MRP

Rs. 307,990

(incl. of all taxes)
57

4.7 based on 57 customer reviews

46
9
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

57 Customer Reviews

0

Great Camera

ILCE-9 08 October 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from the Sony A73 about 6 weeks ago, and the A9 is Fabulous, I like to capture wildlife and the A9 Focusing and the continuous view in the viewfinder is Amazing, especially capturing birds in flight. I would definitely recommend the A9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ergonomically not great but surpasses all other ca

ILCE-9 21 September 2020 by Janner1406 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having transferred from DSLRs to mirrorless with the Sony A7III and waiting for the release (not forthcoming) of the A7IV upgraded to the Sony A9. No regrets. The Tracking AI of this camera is truly superb and suits my genre of photography, wildlife and aviation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amzing auto focus.

ILCE-9 19 August 2020 by Richo2440 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing camera, wildlife photographers dream. The focus system is amazing

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

grainy quality pictures after canon

ILCE-9 06 August 2020 by mr mac (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

impossible to get cash back. suggest for customer who has spent a very considerable amount of money with sony it should be better

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

This is a pro camera ideally for sports

ILCE-9 15 July 2020 by steve from notts (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a fantastic camera for pros otherwise an a7mkiii is certainly good enough The auto focus system in the a9 is the very very best better than the nikon d5 or d500 and certainly better than anything cannon makes . The a7rmkiii is the very best do anything camera The a 9 is better for sports hope this helps steve

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic action Camera

ILCE-9/BQ IN5 19 May 2020 by NSKUMARAN (India)

Such a wildlife photographer like me would always prefer light weight camera.A9 weight is considerably too light and animal Eye AF does pretty good woks as well. The sharpness of the pictures and speed of the camera are incredible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

A9 is all that you’d need!

ILCE-9/BQ IN5 17 May 2020 by Sunny84 (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony a9 in February 20202 after doing a bit of research from the internet and YouTube. I wanted to switch to mirrorless and Sony for a long time and I’m very happy that I finally did. The a9 is a professional camera with so many pro features like superfast autofocus (AF), human and animal eye AF, 20fps etc. I also love the silent shooting. The resolution of the electonic viewfinder is top notch. Upgrading from a regular DSLR to a Sony mirrorless especially the a9 will bring a whole of features that will surprise the user. On a whole a worthy purchase and cheers to Sony. Pros: 1. 693 AF points 2. Super fast and reliable AF 3. Human and animal eye AF 4. 20 fps shooting 5. Silent shooting 6. Dedicated drive mode dial 7. Portable size 8. Dual memory card slots Cons: 1. Just 24 Megapixels 2. Card slot 2 is UHS1 compatible only 3. Display is not touch screen except for AF 4. Screen cannot be flipped and rotated to shoot selfies but can only be tilted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ease of use compared to DSLR

ILCE-9 14 May 2020 by McPor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

AF is amazing and customisation of camera is excellent. Really happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super fast

ILCE-9 03 April 2020 by Edh87 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best focus system I’ve ever used, great image quality which is what I needed for wildlife and my dogs, only down sides are limited functions when buffering, the body is not the most comfortable one and no exposure compensation lock, they have improved alot of this with the mk ii and a7r iv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pro camera for action

ILCE-9 07 February 2020 by dovydas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from Sony a7 III to shoot wildlife and birds in flight. It is the best body for the action you could get!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent in every way!

ILCE-9 03 December 2019 by Nick100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After some deliberation I moved over to the Sony a9 from my Canon system and have no regrets at all. The camera is really well built, menu easy to use and the three custom buttons really useful! The autofocus is excellent and a great improvement on my last system. I can’t praise the camera and Sony lenses enough!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic eye focusing

ILCE-9 26 October 2019 by Loobylou9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It has taken a while to navigate around the controls but fantastic camera and quality lighter than most too

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sensor, who designed the firmware???

