MRP

Rs. 559,990

(incl. of all taxes)
23

4.8 based on 23 customer reviews

19
3
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

23 Customer Reviews

0

An amazing camera

ILCE-1 31 October 2021 by DrBoogerloo62 (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera earlier this year and have had no regrets. It allowed me to go from an A9 plus A7r3 to a single camera. The only tiny thing is that noise does creep in when you push iso past 800. Its correctable in post but not as good as my a7r3 on that front. Overall love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

What can I say.......?

ILCE-1 31 October 2021  (United Kingdom)

I bought the A1 in July and my first big 'totally amateur' shoot was at the MotoGP as Silverstone in August. To be truthful I had not prepared in ANY way at all, just put my 100-400GM on the A1 and took piccies from wherever I could find a space between the crowds. Shooting mainly through the mesh fence, and balancing my self, and the kit, precariously I have been simply amazed at the quality of some of my pictures....I so wish I had prepared a little (lot!!) more though. Years ago I used to do 'semi-pro' motorcycle speedway photography with my trusty Nikon D3 and a Nikon 70-200mm. I really loved that camera set-up and took some really good stuff, which has been in UK, Australian and other motorcycle mags. I always said that I just held the thing and it did all the rest.......ONLY now have I found it's equal (+++++++). The A1 is a wonderful device...WAY too good for me if I'm honest, but hey ho! I have the new 70-200 2.8GM on order with Park Cameras as I just love this zoom length to bits and ,sadly, will be p/xing my 100-400. My thinking is that the new 70-200 will quickly become my walkabout lens and would mean that the fantastic 100-400 would mainly stay in my bag. The camera is stupid money really, but my old A9 and my trusty credit card took the brunt. If I can take good pictures with it...anyone can. A Truly magic little device.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

FANTASTIC SPORTS CAMERA - BUT !!

ILCE-1 14 October 2021 by JASPERIMAGE1 (United Kingdom)

Bought this Camera for Sports, Press and Commercial purposes. Camera is fantastic and ticks all the boxes, however, if you are a Mac computer user, then Firmware Updates are not available as Sony does not have a working software update pack. I eventually had to install Windows 10 on Parallels Desktop so that could update all 3 of my Sony Camera's Firmware.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

The beast!!!

ILCE-1 13 October 2021 by dovydas (United Kingdom)

An amazing camera! It is true geniuses from Sony when you look at it a bit deeper. Sony a1, which combines all the best from 3 specific purposes Sony's cameras: a9 speed and autofocus, a7R resolution and a7s video capabilities - it works flawlessly!!! There are a lot of advantages and innovations of this flagship camera, and Sony a1 will overcome anything your creative mind will throw at it! Moreover, what stands out for me (I was pleasantly surprised) is the stunning colours of raw files directly out from the camera - the best from Sony's cameras yet!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Wonderful wildlife camera

ILCE-1 13 October 2021 by Philbute (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace the A7R4 for mainly wildlife use. The A1 is as good as the R4 was bad. Ultra fast focus, low ISO capabilities, wonderful colour reproduction, etc. I absolutely love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fantastic but for one

ILCE-1 13 October 2021 by Benroche (United Kingdom)

This is a fantastic camera in all ways, it has fast become my favourite. One issue I have is the battery drain when it is in standby mode

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb camera

ILCE-1 23 September 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been a life long user of Canon equipment and over the past 3 years I have migrated fully to Sony with the introduction of mirrorless systems

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

6

0

The One

ILCE-1 11 September 2021 by Paulcool (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Worldly Different to any other camera i have used ,with super fast ,aggressive and sticky af ,it like a combination of Mike Tyson and Khabib Nurmagomedov combined ,all other aspects make the work flow enjoyable customisation ,a wonderfully clear sharp evf with fast refresh rate for moving subjects ,and i am glad that sony kept the form factor the same as all existing a7,s/a9s which makes it easy to adapt ,a lot has smoothed out in operation quick and responsive ,nice buffer size and choice of 2 card slots with 2 types of media is ingenious even if one is very pricey .frame rate is exceptional at 30fps something i did not envisage using much but i am leaning more to using it some instances.Also love the closing shutter when of for lens swaps the sony sensors at least in my r3 love the dust.Video specs i have not used yet but plan on doing so 4k 120 is a highlight for me .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

great camera

ILCE-1 30 August 2021 by Knightpics (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolutely love it. My only grumbles are: The back screen was better on my old canon. For this money the screen should be better especially as sony make very good tv's. It's also a shame that the low light performance isn't quite as good as my A9ii but i guess that a drawback of such large files. Otherwise its a great camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

A future proof tool for a craftsman

ILCE-1 02 August 2021 by ShootTV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a professional creative I need a camera with huge flexibility to service the wide range of client needs. This camera does that from the highest quality 8K, 50mp stills to super slow motion HD or doing just the industry standard shooting in 4k and HD. It does everything you would need right now and it's features are so advanced, it literally guarantees you will be future proof for some time. Quite simply it's "the" smart investment in the future !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

67

177

0

Sony alpha 1

ILCE-1 21 July 2021 by Dave100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased my Sony alpha 1 several months ago and I am absolutely thrilled with it. I was initially a little concerned that I might find difficulty in setting it up but the ease of navigating the menu made it a stress free experience. The camera itself is a joy to use and image quality is remarkable. I love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

254

147

0

Amazing camera but you pay a lot for it

ILCE-1 18 July 2021 by RyanAms (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera. Easy to use. Very fast and focus never let’s you down. I think it’s too expensive tough. I’d also like to see better image stabilisation in video. catalyst browse is cool but who has time for that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

112

134

0

Great Camera

ILCE-1 16 July 2021 by Stevie 7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had camera a couple of weeks. Getting to grips with it for birds in flight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

106

198

0

This Camera is Simply Stunning.....

