MRP

Rs. 20,990

(incl. of all taxes)
88

4.4 based on 88 customer reviews

51
24
12
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

small but powerful

HDR-CX405 22 April 2015 by dansnanjohn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having had a high quality camcorder for some years I decided I wanted one that recorded to a memory card rather than mini tapes. I must admit that I thought it would be as simple as putting the card in a card reader as I do with my DSLR camera. I was a little disturbed at having to use a Sony site to download but after a short session of familiarisation I found it quite easy. The quality of the pictures and sound is very good and the handycam fits very easily into a pocket. With a little more time and practice I believe I will really enjoy my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointed

HDR-CX405 29 January 2022 by Stevie Q (United Kingdom)

Bought this camcorder as a replacement for a Panasonic V100 which I've had for 10+ years but was showing it's age, only recorded in HD 1080i at 25fps and the microphone had started to pick-up internal noise. Otherwise it has been an excellent camcorder. I chose the CX405 because the equivalent Panasonic was out-of-stock everywhere. I was expecting the Sony to give improved pictures over my old Panny as it could record in 1080p at 50fps, but am disappointed that the clarity is no better and the Panasonic gives smoother panning (no pun intended) than the Sony. I would be tempted to return it if it wasn't for the audio problem with the Panny and I need a camcorder. I have to say though that it hasn't reached my expectations. In some respects I feel I've wasted my money.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

88 Customer Reviews

0

A good camera if you do not have to alter settings

HDR-CX405 03 November 2022 by gusoh (United Kingdom)

Iwas given the camera as a birthday present, it lay in a cupboard for several months before I used it on holiday. I was unable to change the date which was the 25th December 2015 also I could only see 4 or 5 screens I returned it to Sony Centre Wales and they tell me the camera is working fine . Therefore it must be my hands and fingers are to large for the joystick / multi task tool.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great light weight camera

HDR-CX405 26 September 2022 by Poovers (United Kingdom)

Bought this two weeks ago,easy to set up and record movies and take pictures.it is so light,the quality of recorded video is good.well impressed with it and at a good price tag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

simplicity itself

HDR-CX405 16 June 2022 by Seamusg (United Kingdom)

i received the cx405 last week and have used it a few times before i go on holiday to learn how it functions and it was real easy to use and i was impressed with the colour reproduction.I wanted to upload the videos to my computer and play back on my tv to make sure things were running smoothly and after a few minutes everything was go.So i would definately recommend the cx405

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fine little camcorder

HDR-CX405 05 March 2022 by gbarac72 (United Kingdom)

This is fine little HD camera with great picture and sound quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed

HDR-CX405 29 January 2022 by Stevie Q (United Kingdom)

Bought this camcorder as a replacement for a Panasonic V100 which I've had for 10+ years but was showing it's age, only recorded in HD 1080i at 25fps and the microphone had started to pick-up internal noise. Otherwise it has been an excellent camcorder. I chose the CX405 because the equivalent Panasonic was out-of-stock everywhere. I was expecting the Sony to give improved pictures over my old Panny as it could record in 1080p at 50fps, but am disappointed that the clarity is no better and the Panasonic gives smoother panning (no pun intended) than the Sony. I would be tempted to return it if it wasn't for the audio problem with the Panny and I need a camcorder. I have to say though that it hasn't reached my expectations. In some respects I feel I've wasted my money.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good video camera and camcorder

HDR-CX405 11 January 2022 by kenpopat (United Kingdom)

sorry no photos as I have not stored any photos just yet

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

camera for Virginia Water art society for demos

HDR-CX405 26 November 2021 by macamera (United Kingdom)

We have a demonstration at our monthly meeting and so that everyone can see we project it on to large screen our old Sony action camera broke and found this to be ideal have not had a chance to use it properly yet but will let you know how we get on.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Handycan

HDR-CX405 01 November 2021 by Highlander67 (United Kingdom)

Have wanted a cam for a wee while This is a fantastic cam, fairly easy to use, takes good photos as well as the video cam aspect. Reasonably priced ... would recommend the camera to friends and fam

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice little camcorder

HDR-CX405 10 August 2021 by Ess Eff Emm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice little camcorder, bought recently to take videos and pictures from visits to sites that I undertake, which it does very well. Photos transfer up to the computer but so far unable to upload videos, even with the video software at sony.net/pm.... Need to get that sorted somehow in order to upload and then it will fulfill all that I need it for.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cheap and Cheerful