ILCE-9 12 October 2019 by AshMills (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a full time professional photographer. I have migrated to Sony because of the lens range and sensor design. The moment to moment real-world handling and operation of this camera is however really poor. For instance- if you want to see the results you are taking you need auto review turned on, which is normal in theory except you have to re press the shutter to carry on shooting, rather than keeping it half pressed while shooting (without interruption) then release and see the last photo!! This is SO fundamental!!! Please pass this on. Other very annoying things include: can’t re-map video recording button, OS shouting at you if you press something that is disabled while shooting, and not having a swivelling screen!! (Are Sony shooters just not supposed to take low angle portrait orientation shots?!!) This system is currently really flawed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

5

0

The camera with the fastes autofocus on the world

ILCE-9 08 October 2019 by agubariu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I switched after using Canon for more then 10 years. The reason I switched is the eye/face auto-focus. The only things that I miss is the better color reproduction (in specially skin tones), a fully articulated screen (most for protecting the screen from scratches and taking low level shots in portrait mode) an the lack of sensor dust protection when switching lenses. Also I wish some native f1.2 lenses. And a more better design menu with touch functionality.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-9 06 October 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First of all, I’ve only given 4stars because I only wished the body had weather sealing. Otherwise I find it the perfect camera. Brilliant fast focusing, lightweight, good battery life and fast shutter! That’s all I need.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features!

ILCE-9 04 October 2019 by markyl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i typically shoot Canon but for a number of reason i have decided to try a Sony sytem and so far im very impressed. Also since owning the camera there have been 2 firware updates that have made great improvements to an already great camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Superb camara

ILCE-9 23 September 2019 by Nikonflyfisher (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been Nikon man for 40 years, now made the shift to Sony A9. Wow, the best Bird Camera I have ever tried. I am so happy with this camera, never look back on Nikon.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Full frame camera

ILCE-9/BQ IN5 05 September 2019 by bhaskar7x7 (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am going out mainly on photo trips with my friend who carries his 500mm Canon prime and 1DX, after several trips to Serengeti and in India with worthy experiences for my photography hobby using Sony a6500 and RX100VI that I also own, I decided to go full frame with Sony a9, even though such a trip is due soon with my shiny new Sony A9 with 100-400GM, I can whole heartedly vouch for Sony quality, Its awesome. Still learning something new everyday and so much more yet to learn. Best part about travelling with a friend who loves his Canon is seeing other side of things and getting to know his experiences first hand. I will update my review soon with full details.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

An absolute game changer.

ILCE-9 29 July 2019 by MrLauriie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having done some mixed amateur/professional photography with the Sony a7 II, I wanted to overcome the issues with AF that it had. I was seriously missing out on a number of photos, especially in fast pace sport-like moments. I also produced a few different films for clients and was keen to keep that possibility open - again AF was an issue here. The a9 has not stopped surprising me since I bought it 8 months ago. This is a combination of the cameras hardware, but also its firmware - which Sony keep updating.. Thank you! The fact that there is no black-out whilst shooting and the focus tracking is so 'sticky', the a9 is a dream to work with. I've taken just over 10,000 photos and about 10 hours worth of video, of which, a much higher percentage can be shown to the client then before with the a7 II. I find myself focusing far more on the composition now, which is a good thing. Would definitely recommend to someone looking for an AF machine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Great lightweight full frame camera

ILCE-9 28 July 2019 by greeneyes27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've moved over to Sony from Nikon because primarily, I wanted to lighten up the load I was carrying on weddings, and was excited to use the incredibly eye auto focus system and silent mode with the high end Sony's. Electronic shutter/ silent mode is a dream to use during wedding ceremonies. Overall, this camera will not disappoint. It's great for all the reasons I wanted it for - lightness, quietness and great auto focussing. It meets nearly all my needs. I've not yet found it as good as I'd expected in low light, even with good prime lenses, and some of the ergonomics need adjusting, with a few key buttons being slightly larger/ more raised on the body. Whilst the body size is brilliant, for people with big hands, it's a bit small but too much bigger and it would be as big as the DSLR's I've moved away from. I've had to hunt around for a few settings in the menu, which weren't as straightforward as they should have been (eg assigning role to card 1 & card 2). The lens release button isn't in the most accessible place either. These things aside, it's still a great camera and game change from DSLR's to mirrorless and I'd highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Swapping from Canon

ILCE-9 15 July 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The focus on this camera is incredable. Having read reviews I had high expectations for the a9, I wasn't dissapionted!! This camera nails focus no matter what even when the Sigma MC 11 is used, I'm totally sold on the Sony.. Can't recommend it enough!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Go mirrorless!

