MRP

Rs. 128,990

(incl. of all taxes)
305

4.6 based on 305 customer reviews

201
87
9
7
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A great camera just gets better...

Body Only 18 January 2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only recently jumped to Sony from Panasonic (Nikon before that) and only had my A7 for a few months before the A7 II was released but I'd already fallen for the A7 so I took the plunge. In all honesty I didn't have any issues with the build and setup of the original A7 but the A7 II really is a much more DSLR feel without the DSLR size and weight. Sony are clearly listening to their customers with small but much appreciated cosmetic changes. The BIG thing for me though is that headline 5-axis in body stabilisation but the new grip and shutter placement are welcome improvements. I got my camera the day I was flying out on a holiday to Disney World in Florida so I knew I'd get the chance to try out the camera while having some fun and I can honestly say that this is a killer camera for anyone wanting a serious camera without the bulk. Even though I was still getting used to the Sony system and I'm also nothing more than an enthusiastic photographer and not a professional I was over the moon with some of my photos (attached). I've only had chance to play with JPEGs so far but I took RAW+JPEG so I'm looking forward to see how better they will be with some processing. My advice to anyone who wants an all-round camera with the great image quality and ease of use without the bulk, buy this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Some good, some bad

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 26 October 2020 by SonyAreShite (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera as a replacement for my Nikon D7000. It's ok, that's all. I Like: Full frame sensor Lighter than Nikon Solid build quality Not impressed with: Inability to consistently gain focus Far too sensitive eye sensor for viewfinder Low light capability

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

305 Customer Reviews

0

First full frame

Body Only 27 November 2021 by John John 2 (United Kingdom)

I have had 6 sony cameras 4 Alpha. My last was the Alpha A77, I had it for 7 years and loved it. I have wanted the A7ii and eventually bought it 2 weeks ago. Its been well worth the wait.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bargain full frame camera

Body Only 21 October 2021 by Philminster (United Kingdom)

Bought new for £800 last year has been a delight to use and results have been great used as a stills camera with amount lenses from my old sony a99 with sony adapters. Don't use it at all for video preferring my a6500 for that purpose

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera but terrible battery life

Body Only 13 October 2021 by High Noon (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera June 2020 with a 25 - 105 Sony lens to replace my Sony A77 Mk ii DSLR. Really liked the camera especially the dynamic range and image stabilisation which made hand holding during the Pandemic a breeze in comparison to my old DSLR. However I soon realised that the batteries were draining at an alarming rate and if I intended to use the camera for any length of time, I would require many more batteries. After owning the camera for about 9 months, I traded the camera for the A7 iii !! I no longer have the A7 ii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed with image quality

Body Only 13 October 2021 by Cityview (United Kingdom)

Compared side by side and using the same lenses I am getting better results with my Pentax K3ii APSC than with the Sony A7II. Not so easy to use for action shots as a DSLR

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

You won't be disappointed!

Body Only 13 October 2021 by Caretta22 (United Kingdom)

Very good camera that takes some getting used to. Once familiar, very versatile, ergonomic and intuitive to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Vast improvement on the A7ii

Body Only 13 October 2021 by TimB126 (United Kingdom)

I was looking for a full-frame mirrorless hi-spec camera. Upgraded the A7ii to the A7iii, and it's a huge improvement: battery life is awesome, improved functionality in the processor, AF, etc. The sensor still has the fault on the A7ii - attracting (and retaining!) specs of dust. This is not a problem with the other brands of camera I use, I can only assume it's a Sony "Feature"...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 05 October 2021 by Biggrim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera is great, I've always bought minotaur and now sony cameras. The only downside is the price of lenses, you need to remortgage if you want to buy a lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera to have

Body Only 14 September 2021 by LouBB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just slighty over priced especially for this model anyway

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All that you need nothing that you dont

Body Only 13 September 2021 by WAGLER (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera has a solid build with good erganomics and is full featured without the over complex nature of many cameras .it was years ahead of its time at launch ,and is still perfect for your first venture in full frame and to learn the basics, You wont regret your purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic for stills photography.

