MRP

Rs. 18,990

(incl. of all taxes)
91

4.0 based on 91 customer reviews

38
28
14
5
6
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

Smart but Woofer needs more punch

HT-CT290 26 January 2019 by Dsony (United Kingdom)

I thought the woofer wasn’t working - could do with more oomph

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Poor quality

HT-CT290 11 June 2019 by Henry John (United Kingdom)

Had this since January 2019 still unable to synch speech with TV and sub woofer is barley audible. Going to contact customer services again to seek advice

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

91 Customer Reviews

0

Fantastic, recommended, buy now

HT-CT291 01 March 2020 by Sony MKD (United Kingdom)

I boght for 180 euros in Macedonia, sound is very clear, subwoofer is excelent, just perfection for the money. Bluetooth works perfectly, usb port reads all kind of music formats. Sound from Hdmi is better then bluetooth and optical. All i can say is worth for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

HT-CT290 12 June 2019 by Dejerm (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and I am pleased with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Poor quality

HT-CT290 11 June 2019 by Henry John (United Kingdom)

Had this since January 2019 still unable to synch speech with TV and sub woofer is barley audible. Going to contact customer services again to seek advice

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

0

Unreliable

HT-CT291 20 March 2019 by Bsnksy (United Kingdom)

I bought this product teo month ago and it is not working properly. Instructions aren't helpful.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

1

0

Good value for money soundbar

HT-CT290 27 January 2019 by Gentleman Jim (United Kingdom)

Not had it long but so far so good. It is a vast improvement over the inbuilt speakers of the TV. Good sound and suitably unobtrusive beneath the television. Good value for money and for my simple purposes I can't imagine I would improve on it at twice the price. Controls are relatively straightforward but it will be a while, if ever, before all features are tried out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Smart but Woofer needs more punch

HT-CT290 26 January 2019 by Dsony (United Kingdom)

I thought the woofer wasn’t working - could do with more oomph

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Soundbar

HT-CT291 21 January 2019 by tmc0918 (United Kingdom)

Does not work on new Bravia TV. Fiddly set up and not recognised on hdmi port.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Fantastic

HT-CT290 13 January 2019 by Darrian (United Kingdom)

Really quick and easy setup, sound is clear and crisp.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

So easy to set up

HT-CT291 11 January 2019 by powerful (United Kingdom)

Just plug the power lead in and follow the set up guide. No issues and great sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

good clear sound bar

HT-CT290 31 December 2018 by twizzle2 (United Kingdom)

i purchased this sound bar with subwoofer yesterday and all appearsd to work well. So far I am very satisfied

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good product

HT-CT290 23 December 2018 by AnnieM (United Kingdom)

We bought this soundbar several months ago with a speaker that can be connected in another part of the house and that gives us surround sound. Works well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sound but clumsy setup

HT-CT290 21 December 2018 by Shipponsteve (United Kingdom)

Looks good, sounds good, but the set-up leaves a lot to be desired. And why do I have to keep re-setting it?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

New speaker system

HT-CT290 18 December 2018 by Cornwall1 (United Kingdom)

Whilst buying a new TV we wanted to ensure we had a good sound system to compliment it and this system has certainly hit the mark so far in providing the sound we enjoy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Simply sounds better

HT-CT290 12 December 2018 by Musi (United Kingdom)

Sound bar improves the experience of virtually every programme, films are so much better and musi is enhanced greatly

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A must for any current TV

HT-CT290 12 December 2018 by Fazerroy (United Kingdom)

With out this sound bar, voices, music and background noises are really poor on most of the current crop of TV’s. Using the sound bar gives you vocal clarity, sonic highs plus great bass response.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very welcome freebie

HT-CT290 01 December 2018 by MP23 (United Kingdom)

Came free with my Sony Bravia purchased through John Lewis. We’ve not used a sound bar before so noticed a massive difference with and without the device. Has different modes for when you’re watching a film or tv and again there’s a noticeable difference that adds positively to the viewing experience. Reason I’m not giving 5 stars is because sometimes it doesn’t immediately connect with tv or it switches off if tv is paused or doesn’t sync perfectly with picture & I have to switch both devices off & on again

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing sound quality and accessability

HT-CT290 09 November 2018 by LurzLionheart (United Kingdom)

This product gives out a solid sound quality that has enhanced my experience of watching movies at home and listening to my music, whilst around the house. The fact that it has minimal wires makes it REALLY simple to set up and have around the room (my sub woofer is hidden behind the door but it still gives a great bassy sound that fills the room). Linking this device to smart phones and tablets is easy, either with the WiFi or Bluetooth connection. I was sceptical about getting a new soundbar system but glad I have as it is a lot smaller and better than my previous Pioneer home theatre system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed

HT-CT290 06 November 2018 by Gilly1 (United Kingdom)

Bought this believing it would improve the sound of voices (news etc.)but hardly noticed the difference. More annoyingly is that over a period of time a 'tinnyness' has developed as if the speakers are vibrating and distorting the sound on relatively low setting. An engineer will now be attending my home to examine, arranged by John Lewis who are brilliant and get my 5 stars for customer service.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

2

0

The subwoofer just works for one year...

