MRP

Rs. 174,490

(incl. of all taxes)
46

4.6 based on 46 customer reviews

31
11
4
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great in low light but beware the claims

ILCE-7SM2 01 January 2016 by Freekorps (United Kingdom)

Having played about with this camera for a couple of weeks, the stabilisation and low light features are great. However, the ISOs claimed by specs are misleading as beyond a certain limit he images are too noisy to be useful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

A very mixed mind about this one

ILCE-7SM2 21 April 2016 by pinky the mouse (United Kingdom)

I feel like I have been sold a broken product, the skew introduced due to the poor image sensor scanning speed, is so pronounced that most moving style shots, or shots where the subjects move quickly through the frame are useless and have to be binned. Its a shame, I am sure I can work around this with carefully planned scenes but I fell this product should never really have made it through to the production stage. On the upside the video when good is exceptional, low light capabilities are very impressive. Shame though about the battery life!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

7

5

46 Customer Reviews

0

Photos!? Yeah, photos!

ILCE-7SM2 12 September 2019  (United Kingdom)

Alright I don't think the intention of this camera was directly aimed at photos, but it is a mirrorless and therefore its primary purpose should be photos. While I am a videogrpaher I'm primarily a photographer, the megapixle count isn't too high but with the amount od fetail the sensor picks up I've ad no issues at all with it. The low ligut performance has throoguhly blown my mind, it's allowed some serious creativity in the night time world. It takes everything to a whole new level, night looks so much cleaner and like I really can photograph in the dark.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A7sii

ILCE-7SM2 08 September 2019 by Howeuk (United Kingdom)

Great B camera for shooting interviews and using on a gimbal ! I use the A7sii camera (of which I own 2) alongside my Sony PMW F5 Main camera !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it love it love it

ILCE-7SM2 15 July 2019 by Doofee (United Kingdom)

Bought for my daughter who loves making films; it ticks all the boxes for her: quality of film, slow motion, zooming in, to name just a few. Not cheap but, worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Low light supremo

ILCE-7SM2 23 June 2019 by Sinc (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for a specific job, which involved filming bioluminescent Dinoflagellate algae - the camera lived up to its reputation, with a maximum ISO of 409,600 it captured the brief flashes of light emitted by the algae. I then tried it for macro filming of insects in the wild and the results are gorgeous.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Knight owl

ILCE-7SM2 02 May 2019 by Abu Foysol (United Kingdom)

Most amazing piece of equipment I ever bought, I’ve shot amazing video with the Sony A7sii specially in low light, S log is brilliant, some of Sony A7sii footage I compared with Arrie camera and no one could tell the difference. amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent features but poor reliability

ILCE-7SM2 03 April 2019 by N12NJA (United Kingdom)

Love this cameras images and videos but unfortunately after the warranty period the camera developed problems with its image stabilisation system. This seems to be a very common issue (turn off and on again error but doesn't resolve it) and so it is unfortunate Sony will not fix it as a known fault with the build.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Low Light with 4K resolution

Body Only 01 April 2019 by FotoConto (India)

I am using Sony mirrorless since the sony launch A6000 and A7 series. It was the bebst decision to shift on this mirror less. Am still sony A7S II for my video recording in weddings. Not able to get anything better and will update only with Sony a7m3 with new color report.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worth the move from Canon

ILCE-7SM2 15 February 2019 by DomSabinePro (United Kingdom)

So happy with my a7s2 for video, photos arent the best but the video is incredible! Which is why I bought it anyway.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Review RSM 7asII

ILCE-7SM2 28 January 2019 by CMMPRODUCTIONS (United Kingdom)

Bought this DSLR camera. Extremely clear sharp photography. Highly commendable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

low light amazing sharp

ILCE-7SM2 13 July 2018 by eduardo_g (United Kingdom)

perfect for budget low light professional filming. the only problem i found it is the limit of 25 fps on 4k

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Awesome in low light

ILCE-7SM2 10 June 2018 by Live Aurora Network (United Kingdom)

Used this camera and lens for the Aurora, it worked so well I bought some more of them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Perfect filming companion

ILCE-7SM2 09 June 2018 by HarryKnight (United Kingdom)

This sony A7Sii has been a great step up from my previous DSLR when it comes to video. I am loving the internal stablisation, the custom buttons and custom function menu. It is giving me a lot of control to make it my own. I'm still adjusting to using it for photos as I came from Canon. I have found it to be a little bit less intuitive but this may just be as I've only used Canon previously and need to get more comfortable with the feel of it. Although it's primarliy used for video so it's been the perfect upgrade and the build quality is also much better than my previous EOS 600D.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Absolutely Amazing