Body Only 11 September 2021 by Opetaja (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I originally purchased an a7ii in 2018 and was very impressed by the IQ. I bought a couple of large lens and after a year I decided that the set up was too big for my ageing shoulders to carry round, so I sold my full frame kit and went the micro 4/3 route. However as much as I wanted to turn my back on full frame, and I've nothing against smaller sensors, the quality you get from the a7ii is just superior. So I saw that you could get some really good deals on new a7ii's and I just decided to try again, this time paired up with a couple of smaller 'tiny' primes. It's a brilliant combination and I'm really happy I went backwards! Could have got the a7iii of course, but why pay a grand more for what are essentially marginal improvements for stills photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very Good.Value

Body Only 11 September 2021 by RHarr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago after extensive reading of every review I could find. The consensus seemed to be that for the enthusiastic hobby photographer the A7ii is excellent value and I have to agree though by the time I had purchased the highly regarded 24-105mm Sony lens I had spent rather more than I had budgeted for! I have only taken a few photos so far but I am pleased with them. Setting up the camera took quite a while and I made much use of a couple of illustrated guides. Looking forward to using the A7ii at our local Wetlands Centre and hope to purchase a longer zoom telephoto in the next few weeks.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

Body Only 29 August 2021 by Maddie009 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ive have sony cameras before and have always been happy with them a very good camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

GOOD

Body Only 26 August 2021 by Ibrahim Alhendawi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this cam a month ago and I can say it is beautiful and sharp on the street except that it doesn't support silent shooting.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good but needs a Eye AF to be perfect

Body Only 26 August 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got it few weeks ago. I really like the build quality. Like the customizing. Like that is has almost everything that you need for video and photo. Just I'm still the beginner. And I think autofocus could be better. Even tho I ask for better af I still like it. It really helped catch great moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Camera Marred By Poor Electronic View Finder

Body Only 22 July 2021 by Vincent73 (United Kingdom)

My Sony A7 excels in its handleability, its size and weight and the superb pictures it produces. The rear screen is pin sharp which compensates somewhat for the poor shimmery electronic viewfinder. I like the classic design and the large dedicated control knobs. The micro USB port is fiddly to use but I now use the WiFi connection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great usability, steady shot, sharp images

Body Only 21 July 2021 by JacquesFouche (United Kingdom)

Great usability, through the body and lens stabilisers I get a very steady shot, the full-frame sensor gives me really sharp images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Almost perfect

Body Only 16 July 2021 by Denis photography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I think this camera is amazing, it’s my first 35mm full frame and I’m already having a good time with it! The only problem I have with it, is the constant hanging when a picture is taken, the camera has to wait for the system to write to the SD card, which is quite annoying when you just wanna check out your photos or delete somthing quickly Another weird thing is that, when the EVF is showing a bright image, it seems to flicker a bit? Just a bit odd, but I’ve read that this is common on all models, which is a little disappointed But overall, this camera is great, I’m moving from 1300D to this A7 ii is a great move!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GOOD ALL-ROUNDER

Body Only 21 June 2021 by Le Phantom (United Kingdom)

Bought this a few months back, but I've only just started using it. Overall I'm very pleased - the camera takes great pictures, has an excellent viewfinder and handles well (I have big hands, so this is an important issue). I could have gone for the A7III, but the additional features it has didn't justify the extra expense for me. The money saved went towards some good lenses. As I'm getting on and a bit shaky, the IBIS was a major factor in my purchase and the A7II met all my other criteria, so it was an easy choice. I don't understand why SONY don't advertise this model as still being available new. My only major gripe is the cost of buying into the system - the cost of some of the lenses and accessories make you wince! However, the A7II is still one of the cheaper ways into full frame mirrorless, so "you pays your money and you makes your choice". Recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I am very happy with every product from Sony

Body Only 12 May 2021 by Miroart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm very satisfied ...............................

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony A7ii bought a few weeks

Body Only 12 May 2021 by CC01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony A7ii a few weeks ago and I am very pleased with the picture quality and how much you can customise it, once you have dug into the menus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Loved it until it broke during a shoot

Body Only 10 May 2021 by Kathryn1234 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera in November 2020, and I loved it! The af is great using back button, it's super light and easy to use once you get used to the menu system. However, the viewfinder has a proximity sensor which is crazy sensitive. Often I'd be looking at the screen and move slightly and the viewfinder would activate. Fine, I can adjust and live with it. However, during a shoot just yesterday my camera suddenly stopped working. Took 4 photos absolutely fine then gave a 'camera error, please power off and on' ... this didn't fix. I tried removing the battery, charging etc but no joy. Upon removing the lens it's clear to see the shutter is stuck. I could still navigate the menu and thankfully retrieved all the pictures from my earlier shoot that day. Really dissapointed with having to lose part of my income due to now sending a 6 month old, very well looked after, camera away for repair. I bought this as a starter camera but made the investment rather than going for the a600 range as I thought durability would be better. Seriously gutted, as I loved the camera quality and was looking to get an a7riii as my second body but now I'm concerned about reliability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good camera but the lenses are very expensive!

