MRP

Rs. 102,990

(incl. of all taxes)
81

4.4 based on 81 customer reviews

46
27
5
2
1
Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A premium compact camera.

DSC-RX100M7 17 December 2019 by Birdofprey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Probably the best compact camera on the market today albeit at a premium price.As a fan of the RX100 series having owned mk1 and mk4 and now the 7,it amazes me how Sony manages to improve and add features at each iteration to keep us RX100 fans interested.I fine now I use my DSLR cameras less and less as the RX performs as well and I can have it with me all the time.The reason I upgraded to the 7 on this occasion was the increased focal length and excellent tracking and eye detection this model has which makes such a versatile camera.I'm not finding the lack of built-in ND filter on this model to be to much of a problem as I am learning to adjust camera settings to get round this.As seasoned photographers as myself say ''the best camera to have is the one you have with you'' and because the RX100 is so convenient in its compact size no excuse not have it with you at all times.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Autofocus doesn't work for selfies using timer

DSC-RX100M7 31 December 2019 by Laicey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 'unrivaled AF' doesn't apply to selfies taken using the timer function. When you walk to the camera to press the button on timer it'll focus on your hand not when it takes the picture. Continuous autofocus is of course disabled on timer and there seems no option to get the thing to focus when the picture is taken like if you just had someone press the button after 10 seconds. There are few remote shutter options for the M7 unless you want the complicated Sony one that is bigger than the camera. If you have someone pressing the button for you it's a good little camera with impressive autofucus. It guesses the scene wrong sometimes but that can be set in the options if it starts prefering the landscape to the model.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

81 Customer Reviews

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M7 22 March 2022 by Mster60 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few weeks ago. I’ve had this range before and decided to go up a grade to the Nikon Z range, after a year l swapped back to the compact Sony. I’m so glad I did, it’s light weight, it has the same lens as my Nikon but for me the fact that I can put this smart camera in my handbag is a winner, also it does everything l need and a lot more. I’ll so glad l return to the new version of my old favourite, that will teach me never to change again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GEOFF'S REVIEW

DSC-RX100M7 12 March 2022 by Chelsea Pensioner (United Kingdom)

I wanted a compact camera to use for ad hoc photographs on a daily basis. I don't always carry my mobile phone with me. The RX100 VII suited my purposes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Terrific little camera

DSC-RX100M7 04 February 2022 by Lark sailor (United Kingdom)

I bought this in December and have been very pleased with it. The picture quality is superb and it can be carried in my pocket rather than being loaded down with a bagful of kit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great travel camera

DSC-RX100M7 24 January 2022 by Jadecraig58 (United Kingdom)

It is early days: initial impressions are really good. I've upgraded from the Mark111 and really like the extended lens range. The quality of the images are good with a fast autofocus. I'm still wading through the instructions - this is not very user friendly not intuitive. As others have commented, the casing is 'slippy' so care needed at all times. Looking forward to more trips with this camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sony RX100 M7

DSC-RX100M7 21 January 2022 by Addicktedtored (United Kingdom)

I have now owned this for a year and love it. I take it everywhere even though I have an I-Phone 13

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Pocket Camera with Advanced Features

DSC-RX100M7 20 January 2022 by coulan_mk (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera during the Black Friday sale, plus a £100 cashback from Sony. This brought the price down to a competitive level. The camera has not disappointed me: very good focus and picture quality. I took it to a concert and got some excellent shots of the performers on stage from 100m.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-RX100M7 15 January 2022  (United Kingdom)

I got the camera as a present for christmas. It is easy to use. The pictures can be send to my smartphone via WLAN.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb quality

DSC-RX100M7 14 January 2022 by Brian7105 (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera a month ago because of its size and image quality. Definitely top quality images with a camera that easily slips into jacket pockets.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic compact camera!

