MRP

Rs. 29,990

(incl. of all taxes)
52

4.7 based on 52 customer reviews

41
7
2
2
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Absolutely Bonkers Headphones

WH-1000XM4 26 September 2020 by Chat123 (United Kingdom)

Hi everyone, I am going to attempt to make a review of these absolutely bonkers headphones. Well that's just given my opinion away! Too be serious, let's stop messing around and get on with it. The packaging is superb, typical Sony. Class. The inner packaging slides out gracefully. Lift the flap and there's the carrying case. Unzip the case and inside there's all the gear. It's all nicely laid out, the headphones are carefully twisted and flattened, well not actually that twisted and flattened, but carefully laid out, displayed in all their glory. Headphones plus cables. One usb and another for hard wiring them. Finally there is a connection block for use in airplanes. The usb cable is far too short. I don't really want to be charging expensive headphones on a hard floor. You could I suppose, cosset them on a gold coloured cushion so as not to scratch them. Let's be serious. Quite simply, the correct solution is for Sony to include a longer cable. Come on Sony, don't skimp on the cheap stuff after all they are a premium product. I had also sent for and received a separate mains power adapter. Something else that Sony should have included. I am pleased to say that this fits inside the case, keeping everything together. The headphones themselves are nice and light and when straightened out and fitted over your head and sitting on your ears, you start to feel right away how comfortable they are. Please don't do what I did and started playing on them without updating them first. It created all sorts of problems, like not being able to pair and use two devices simultaneously. One device wouldn't stay connected, it was like a Jack in the box, connecting and disconnecting on and off. Finally updated they were working as they should have been. Included in the pack is a code for 90 days, free trial to Tidals top tier. Connect to this and that's when the magic begins. The 360 Reality Audio is without a doubt incredible. I've got to admit that I can't hear all this about instruments here there and everywhere. But the sound coming into your ears is definitely a real pleasure to listen to. Battery life looks like that stated. They were 70 per cent out of the box add several severe listening sessions and when it had dropped to 20 per cent I fully charged them. They are feature packed, when you start talking they stop playing so that you can hear replies. The down side to this is the time that they take to restart playing is far too long. 15 secs is the shortest, which needs to be 5 secs max. You can restart them yourself by double tapping on the centre of the right ear cup after going into the systems settings and altering it to manual mode. Also when you start to sing along with the song, yeah you've guessed it, they stop playing. Quite annoying for all those budding stars out there. I have now discovered that this can also be altered to manual mode. We live and learn. The noise cancelling worked very well for me, with no complaints. Telephone calls are a feature that is really good well according to the person who I was speaking to. They said that it was crystal clear and to be true, it was. Please bear in mind that while you are listening to your music, it can be heard by people who are near to you. Pairing with another device is flawless. I also connected them to my PS4 controller with the cable provided. The sound that a horses hooves made while walking in a river, just made me smile with pleasure. The right pad takes care of most of the controls. Volume, skipping tracks etc. It is easy to control. The left pad is for turning on and off, pairing, noise cancelling etc. At the end of the day it's down to sound, usability and to a lot of people price. The first two hit the spot, the bulls eye without a doubt. The last one is a very different kettle of fish, personally I'd like to see them cheaper. Finally..... They are ago to set of Premium Headphones. Well done Sony. Give yourselves a big pat on the back. They are a thoroughly enjoyable to listen to and use. Thoroughly recommended. Enjoy..........

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Amazing sound let down by the mic

WH-1000XM4 08 October 2020 by Bazzar (United Kingdom)

With constant teams meetings my wired headphones were starting to get annoying. After reviewing what I thought was every review I could find, these seemed to tick all the boxes. Great start unboxed them and bowled over by the sound. Teams call colleagues couldn't hear me so thought I just hadn't got something set up correctly. Started to search for mic issues and raised a support case. Have been advised by support that these are recommended for phones and not pc calls. Do I hold on and hope some firmware sorts it or throw in the towel and go for Bose ones that work with Teams? So if you want great sound and don't do pc calls then these are amazing, if you do then think twice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

18

9

52 Customer Reviews

0

replacement purchase

WH-1000XM4 16 January 2021 by Ashyboy (United Kingdom)

recent purchase, initial looks are very pleasing the proof of the pudding will only come with time as to sound quality and other features.i cant wait to get started.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Beats Chiltern Railways infernal screeching tannoy