ILCE-7SM2 03 April 2018 by Zuka (United Kingdom)

It's one awesome camera, I love everything about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Professional low light tool

ILCE-7SM2 01 April 2018 by Dewar (United Kingdom)

Bought for low light video and photography, I was delighted with the overall quality. I have not yet used it in the field (wildlife) but local tests indicate it will deliver the quality required. I am impressed with the full range of features and capabilities for both stills (especially in RAW mode) and video. With use of converters, I can not only use my excellent full frame Sony A Mount lenses but also my huge range of superb Olympus OM lenses and also the Pentax K 1000mm f11.0. This camera has opened up new video and still options for me and I should have bought it earlier. The price was the main obstacle.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

FANTASTICALLY INTUITIVE HANDLING, AMAZING QUALITY

ILCE-7SM2 11 February 2018 by Imogen (United Kingdom)

Just got back from filming in Dahab, Egypt, on my new A7S, bought just two weeks before to replace my kit stolen in a house burglary. I went from the Sony Z7 video (it had great qualities for the work I was doing, but I needed something more discrete, for the sometimes sensitive situations I film in). This camera is a beautiful little machine, it allowed me to film in every level of light down to deep night, with clean, fabulous quality. Couldn't be happier with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An incredible camera.

ILCE-7SM2 03 February 2018 by SiHaze (United Kingdom)

I've recently upgraded to Sony a7sii and have been blown away by the quality of this camera. I'm using it to shoot a variety of videos and so far everything has come out a thousand times better than I thought was possible under my control. I was a lil terrified of all the settings at first but after spending a few hours playing around the footage I can get is incredible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

See in the dark

ILCE-7SM2 15 January 2018 by Andy2754 (United Kingdom)

Lovely full frame mirrorless camera. Nice build quality and ergonomics. The best thing about the camera is the sensor, which is incredible in low light conditions, enabling shooting in extremely low light without the need for longer exposures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Insane Camera

ILCE-7SM2 12 January 2018 by Billy18375 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera for the quality and it is insane.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy setup -with great quality outcomes

ILCE-7SM2 07 January 2018 by NAmedia (United Kingdom)

I’m new to this camera, yet it feels so natural. The quality and focus is sharp, and it allows me to explore my creativity.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

....

Body Only 05 January 2018 by jk007 (India)

I would recommend sony to make products user friendly and rigid body making quality.I knew that this is not for photography , but even though at this price range it must produce some good quality pics,buts its average . Video quality is goood .

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

SIngle Word: AWESOME!!

Body Only 15 November 2017 by Bippo (India)

I purchased this couple of months back. mainly for video. I'm really happy with the output of this product. Actually, i have heard a lot of good reviews about A7SII and wanted to own this. I saved up money and bought this. Now i'm blown away by the camera. I consider this as the best purchase in my life...!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The best Camera in the segment and even above.

Body Only 15 November 2017 by anantvyas (India)

Love this super affordable cinema equivalent mirrorless beast.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great images, brilliant for video

ILCE-7SM2 14 October 2017 by Jondle (United Kingdom)

I'm a professional filmmaker and editor and I was was looking a new camera for work. I chose the A7sii for the size, image quality and choice of control. However I was very impressed with the images in lower light conditions, when filming. I work with theatres and this camera is perfect for those conditions when you need to increase the ISO and still get great video. 4k is amazing too. Overall a great camera. Would recommend to anyone this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant but frustrating!

ILCE-7SM2 31 May 2017 by BuzzView (United Kingdom)

Unbelivable low-light full frame camera, which is very badly let down by poor design in several key areas. Battery life is frankly awful. Screen menu and internet access is terrible due to a lack of a touchscreen interface. No side flip out screen. The smartphone remote control app works reasonably well, but what a pain to set up initially. Sony, you should be doing better than this! If Panasonic can do it, so should you!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Brilliant with minor annoyances

ILCE-7SM2 20 May 2017 by JWfilm (United Kingdom)

Brilliant cinematic images and incredible dynamic range for the price. The Dynamic range is the main reason I still prefer this over the GH5. It takes a while to work out workflow with the log gammas but they are great when you get used to it however I wish it had a 10bit option; I occasionally see banding on white surfaces when pushing too far using slog3. On my model the SD card door became hard to open however i have compared to many models and assume its not a widespread issue. One issue that is present on all models though is that the body has very soft paint and will be removed very easily. This however isn't a issue if you don't mind cosmetic marks on the camera, it does however affect resell value. The menu system isn't bad and the custom buttons make it so I rarely need to go into it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Amazing Quality!!

