT-X8500 16 November 2019 by Dazu7 (United Kingdom)

Bought three weeks ago and no regrets, easy to set up and the sound is amazing,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Looks very nice and fits perfectly in front of my

HT-X8500 05 November 2019 by Drewbear (United Kingdom)

Have had it for a month or so and up to now i am very happy with it, looks good and sounds good. Had a few setup problems but Sony soon sorted it out for me with one short phone call.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellent quality and features

HT-X8500 02 November 2019 by michaelcassel01 (United Kingdom)

Bought with Sony XG90 49”. Easy setup and sync well with TV and SkyQ. Sound quality is very good and more than adequate for medium sized rooms. Easy controller. Enhances TV sound and viewing experience. Highly recommended!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good bit of kit

HT-X8500 28 October 2019 by Dickymint (United Kingdom)

Wish I’d gone for the htxf9000 as this is more compatible with my Sony 65” android tv. Didn’t know at time but would have worked better with theatre system built into tv.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Simple and effective

HT-X8500 28 October 2019 by Zebra999 (United Kingdom)

This was recommended by a Sony 'expert' in store and he was absolutely bang-on our requirements. Very easy to set up and works very well. Still haven't used all the pre-set sound options but quick tests suggest will do all it promises

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A Good Soundbar

HT-X8500 27 October 2019 by Nicb (United Kingdom)

I bought this about a month ago and use with my 4K TV the sound is excellent and watching football with Dolby Atmos takes it to a new level

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

GREAT FEATURES

HT-X8500 14 October 2019 by buffysaint (United Kingdom)

VARIOUS WAYS TO CONNECT TO YOUR TV, LOTS OF DIFFERENT SOUND CHOICES. I HAVE MINE ATTACHED UNDR MY TV VIA A SOUNDBAR MOUNT. MY ONLY ISSUE IS IT WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE AN ONSCREEN MENU

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

50

0

Soundbar

HT-X8500 14 October 2019 by dappadons (United Kingdom)

Good Sound, easy to operate, very pleased with purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

39

0

Neat compact unit

HT-X8500 29 September 2019 by Mike43 (United Kingdom)

A must for wall mounted TV, pleased with the sound from all sources.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

10

0

right size for my sony 43" tv

HT-X8500 23 September 2019 by josh 177 (United Kingdom)

Tidy design and well built. Sounds ok, vertical surround average. Easy to connect and set up but sadly only had it three weeks when power transformer blew up had to take it back for refund this may be a one off !

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best all-in-one soundbar on the market!

HT-X8500 17 September 2019 by Mahir007 (United Kingdom)

I bought this soundbar about a month ago now and have been loving it ever since! I specifically got it as I wanted an upgrade over my old compact one with a soundbar that had more features (e.g. Dolby Atmos) and crucially, had full 4K HDR pass-through. This one ticked all the boxes, so I decided to buy it and I'm very glad I did. It has very pronounced & detailed bass (a suprise considering) and overall, great/clear sound quality that's a joy to experience. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a great, fully featured, soundbar but is short on space and wants the benefits of an all-in-one unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

one speaker

HT-X8500 14 September 2019 by mreeee (United Kingdom)

very good sound worth the money just what i needed

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Very good value for money

HT-X8500 01 September 2019 by Frankie 540 (United Kingdom)

I purchased the compact soundbar last month was surprised with the overall clarity and detail.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Surround sound great

HT-X8500 17 August 2019 by Ted65 (United Kingdom)

Sound is great, Dolby atmos is fantastic feels that you actually there in the movie, would highly recommend compliments my Sony Bravia Tv

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0