WH-1000XM4 14 January 2021 by Sturg666 (United Kingdom)

Anyone who commutes on Chiltern Railways needs the new Sony 1000XM4 headphones. The diabolical screeching tannoy announcements every few seconds on what could be a peaceful commute needs something extra ordinary to block out. I have used all the top headphone brands but Chiltern rail work tirelessly in turning the volume and frequency up, no headphones before have been able to truly cancel this diabolical experience. Now, with the new Sony headphones I stream music and watch netflix in true peace. I'm sure Chiltern will examine Sony's new hardware and find fixes to scupper my commute again but until then it is bliss. It is an expensive cure but well worth it. The controls take a bit of getting used to but are actually geniusly simple. Best purchase of 2020

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excelent

WH-1000XM4 12 January 2021 by DLaboy (United Kingdom)

Great Product, easy to use and friendly to handle.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features, not the best functioning

WH-1000XM4 10 January 2021 by tavoargento (United Kingdom)

It offers awesome features, I'm very happy with it. Onbly a small issue detected when connecting to my Samsumg TV, sometimes, for some reason, the sounds starts to desynchronise with the images.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Light and comfortable

WH-1000XM4 09 January 2021 by Faymous (United Kingdom)

Wonderful sound! Aesthetically good-looking. But I found it easily slipped off my head if I bent over. I now have on the end of a lanyard when I go to the beach!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Excellent Noise Cancelling

WH-1000XM4 06 January 2021 by Mirage123456 (United Kingdom)

Excellent Noise Cancelling, highest sound quality I have ever seen. 360 Audio experience is unique. Really good product, very happy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One of the best noise cancellation in the world

WH-1000XM4 05 January 2021 by Harsh Jhunjhunwala (United Kingdom)

Its too good ! Xm4 is successor Just go for it ! Its the best noise cancellation

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Not Disappointed

WH-1000XM4 05 January 2021 by Edwart (United Kingdom)

Bought these for the noise cancelling function and am not disappointed. However, the comfort levels when worn over long periods, the sound quality and all the amazing built in features have super impressed me. Very pleased I made the decision to purchase these, worth every penny in my opinion.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome!

WH-1000XM4 30 December 2020 by njpassey (United Kingdom)

Sound quality is excellent and noise cancelling 5 star

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Great headphones.

WH-1000XM4 29 December 2020 by Majesticly (United Kingdom)

So comfortable and effective. Really Great. If there is one thing that could be improved it’s the app. Could Sony give us a volume control on the app for notifications, like email and messages?...it’s deafening without it when they arrive!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Perfect, Class ANC, Amazing Sound

WH-1000XM4 28 December 2020 by TZaman (United Kingdom)

I received and tested with various different music and it sounds amazing with a little tweaking of the equalizer. The ANC is extremely good I have used it outside for a run and could barely hear my surroundings. Overall best headphones I have bought to date.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb headphones

WH-1000XM4 27 December 2020 by SamBob (United Kingdom)

These headphones were bought for me as a Christmas present. The sound reproduction is fantastic as is the noise cancelling feature - the best I've experienced in all the headphones I've owned/used.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Acoustic Excellence

WH-1000XM4 25 December 2020 by Fellwanderer (United Kingdom)

These Headphones offer acoustic excellence and enhance any music listened to. Speakers are my usual audio but when I want to discover small nuances I use these headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

The best headphones and impressive technology

WH-1000XM4 23 December 2020 by Tigro (United Kingdom)

My wife bought this headphones as a gift, and im impressive about the quality of the sound and technology, i like it very much when i take the headphones off is stop the music so is save the battery, also i can play in same time on 2 devices, and i like it so much when the volume is with touch on the headphone also can change the melody from there. Great sound, great technology, great brand. I love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Quality kit

WH-1000XM4 16 December 2020 by Gan boy (United Kingdom)

New to wireless headphones, massive improvement, should have bought them months ago.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Well pleased

WH-1000XM4 30 November 2020 by athelflaeda (United Kingdom)

Happy with the product which works well with my phone. Problem is I can't get it to work with my Windows 10 desktop pc. My old bluetooth headphones paired easily with my pc but these new Sony headphones won't pair at all! Have you encountered thid problem before?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

0

Does what it says on the box

WH-1000XM4 19 November 2020 by Ianwallters (United Kingdom)

These headphones are out of this world........perfection........only one prob. The price lol.....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

6

0

Best headphones on the market.