HT-CT290 03 November 2018 by Renxiang (United Kingdom)

I bought this product one year ago. But now the subwoofer is not working. I haven't got time to go the fix. It was disappointing. Because it last just for one year. The speak is still ok. Hope you see my review and can arrange for fix!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Fits in with tv stand and does not stand out.

HT-CT290 02 November 2018 by Teflon (United Kingdom)

I have had it for three weeks and it is performing very well with good sound quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Soundbar that fully compliments my Sony TV

HT-CT290 01 November 2018 by bulko (United Kingdom)

I have had this unit for over 2 weeks & it is extremely versatile with great sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Out of sync

HT-CT290 30 October 2018 by Soaringman (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago, together with a new Sony 65” TV. Both give a lovely picture and sound, however I am very frustrated, because even though I have connected the products as shown in the instructions, after a while the sound goes out of sync with the picture, and can only be rectified by switching the tv and soundbar one-off and on again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Rubbish!

HT-CT290 29 October 2018 by Geoffds (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently along with a new 55" Sony TV and the two things just do not sync, Sony don't give a toss and neither to CurrysPC World

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Great soundbar.

HT-CT290 26 October 2018 by JCC_Somerset (United Kingdom)

Great integration with TV. Does too big or brash so it does not become the focus of the room.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lip synch

HT-CT290 25 October 2018 by Lisa90 (United Kingdom)

Lip synch is a massive issue. After numerous phone calls I was told" you will just have to get used to it" team know how at Currys where really unhelpful. The sound bar was a complete waste of money

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Good but not great sound

HT-CT290 22 October 2018 by Bennyboy1974 (United Kingdom)

Got this to go with my Sony 4K TV and PS4 Pro and the set up was nice and easy, however, first imprressions of the sound, whilst good was not great with not much in the way of bass through whilst watching the TV. I upgraded my HDMI cable to a more expensive 18Gps 4k cable and the results were much better. The bass came alive much more and the sound whilst playing the PS4 Pro and watching Blu Ray movies was really good. Never going to be as good as a full home theatre system but perfect for a gaming-set up. The wireless sub woofer is a great addition and have found that I get the best bass from it when it is away from the TV and behind where I am sitting, also gives the sound more depth.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

sony 55in 4k

HT-CT290 20 October 2018 by tommy 57 (United Kingdom)

Very happy with tv lots of features that i have not explored yet picture quality is excellent setting up tv for first time was easy highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Goes out of sync with TV

HT-CT291 01 October 2018 by Notnat (United Kingdom)

Bought this and a sony bravia TV and can not, despite searching internet and sony site, get them to stay in sync. Sound lags the picture. Very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

I expected better

HT-CT290 12 September 2018 by Lasher (United Kingdom)

I brought this to go with my Sony Bravia 49” ultra HD TV as it is a slimline soundbar and fits in front of the TV without obstructing the TV’s remote control point. It was easy to install and it does provide great sound, complimenting the TV very well. I connect the units via an HDMI ARC connection HOWEVER, I have 2 issues with the soundbar, Firstly, I tend to watch most of my digital TV through a SKy Q satellite receiver and the sound often drops out of sync. The Sky box does have a facility to correct sound/vision sync issues when connecting via HDMI ARC but, even when I have corrected the error, it will often appear again a few minutes later. For instance, when watching BBC news, we found that the newsreader was out of sync whilst the field reports were in sync. We switch channels and it sometimes is in sync and sometimes out. We use digital services such as Prime and Netflix and sometimes they are in sync and other times not. Similarly, sometimes even watching a Movie on my Sony Blu-Ray player will have some scenes in and out of sync. IT REALLY SHOULD NOT BE THIS DIFFICULT!! My other issue is that, when watching an action movie (Avengers) the other night, I found myself having to keep changing the volume as the dialogue was too quiet and then the action scenes were too loud. This may be a settings issue which I will peresevere with. Overall, I would give this 3 out of 5. It does produce good sound but I would not expect to have these issues when pairing it with other Sony devices.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Simple to use but broken within 14 months

HT-CT290 04 September 2018 by Glynn (United Kingdom)

I we have enjoyed using the sound bar but the main unit refuses to switch on after only 14 months of hardly any use. Guarantee is only for 12 months so not really worth the money

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing

HT-CT290 03 September 2018 by Brucelee32 (United Kingdom)

Best in its class and price range , i will be buying more Sony products as time goes by.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great TV Soundbar

HT-CT290 10 August 2018 by Bronnti (United Kingdom)

Very happy with sound and is very stylish, easy to fit up

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good sound

HT-CT290 31 July 2018 by D292 (United Kingdom)

Bought this product about 2 weeks again and so far have been pretty happy with it. Took a while to get everything set up properly but now its all done its a great addititon

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Amazing sound quality

HT-CT290 28 July 2018 by Chopkins (United Kingdom)

We are by no means experts on sound, so this review is purely for the amateur... I wanted a sound bar, my partner said it wont make much difference as TVs have good sound quality these days! Talked him in to it and we are both very impressed, we love the features to be able to go to cinema mode or voice mode depending on what we are watching. The bar automatically links as soon as you switch on the TV - love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good sound.

