MRP

Rs. 18,990

(incl. of all taxes)
97

3.8 based on 97 customer reviews

38
28
15
7
9
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Smart but Woofer needs more punch

HT-CT290 26 January 2019 by Dsony (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I thought the woofer wasn’t working - could do with more oomph

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Subwoofer defect

HT-CT290 06 July 2020 by Eskayd12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Worst Service. Will never buy a sony product again. Been told Subwoofer defect are a problem with most soundbar products. Subwoofer died after 18 months with limited use, now warranty out and have to spend more to fix it. Likely to buy a rival product than give Sony any more money.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

97 Customer Reviews

0

Warranty and Customer service not helpful.

HT-CT291 23 May 2021 by bmg2g (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this product online, and after a couple of months the subwoofer stopped working, Getting it fixed under warranty seems impossible and not straight forward, else its a great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sub-woofer lasted 18 months

HT-CT291 17 February 2021 by itsDave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Thought this was too good to be true when bought but put trust in the Sony brand, really pleased with the product at the start BUT the sub-woofer has packed up after 18 months. No power light and have tried all of the so called reset recommendations but with no power, suspected circuit board failure, this is now ready for the scrap.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Stopped working already

HT-CT290 01 September 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only 18 months old and the subwoofer has stopped working already. Sony customer services are shockingly bad. I’ll think twice before I buy anything else from them

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Short lifespan due to common fault HT-CT290

HT-CT290 18 July 2020 by Sony disappointed x2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Subwoofer died just before warranty end, due covid unable to return for repair to Currys. Lockdown lifted Currys requested me to get direct Sony repair approval, Sony responded that I should have call them as they were open all the time. Didn't accept my way of thinking, that if I buy item in a shop, then I deal with the shop and not the manufacture. Result- item now out of warranty, cos finished during lockdown. Need to pay for repair. Disappointed with Currys for dropping responsibility and Sony for lack of understanding and support. Anyway: googled information about the issue --> looks like common problem of this model. Happens on average from 6-18 months of use for no particular reason. (in my case was unplugging in old home, working fine, and connecting in new place - didn't power on. I have lots other sensitive electronics but not affected, if try to blame network) Replacement part available on eBay for £4.50 but requires some knowledge to ensure that it is the problem and soldering on motherboard. Not a powerful unit. Appears to have short lifespan as per many other people on different forums.. Don't waste your money thinking, that maybe you get lucky unless you don't care about £200...

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Subwoofer defect

HT-CT290 06 July 2020 by Eskayd12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Worst Service. Will never buy a sony product again. Been told Subwoofer defect are a problem with most soundbar products. Subwoofer died after 18 months with limited use, now warranty out and have to spend more to fix it. Likely to buy a rival product than give Sony any more money.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

0

Be wary

HT-CT290 16 April 2020 by LizO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Take care before buying this, if you watch through a satellite box any SD channels either on the TV or recordings you will have no sound. Other than that it’s fine on HD

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Fantastic, recommended, buy now

HT-CT291 01 March 2020 by Sony MKD (United Kingdom)

I boght for 180 euros in Macedonia, sound is very clear, subwoofer is excelent, just perfection for the money. Bluetooth works perfectly, usb port reads all kind of music formats. Sound from Hdmi is better then bluetooth and optical. All i can say is worth for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Great features

HT-CT290 12 June 2019 by Dejerm (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and I am pleased with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Poor quality

HT-CT290 11 June 2019 by Henry John (United Kingdom)

Had this since January 2019 still unable to synch speech with TV and sub woofer is barley audible. Going to contact customer services again to seek advice

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

6

1

0

Unreliable

HT-CT291 20 March 2019 by Bsnksy (United Kingdom)

I bought this product teo month ago and it is not working properly. Instructions aren't helpful.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

1

0

Good value for money soundbar

HT-CT290 27 January 2019 by Gentleman Jim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not had it long but so far so good. It is a vast improvement over the inbuilt speakers of the TV. Good sound and suitably unobtrusive beneath the television. Good value for money and for my simple purposes I can't imagine I would improve on it at twice the price. Controls are relatively straightforward but it will be a while, if ever, before all features are tried out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Smart but Woofer needs more punch

HT-CT290 26 January 2019 by Dsony (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I thought the woofer wasn’t working - could do with more oomph

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Soundbar

HT-CT291 21 January 2019 by tmc0918 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does not work on new Bravia TV. Fiddly set up and not recognised on hdmi port.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Fantastic

HT-CT290 13 January 2019 by Darrian (United Kingdom)

Really quick and easy setup, sound is clear and crisp.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

So easy to set up

HT-CT291 11 January 2019 by powerful (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just plug the power lead in and follow the set up guide. No issues and great sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

good clear sound bar

HT-CT290 31 December 2018 by twizzle2 (United Kingdom)

i purchased this sound bar with subwoofer yesterday and all appearsd to work well. So far I am very satisfied