WH-1000XM4 24 October 2020  (United Kingdom)

Highly recommend. Sound quality is great. Bass is nice and strong.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Another dimension of wireless audio.

WH-1000XM4 18 October 2020 by saeloj (United Kingdom)

Listening to HIFI and Master audio via XM4 is just WOW!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

Quality Noise Isolation Headphones ❤️

WH-1000XM4 08 October 2020 by Stell26xx (United Kingdom)

I bought them yesterday and they are amazing good quality sound smart adaptive experience

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

5

0

Amazing sound let down by the mic

WH-1000XM4 08 October 2020 by Bazzar (United Kingdom)

With constant teams meetings my wired headphones were starting to get annoying. After reviewing what I thought was every review I could find, these seemed to tick all the boxes. Great start unboxed them and bowled over by the sound. Teams call colleagues couldn't hear me so thought I just hadn't got something set up correctly. Started to search for mic issues and raised a support case. Have been advised by support that these are recommended for phones and not pc calls. Do I hold on and hope some firmware sorts it or throw in the towel and go for Bose ones that work with Teams? So if you want great sound and don't do pc calls then these are amazing, if you do then think twice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

18

9

0

Outstanding music quality

WH-1000XM4 07 October 2020 by autumn123456 (United Kingdom)

Detailed and crisp Brroad sound palate Deep bass and clear treble Realistic mid range

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

3

0

I was expecting too much lol

WH-1000XM4 06 October 2020 by Shad19 (United Kingdom)

Bought around 4 days ago , they are good headphones , but these are my first noice cancelling pair of headphones and so i expected like total cancelling and stuff , so i was a bit disappointed , secondly the side touch controls are not smooth ,like double tapping isn't responsive unless I tap twice a bit hard , and to increase or decrease volume is a pain ,i thought it would be like swiping would be one action for volume , but instead i have to swipe and keep holding while the volume slowly increases and the swiping touch is really bad and not responsive. Finally it's kinda sad that it doesn't have and IP rating cuz i wanted to atleast work out a bit with these and don't want it to break down due to some sweat. I'm not sure if it's just mine that has bad touch or it's just the headphone. And when i remove the headphones off my head the music stops playing (as it should ) but while its off my head if i play the music and try to double tap to on the touch panel to pause it it doesn't work , I'm just stating this cause i don't know if its just mine

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

25

0

****Great sound ****

WH-1000XM4 05 October 2020 by Delboy (United Kingdom)

Now to be up front I am a huge Bose headphone fan and have been for nearly over 6 years but I got the chance to try the WH1000MXs out. I had read the reviews of the previous model and tried these updated headphones out. To be clear the sound and noise cancelling is the best I have ever heard. well balanced, so much so I set the EQ on my phone and the headphones themselves to off, to listen without and electronic manipulation as it should be heard on a phone, computer and iPad at least). Listening to heavy bass tracks (Gold Digger, All Night and Destination Calabria) I like my music and play it for a couple of hours a day so comfort is important and they are very comfortable to wear for a few hours. there is a degree of sweating over a few hours but that applies to all over the headphones so is not an issue isolated to Sony. The build quality is well above average although remaining relatively light. the ear pads are comfortable and the headband is soft. The size adjustment is wide (my head is quite large) The carry case is sturdy enough to avoid damaging the case or the headphones while commuting or travelling. One thing I particularly like is Sony has included a 3.5mm jack cable for those folks whose phone still has a jack or other listening sources.The battery life is great at about 30 hours and uses usb-c so charges fast. Another thing is that they update easily, which is straight forward. In the past I have had different tech that this was very hit and miss. Like nearly all of the features particularly the Speak to Chat where the headphones know you are talking and cancels the noise cancelling so you can talk to someone. Placing your hand over the right ear cup decreases the sound also but doesn't stop playback. Taking the headphones off, stops the music as well and when you place them back on starts playback. There is a clever feature that the phone learns your environment so adapts the noise cancelling to suit where you are but I have only used these in a couple of different places so far. One thing looks like a good feature is 360 Reality Audio, unfortunately I couldn't try it as I mostly listen to Apple Music and various interney radio stations. It is only useable on a few other music providers, Deezer, Tidal and another that I haven't heard of. I would be good if Sony could collaborate with Apple and Spotify to get this these services as these are the two biggest providers at the moment. Headphones are all about the music, any headphone has to get this right first and the Sonys do that well. The extra features are nice to have but not essential. I am a convert and mostly use these to listen to music and movies. A good job Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

17

1

0

Awesome but one thing...