Body Only 09 May 2021 by Archina (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really good camera that is still very relevant despite a newer version being available. It was easy enough to get the hang of and the picture quality is incredible. The only downside I can think of is that you'll be paying out the nose for additional lenses as they certainly take chunks out of your wallet compared to other brands.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A7ii

Body Only 24 April 2021 by You12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy about it is the only the battery dry Quick

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Upgrade

Body Only 12 April 2021 by Tr3v (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as an upgrade to another Sony product! I accidentally damaged but the ease of use helped in my decision.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great features

Body Only 11 April 2021 by Wesoły tuńczyk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good camera for beginers, good price with lens....

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Powerful, usable and affordable

Body Only 07 April 2021 by wareham_photographer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using this camera for 2 years now and love it. I swapped over from a Canon (5dMii) and loved the reduced weight I was carrying round, the quality of the viewfinder, especially that it gave me a view of exactly what I was going to get including exposure variations, the movable rear screen and the user-configurable buttons to change settings in an instant and above all the size and quality of the raw files I get - all excellent features. Not so keen on the menu system, although I have got used to that. The choice of available lenses has grown and grown and make the whole package outstanding value and quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent camera with great features

Body Only 28 March 2021 by Jim1941 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since acquiring this camera I have had a great time shooting great images of mostly landscapes and wildlife using wide angle and telphoto lens, all with superb results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Product - Learning The Menus Is Frustrating

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 09 March 2021 by Pomsteroonie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Image quality and build quality is amazing however, learning the overly complicated menus is a little frustrating. Not as clear and simple as the Canon that I've transitioned from however, with perseverance I've managed to get some fantastic pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

This is my first camera but wow is it amazing!!

Body Only 05 February 2021 by Amalaska12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is honestly like nothing I've ever experienced before. It even performs great in low light! But there are better cameras for that. I just wish that the auto focus was better. But that shouldn't be a problem once I upgrade my body since sony keep on improving their auto focus systems! Overall great detail and colour reproduction when shouting in RAW. Would recommend to anyone starting their photography journey with sony. This is a great entry level mirrorless camera from sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Very impressive all round

Body Only 03 February 2021 by Dermish (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera with low shutter activation only 10 days ago and have been very impressed so far. The particular features I wanted were full frame and in-camera stabilisation. I use legacy lenses and these don't have inbuilt stabilisation. I previously had a Sony A6000 which was very versatile but the A7ii is definitely a step up. The camera sits nicely in the hand, there are loads of programmable features and the results so far have been impressive. The only downside I have found is that it is easy to accidentally move the exposure compensation dial, which sits near the thumb when holding the camera. This is a minor inconvenience, though, and overall I am very pleased with the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Picture Awful menu

Body Only 02 February 2021 by MarkLE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Kit lens better than expected. Great still images, good video, poor menu. Battery life is poor, build quality is good. Wish screen swivelled differently so It could be seen from front view and that it could power from USB. Still happy I bought it though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Value

Body Only 23 January 2021 by Lukasz1983 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great value ... this is the power of Sony products...they beaten all other brands in this area...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nice camera