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good product

HT-CT290 23 December 2018 by AnnieM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this soundbar several months ago with a speaker that can be connected in another part of the house and that gives us surround sound. Works well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sound but clumsy setup

HT-CT290 21 December 2018 by Shipponsteve (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looks good, sounds good, but the set-up leaves a lot to be desired. And why do I have to keep re-setting it?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

New speaker system

HT-CT290 18 December 2018 by Cornwall1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Whilst buying a new TV we wanted to ensure we had a good sound system to compliment it and this system has certainly hit the mark so far in providing the sound we enjoy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Simply sounds better

HT-CT290 12 December 2018 by Musi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound bar improves the experience of virtually every programme, films are so much better and musi is enhanced greatly

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A must for any current TV

HT-CT290 12 December 2018 by Fazerroy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

With out this sound bar, voices, music and background noises are really poor on most of the current crop of TV’s. Using the sound bar gives you vocal clarity, sonic highs plus great bass response.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very welcome freebie

HT-CT290 01 December 2018 by MP23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Came free with my Sony Bravia purchased through John Lewis. We’ve not used a sound bar before so noticed a massive difference with and without the device. Has different modes for when you’re watching a film or tv and again there’s a noticeable difference that adds positively to the viewing experience. Reason I’m not giving 5 stars is because sometimes it doesn’t immediately connect with tv or it switches off if tv is paused or doesn’t sync perfectly with picture & I have to switch both devices off & on again

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing sound quality and accessability

HT-CT290 09 November 2018 by LurzLionheart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product gives out a solid sound quality that has enhanced my experience of watching movies at home and listening to my music, whilst around the house. The fact that it has minimal wires makes it REALLY simple to set up and have around the room (my sub woofer is hidden behind the door but it still gives a great bassy sound that fills the room). Linking this device to smart phones and tablets is easy, either with the WiFi or Bluetooth connection. I was sceptical about getting a new soundbar system but glad I have as it is a lot smaller and better than my previous Pioneer home theatre system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed

HT-CT290 06 November 2018 by Gilly1 (United Kingdom)

Bought this believing it would improve the sound of voices (news etc.)but hardly noticed the difference. More annoyingly is that over a period of time a 'tinnyness' has developed as if the speakers are vibrating and distorting the sound on relatively low setting. An engineer will now be attending my home to examine, arranged by John Lewis who are brilliant and get my 5 stars for customer service.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

2

0

The subwoofer just works for one year...

HT-CT290 03 November 2018 by Renxiang (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product one year ago. But now the subwoofer is not working. I haven't got time to go the fix. It was disappointing. Because it last just for one year. The speak is still ok. Hope you see my review and can arrange for fix!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Fits in with tv stand and does not stand out.

HT-CT290 02 November 2018 by Teflon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had it for three weeks and it is performing very well with good sound quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Soundbar that fully compliments my Sony TV

HT-CT290 01 November 2018 by bulko (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this unit for over 2 weeks & it is extremely versatile with great sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Out of sync

HT-CT290 30 October 2018 by Soaringman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago, together with a new Sony 65” TV. Both give a lovely picture and sound, however I am very frustrated, because even though I have connected the products as shown in the instructions, after a while the sound goes out of sync with the picture, and can only be rectified by switching the tv and soundbar one-off and on again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Rubbish!

HT-CT290 29 October 2018 by Geoffds (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently along with a new 55" Sony TV and the two things just do not sync, Sony don't give a toss and neither to CurrysPC World

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Great soundbar.

HT-CT290 26 October 2018 by JCC_Somerset (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great integration with TV. Does too big or brash so it does not become the focus of the room.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lip synch

HT-CT290 25 October 2018 by Lisa90 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lip synch is a massive issue. After numerous phone calls I was told" you will just have to get used to it" team know how at Currys where really unhelpful. The sound bar was a complete waste of money

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Good but not great sound

HT-CT290 22 October 2018 by Bennyboy1974 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this to go with my Sony 4K TV and PS4 Pro and the set up was nice and easy, however, first imprressions of the sound, whilst good was not great with not much in the way of bass through whilst watching the TV. I upgraded my HDMI cable to a more expensive 18Gps 4k cable and the results were much better. The bass came alive much more and the sound whilst playing the PS4 Pro and watching Blu Ray movies was really good. Never going to be as good as a full home theatre system but perfect for a gaming-set up. The wireless sub woofer is a great addition and have found that I get the best bass from it when it is away from the TV and behind where I am sitting, also gives the sound more depth.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

sony 55in 4k

HT-CT290 20 October 2018 by tommy 57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with tv lots of features that i have not explored yet picture quality is excellent setting up tv for first time was easy highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Goes out of sync with TV

HT-CT291 01 October 2018 by Notnat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this and a sony bravia TV and can not, despite searching internet and sony site, get them to stay in sync. Sound lags the picture. Very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