WH-1000XM4 05 October 2020 by Irookimalooki (United Kingdom)

Sound better than all headphones I’ve tested personally as I work in the music industry. Main fault I would give is that these don’t work the best with DAW’s as they are very sensitive so connect and disconnect whenever I’ve used certain hardware they turn off themselves after a while (while making edits to a mix!) it would be good to get a jack adapter for the headphones and when I use any other one they keep disconnecting randomly. Another is the sound sensitivity to your voice I understand the feature for talking can be turned off but it is extremely sensitive whenever you sing along or make a sound they turn right down.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

12

1

0

Comfortable, hifi quality headphones.

WH-1000XM4 05 October 2020 by Miked (United Kingdom)

As soon as I put them on they wowed me with how comfortable they fitted. The sound coming from them matched my quality hifi and produced a well balanced sound regardless of source. Listening at night, while my wife watches television undisturbed, means I listen to my heart's content. If she talks, and I reply, the headphones automatically pauses the music. It then restarts when I stop talking. Wonderful! The instructions were very easy to follow, and, along with the app and discreet buttons allows you to customise the headphones to suit your taste and mood. From light classical to the emotions of Norah Jones singing "Live at Blues Alley" are handled very well by these headphones. Well done Sony! A lovely quality product yet again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

7

1

0

Quality Sound

WH-1000XM4 01 October 2020 by Alex (United Kingdom)

Received the headphones last month. Initial impressions are very favourable. Used the Sony app on my iPad Air to get up and running. Sound quality was superb compared to other headphones that I have used. Tested the MX4 using the PC and my Sony Walkman. Very comfortable to wear. I do like the quality look and feel of the product. What an amazing list of features. I'll not use all the features but those hat I have used are intuitive. The Bluetooth connection to the computer and the Walkman have been extremely reliable and the sound quality has been beyond my expectation. I do like the fact that the Noise Cancelling comes on automatically and looks after itself unless you want to manually configure it. I haven't tried all the features, but I have downloaded the MX4 manual from the Sony web site and that contains a mas of detail. I look forward to exploring the features over the next few months. What more can I say - very impressive and so pleased that I have the MX4.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

9

2

0

The headphones your ears have been waiting for.

WH-1000XM4 29 September 2020 by Web57 (United Kingdom)

The first thing you notice about these is the quality, from the headband down to the ear pads. Then, as you put them on, they are so comfortable you may forget you’re wearing them. This isn’t a problem, as you can activate the speak-to-chat function, that pauses playback so you can have a conversation. The controls on the ear panel make using them so effortless, from volume control to skipping a track and answering a call. As for the noise cancelling, I have just completed the most enjoyable three hour flights ever. Screaming kid two rows back, a thing of the past. General aircraft noise, unheard. Nagging wife, blissfully ignored (until getting off the plane). The sound quality is excellent, as expected, with the 360 reality audio really does make you feel “in” the music. I’ve been using Sony wired headphones for many years now, but I have been converted to the freedom of wireless. A real treat for your ears.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

0

0

Mark 4 Headphones

WH-1000XM4 27 September 2020 by Nemo90210 (United Kingdom)

I was gifted these headphones and i really love them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Excessive Headphone Users Thoughts

WH-1000XM4 26 September 2020 by Edd9 (United Kingdom)