DSC-RX100M7 08 January 2022 by Lynneth (United Kingdom)

I was previously using a DSLR camera, but the motherboard went. I mostly used it on auto settings and never really used it to it’s full potential, so I made the decision to purchase a compact camera. I did my research and this came out well. I’ve not yet been disappointed at all! The quality of the photos I have taken so far is amazing. And it’s so easy and intuitive to use. I would recommend buying a grip as it’s quite slippery otherwise. I agree with some that the buttons are close to one another, but I have small hands so this isn’t an issue and you do get used to them. I’m still learning about some settings, but once I do, this camera has so much scope. It also has a fantastic zoom! I would highly recommend this camera. You won’t be disappointed! (I’ve added photos so you can check out the quality!).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Almost as good as the RX10m4

DSC-RX100M7 12 December 2021 by Daninet (United Kingdom)

I use a lot my RX10M4, my wife uses the old yet still very good tiny Canon S120. The S120 can produce good pics, with it's F1.9 lens, but it is no match for the 1" sensor of the RX100 and it's superfast focus, the viewfinder etc. etc... So I replaced the S120 with RX100, and decided on the m7 version because of longer zoom and maybe better tracking, while still keeping a good Image quality. Since I am familiar with the RX10m4, it was is easy enough to set the menus to my liking. To my surprise, though the RX100 wrights significantly more than the S120, still it is very compact and fits into the S120 small belt pouch.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

All the camera I will ever need

DSC-RX100M7 11 December 2021 by DougieK (United Kingdom)

I received this camera for my 60TH birthday and it is all I hoped it would be. I don’t think I will ever need or use all its functions. All my cameras in the past have been better than the old ones they replaced and the step up was noticeable, and always pocket zooms. However, with this camera the improvement was huge, particularly indoor/ low light photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lovely compact camera

DSC-RX100M7 10 December 2021 by Simon25 (United Kingdom)

Having had previously the versions 3 & 5 this version 7 was a natural progression. So far I’ve been very pleased with this camera. The longer zoom is impressive in such a compact body, as well as the cameras specification! The detail in the photographs is very good and sharp! It makes me wonder why I used to lug SLR’s and lenses around. The RX100vii makes photography enjoyable again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent mini camera - image quailty outstanding

DSC-RX100M7 10 December 2021 by JoeDole (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a couple of weeks ago to replace my Lumix LX-100, with Sony's promise of a £100 refund in 30 days, it was almost cheaper than a replacementr LX-100. It drops easily into my coat pocket and is read to shoot instantly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Small but extremely capable

DSC-RX100M7 07 December 2021 by Countryman (United Kingdom)

I have only been using this camera for a couple of weeks and in that short time have found the camera to be a most versatile and capable camera. I am an experienced photographer and found that this little camera is the perfect one to take out when your larger system equipment just seems unnecessary. An ideal camera for those wishing to travel on light or on holiday and still be able to return with excellent images.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic speed of focus..

DSC-RX100M7 05 December 2021 by LesJ5794 (United Kingdom)

I have been buying these 1" sensor camera ever since they came out. I upgraded almost all of them. I was not sure whether I would see any benefit moving up to the VII but boy was I wrong. This is a wonderful tool that can be as simple or complicated for truly exceptional photo's

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic compact

DSC-RX100M7 20 October 2021 by The Swan Lady (United Kingdom)

This little compact does a fantastic job of most photography genres. I love the telephoto lens that in this model v 7 is up to 200m. It also has a digital viewfinder which is perfect when the sun makes looking at the lcd screen difficult. It has many automatic functions that help the inexperienced photographer but these can also be turned off when you just want to do things manually. Both the still image and video quality can be tuned to the users needs and multiple connectivity options allow you to upload your content easily, if required. A great compact for walks, travel, wildlife and landscape needs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Too Small

DSC-RX100M7 18 October 2021 by gt49 (United Kingdom)

When it first arrived I thought great, it will easily fit in my pocket though it is a bit heavy! However after a few months I find I can't really get on with it. There are too many buttons so for my fingers there is not enough room to properly distinguish between them so I'm for ever pressing the wrong button by accident or I have to look to cover the right button with my finger first. I then bought the hand grip GP-VPT2BT; this works OK but then you lose the convenience of carrying it in the pocket. I've given it to my wife, her hands are half the size of mine so she has no trouble operating it, I'll stick to my 7R. When you make something small you have to make it simpler to operate so there are fewer buttons to fit on the smaller space.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