ILCE-9 06 July 2019 by On the Rock (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've just purchased the Sony A9 together with the 24-70 GM lens and this has been an excellent choice. Originally I have been a loyal Canon user and originally went to purchase the Canon 5D, but whilst at my at my local supplierer tried it then move to the Sony A9 and thats all it took. Beautiful camera together with the lens which was my biggest concern for choice. Sony is definately the choice of the moment due to the step up in technology without a doubt. If you are planning to purchase go to your local supplier and give the Sony A9 a try you may not look back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Dream come true

ILCE-9 17 June 2019 by Furzer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera about a month ago I up graded from the Sony A77ii to the Sony A7iii and now to the A9 this is the a dream of a camera, I am retired hobby photographer of about 8 years experience so this A9 is way more than I need but I am not going back I am learning so much with this camera I am not able to give a product type review but I think this camera has it all

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

New to a9

ILCE-9 31 May 2019 by Tonyboat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it one month ago so I still have a lot to learn, but I am very impressed. I owned a canon 1DX mk2 but have traded in all. I have so far bought sony A9,24-105,100-400,1.4 ex,16-35, and 90 macro lens. very pleased and impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Sony a9 is wonderful camera for professional usage

ILCE-9/BQ IN5 15 May 2019  (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

As per features and color science is brilliant camera and I really enjoying sony a9 , focus is accurate and battery life and body grip is perfect , no heating issues , love this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Focus

ILCE-9 08 May 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is stunning, the focus is incredibly fast and bang on

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

What a beast!

ILCE-9 25 April 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I came late to the 'mirrorless party' but boy, am I glad I purchased the A9. Coming from DSLRs with 9 AF points to 693, is a revelation. I installed v.5 of the firmware immediately on purchase of the camera and haven't looked back since. I love the AF, weight, customisation and general feel of the camera. I went back a week later and purchased the battery grip (big hands). I am still enjoying 'playing' with my a9, and I cannot see that wearing off any time soon. Having read a lot of negative reviews about the menu systems on Sony cameras in general, I took the plunge on the a9 and honestly, I don't know what all the fuss was about. Take the time to run through them, familiarise yourself with them, and get on with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Mr Kerr

ILCE-9 23 April 2019 by felicitys dad2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a9 camera from the advice of the very helpful staff at Carlisle Sony Centre. The camera has lived up to all expectations, and some.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-9 13 April 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera but where are the 600mm lens Sony it's time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The future is here.

ILCE-9 03 April 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simply the best camera I have ever owned. Amazing AF, picture quality and technology. The only negative is the terminology and in depth custom menus that need to be simplified.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A9 The most amazing camera ..Thanks Sony

ILCE-9 01 April 2019 by Chrisww (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought last year and just upgraded to version 5..Wow fantastic like a new camera. Focus tracking incredible.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

The A9 is an electronic genius

ILCE-9 15 March 2019 by Jellybelly1960 (United Kingdom)

The A9 performance is top pro level great ISO and with brilliant focusing an absolute pleasure to use I would fully recommend this electronic marvel

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Excellent action camera.