I use my headphones 40 - 60 hrs. a week every week. I have been happy with my XM3 Headphones but was looking forward to see how the XM4 Headphones Compared, First thing I noticed was the feel & form factor had changed slightly the newer shape makes a notable difference to comfort levels especially on a long session, they seem to put less pressure on the top of your head (good news if your head is like a Cannon Ball like mine !!). The main body seems to have changed to a slightly more matt feel but is not really noticeable Setting up the headphones with the Headphones Connect app was no problem, I enjoyed the set up process it was unusual taking pictures of my ears but the app made it easy, with the shape of my ears logged I used the optimiser and was very impressed with the results. I listen to TV, Tablet, Phone and Music keyboard both via Bluetooth and wired, on all sources I was very Impressed with the quality of the sound. The high end clarity and good deep smooth base remained from the XM3 but the Mid range on the XM4 seems to have gone to another level making the sound clearer you actually notice the details of the the sounds more its hard to describe but i am very pleased with the quality and enjoy my listening even more with this upgrade in sound quality. Another new feature I liked was that when say you are watching a video or listening to music you can remove the headphones and things automatically pause, then put them back on and they re start just a little thing but it adds to the experience of these quality Headphones. the Noise Cancelling has also improved it was good but seems more robust and rounded even less sound get through to disturb you surprising as the XM3' were so good at this. Another new feature I tried was the 360 degree sound this seemed to work well I have only tried a few demo videos on this at the moment. The pause Noise Cancelling sound by covering your right ear feature has also been given an alternative option, when you speak the noise cancelling auto detects your voice and turns the noise cancelling off, I was not keen on this option as the use your hand option seems to work better as there is a delay in the back to sound source that is not there with the cover ear option. The Packaging, Carr Case and Adapter and wired Headphone Cable are all the same good quality as the XM3's no complaints there very nice and compact design. Battery life and fast USB C charging appear to be the same also, again this was great on the XM3's so good news there. I Charge them every 3-4 days After using the Headphones for a few weeks I am very impressed with them and would recommend them to anyone who is looking for Comfort, Great sound and Excellent Noise Cancelling easy set up with some very good additional features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

12

2

0

Absolutely Bonkers Headphones

WH-1000XM4 26 September 2020 by Chat123 (United Kingdom)

Hi everyone, I am going to attempt to make a review of these absolutely bonkers headphones. Well that's just given my opinion away! Too be serious, let's stop messing around and get on with it. The packaging is superb, typical Sony. Class. The inner packaging slides out gracefully. Lift the flap and there's the carrying case. Unzip the case and inside there's all the gear. It's all nicely laid out, the headphones are carefully twisted and flattened, well not actually that twisted and flattened, but carefully laid out, displayed in all their glory. Headphones plus cables. One usb and another for hard wiring them. Finally there is a connection block for use in airplanes. The usb cable is far too short. I don't really want to be charging expensive headphones on a hard floor. You could I suppose, cosset them on a gold coloured cushion so as not to scratch them. Let's be serious. Quite simply, the correct solution is for Sony to include a longer cable. Come on Sony, don't skimp on the cheap stuff after all they are a premium product. I had also sent for and received a separate mains power adapter. Something else that Sony should have included. I am pleased to say that this fits inside the case, keeping everything together. The headphones themselves are nice and light and when straightened out and fitted over your head and sitting on your ears, you start to feel right away how comfortable they are. Please don't do what I did and started playing on them without updating them first. It created all sorts of problems, like not being able to pair and use two devices simultaneously. One device wouldn't stay connected, it was like a Jack in the box, connecting and disconnecting on and off. Finally updated they were working as they should have been. Included in the pack is a code for 90 days, free trial to Tidals top tier. Connect to this and that's when the magic begins. The 360 Reality Audio is without a doubt incredible. I've got to admit that I can't hear all this about instruments here there and everywhere. But the sound coming into your ears is definitely a real pleasure to listen to. Battery life looks like that stated. They were 70 per cent out of the box add several severe listening sessions and when it had dropped to 20 per cent I fully charged them. They are feature packed, when you start talking they stop playing so that you can hear replies. The down side to this is the time that they take to restart playing is far too long. 15 secs is the shortest, which needs to be 5 secs max. You can restart them yourself by double tapping on the centre of the right ear cup after going into the systems settings and altering it to manual mode. Also when you start to sing along with the song, yeah you've guessed it, they stop playing. Quite annoying for all those budding stars out there. I have now discovered that this can also be altered to manual mode. We live and learn. The noise cancelling worked very well for me, with no complaints. Telephone calls are a feature that is really good well according to the person who I was speaking to. They said that it was crystal clear and to be true, it was. Please bear in mind that while you are listening to your music, it can be heard by people who are near to you. Pairing with another device is flawless. I also connected them to my PS4 controller with the cable provided. The sound that a horses hooves made while walking in a river, just made me smile with pleasure. The right pad takes care of most of the controls. Volume, skipping tracks etc. It is easy to control. The left pad is for turning on and off, pairing, noise cancelling etc. At the end of the day it's down to sound, usability and to a lot of people price. The first two hit the spot, the bulls eye without a doubt. The last one is a very different kettle of fish, personally I'd like to see them cheaper. Finally..... They are ago to set of Premium Headphones. Well done Sony. Give yourselves a big pat on the back. They are a thoroughly enjoyable to listen to and use. Thoroughly recommended. Enjoy..........