Body Only 02 January 2021 by Silver Fox 17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only bought this camera less than 2 weeks ago but happy with it so far. My first DSLR was a Sony A200 then an A58 but an issue with its sensor made me go for a new camera and with very few A mount ones for sale now I went for the A7 11 with the E mount. There are lots to this camera, a lot of which I will probably never use, but so far it seems very good. The old A200 had a wireless facility for the flash which was brilliant but unfortunately the A58 and the A7 11 lack this facility, that to me was a big plus. The first thing to notice was how much heavier the camera, and lens’s are, than the previous two. Having said that, the camera feels right, possibly because for many years I was used to standard SLR’s. The movie recording looks to be fine, better than the A58, but I had to alter the white balance for some reason although more practice is required for this. Likes - I prefer to use Manual rather than any of the other options for most of my photographs so particularly like the 2 separate thumb wheels for the shutter speed and aperture. The menu and function buttons are basically the same for the A58 so easy to get around. Thankfully my old flash works fine as I had to get an adapter for it when I bought the A58 so it uses the same adapter. Also it uses the same hand remote which is a plus for long exposure shots. The A7 11 has taken the best night time photo of the 3 cameras I have so cannot wait to get to Blackpool again for the lights. A good image with less noise when higher ISO settings are used. Dislikes – A lot more expensive than A mount cameras, and lenses are too. The manual focus system seems to be a retrograde step by having to move a lever then pressing and holding a button in the centre of the lever with one hand while focussing with the other, and having to keep the button pressed while I take the photo. Not happy that the A mount lenses are not autofocus using a Sony adapter which led me to have to buy a 55-250 zoom. As mentioned earlier there is no wireless connection without buying more equipment. There is a wireless facility in the function but it will not recognise the flash channel for it. A big issue was no battery charger with the camera, and, battery life quite poor compared to the other two. Please Sony, bring out a heavy duty one. Not keen on the “level” symbols in the view finder and have not worked out how to disable them yet. The electronic viewfinder is good in most situations but not at night time when doing space photography as it is very difficult to see a star and then focus on it, ideally it would be good if the rear screen could be set as a normal one for times like this. Although the flash works it does not seem to be TTL as it did on the old A200 so have to take the same photo on different settings to get the correct exposure. Although there are a few negative comments here I am still very happy with the camera so far and hope to have some better weather to test it in different conditions outside.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good but not great.

Body Only 14 December 2020 by Nopenope (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the price this is a good piece of kit. But I think sony could do more to improve the operating system through firmwares updates. For example, there are reprogrammable buttons, but some key ones aren't available on the a7ii, but are on the 3. There's no reason I can see why. Another is the ability to quickly turn on and off apsc mode without having to go through the menus. Again, would give more flexibility to using prime and zoom lenses but isn't available. Biggest frustration is it not having a fully articulating screen. Especially when working in portrait with the camera low or high. Other than that, it's a good camera and got it at a good price. Pretty happy.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Features

Body Only 27 November 2020 by Valdiune (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love it so far Amazing staff easy to use love setting

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Some good, some bad

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 26 October 2020 by SonyAreShite (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera as a replacement for my Nikon D7000. It's ok, that's all. I Like: Full frame sensor Lighter than Nikon Solid build quality Not impressed with: Inability to consistently gain focus Far too sensitive eye sensor for viewfinder Low light capability

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Fantastic camera

Body Only 21 October 2020 by Allistairg1964 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I made the transition from Canon to Sony and wasn’t disappointed image quality is superb

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 19 October 2020 by MTBVanLife (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to up the photography game at MTBVanLife and cannot wait to use this beast of a camera. Photos incoming on @themtbvanlife on instagram

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use. great features

Body Only 04 October 2020 by Rutilus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the camera for three weeks, I am impressed by the quality of the pictures and the ease of use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great preowned camera

Body Only 02 October 2020 by Adm010 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought this preowned. I know it’s 6ys old now, but YouTube guided me to this as a great value camera to start with. My only issue is the menu system sucks. Other than that, it’s great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

a7 II Excellent choice..!

Body Only 30 September 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this excellent camera by a friend advice and I have to say I'm so happy with the choice. I'm learning a bit more about photography and Sony camera has great features and amazing quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Upgrade from my Alpha 77 ii

Body Only 27 September 2020 by Ashcan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased with the LA-EA4 converter all my Sigma A fit lenses work well. Sony menu very similar to the A 77ii so no big surprises other than the one or two positive changes. Looking forward to getting some new photos this autumn.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great

Body Only 25 September 2020 by roberto_a_photography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought last month this camera and for enthusiastic photographer as me it's great

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great image quality

Body Only 31 August 2020 by Dag1875 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with this purchase as it adds full frame image clarity to my collection of cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very easy to use ,and great features

Body Only 01 August 2020 by cmjw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A camera is only as good as its lens ,but this is a great camera .Very easy to get to know ,pretty much every feature you could need or dream of [I am not a professional or even a serious amateur ]and it takes great photos .I am not one for taking advice ,but the little help files on the web from Sony are useful .With the Sony FE 24-105 lens - wonderful

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent camera for everyone

Body Only 27 July 2020 by VzakV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this a few weeks ago, All I can say is this camera is amazing, it does everything and more that I or anyone else could need in a full-frame camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not what I thought...