HDR-CX405 14 July 2021 by user 25 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was bought as a replacement for a Canon camera which had given up the ghost because Canon models that I was interested in were not available. The model is quite small and light and appears to be mainly built of plastic. Lens and picture quality appear on a par with my previous model. Access to features is by a button which appears not to be particularly robust. As with all such cameras there is no view finder these days which to my mind is a retrograde step. Seems reasonable for the price I paid

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

handy size and functions

HDR-CX405 27 May 2021 by chrissunbeam (United Kingdom)

good alround camera. wish it was easier to change from video to still, bit of a nightmare downloading data if you dont do it often an forget how.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

I like the video it takes but there is a fault

HDR-CX405 26 April 2021 by DaveG77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the image quality and the weight of this camcorder. but there is a fault that it sometimes does not record. I tried resetting it as suggested but I havnt had the time to test it since. I do hope the fault is corrected.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Camcorder

HDR-CX405 08 April 2021 by Marriott96 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this handy camcorder for about 5 years now and it's just as good when I received it as a present, I would highly recommend it

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Probably the best basic camera on the markey

HDR-CX405 16 February 2021 by Adrian61 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have bought 5 for streaming church services. The image quality it excellent, even in lighting conditions which are not the brightest. You can only get a clean hdmi output on 1080 and with hdmi ctrl off. It has basic facilities, no Wi-fi for example, but it is excellent for our purposes. If streaming, recommend the use of fibre optic cables.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

It's a camera...

HDR-CX405 04 January 2021 by StickMan11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this camera. It does camerary things......like a camera.

3

4

0

Compact and easy to use

HDR-CX405 25 August 2020 by LindaJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small, handy (!) camcorder - easy to use. Still working on the editing side but like the quality of video produced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Like the curate's egg - good in parts

HDR-CX405 20 June 2020 by TJRS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The eternal problem for me is that I'm not at bright as the average customer. The amount of prior knowledge that I am assumed to have by the manufacturer before I take delivery of their product is completely baseless. And that means I am invariably struggling to get the best from the item - in this case my CX405 handicam. What is the most appropriate card to go out and buy to put in it. No clue in the instructions. What programme do I install on my laptop to edit the results. No clue in the instructions. How do I edit the results and trim it up and present something watchable to my family and friends. No clue. How do I use the refinements the camera claims to have. What do they do to the pictures. What mode does what. The list is endless. The result is the camera isn't used and can't be enjoyed. One day I may work it all out but in the meantime only buy this if you have owned and enjoyed having a handicam before. I expect its quite good. Four stars because the lip on the screen that you use to open the thing up is too small and it takes several goes before it stops slipping back shut having issued an infuriating little 'ping' each time you fail to open it. Oh, and it needs somewhere to attach a lanyard as I hang it round my neck whilst I out on my walks.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

5

4

0

Slightly Disappointing

HDR-CX405 27 February 2020 by Peter214 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera to film a Village stage play, The first attempt the battery ran out half way through the second act. On the second attempt the the charging lead was used and the whole play (two hours long) captured successfully . The picture quality is reasonable but slow to focus and the camera was slow to respond to changes in light levels.Changing the camera settings seems to require a lot of practise as the menus are small and difficult to interpret and the selection button very fiddly. Downloading to Play Memories Home (PMH) took a long time and editing the film was not easy using PMH. A cut and paste facility on PMH would be very helpful. Adding captions also took time to master. Saving the film after editing took nearly two hours. I am sure this camera would be great for taking short clips.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Great features great picture and easy to use

HDR-CX405 18 February 2020 by Tollie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy. Small light and very portable. Not sure about battery life yet because have only had for a month.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use

HDR-CX405 16 February 2020 by DaveyB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I chose this camera after researching various brands of similar priced ones. I have had Sony Handycams before over a good number of years and been satisfied. This camera has proved to be very good value, light in weight and easy to get used to. The simple functions and menus are intuitive so I took some minutes. The quality looks fine to me and transferring the video via the micro SD card to my PC proved so much more convenient with no wire connections to set up. I like this little camera a lot.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Light and easy to use

HDR-CX405 19 December 2019 by Karen Christmas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have bought this for my daughter's Christmas present but must admit I have had a little tinker with it myself. The operating instructions are very easy to understand and transferring data from the camera to her laptop was very straightforward. I like that the camera is light and easy to hold and the fact that you can attach it to a tripod is also appreciated. The recorded sound is also of a good quality. I'm very pleased with this camera and definitely happy to recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Feels cheap and nasty.