ILCE-9 15 March 2019 by Pete2423 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I required a fast and accurate focusing camera for birds and insects in flight to replace my Sony A7II and compliment my Sony A7III. The A9 was the obvious choice. After just a week of owning mine, I am pleased to report it is even better than expected: and, from my point of view, the forthcoming updates will make it superior to anything else currently available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony a9, the best camera that I have ever owned

ILCE-9 05 March 2019 by G0WYN (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My main interest in picture taking is motor racing and other action photography. I found that the a9 was much superior to any other camera that I had used for this with it's ability to shoot 20 fps and focus on each image.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Blisteringly fast & accurate Autofocus and burst

ILCE-9 07 February 2019 by DMTh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I cam to Sony after many years with DSLR and latterly an alternative Mirrorless brand. The ability to move back to Full Frame, coupled with a best in class autofocus system has not let me down. I am very impressed with the overall package delivered by the A9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-9 24 January 2019 by DeerekMacLean (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this almost two weeks ago and I am glad I did. Having been a Nikon user for almost 30 yrs I was looking for a more up to date camera. I was considering an Olympus system but when I reviewed the Sony I was really impressed. Added to the fact that I got a great trade in for my Nikon kit and a £400 reduction on the A9 I couldn't resist. The only small issue is that the menu system is complex but it is just a matter of getting used to it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Absolutely fantastic

ILCE-9 08 January 2019 by Kazls (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera a few weeks ago and totally blown away, came over from using Olympus for the last 10 years and wow.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

good features, little easy and handy

ILCE-9 17 December 2018 by Havare62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought camera a few months ago, and is very pleased, taking sharp pictures and, not least, easy and little

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Terrifyingly Fast!

ILCE-9 06 November 2018 by Idjbell (United Kingdom)

What an amazing camera. I was drawn to it for the speed for use with sports. photography however it offers so much more- autofocus and eye tracking are sensational. It took me a while to get used to just how good it is and hand over trust that it will sort things out. I've taken 15000 shots in 4 months and I've got the shot I wanted every time. I made the switch when I realised my previous equipment, albeit top of the range, couldn't cope with what I wanted. The senor size of my previous camera was holding me back. Sadly the A9 isn't perfect and for the next version I hope Sony will make it fully weatherproof, include a flip out screen, change the ergonomics- make it a bit bigger- this camera is for professionals but it rides off the back of an enthusiast body- eg I struggle with back button focus as I use my left eye for the viewfinder- I had more space and a better lay out on a top micro four thirds camera from which I came. Change these things and then it will be the most perfect camera ever. For now though it does enough to get it 5 stars for features and quality of the photos its produces. I can't think of another camera I'd rather be using right now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Sony's a9 didn't disappoint

ILCE-9 08 October 2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A few months ago I made the decision to upgrade my equipment. After spending several weeks researching all the various brands I decided to make the switch from Canon to Sony. Because of the nature of the work I do, I needed a set of cameras and lenses that I could be confident wouldn't let me down in critical situations. For the sport and wildlife I choose the a9 because of the speed and silent shooting which to date has proved itself invaluable around animals, and at events where noise has to be kept to a minimum. The focus speed and 20fps of the a9 is outstanding. The camera is a good weight, nice and light but not light it feels like plastic. The menu system is complex but once you find your way around it and begin to customise the buttons it soon becomes easy to navigate. Battery power is good, I've shot several games, shooting hundreds of images and never found it a problem. Even the digital in crop feature is useful at some sporting events, increasing the range from 400mm to 600mm in an instance. I've dabbled a little in the 4k video and to say i'm highly impressed is an understatement. Handheld video using the sony's 5 stop in camera images stablisation is impressive. Something I am more and more being ask to do. There's so much more I love about the a9 but the last thing I'll mention which is another show stopper for me is the no black out shooting. Being able to watch the action continue as you shoot is weird at first but now I couldn't live without it. All in all I couldn't be happier with my choice to swap from Canon to Sony and whilst using their flagship cameras isn't cheap, finding the right deal at the right made the whole switch extremely good value for me and my whole camera bag is over 5kg less in weight now too. Mirrorless is the future and to a certain extent the a9 is somewhat future proof for everything I'll need now and for years to come.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Best camera ever!!!