I expected better

HT-CT290 12 September 2018 by Lasher (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this to go with my Sony Bravia 49” ultra HD TV as it is a slimline soundbar and fits in front of the TV without obstructing the TV’s remote control point. It was easy to install and it does provide great sound, complimenting the TV very well. I connect the units via an HDMI ARC connection HOWEVER, I have 2 issues with the soundbar, Firstly, I tend to watch most of my digital TV through a SKy Q satellite receiver and the sound often drops out of sync. The Sky box does have a facility to correct sound/vision sync issues when connecting via HDMI ARC but, even when I have corrected the error, it will often appear again a few minutes later. For instance, when watching BBC news, we found that the newsreader was out of sync whilst the field reports were in sync. We switch channels and it sometimes is in sync and sometimes out. We use digital services such as Prime and Netflix and sometimes they are in sync and other times not. Similarly, sometimes even watching a Movie on my Sony Blu-Ray player will have some scenes in and out of sync. IT REALLY SHOULD NOT BE THIS DIFFICULT!! My other issue is that, when watching an action movie (Avengers) the other night, I found myself having to keep changing the volume as the dialogue was too quiet and then the action scenes were too loud. This may be a settings issue which I will peresevere with. Overall, I would give this 3 out of 5. It does produce good sound but I would not expect to have these issues when pairing it with other Sony devices.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Simple to use but broken within 14 months

HT-CT290 04 September 2018 by Glynn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I we have enjoyed using the sound bar but the main unit refuses to switch on after only 14 months of hardly any use. Guarantee is only for 12 months so not really worth the money

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing

HT-CT290 03 September 2018 by Brucelee32 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best in its class and price range , i will be buying more Sony products as time goes by.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great TV Soundbar

HT-CT290 10 August 2018 by Bronnti (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with sound and is very stylish, easy to fit up

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good sound

HT-CT290 31 July 2018 by D292 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product about 2 weeks again and so far have been pretty happy with it. Took a while to get everything set up properly but now its all done its a great addititon

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Amazing sound quality

HT-CT290 28 July 2018 by Chopkins (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We are by no means experts on sound, so this review is purely for the amateur... I wanted a sound bar, my partner said it wont make much difference as TVs have good sound quality these days! Talked him in to it and we are both very impressed, we love the features to be able to go to cinema mode or voice mode depending on what we are watching. The bar automatically links as soon as you switch on the TV - love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good sound.

HT-CT290 26 July 2018 by Tony1300 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

With my Sony TV, I needed to use both an HDMI cable (not supplied) and the optical cable supplied to get A/V sync. The sound bar turns on and off with the TV remote.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Should be able to increase gain on sub

HT-CT290 08 July 2018 by BigBits (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have to put it on full volume before sounding OK. Should be able to configure gain and crossover for the sub. Also a really noticeable lip sync problem with the sound bar.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really good sound!

HT-CT290 27 June 2018 by Mapesy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sounds really great and so easy to set up. Just plug in and the Bluetooth automatically connected without me having to do anything. I would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not bad but poor bass

HT-CT290 01 June 2018 by bigboatman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this to go with my 32" Sony bravia tv in the bedroom. The bad points: The sound bar sounds a bit tinny, (high treble) and believe it or not the speakers in the TV actually sound warmer than the sound bar so I was initially disappointed (its a shame that the Sony set up turns the TV speakers off when it detects the sound bar). The bass from the sub only really comes into play when watching a movie (eg from Netflix) and does add a bit of depth if turned up full, certainly better than the TV speakers alone but you can't really hear much from it when watching "normal" TV (but you can if watching something on HD on Freeview). Also when the sub does work its not very controlled, a bit loose and wooly but then I'm comparing it to some pretty high end kit in my lounge so maybe I'm being a bit harsh (at this price point). I cant really tell much difference between the different sound fields (Movie, Music, Voice), Clear Audio + is ok for watching the news I guess (but I usually just use the TV speakers). Have had some lip sync issues, sometimes turning it off and back on sorts it, sometimes not (I'm using HDMI connected to the ARC HDMI on the TV. The good points: Its easy to connect to by Bluetooth with my (and other peoples phones) to play music and sounds ok. Portability, ok its a fair size but easily unplugged from the tv and moved up to the wheelhouse on my boat to bang some tunes out while cruising down the canal, it goes plenty loud enough! Also good to use at bbq's. The sound bar audio is very clear (but as I said at the detriment of sounding a little tinny). Bluetooth connection of the sub is a doddle (I have it under my bed) For a bedroom it does add a bit of depth when watching movies and is just about adequate but if I had bought this for my lounge I would have returned it. It looks good (I suppose).

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Ease of use, seamlessly integrates

HT-CT290 30 May 2018 by RufusAyeni (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bundled with my new Sony Bravia TV. Good buy, A+++

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good Sound for the price

HT-CT290 25 May 2018 by Decibel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this with a new Sony TV and am very pleased with the sound quality for the price. The bass woofer makes a big difference with this sound bar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1