ILCE-7SM2 25 April 2017 by George28051 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera as i wanted something that shot stunning video as well as great photos. This camera certainly pulls this off. Everything from the numerous in-camera features to the way the camera is built makes it a joy to use and to own. I love it!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great image quality

ILCE-7SM2 02 April 2017 by Rosscodj (United Kingdom)

Happy with image quality but video settings are confusing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Quality Camera

ILCE-7SM2 01 April 2017 by Dano321 (United Kingdom)

Quality camera, so many good features, as expected. Great to use and comfortable in your hand. Downsides - Batteries don't last that long. Clips for the strap loosely dangle on the side, should be built in. Menu is fiddly, but you can custom program buttons and you get used to it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good Feature

Body Only 16 January 2017 by prince24 (India)

I had the camera used, I felt great, its low light performance is great, the color is good, 5 axis stabilization steady shot very helpful, the 4 video is very good, the slow motion is good enough just a little disappointed in photography, over all the camera is good.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Love it

Body Only 03 October 2016  (India)

Loved the way it handles in low light. Very much light and compact. Quality is too good. The only thing I don't like is battery drains fast when shooting video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Low Light Beast

Body Only 28 September 2016 by daddu (India)

I started video filming few months back . I am in the wedding industry Photography Business for past 3 years. I am so happy and relieved after using Sony A7S2 for videos. It is unbeatable even though i expected a free Time Lapse App.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great Camera but why no Time Lapse?

ILCE-7SM2 01 June 2016 by Adam001 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera because of it's 4k, low-light and slo-mo capabilities, it did not disappoint in any of these respects. In fact I have since bought a second one so that I can keep one attached to a Ronin M Gimbal or Edelkrone Slider system and the other fitted into a Tilta Cage with accessories such as Sony Audio Mixer, Sennheiser Wireless Mic, on-board lighting and a SmallHD Bright Monitor, for Daylight Shooting. My only gripe is that you have to go through a seriously torturous process to install a time-lapse app (you have to register to the Playstation site, get their app, then download the time-lapse app from there, which sounds easy, but doing this through the camera interface is horrible. Otherwise, great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

3

0

Good low light cine camera

ILCE-7SM2 30 May 2016 by DocR (United Kingdom)

I am very pleased with the performance of this camera in low light conditions, but this becomes difficult on bright days externally. The camera could do with an internal ND filter or warning that ND filters are really necessary to avoid over exposure. I bought a 95mm lens for which it is difficult to get variable ND filters in the UK. The record button position is a poor design feature, but C3 button is assignable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

0

Slow motion, low light capabilities

ILCE-7SM2 23 May 2016 by Roop Rai (United Kingdom)

Awesome piece of equipment with great features. Brilliant low light capabilities, great ergonomics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

A very mixed mind about this one

ILCE-7SM2 21 April 2016 by pinky the mouse (United Kingdom)

I feel like I have been sold a broken product, the skew introduced due to the poor image sensor scanning speed, is so pronounced that most moving style shots, or shots where the subjects move quickly through the frame are useless and have to be binned. Its a shame, I am sure I can work around this with carefully planned scenes but I fell this product should never really have made it through to the production stage. On the upside the video when good is exceptional, low light capabilities are very impressive. Shame though about the battery life!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

7

5

0

Amazing Camera !!

ILCE-7SM2 15 March 2016 by Jishnu (United Kingdom)

I have read the reviews of this Low Light monster, but as we say seeing is believing! Oh boy, can wait to shoot moonless starry nights with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

A Wedding Photographer's Dream

Body Only 13 March 2016  (India)

Yes, this is the camera that I always wanted. Because it lets me do what I want to do. I have been a Canon photographer till now but I needed something that was faster, smaller, lighter and much more efficient. The Sony A7R2 has an amazing focus speed and focus options. Shifting the focal point from one point to the other is a breeze. I shot one full wedding where I did not need any color correction, just shot in Auto White Balance! Contrary to this, I spend hours doing color correction before I bought the A7R2. The picture quality, sharpness, focus and colors are beautiful and will amaze anyone. The shot attached here of the bride throwing rice is not taken by accident. I wanted this shot. I took position and just when the bride threw the rice, I could quickly focus on the rice, thanks to small and light piece of art I had in my hand - The Sony Alpha A7R2. I have customized the buttons the way I want. This adds to my efficiency. The picture quality at high ISO levels is beautiful. Not as good as the A7SII that I tried a few days back but I would usually not go up to ISO 100K! I am in love with this camera and cant wait to shoot the next wedding with this soon!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

good

Body Only 26 February 2016  (India)

photo quality good handling is easy and best picture quality

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sreedev's Review

Body Only 23 February 2016 by Sreedev (India)

Creating magic with sony alpha 7sii excellent 4k image

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Unbelievable.