HDR-CX405 09 October 2019 by BGFR (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this video camera recently. It really does feel cheap and nasty although it produces reasonably good videos and snaps. I am surprised at Sony compromising their good name by marketing such a plastic and flimsy product.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

5

0

Superb range and quality images on video

HDR-CX405 23 September 2019 by Reidyclan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this for a long planned bush safari where we would be travelling a lot and needed lightweight products. The video features and zoom are great. Very lightweight and superb to use , even for a left handed. Photos were a lot trickier and needed more practice so suggest do that before leave so you know how to get razor sharp images, otherwise you will be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awsome

HDR-CX405 07 September 2019 by Stiggs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome cam loads of options in the menus easy to use check out my review on YouTube the Drone novice.... And the Urban Cook....... Excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

good images

HDR-CX405 09 July 2019 by Dixon5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only purchased this recently and, as a first time user of the product, it is taking some time to get familiar with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Litle Unit

HDR-CX405 26 June 2019 by Lemac (United Kingdom)

I bought this for a specific event and I have not been let down by the ease of use and clarity of recorded items

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Amazing camera for the price

HDR-CX405 08 May 2019 by Gusgib (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Twenty years ago I purchased a Sony Mini DV Camcorder for Nine hundred pounds...it was brilliant! It had loads of features and I loved it but technology moves on and for a fraction of the cost I have a better picture with a fantastic optical zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

simplicity

HDR-CX405 10 March 2019 by jd1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great camera does it all ,great pictures and video .light and easy to use even for a novice .had the older version did look at cheaper 4k alternative,but went with sony as its always been reliable recommended

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great for expedition

HDR-CX405 10 March 2019 by Hammy Hamster (United Kingdom)

I bought a similar earlier model 7 years ago for expeditions and used successfully on Kilimanjaro in freezing temperatures and again on Mt Kenya, in heat and dust of African bush. I bought this new one for Mt Meru as mobile phone technology has improved and I wanted better quality videos. My old one is still in good working order I gave to my Kenyan guide friend - he is thrilled with it and we used the zoom feature to spot animals as well as filing. How does the new one compare to the old model. It does add more clicks to start filming which makes it slower to use but quick button to take a still whilst on video setting is useful. The lens cover is manual on this model but auto on old model. Only fault with old model was dust made lens cover stick open so happy to have manual. I took several batteries and high resolution media chip. Changing batteries was easy but did not need to change chip even though took loads of lengthy videos. I am pleased with the quality of the stills and videos which is what I wanted, better stability on zoom. This is a very affordable handy cam. A bit lighter and seems less substantial than earlier model, but performed well. Ideal for wearing strapped over shoulder for mountain trips with easy to get out and film quickly so just what I wanted. Enjoying sharing with my friends thousands of miles away and keeping memories fresh. Very happy - the picture is mobile phone shot of Samson and I both happy with 7 year old and current purchase- we are now sharing great pics and videos thousands of miles apart but close in great memories and planning our next expedition

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good value for money

HDR-CX405 07 March 2019 by Ella1812 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have used this twice to record sporting activity both indoors and outside and very happy with it. Would prefer not to have to download into Sony specific software on computer but overall very happy. Its very lightweight and doesn't feel like it would cope with many knock and bumps, but thats easily handled by decent carrying case.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice compact camera

HDR-CX405 12 November 2018 by Mavis66 (United Kingdom)

Bought this for a recent holiday and it was very good. It is very light and compact and very easy to use. As soon as you open the side cover the camera starts up and closes down when you close it. Very simple to use and not as complicated as our previous one. The only downside is that you have to manually open and close the lense cover and it is easy to forget when you have finished filming and it would be easy to damage the lense. Also it would be handy to have some kind of strap on it and we had to buy a case for it too. However I suppose that would be normal for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

simple to use

HDR-CX405 07 October 2018 by 78max (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A fine example of ingenuity in this technical world that we live in, this Handycam has all the features that you will need for every video recording you make, the results are outstanding,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Camera Good- Sony Micro card a Disaster!!