Body Only 15 July 2020 by Robnguy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Okay, so I did quite a lot of research into what camera to buy, if I was to start a business using one. I’ve over 20 years experience using DSLR, both Nikon and Canon. I sold everything just over a year ago and was starting from scratch. Mirror less seemed the way to go, and looking around at the used market, with reputable stores, Sony seemed to be ahead of the game. Certainly for mirrorless, and after watching loads of videos, this was the model for me. I knew I wanted to personalise it, to back button focus, and straight away, I bought a 50mm lens to go with the camera, as a starting point. Now this is where things aren’t as great. I’m so used to having a focal point, say a person, and to press the back button focus, and I can be creative, whether that’s trees, a lamp post, whatever in the way of my focused subject, and regardless, it stays there. Unless I go completely manual, that doesn’t happen here. The camera is focusing and screaming to find another focus. It’s so awful and offputting. So nice camera, but focusing is rubbish.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great quality and modest size.

Body Only 07 July 2020 by SqueakyCrotch (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the camera less than a month ago and am very happy with it. It took a while to customize the camera to my liking but once its done - taking shots is super convenient and quality for the most part is superb. The only downside I found is focussing isn't reliable when using non-e-mount lenses (by means of adapter). The android app works good for taking photos with the camera and sending pictures over to the phone but could use some more features like changing shooting parameters. Connecting the camera to WiFi seems useless for me so far. Since I'm shooting on manual mode - the exposure compensation ring is useless for me and its a shame it can't be configured for something else.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features!

Body Only 05 July 2020 by bejarano1711 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago and I am happy with my purchase, despite being a camera of the year 2014, it still has many aspects that make it a good purchase in 2020

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I LOVE THIS CAMERA!

Body Only 04 July 2020 by Jfa312 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first mirrorless camera I've heard amazing things about it and its lived up to the hype and expectations. I would def recommend this camera to anyone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exquisite full frame camera.

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 25 June 2020 by Alternative Media (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this A7ii kit, to compliment my existing APS-C and Micro Four Thirds systems. Having been an extensive Canon and Lumix user, I was excited and interested in how this would compare to my existing equipment. The A7ii surpassed every single expectation. The image quality is mind blowing. The 24mp full frame sensor delivers crisp and colourful images, full of character, with an excellent dynamic range. The camera performance in low light is exceptional, I pushed the ISO high on purpose to test the quality. Even at 12,000 ISO the images are still very crisp with minimal noise/grain. The build of the body is fantastic, it oozes quality and finesse. It lacks a touchscreen, which can take some getting used to, especially if you are coming from equipment with touchscreens. It doesn't take from the user experience though, buttons and a good layout make it easy to access controls and features. The kit lens is excellently sharp and precise, with a good focal range to begin with. I also love how Sony has made this compatible with the APS-C lenses too, without any add ons or taking too much away from image quality. If you'd like to take a look at some of my example images view my Instagram at: @alternative_media_photography. If anyone is considering buying this camera, I would seriously recommend it and urge you to take the plunge into getting one - you won't regret it! I love my A7ii and I am now fully committed to building a family of bodies and lenses from Sony. I'd love to one day be considered for an ambassador, I'd love to represent Sony through my images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 02 June 2020 by YouFriendlyGamerBoi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first mirrorless camera. As a beginner in photography I think it was really easy to use, but still gave amazing results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best who moves to full frame camera segment

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 27 May 2020 by rajesh174u (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

One of the good full frame camera when you move from beginner level. Little complicate to learn initially if you are using sony first time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

AUTOFOCUS PROBLEM

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 17 May 2020 by APBOSS (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

because of I purchase this product for its autofocus capability and i am very disapointI am suffering from sony autofocus problem

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera, easy to use out of the box....

Body Only 03 May 2020 by Bonviveur (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought an a7II after looking at the III the a9 and others and though I am an experienced DSLR user as part of my work I felt this camara would do all I needed it to do. My experience with Sony cameras has been with their range topping bridge camera and that has been used much more that a couple of other brand DSLR's due to its rounded picture quality but I think the a7 will retire the RX.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Its amazing.