6

0

Reasonable performace but expensive compact camera

DSC-RX100M7 14 October 2021 by Jonesthescience (United Kingdom)

Bought this a few months ago as a second camera for when I don’t want to take my DSLR. It’s easy to handle and I don’t feel that I need the extra handgrip but would have been nice to have it fitted. Battery life is poor and the menus almost impenetrable. Images get very noisy above ISO 1000 and is far more noticeable even at ISO 100 than my old Poweshot. AF is fast and very impressive but the lens doesn’t seem to make the most of AF lacking sharpness on distant objects. Out of camera JPEG are very good but you need post processing of RAW files to get the best out of the camera, esp noise reduction. The pop up evf is very useful in bright conditions and just about fully readable with glasses

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The camera I carry most often (besides my phone)

DSC-RX100M7 14 October 2021 by Erich S (United Kingdom)

I bought this two years ago, upgrading from the version iii which was getting wonky (rebooting itself). I choose to shoot raw, which means I can't use super-intelligent mode. If only there were a simple way to switch. The camera is not that great in the dark -- my phone seems better. Close-ups are also difficult: many are blurry. There is probably a way to prevent the shutter snapping if it is not in focus, but I have not found it. Anyway, it doesn't get very close. My waterproof camera (Olympus Tough TG-5) takes much better close-ups, as does my Pixel 5. The camera is very hard to hold in my big hand without inadvertently touching something active. I have turned on video many times by mistake. On scene mode, I often lose the scene I want (usually sports) because I lightly graze the control ring. Very annoying. The touch screen is a pain for similar reasons. The version upgrade (3 to 7) picked telephoto over wide aperture. I do like the telephoto. But the poor performance in the dark is a drawback. I have taken to carrying this camera on big trips rather than my Nikon D810 and its array of lenses, which are a big commitment in size and weight.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

This is a fabulous camera

DSC-RX100M7 13 October 2021 by Nadoligllawen (United Kingdom)

This is a fabulous everyday carry camera. I am a professional photograher and spend my days using full frame DSLRs with really heavy lenses. When I'm out and about this is my go to camera. I also use it to shoot B roll at weddings and events and it has performed perfectly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Splendid all round camera

DSC-RX100M7 13 October 2021 by fbphotos (United Kingdom)

A brilliant camera for wide angle subjects and 200 mm fir slightly longer subjects eg. farm animals plus good portraits very pleased

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost perfect travel companion

DSC-RX100M7 13 October 2021 by miwilli65 (United Kingdom)

I've had this camera since April 2020. It was a replacement/upgrade for my RX100 (Mk. 1). The Mk. 7 is a truly great little camera. The extra 'reach' of the lens over the Mk. 1 means that many shots that would have been difficult with the Mk. 1 can now be easily taken. It is worth taking time to set it up for your personal needs and preferences (there are plenty of articles on the internet which help this). The only grumble that I've got is that the lens is unsealed and after a year or so of use I can see dust particles inside the lens. This has so far not impacted on image quality, but is a cause for concern. I imagine that the 'zoom-action' must have some sort of a 'bellows' effect, drawing dust in.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

It is almost too small

DSC-RX100M7 13 October 2021 by roger2021 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a bit before lockdown for two purposes: trips abroad when I am traveling light, and photos of a grandchild, taking advantage of its autofocus capability. It is good as it is claimed to be for both of those purposes but lockdown put an end to travel, and I did not get to see the grandchild for over a year, so the camera was used much less than I expected. One feature I do not like is the way the viewfinder works. To hold a camera steady, I like to hold it firmly against my head (or glasses) but if you do that with this camera, it pushes the viewfinder in a little, so you cannot see through it properly. When the image looks blurred in the viewfinder, you have to hold it a bit further away from your face, and hence less firmly. As a result, I am less confident about holding this camera steady than I am about holding a more traditional camera with a rigid viewfinder. I also find I miss having more controls (I am spoiled by having a Sony A7R3). I have the dial round the lens set to adjust the exposure up or down as needed, which is very convenient, but ideally I would like it to be easier to adjust the aperture without changing the exposure. On the other hand, depth of field is so great, aperture is less of an issue than on a larger format camera. I would also like an easier way to move the focus point around the screen, so as a result, I leave it in Wide mode more than I would like. But despite these minor niggles, the camera does what it is designed to do extremely well and so long as you understand the inevitable limitations of such a tiny camera, I would certainly recommend it. I rarely use video so cannot comment on the sound quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fabulous small quality camera