ILCE-9 27 July 2018 by rob47uk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as my main wedding photography camera. I have been blown away by it. The silent shooting is fantastic during ceremonies. The fast silent shooting is also fantastic especially useful for confetti shots, walking up the aisle, first kiss etc. The focussing modes are fab. The low light performance has been fab. It’s light and even with a heavy lens like the 24-70 GM I am not feeling tired at the end of a long day. I have also used it for my other passion which is horse show jumping events. This is where the silent fast frame rate and tracking focus really comes in handy. One word Awesome!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-9 20 July 2018 by BobRriach (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really fast shutter and silent great for wildlife and sport photography

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

High quality, silent capture for live events

ILCE-9 30 June 2018 by pjtk1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the best mirrorless professional camera on the market and produces images of high quality but the camera has over complicated menus and the customs controls can suddenly freeze so that you are stuck with a focusing mode you don't want. There is no way to resolve this apart from going back into the menu to change settings by which time you've missed the shot! Also the camera allows for 2 SD cards but doesn't automatically switch from one to the other when one becomes full. You have to do that in the menu. Formatting is also extremely slow. Overall a great camera but until Sony fix the bugs I rely on my Nixon D5 cameras, unless I have to work in complete silence.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

6

2

0

Quick.....

ILCE-9 22 June 2018 by MicroPete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the A9 for action as other camera refused to capture birds in flight

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

No rolling shutter

ILCE-9 10 June 2018 by Sebastian Squirrel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I work as a stills photographer on film sets where silence is compulsory. For years I used Nikons, or Canons, housed in sound proof blimps. The blimps were never completely sound proof, and were cumbersome to use. My first Sony was an A7Rii which was completely silent while using the electronic shutter, but it did suffer from "rolling shutter" causing fast moving subjects to distort. Then I bought an A9. This is a fantastic camera!!! Absolutely no rolling shutter distortion. As with all Sony Alpha cameras the flip out screen affords you waist level operation which is another fantastic benefit above the Nikon and Canon rivals. I have actually sold all my Nikon and Canon kit, plus their blimps. I even sold my Leica M9 as the Sony A9 is far superior. Buy one, you'll love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

Focus monster

ILCE-9 11 May 2018 by Recon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been looking to get into the serious end of photography for a while now and was lucky enough to not be already financially tied into a brand, which gave me carte blanche as far as new gear goes. I also wanted a travel camera and ended up getting the RX 10 Mk4, which was a jaw dropping intro to Sony cameras, 24-600mm lens and 24 fps(superb feature!) being the two outstanding features that lifts this camera to a level unimaginable 10 years ago. The quality of this camera made choosing the A9(almost went for A7R3....) farily straightforward. I wanted a high fps rate as I shoot a fair bit of action, good low light capability as I shoot a lot of concerts and I wanted to go full frame for that extra bit of quality. In use the A9 is a really solid bit of kit. It is built like a tank, heavy in all the right ways and has an incredible array of features. Having got used to Sony's menu setups with the RX10 I found it easy to set up eye recognition, turn the camera into a fully silent shooter and was able to figure out the key features quickly. The reason I ended up going for the A9 over the A7R3 was the focussing system. No point in having twice as many pixels if they ain't in focus. This camera will focus on all sorts of things that would defeat normal AF and can track it all the way across the screen. Centre focus really is right tight in the centre. Flexible spot is good for focussing off centre. Tracking focus is outstanding. It can even focus on midges floating around in the sunlight. More pixels would have been good, but we can't have everything I guess. As it is the camera produces superb images, accurate colours can shoot in light that would be too weak for a lot of other cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Great tech but..

ILCE-9 06 April 2018 by Whoareyou (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the technology and capacity of the A9, but it’s body needs a bit of work. Already have a bit of paint rubbed off and less than a year and it needs sending over because of defective wheels. Pro capacity, so please have a pro body!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

5

0

Best camera for 35mm I have used today

ILCE-9 15 March 2018 by BerndinBerlin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nothing really new to report here that hasn't been published before. The autofocus on this camera is second to none. This includes with some limitations even adapted lenses from Sigma which work for my line of work (fashion) almost perfectly. The massive buffer is amazing and the image quality is without a flaw. The silent electronic shutter is amazing, even though for model shoots you should have an acoustic feedback that the shot was taken. Models seemed a bit confused and were wondering when I would get on with things. The user interface is over all still a bit crowded and confusing but I could get around it by setting up the personalised menu as well as storing the most used settings. Only one thing raised a red flag: After only two days in the studio the PC sync terminal became loose. To the point that the camera needed repair as I was afraid it would break off completely. In 20 years working in the business and being in the studio with almost every camera system available I have to say that this is a first. With the known hot shoe issue Sony should maybe have a second and close look at quality control and sturdiness. Overall: Best 35 mm camera I have ever used.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Fantastic camera