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

12

0

0

Comfortable Fit

WH-1000XM4 26 September 2020 by Brian43 (United Kingdom)

Excellent comfortable even after a long session, noise reduction fantastic, easy to set up and get started. Sound reproduction great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

5

1

0

Headphones for modern life

WH-1000XM4 25 September 2020 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom)

Recently received a set of WH-1000XM4 and it is many many years since I have had a pair of over the ear cans. So I did not know what to expect from a set that had noise cancelling and I can honestly say and as a person who suffers from tinnitus I found these absolutely unbelievable in the sound quality and tinnitus was a thing of the past with these on. About me, I am a 71-year-old music lover so having these has been a fantastic experience I cannot go into all the technical details that you may find on internet channels I just know how I felt when I put these on. For me, the innovation on the XM4 was an eye-opener I suppose younger persons will treat this as normal but for me superb. What I did have in the setup but only in using my iMac, not on my Macbook pro was terrible stuttering and I think this is something other users might encounter and it was a process of elimination and it appeared that Bluetooth bandwidth was competing with each other around my Mac I have a keyboard, trackpad, mouse. When listening to music, film or internet content when I switched a couple off everything worked fine. Would I recommend them for sure if you haven't experienced noise-cancelling headphones before then these are a joy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

9

1

0

Great audio, comfort and design

WH-1000XM4 23 September 2020 by jamestux (United Kingdom)

These headphones sound great and work with everything. They are lightweight and comfortable enough to wear all day - the battery lasts forever between charges which is useful as the headphones work with my phone, Walkman and even watches so I am using them a lot! The only real slight downside is because I change devices a lot - and the most that it can multi-pair with is 2 - and if you have it pairing to both then it won't run at top audio quality either, but I realise that I am probably not that typical as I have separate devices for everything. In terms of sound quality: Noise cancellation is superb, perfect for walks or commuting when you need to go to the office again. The system tunes to your ears which does make a difference in a very positive way. The signature is quite warm and bassy - which isn't my usual preferred sound but it works well here. Its not quite as coherent or analytical as my Sennheisers HD660s or HD600 - but it is a lot easier to drive and is a completely different solution (noise cancelling, closed back, microphone included, etc) - it has replaced my PXC 550 as my travel, outdoor and every day headphones and as my work headphones and headset. Sony have added a bunch of features that are useful such as different modes depending on where you are or how much you are moving - I haven't set them up properly yet but I can see that they will be helpful over time. So other than the pairing thing they would be perfect and it seems harsh to mark them down a full star that. Like I mentioned above they have replaced another set in my collection - and actually I find myself using the others less often too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

2

0

Superb High-End Headphones

WH-1000XM4 21 September 2020 by Mel2955 (United Kingdom)

As expected for a Sony product, the high quality packaging tells a story before you even get to the goodness inside which doesn't let down. The headphones have a premium look with a soft faux leather centre section of the headband and ear cups which made them comfortable to wear for long periods. After around 4.5 hours of continuous use they still felt comfortable and could easily have worn them for a few hours more. Only small issue I could raise here is with the ear cups being so well isolated and close fitting I felt my ears getting a little bit warm, maybe just me. The headband has a good adjustment range to get the best fit and they didn't feel tight across my head. Even while wearing the headphones with power off the ear cups were great at reducing external noise. With Noise Cancelling activated the world outside went very quiet with only some higher pitched sounds creeping through occasionally, excellent. Controlling volume and music tracks worked well for the most part using the right ear cup touchpad sensors. Occasionally had to repeat the vertical sliding action to change volume, but didn’t have any problem changing tracks sliding finger horizontally. Plus point, good to find the sensitivity was not limited to a small area of the touchpad sensor. As for sound, the quality is excellent. For me, playing high quality FLAC files on my Walkman which has the LDAC codec is when you really hear the music as it should be heard. These headphones are not particularly Bass punchy, so if you like heavy Bass in your music without making any adjustments to the standard settings, or can't if you don't have a smartphone, these may not be your first choice. The phone app equaliser can push the Bass effect quite a bit if needed. Trying the DSEE Extreme setting using the SBC codec playing various MP3 music files, unfortunately I couldn't detect much of a difference. Maybe its just too subtle an enhancement for my ears. Speak to Chat worked great for times in shops etc, the headphones paused music instantly when hearing my voice. Nice feature but need to remember this will happen every time you speak or maybe hum along with the music. Fortunately it can easily be switched on or off using the phone app or two fingers against the right ear cup touchpad if not like it. The Ambient Noise feature was really handy while moving around busy areas and wanted to hear some of the sounds around me like traffic, and Voice Focus worked better than expected while waiting in a train station, clearly heard the 'the next train is for ***' while music playing. Using the Speak to Chat and Ambient Noise features depends much about what you're doing and where you are, useful in certain circumstances. Bluetooth range has been great with no drop-out issues while walking outside or around my home upstairs and downstairs through numerous walls at some distance from the computer playing music using a Bluetooth v5.0 dongle. Also tested connecting to my Sony NW-A45 Walkman which uses Bluetooth v4.2, no issues whatsoever and a nice match for these headphones. Battery power has been very good, pretty close to the times quoted I would say, albeit can't say 100% because I keep changing settings during use to find how well or not various settings work for me in different situations. All in all an easy recommendation for anyone considering purchasing these superb high-end headphones, cost may be the one thing that puts some off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