HDR-CX405 28 August 2018 by Clive16 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have bought this camera for a once in a lifetime family trip to Australia. All went well - camera easy to use- compact and captured some great family moments. Then disaster. Had specifically bought a Sony micro sd card 32gb and the camera said I had another 52 minutes recording time left. Had a meeting with an old school friend and the following day on our hotel roof pool area and recorded as normal with no obvious issues. But when I went to playback, all the meeting video and pool top area were not on the card. Took it to a specialised camera shop in Sydney. They confirmed the camera was fine and that there was 10gb left on the card but could not explain why it did not record, as I had not touched any editing buttons. Had to but a new 32gb card for this evenings family meeting, but all that with my old school friend who I will not be seeing again is lost.Not what I expected from a Sony product.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Loving my video camera

HDR-CX405 11 August 2018 by Vlassya (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am using my Handycam HDR-CX405 since December 2017 when I got it. I love how it works. It just does a great job. It takes very good video shots, and also very good photos. I'm happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great product

HDR-CX405 29 June 2018 by Monika12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this camera for Christmas. Using very often mainly home videos. Very happy so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Really easy to use

HDR-CX405 12 June 2018 by DaddyBear123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this last month to video our school's sporting fixtures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Be cautious with the reviews!

HDR-CX405 21 May 2018 by Kel1203 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel I have been cheated by the reviews - the sound is rubbish and some say it's brilliant! Such a lie. I used it to interview people and you have to max the TV/PC volume to hear it, the camcorder is generally ok and easy to use, but this is a massive let down. And you can't even attached a mic. If you want it for anything closeup, then this is a winner. I bought this because it can film for a longer period than my max of 30 minute canon camera, but if you 'pause' enough it will be fine - I wish I used my camera instead and certainly will do so in the future.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

1

0

Top class product

HDR-CX405 10 May 2018 by bern the bolt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is light to carry,easy to use and produces outstanding results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Just the right size!

HDR-CX405 01 May 2018 by lululu cannock (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this a couple of weeks but the weather has not been good so I have not used it. It looks good and seems simple to operate and easy to switch from video to photo= the easier the better for me. The size is just right to slip into you pocket or a small bag - ideal for holidays. Wish it had come with a case!

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

1

0

0

A little early to comment but.....

HDR-CX405 18 March 2018 by Roc the Curmudgeon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the camera a few weeks and so far it performs adequately compared to my old Sony Camera. I am concerned that it is so flimsy whilst it is very light weight will it stand up to everyday knocks that my old camera sustained without damage?

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cool light weight camcorder

HDR-CX405 10 February 2018 by Geoffnewblue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great little camera super light weight and easy to use. Auto settings with face detection is a pain so turned it off but the other features work well

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

HDR-CX405 25 January 2018 by MaryDC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is so easy to use and light in weight too.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb easy to use product

HDR-CX405 08 January 2018 by Mylakotachris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant, used it at Christmas and for a party afterwards, uploaded and set to disc with so much ease.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ease of use

HDR-CX405 25 December 2017 by Avalon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product to video my great granddaughter's growing progress

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

HDR-CX405 17 November 2017 by SallyAction (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for business use to film short video clips for our website and it is very easy to use, produces excellent quality video footage and is ultra light weight. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a good quality basic camcorder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Very stylish

HDR-CX405 20 September 2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This will replace a very old Sony camcorder that has seen better days and stopped working

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Handy size, easy to fit in pocket

HDR-CX405 19 July 2017 by Padetrois (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I which gave sterling service. bought this to relace a Sanyo Xacti which recently packed in. The Sony is very user friendly, the on screen menus are easy to navigate and understand. I've used it to make videos and stills of my grandchildren and so far I'm impressed. Don't know about battery life yet as there's always been loads for what I need. Transfer of data to my laptop couldn't be easier. Quality is escellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

great camera

HDR-CX405 03 May 2017 by POPSICKLE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I AM PLEASED I BOUGHT THIS CAMERA AND WILL ENJOY USING IT ON MY CRUISE

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value for money

HDR-CX405 27 March 2017 by Pacoll (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Much mo sophisticated than I had expected for the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Little Camera

HDR-CX405 26 February 2017 by shitwig (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have only had it a week so I'm still getting used to it. So far I' very impressed with the quality of the movies and the stills, and also the ease of operation. Having some problems downloading to the computer but that's down to me being not too computer literate. Time will tell but I think we are going to get along very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

SOFTWARE FAULT PLAY MEMORIES

HDR-CX405 08 February 2017 by willywinky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

NOT UP TO SONY STANDARDS NOT FIXING PLAYMEMORIES SOFTWARE PROBLEMS

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

8

1

0

Nice Camera

HDR-CX405 16 January 2017 by Bandit999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really pleased with the purchase of the camera, easy to use, very light as well... super quality results from this little camera, worth the money! the only downside is there is no external microphone jack, but of course you cant have everything..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Feels cheap and flimsy