Body Only 09 April 2020 by tonysonya711 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as an upgrade from an a200 - big jump but I have only just decided to take up photography. There is so much to learn and that's just the camera! Abit shocked at the price of lenses etc. Still getting the grey matter moving was my aim and I'm certaily doin that. Love this camara.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent camera - ideal for discrete photography.

Body Only 14 March 2020 by pixel pete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera is robust and small enough to use discretely - ideal for street photography! Image quality from the sensor coupled to a quality lens is good enough for print up to A3 in size. Always take this camera with me in preference to my larger DSLR when travelling in city or crowded environments. No regrets about adding this item to my camera bag.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing g

Body Only 09 March 2020 by Cool phill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing quality both in build and image quality Only slight negative weak battery life

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Feels great

Body Only 08 March 2020 by BigBadBaz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not used this camera much but the look, feel and weight are fantastic so far I am not disappointed defiantly worth paying the extra for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 07 March 2020 by Mjcartw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera for a couple of weeks as an upgrade to my Sony A6000. It is my first full-frame camera. So far so good! I am very happy with it and with the sharpness and depth of the photos I have so far taken. Whilst I still regard my A6000 as a great little camera and will continue using it the A7ii is definitely a better camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unable to take sunset and sunrise shots.

Body Only 07 March 2020 by Angry Trevor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera for a while now and every shot I take looking towards the sun has a uniform array of green dots around the sun. I have approached Sony about this but they tell me it is normal. When I point out that it cannot be normal because many other photographers get great sunrise and sunset shots they re-iterate it is normal for this to happen. Either the camera is rubbish or after sales support is rubbish. Either way I have £1000 worth of camera that I cannot use for sunset or sunrise shots.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

11

0

Sony A7 ii camera

Body Only 01 March 2020 by Pete8720 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera about 3 weeks ago and its brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

EVERYTHING I EXPECTED

Body Only 04 February 2020 by BIGEYE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

MY ONLY CON IS THE OPERATION MANUAL, IT IS NOT AS COMPREHENSIVE AS I WOULD HAVE WISHED FOR

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Disappointed

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 21 January 2020 by Wild Rover (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I thought I was upgrading to a better camera but I get better results from my phone. Perhaps it’s the kit lense that is poor.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Preliminary review

Body Only 14 January 2020 by aTim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not had the camera very long so any evaluation I now make is provisional as I have not had the chance to test it fully. In general it is a nice camera to handle and the menus and functions quite simple to use. However. I have one concern with the display modes:- Currently I have selected it to be on live view screen as opposed to viewfinder. It is easy to set it to one or the other. The problem is that if you don't pre-select one of these the camera makes up it's own mind which to use and randomly turns off the led screen rendering it blank with no ability to show your subject or to preview photos or display menus. This is odd and unsatisfactory. Other factors which influenced my choice were auto-focus being well reviewed and the full frame sensor which should perform well in low light conditions. The iso range is enormous but if you use the higher numbers the image quality seems very poor in tests that I have performed so far. I am willing to concede that I have not yet done enough to fully investigate the capabilities of this camera but so far I have discerned no improvement in the picture quality which I previously had with my Pentax K30 which I have been using up until now.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera...just carry extra batteries

Body Only 31 December 2019 by Stefventer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it a while ago and it has given great service and excellent quality. But I would advise to get 2-3 extra batteries and be careful around the SD-card slots as the rubber cover came loose in the corner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

sony a7 mkii

Body Only 25 December 2019 by trout (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An Ideal replacement for my sony A5000 giving me the opportunity to learn again from my first camera a Practika mtl5 b, I hope this is a way to reinvent my photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic in low light

Body Only 24 December 2019 by 651107 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really happy with the low light features , used to talk pictures of a show in the London Palladium when putting a production on, ease of use is also fantastic the only thing I have against the camera is that you have to charge the battery when it's in the camera, but bought a separate charger and two spare batteries from Amazon and this solved the issue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A7 II first impressions

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 17 December 2019 by Joaon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this at a knock down price since I already have gone mirrorless but I always fancied a full frame mirrorless camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 11 December 2019 by Holly 13 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this few weeks ago, haven’t try it outdoor yet, have few shoot indoor, our pet as well so far impressed, I don’t like using flash, this camera don’t have flash in build which is good thing. Good thing have weather seal.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great overall

Body Only 10 November 2019 by Christiend (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great for any instance. Looking forward to seeing how it performs in macro too

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0