10

1

0

A significant improvement over XM3 0 Go buy.

WH-1000XM4 21 September 2020 by Dr Dee (United Kingdom)

This is an evolution of the XM3 which was already one of the best. Four things stand out for me. First, the XM4 has superior comfort versus XM3 and you can wear it all day. I found for example the B&W PX& had a vice-like grip. The XM3 was comfortable but the XM4 with its better cushioning now makes it possible to wear all day. Second, the musicality has been significantly improved and now far exceeds competitor brands like B&W P7. With its noise-cancelling already excellent on XM3, Sony now is far ahead. Sony’ has used its Dual Noise Sensor tech, making use of two mics in each earcup to suck in sound and analyse it with the QN1 noise-cancelling processor. The treble response is improved and so are the mids using the DSEE extreme processing capability. The introduction of DSEE Extreme, an AI-driven process that looks to restore detail from lossy compressed formats, d Third, when you pairing and multi-device usage is seamless with my phone and Macbook. The benefit of being able to use the better transmission through Sony's own LDAC codex with my Sony portable NW A105. I player is a plus. I would have preferred Sony to have kept Aptx HD which is a Qualcomm codex and is not as good as LDAC but is more available on portable devices. Finally, while Sony's XM3 was one of the best musically, Sony has also improved speaking and working with this headphone on. A new Speak-to-Chat feature. With this option switched on, the headphones’ microphone will intelligently recognise when you’ve started talking, and pause your music while ramping up ambient noise being funnelled into the cans. It’ll let you have a chat naturally without taking your headphones off, with a short pause occurring after you stop chatting before resuming music playback. Loved using the XM3's but love the XM4 even more.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

1

0

Amazing noise cancelling

WH-1000XM4 20 September 2020 by Bilbob2002 (United Kingdom)

I recieved the xm4s 2 weeks ago and am super impressed with how good these headphones are. They are well packaged and come with a handy carry case to make sure they stay in top condition if travelling. They are super light for all the functionality they contain and once on barely notice there there the ear cups are so well padded my glasses are no problem and don't dig in with the fit of the headphones. Once on and the app downloaded they where so easy to set up and configure to my ear shape to maximise sound quality. The noise cancelling is AMAZING!! I was able to sit in my living room with the tv on and my dog barking and completely loose myself in the music. The speak to chat function was nice and it works well but I ended up turning it off so I can sing along without interrupting the music. They charge in no time and the battery lasts forever. But the biggest thing was being able to connect to two devices my pc headset has now been replaced so I can play games on my laptop and also take calls. The sound quality is what you would expect from Sony 1st class. I would definitely recommend these headphones with no problem at all

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

7

4

0

Fantastic headphones great sound

WH-1000XM4 18 September 2020 by Colin (United Kingdom)

Have been using these headphones for two weeks now I have had quite a few different types of head phones over the years but these Sony noise canceling headphones are quite simply the best headphones I have ever used Sony app is fantastic and easy to use lots of great features. The lovely tones and the bass sound is brilliant the best headphones I have ever used the design is stunning so comfortable to wear no Bluetooth drop off while using them. Headphones com3 in a great carry case charge lead and airplane adapter. The 360 reality sound is brilliant changes the sound complete for the better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