DSC-RX100M7 13 October 2021 by MikeNorfolk (United Kingdom)

This is a truly amazing camera with a perfect range of 24-200 lens for 90%+ photographic situations. Image quality is most times indistinguishable from my mirrorless camera making it the perfect go anywhere or travel camera. The menu is complex but that means you can have lots of individual control or customisation if wanted. Results on auto are nearly always perfect straight out of the camera requiring little tweaking. Overall a pocket miracle that produces very high quality images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not fool proof

DSC-RX100M7 24 September 2021 by RX107 (United Kingdom)

I bought this for a family wedding, as I wanted a fool proof camera that would capture all the great moments without any effort. I wish I had experimented with it before. I read all the great reviews and sadly it just didn't hit the mark a lot of the time. I used the auto settings outside in daylight, but the focus was just a bit out on many shots. If I could go back I would use the S or A mode and set the ISO. Indoors the camera was really disappointing, results reminded me of my 110 film camera in the 1980's. Maybe once you get used to it, it's fine. I like the tiny size and it feels good quality, no plastic, but It's not £1200 worth.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M7 05 September 2021 by Barbara1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the camera but haven’t found out how to transfer photos onto my iPhone 6s yet. Instructions very poor

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Exceptionally valuable considering the small size

DSC-RX100M7 14 August 2021 by Joerg730 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For a long time I was looking for a pocketable camera to bring along bike rides and mountaineering trips. Used to the fotographic feeling of a SLR, I hesitated a long time to look into this size camera. But now, I am happy I made the step; the results are truly astonishing; the autofocus is simply marvelous. Nothing more to say; can recommend to everybody looking for a lightwight but capable camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Being aged 92 I takes me time to work out the vari

DSC-RX100M7 13 August 2021 by Web48d (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel there should be better instruction on how to Format the camera When I formatted the camera it did NOT delete the old pictures. Better instruction on the different uses of the various buttons could be useful

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Powerhouse in a small package

DSC-RX100M7 20 July 2021 by Gazmac10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The latest iteration of Sony’s wonderful RX100 the mark vii is the best yet. They have packed so much into such a small body it’s the perfect carry always camera from its burst mode with no blackout and continuous af to its 4k video. Highly recommended once again, well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic quality

DSC-RX100M7 06 July 2021 by drchrismk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although I have really only tried this camera on its auto settings, the results I am getting are exceptional.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Powerhouse!

DSC-RX100M7 22 June 2021 by cfg25 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from M3 for extra focal length plus the eye AF to help capture images of granddaughter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good allrounder

DSC-RX100M7 01 June 2021 by moonshot1969 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this camera to replace my aging RX100m1. The new camera for me is easy to navigate and set up for shots. So far I have had some success at getting amazing snaps. of course to get that snap I may have taken 6 photos. I find the OLED view finder to be an outstanding tool for taking the shot and then view the taken picture. The view finder can also be set up for your vision. Yesterday I had the opportunity to use the slow mo and shoot a Midges swarm over a small brook @ 250fps and its a keeper. I also got a good moon shot setting the focus to manual and the ISO to 100. I'm looking forward to testing other features of the camera when the opportunity arises. Also I have been using the RX100 for years now and do not struggle with its ergonomics. The camera is so easy and convenient to use by the way it sits in your pocket to the way the view finder and zoom just pop out and are ready to go.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Reliable and useful tool

DSC-RX100M7 26 May 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this product, use it a lot and has been reliable and very useful. I had the original RX100I so this has been a great upgrade with the new features such as 4k, clean HDMI and audio input.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent camera

DSC-RX100M7 16 May 2021 by Sunya (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Following extensive research I opted to buy this camera. Having used it on my daily hikes for two weeks, I’m really pleased with both the functionality and quality. My usual camera is a canon full frame but this little gem makes it so much easier when taking casual hikes and need to capture some shots. I like the fact that I have the option to shoot in RAW format. I would recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Small, fabulous images, great zoom