HDR-CX405 04 December 2016 by Yorkshirevideos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a Sony DCR-SR52 that has given several years of excellent service. It had a metal body and was strongly constructed. Although the CX405 works well and gives good results, the body is plastic and feels cheap and flimsy. I doubt that it will last very long.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Light and compact

HDR-CX405 11 October 2016 by Mcrhegolfer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this camcorder has a wide range of facilities and is surprisingly easy to use. Small ,compact and easy to handle and carry

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Light weight and responsive

HDR-CX405 18 July 2016 by Valerie2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this beauty for a trip to Canadian Rockies and it certainly lived up to expectations. Easy and light to carry. Takes stills easily while filming. Good picture quality and easy to connect to PC.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A very handy handycam

HDR-CX405 29 June 2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy so far, but cannot find a method of changing the 'Highlight Movie' default tunes. My version of Playmemories does not seem to support this model. I am also a bit concerned that it is not very rugged and wonder if it will survive as long as my previous Sony camcorder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Handy travel cam

HDR-CX405 03 June 2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Records good quality images in a small unit. Images look a little soft, but are good for everyday use. Reasonable battery life, easy to use usb cable in the handle for charging and downloading. Not easy to transfer to computer, even with help from proprietary software from Sony which tends to hang on my iMac.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

4

0

Great

HDR-CX405 25 May 2016 by Stevenwithav (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good for use and for quality! Would definitely recommend Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Brilliant

HDR-CX405 13 May 2016 by PeterMB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first camcorder very light and easy to use

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A great little camera giving superb results

HDR-CX405 13 May 2016 by Station Master (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I looked at several Sony cameras but there were so many good reviews with this one that I decided this was the one for me. It is very light weight and could almost slip into your pocket. The picture quality in HD is fantastic equal to broadcast quality. A simple point and shoot camera once you have programmed it to your requirements. Excellent value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

9

0

Wonderful video camera

HDR-CX405 28 April 2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having bought this wonderful Handycam a month ago I was staggered that such a small, lightweight item could take such great, clear videos. For thirty years of using camcorders that download via leads I was impressed by the simplicity of the modern system. No heavy battery and no large moving storage unit. A really wonderful machine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

6

0

Review

HDR-CX405 17 April 2016 by tinyguitarman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife brought me this as part of my birthday present, being disabled I find it fairly easy to use, but downloading I find a bit difficult. Having said that my wife can-could help in that department as what you have to put the memory stick in I find very "fiddly" as a disabled man.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Handcam says it all

HDR-CX405 04 April 2016 by John127 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A typical Sony product, no problems using it. However, hiding the usb connector in the hand strap confused me when I first tried to charge the battery; it's a neat idea if only its location picture was a bit clearer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Easy to use CX405

HDR-CX405 18 March 2016 by AntKa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

.I bought this for a holiday we had planned and I am so pleased I did. It was so easy to use and after a few practices I soon found any problems were easy to solve. Light and compact it was great to handle and manoeuvre giving great results. I have never had such good footage of our grandchildren, all the family in fact, which, will be enjoyed by our grandchildren when they film their own family, hopefully. I use it every month to show how the children are growing and maturing. It's wonderful for us an excellent purchace.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Easy to use

HDR-CX405 15 March 2016 by Sam 3232 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item about a month ago, easy to set up and takes great videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

4

0

Features are excellent for home videos

HDR-CX405 08 March 2016 by Domny (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only bought item last week as present for my hubby. Item will get fully tested when on holiday.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

4

0

Good all round camera

HDR-CX405 06 March 2016 by Pritch 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only used a couple of times so far impressed by battery life on full charge find the charging method I.e the USB fly sad somewhat cumbersome however no other criticisms at this stage

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Great picture

HDR-CX405 07 February 2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this camcorder couple weeks ago and I am very happy with the pictures quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Small and neat

HDR-CX405 26 January 2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to take video on holiday so haven't tried it completely yet. Did a small sample, it played well on samsung smart tv, and edited video in imovie11. Not a lot of complicated menus and controls in fact a very basic camcorder. Should do for basic video and photos.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

small compact and easy to use

HDR-CX405 07 January 2016 by jackie183 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this as a Christmas present and cannot believe how light and easy to use it is. I have had a couple of much bigger video cameras and this one is so easy to carry around on a day out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

great handycam

HDR-CX405 04 January 2016 by bass24 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great little handycam easy to use and simple instruction to follow glad i got it

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

CX405 Awesome for home movies or when out.

HDR-CX405 05 December 2015 by DAVEL2449 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace my old sony handycam purchased over 10 years ago, just wanted a better zoom,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1