HT-CT290 26 July 2018 by Tony1300 (United Kingdom)

With my Sony TV, I needed to use both an HDMI cable (not supplied) and the optical cable supplied to get A/V sync. The sound bar turns on and off with the TV remote.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Should be able to increase gain on sub

HT-CT290 08 July 2018 by BigBits (United Kingdom)

Have to put it on full volume before sounding OK. Should be able to configure gain and crossover for the sub. Also a really noticeable lip sync problem with the sound bar.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really good sound!

HT-CT290 27 June 2018 by Mapesy (United Kingdom)

Sounds really great and so easy to set up. Just plug in and the Bluetooth automatically connected without me having to do anything. I would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not bad but poor bass

HT-CT290 01 June 2018 by bigboatman (United Kingdom)

Got this to go with my 32" Sony bravia tv in the bedroom. The bad points: The sound bar sounds a bit tinny, (high treble) and believe it or not the speakers in the TV actually sound warmer than the sound bar so I was initially disappointed (its a shame that the Sony set up turns the TV speakers off when it detects the sound bar). The bass from the sub only really comes into play when watching a movie (eg from Netflix) and does add a bit of depth if turned up full, certainly better than the TV speakers alone but you can't really hear much from it when watching "normal" TV (but you can if watching something on HD on Freeview). Also when the sub does work its not very controlled, a bit loose and wooly but then I'm comparing it to some pretty high end kit in my lounge so maybe I'm being a bit harsh (at this price point). I cant really tell much difference between the different sound fields (Movie, Music, Voice), Clear Audio + is ok for watching the news I guess (but I usually just use the TV speakers). Have had some lip sync issues, sometimes turning it off and back on sorts it, sometimes not (I'm using HDMI connected to the ARC HDMI on the TV. The good points: Its easy to connect to by Bluetooth with my (and other peoples phones) to play music and sounds ok. Portability, ok its a fair size but easily unplugged from the tv and moved up to the wheelhouse on my boat to bang some tunes out while cruising down the canal, it goes plenty loud enough! Also good to use at bbq's. The sound bar audio is very clear (but as I said at the detriment of sounding a little tinny). Bluetooth connection of the sub is a doddle (I have it under my bed) For a bedroom it does add a bit of depth when watching movies and is just about adequate but if I had bought this for my lounge I would have returned it. It looks good (I suppose).

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Ease of use, seamlessly integrates

HT-CT290 30 May 2018 by RufusAyeni (United Kingdom)

Bundled with my new Sony Bravia TV. Good buy, A+++

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good Sound for the price

HT-CT290 25 May 2018 by Decibel (United Kingdom)

I purchased this with a new Sony TV and am very pleased with the sound quality for the price. The bass woofer makes a big difference with this sound bar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Looks and sounds great

HT-CT290 22 May 2018 by KARLNILIESTHE1st (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few weeks ago I'm absolutely happy overall with this product very very good sound quality would recommend to anyone well done sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not as yet impressed

HT-CT290 21 May 2018 by Ray117 (United Kingdom)

Bought this along with a Sony TV, as yet not over impressed with the audio performance,maybe need to spend a bit more time tweaking the settings

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

simple to set up, good sound quality for the money

HT-CT290 20 May 2018 by ross37 (United Kingdom)

This was free with a new TV, so wasn't expecting much. Have been very pleasantly surprised by the quality of sound. Very easy to install too!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very dissapointed

HT-CT290 19 May 2018 by Goldfish2 (United Kingdom)

I bought the soundbar with a new Sony 4K television thinking I would have no problems. However the soundbar is out of lip synch with all sources and it could not be fixed. I had to return it and swapped for a Yamaha soundbar which is fine.Looking on line I see this is a common problem with Sony soundbars. I did not install it incorrectly. I am a sound engineer.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sub woofer died after four months

HT-CT290 13 May 2018  (United Kingdom)

After only four months the sub woofer died and would no longer power on. I had to take to a Sony repair centre who have had it for a week so far and I am waiting to hear when it will be repaired It also often fails to turn on when the tv is powered on Sound is ok but not as good as my last surround sound system. Not much bass from the sub woofer

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0