ILCE-1 29 June 2021 by idjbell (United Kingdom)

So I’ve just changed my a9 to an a1. I wrote my a9 review on here back in 2018 and have used it ever since. It was and still is a great camera. However when I saw the specs for the a1 I was blown away. The price is expensive but I could justify it……let me explain…. The extra mp’s meant I didn’t have to buy a new lens…..I shoot mainly youth sports and as my kids are getting older so the pitches and space in which they play are getting bigger. I have been doing just fine with the GM 100-400 for the longer stuff, but was starting to need more. I was thinking about getting the 200-600 lens (and had even rented one to try it out- it was great). However having seen the specs of the a1 I realised I could get the extra length by just zooming in and using the aps-c mode- and still get 21mp. So saving on a lens and selling on my a9 made it stack up. Man maths are great. I love the zoom in aps-c feature as it means your recording smaller files and you don’t have to crop after. I’ve used this feature in the A9 but it drops to 11MP which just isn’t enough. In the a1 it’s the key selling point for me! Interestingly the performance of the focus of the a1 for photography doesn’t feel too different to the a9. There is an improvement but the a9 is already very good. So the difference is harder for me to perceive. So what has changed…. The viewfinder is unreal. It’s so crisp and bright. My main concern on the a9 review was weather proofing and the ergonomics. Sony appear to have made improvements to the weather sealing (so I might finally be able to leave my plastic bag camera protector at home). And yes the grip has grown a little- but it’s still way too small. I probably have average sized hands and my little finger just falls off the bottom. On the a9 I used the official Sony grip extender. Sony don’t appear to sell an equivalent grip for the a1 yet…..so I have managed to find a 3rd party alternative which has made it comfortable to hold with a long telephoto. (Obviously many people may just use the double battery grip) The menu system has improved and is better than the a9, but over the years I have become very accustomed to it so it. One other tiny but major improvement I love is there is now a lock button on the exposure dial. The amount of times I’ve knocked that on my a9 and shot off a blast of photos before realising. This has been quite a big niggle of mine over the past few years. Finally on the a1 I can lock it. What else will you like- -50MP images at high burst rates. -Blackout free viewfinder -Silent shooting -Huge customisation. One request though….can you please get a price drop on the CF Express Type A cards? There crazy expensive…. Other than that it’s amazing. It really can do it all- high resolution and speed. Simply amazing so far. Note- if your using the 70-200 F2.8 GM lens- you need to update the lens software. My a1 was freezing and became unusable for about 30 seconds every time i shot off a long burst in specific settings. The update was released 3rd June 2021 so get that downloaded- I’m hoping it fixes the issue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

57

120

0

Great features

ILCE-1 27 June 2021 by Razek (United Kingdom)

I bought this product couple of weeks ago and it is very good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

69

208

0

Not up to flagship camera standards

ILCE-1 16 June 2021 by RDD1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera four months ago and expected a few initial teething problems which I assumed would be rectified fairly quickly with firmware updates. This has not been the case this very expensive camera has problems with the EVF blacking out for no reason, this happens on a regular basis. I have to resort to switching the camera off and on again, this rarely works! removing the battery sometimes works Or just trying a combination of these. It will all of a sudden come back back and works fine again, as you can imaging over the last few months I have missed loads of shots because of this problem. Also the focus freezes on occasions and for some obscure reason it sometimes goes into tracking mode and the only way I can reset it is by removing the battery. All in all this is a very unsatisfactory camera at the moment. I’ve invested a lot of money in Sony cameras and lenses over the years and the A1 is by far the best and worst of the lot. Reading what others have said this a common problem which you know about, so tell us what you are going to do about it. Also the ibis is very slow to activate on occasions. I only shoot stills and when this camera decides to work properly then it is fantastic but unfortunately the gremlins appear all too often.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

91

111

0

Best Professional Camera in the World

ILCE-1 12 June 2021 by vixe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought Sony A1 because of the following features, light weight, excellent auto focus with speed, ultra-fast 30fps, 50-mp image sensor, superb 1/400s flash sync, fantastic 8k video and goes on. A truly professional camera and undoubtedly the one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

110

129

0

Outstanding A1

ILCE-1 30 May 2021 by Haddington man (United Kingdom)

Only taken a few shots , already very impressed coming from Leica stable !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

51

95

0

Awesome camera

ILCE-1 25 May 2021 by Col72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb camera for my bird and wildlife photography. It’s a joy to use apart form the viewfinder blackout that occasionally happens in bright sunlight. But I am still very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

40

39

0

Early days - star rating likely to change

ILCE-1 23 May 2021 by MikesSony (United Kingdom)

I’ve spent most of today finding my way around the menus for this camera and taking a few test pics. An early discovery is that, unless the shutter button is half depressed, the ISO value doesn’t display when set to ‘Auto’. I’ve disconnected the shutter button from focusing, using AF-ON instead. Why ISO can’t be displayed constantly, along with the rest of the shooting data, seems like a silly omission. Or, am I doing something wrong? I’ll update this review after using the camera for a few months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

47

0

Stunning performance

ILCE-1 08 May 2021 by Birder99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought one month ago and coming from the A9/A7R4 marked improvement on all aspects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

37

63

0

awesome camera

ILCE-1 15 April 2021 by ed87 (United Kingdom)

great camera for wildlife photography and video, compact and lightweight design, great features, amazing autofocus, impressive resolution, only thing that could for me be a little better is the image stabilisation compared to the coemption.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

172

272

0

Amazing

ILCE-1 06 April 2021 by Greebocat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Words fail me just how good this camera is at everything!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

136

199