11

1

0

Awesome Headphones

WH-1000XM4 18 September 2020 by Rio 44 (United Kingdom)

These are the best headphones on the market in my opinion,super quality,first class noise cancelling,excellent sound quality and very comfortable to wear for long periods of time.The battery life is really good charge them up for a couple of hours and easily last all day.I would recommend downloading the Sony headphones app and install the latest firmware and use the app to customise to your liking.I would have no problem recommending these headphones to anyone,they deserve this Five Star review.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

10

1

0

Sensational Sound - Listen In Comfort

WH-1000XM4 18 September 2020 by GeorgeL (United Kingdom)

From the moment you put these headphones on you relaise how comfortable they are! Using the headphone App helps to configure the headphones for hi fi sound using TIDAL. A very dynamic sound performance. From a band to an orchestra the music plays so sweetly in your head. Connectivity is excellent via Bluetooth; quality sound from my iPod or iPad or IMac with streamed music. The comfort is so good that I am able to wear them for as long as I want. But overall it is the sound quality from them that makes them so good. I have other SONY headphones but the lates take the prize for being first rate. I love them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

6

2

0

My Favourite Headphones. My Problems With Them.

WH-1000XM4 06 September 2020 by Eclectic Sound Consumer (United Kingdom)

I bought the WH-1000MX4 model a month ago and I'm glad I did. The noise cancelling is fantastic, it will not silence a fighter jet taking off from 200m away, but what it will do is make day to day travel more peaceful. The noise cancelling coupled with a low volume of music (around a quarter volume) will immerse you into a land of tranquillity, privacy and give you the focus to really concentrate on what it is your doing or listening to. The coffee on the go and the line at the station with this product what you hear is now fully in your control. Also the noise cancelling is great without sound being played, but it does still let some noise through. But, to get complete silence anywhere on earth is impossible, and these make a really good go at it. The battery life is great and the fit is comfortable. I have gone full day with high volumes and noise cancelling and the battery lasts with some to spare. And after long listening periods I am not left with aching ears, which I have had from other products. I highly recommend these headphones to anyone who travels a lot. Or anyone who likes have wireless headphones with great audio performance and also some clever features. The features I like are the Pause/Play that you can customise for when you take your headphones Off/On. It isn’t noticeable at first, but the time I will save over the years from not having to press pause and play and fussing with wires when leaving a room, answering a call or even if you just want to have a scratch without missing a paragraph of a new audiobook. I also like the slider option for if you do want to let ambient noise in. Scenario: You’re in a busy city centre and you are dodging and weaving traffic and people running late for your next engagement. You can have the headphones set to let ambient noise in. Meaning safer passing on dangerous roads. However, the touch gestures on the earphones are unresponsive, especially to someone who is used to handling a modern smart phone. And when you turn the volume up or down, the content your listening to is rudely interrupted by the intrusion of a confirmation of the action you just performed. There isn’t an option available in the accompanying smartphone software to change this. I find this both annoying and useless. I have turned the touch features off. Unless an update is released where you can decide what touch features actually do and have this done silently it will stay that way. Speaking off software and updates. If you don’t own a smartphone you can’t customise the headphones at all. I can’t find a version of the application for Computer Desktops. Also, the Bluetooth quality is sometimes poor. It will connect to the hands-free channel and this will reduce sound quality and turns whatever your listening to into what sounds like a remix of the old internet dial-up connection sound and whatever soundbites your trying to listen to. Overall, this is a Premium product and its worth the money it’s priced at. I’m a happy customer. But if there was a version with a better touch function and better recognition of when you are connected to a phone call instead of a music platform or video streaming site. It would get 5 Stars. For me I give it 4 ½.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

4

0

Fantastic Sound Quality

WH-1000XM4 05 September 2020 by Kenny Bear (United Kingdom)

I’m have the Air buds , but decided to treat myself to the WH10004, and was not disappointed. As the sound quality is second to none , I found it a bit strange , when it wanted photographs of my ears , but after having the experienced the 360 degree sound , I now know why. Even better sound quality, and so many different functions . Expensive but you pay for quality, and that’s what you get with these earphones .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Fantastic Headphones

WH-1000XM4 03 September 2020 by Fifibelle (United Kingdom)

So glad I waited for this model to be released. Sony did not disappoint. These headphones are amazing!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0