ILCE-9 24 February 2018 by RGillibrand (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This feels like that camera I've been waiting years for. Fantastic autofocus system, excellent high ISO performance and customisation that allows you to get the camera to work the way you want. The only downside is that the camera lacks Playmemories App and S-Log support, for the price and spec of the camera this is a real let down. Other than that I couldn't be happier with the camera and I hope it serves me well for many years to come.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Best camera

ILCE-9 22 November 2017 by John34533 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the last camera I will buy because I am 70yo and I know it will perform for many years to come. I have 2 other Sony cameras R1 and Next which have been great. I am selling my Olympus and Nikon gear because the Sony A9 is so much better in many the menu is very easy to navigate, the features like eye tracking and 20 frames a second are brilliant. I get to use my Minolta lenses Regards John

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

amazing camera

ILCE-9 09 November 2017 by ChrisS9 (United Kingdom)

Bought a few months ago and have used regularly for weddings since July this year (2017) Love using it and the speed and tracking is great using eye autofocus and for other uses like for birds in flight etc tracking is incredible

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

4

0

Best Camera

ILCE-9 08 November 2017  (United Kingdom)

This is probably the best camera I've ever owned. Having followed the evolution of the A7 series I made the leap from the A7RII to the A9 and haven't regretted it at all. Superb quality, ease of handling - the best of the best?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

α9. Speedy!

ILCE-9 20 August 2017 by Photography Bob (United Kingdom)

I've been a professional photographer since the late 80's. As the years have gone by the studio grew and I moved into the management of the business. This has meant that I've not been shooting seriously for about 10 years. Well, I decided to change that, it's easy when you own the studio, and get back to what I love best, making images. I decided to buck the studio trend of Hasselblad's and Canon's and try the Sony. I'm glad I did, the speed and accuracy of the focus is outstanding and the camera as a whole handles very nicely. It feels solid and doesn't need to wrapped in cotton wool. Now everyone in the studio wants to borrow it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

0

0

Sony Revue the A9The speed of the camera is the ma

ILCE-9 14 July 2017 by Dinky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The speed of the camera is the main reason I purchased it also the size making it easier to carry

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

5

0

Great Features

ILCE-9 19 June 2017 by Chris7W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera about 3 weeks ago and so far I'm delighted with its ease of use, excellent auto focus and its light weight, I traded in a Canon 1DX plus Canon lenses and I'm 100% sure I made the right decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

19

5

0

Never miss a shot

ILCE-9 15 June 2017 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since my purchase of the A9, my photography has moved to a higher level. The fast focus, Eye focus and stabilization, means perfection in every shot. Erganomics of this camera makes the A9 ready within seconds for any situation. The silent shutter is perfect for wildlife. I am not a professional, but having the A9 makes me feel like one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

29

8

0

The perfect wedding camera

ILCE-9 15 June 2017 by TomB11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The lack of banding with the electronic shutter means I can use it with confidence all day at a wedding under any lighting conditions without disturbing anyone or disrupting a ceremony with an annoying click. The new joystick and touchscreen makes precision spot focusing a breeze and coupled with the fast auto foucs I rarely miss a shot. The improved battery lasts so long I only need two for a 12 hour day shooting up to 5000 photos. A 2nd card slot means I can shoot with two in all day and not worry about switching cards regularly throughout the day to guard against card failure. I really like the new dial for drive mode & focus mode select, and the overall design is a step up from the a7ii series. The no blackout takes a bit of getting used to, but once you've used it for a while it's annoying going back to another camera without it. These cameras instantly feel outdated compared to using the a9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

2