ILCE-7SM2 18 February 2016 by atom (United Kingdom)

Bought this before a trip to Japan - had a wonderful time and learning to use this camera while I was out there was a joy. Stunning low light performance, fantastic for use during the day - It really shone in every circumstance. I was using it with a 50mm shooting wide open so did have to stop it down with nd filters on occassion, but this was hardly a drawback. Really really lovely camera. While it also takes lovely stills this is definitely a feature that could be improved upon in terms of the image resolution and quality, and the digital zoom is very nasty at the higher values - but obviously a zoom lens would be a far better solution for this. All in all really really great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Fantastic camera!!!

ILCE-7SM2 14 February 2016 by Bad Monk (United Kingdom)

Got the Sony A7S2 shortly after release and before buying did some research online and all of the reviews and impressions were very positive. I use this new camera for mainly the movie function as I work in the film industry and shoot rehearsal action concepts for major studios and movie productions and the functions and quality of the A7S2 are fantastic. 4K looks stunning and the slow motion video (120fps @ 1080p) adds another creative edge to your movies. This is my first DSLR camera and like I said above, I got this mainly for the video mode but make no mistake as a stills camera this is a beast, I bumped into 2 professional photographers lately who also work in the same industry as me, and both have started using the A7S2 in their work flow, one having bought three of the same model and could not praise this camera high enough. You prob already know about the superb low light functions, super fast auto focus and full frame 35mm feature, this was just a quick review of my few weeks using the Sony A7S2 and I cannot recommend this camera enough. The only downside is the lack of touchscreen menus which would have made this camera perfect but that's just me being petty and don't let that put you off what is a remarkable piece of equipment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Such a great camera

ILCE-7SM2 25 January 2016 by jaames96 (United Kingdom)

This was my first Sony camera. I bought it a month ago. I loved the small body, the excellent image quality, the features and the dynamic range. I do not love the twerks, example when shooting in 4K or in 120/fps you can't make the screen and viewfinder brightness at high level, as it dims automatically. Only issues like these bugs me. The battery life is not that good but considering how small it is, it's okay. Love this camera and am so happy I made the switch from Canon to Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Good power in a small box

ILCE-7SM2 17 January 2016  (United Kingdom)

I bought this product before X-mas and at first I was amazed how much power this small body contains. But then unfortunately, as myself being a professional, disappointment came into very different areas, as probably my expectations were vey high. I like the size, the options I have, definitely the option of recording 4k internally, the customizable buttons, the options of attaching mic preamp at the hot shoe. I dislike the colors and the tones, the aliasing problem is the biggest fall may be, I also don't like that I am not able to limit the shutter speed when shooting video let say to not fall bellow 50p on automatic mode, as I am able to limit the ISO. The autofocus is almost unusable and very slow. Not accurate as well. I am talking about video only as I believe this is the purpose of this camera. Battery drain is a big problem too. The lense choice is very limited too. Also there is something very strange thing going on with depth of field. I am a Canon user and there is a very different story. Even at f8 I don't have focus across the whole frame, but here at f4 focus is across the whole scene. That is very strange. I don't understand it. Sound quality is very good though. Also I wish we had 4k at 50p without the aliasing problem, much better lcd is needed, and an option of tilt to the left and right is essential for video shooting.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

3

0

Great in low light but beware the claims

ILCE-7SM2 01 January 2016 by Freekorps (United Kingdom)

Having played about with this camera for a couple of weeks, the stabilisation and low light features are great. However, the ISOs claimed by specs are misleading as beyond a certain limit he images are too noisy to be useful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Great and Silly

ILCE-7SM2 07 December 2015 by Gludy (United Kingdom)

Without doubt this is a great camera and will now become my main video camera BUT it has some silly things about it that would be easy to cure like:- The video record button position and nature is useless -stick a plastic button on it to use it or buy the third party device that clips over it so you can easily press the record button - a basic function by any standards. Menu system that could learn a lot from the Panasonic GH4 Would like at least 10 bit 4k output to a third party recorder like the GH4. Would like to be able to set the C1/C2 buttons so that I could say set slow motion on one by just clicking to it. Otherwise simply a great camera that has replaced the GH4 with me because the small silly downsides are as nothing compared to its basic video performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Probably my best camera ever!

ILCE-7SM2 13 November 2015 by Bill The Bruce (United Kingdom)

I've only had my camera for about 3 weeks and think I can safely say it is the most exciting camera I've ever owned. Although I've used it mostly for personal use, to see what it's capable of, I have also just used it one professional film shoot and the difference in quality this camera brings to the table is plain for ALL to see! I've also just bought a new macro lens and know I'm just going to love it even more as time goes on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0