DSC-RX100M7 11 May 2021 by NorthreppsMike (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fits easily into a pocket but delivers outstanding quality images. The perfect camera for travel and everyday use with a great zoom and pretty good macro function. Image quality is very good allowing even more cropping opportunities. The auto function is reliable delivering great images easily. However you still have all the manual control ever needed for special projects or personal preference, if required you can even tweak the auto functions to suit your preferences. The menu is complex because of all the adjustments and controls but worth persevering to understand over time. Being a bit fiddly is fine by me because of the small truly pocketable size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features and handling.

DSC-RX100M7 01 May 2021 by Otty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unable to continue using larger and heavier camera due to arthritic hands, the Sony RX100VII is ideal. It is a very well featured camera and size and weight suit me very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A very good camera

DSC-RX100M7 25 April 2021 by Michael Vout (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This appears to be an excellent camera with the ability to be creative

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Defect !

DSC-RX100M7 19 April 2021 by WonkotheSane (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fine photos so far, but the shelflife of the batt is only about 2 days max, then it is discharged till zero. All memory-settings are erased and have to be renewed. So I had to return it and lost my rubber grip and my filter-ring which I fixed to the lens. What a pity about the final QC...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Sony RX 100 M7

DSC-RX100M7 12 April 2021 by David 262 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera, and typical of the build quality you would expect from Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A Superb Little Camera!

DSC-RX100M7 01 April 2021 by Chrissie28 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the RX100 III years ago on a reccomendation from a friend. Loved it , but always thought it could do with a better zoom. So when the VII came on the scene, I bought one! I'm still getting used to it but its a super camera. Image quality is great, viewfinder is a must for me and I'm getting the hang of the different functions (which I didn't bother with previously.) The touch function is great and something I didn't think I would use. It is pricey but I would say worth it. I have tried other compact cameras but the image quality lets them down. This one will go into a roomy coat pocket or I use a little bag that just goes over my shoulder without knowing it is there. I don't do video so can't comment on that but I understand that it's very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Almost Perfect Travel Camera

DSC-RX100M7 15 March 2021 by Ashokab (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the features of the Rx 100 VII. Worth the Price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-RX100M7 10 February 2021 by Riggman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this camera for its quality photo’s in a little pocketable package. I have an SLR and a little Sony WRX but the image quality on this model is excellent. I recommend a good tutorial book to explain all its features though to get the best out of it. My only reason for giving 4 stars is l have had problems with video judder in 4K and HD at 25p through Play Memories Home, l have yet to get to the bottom of it, it may be my PC/Monitor or a setting. The only one that works without visible judder is 50p.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

So nearly the perfect travel camera

DSC-RX100M7 20 January 2021 by ARIXY (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've owned a RX100 V for some time and absolutely loved the quality of the images and the options available however it always seemed the zoom range was a bit limited and the lack of a microphone input was a real pain when shooting video. The RX100 VII has almost become my ideal travel camera in that it has both a much longer zoom range and a microphone input but, for some reason Sony has decided to take out the neutral density filter! Presumably it wouldn't fit with the longer zoom lens but it's a real shame. Fitting filters on the front of the lens is possible but far from ideal and shooting video without the neutral density in bright sun results in nasty-looking high shutter speed results. Until I find my ideal travel camera this one comes very close.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Great image quality from a very small camera.

DSC-RX100M7 13 January 2021 by Daveo159 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been surprised how good the image quality is from the smaller sensor in the camera compared to my apps-c camera. The camera is small and light enough Ito be taken with me when I might leave my A77 at home. The lens is great, the auto focusing brilliant. The small size does work against it sometimes as I find it easy to knock the control ring and touch the screen making it focus when I don’t want it to and it is a complex camera with many options that a no jive user might find off putting. The GPS feature which I value works via your smart phone and I have found sometimes the camera and phone won’t reconnect without resetting the phone. This could be an issue with my phone of course (One plus 5) but it’s annoying. I wish Sony would go back to incorporating GPS in-camera as they did on my Sony A77.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

So much in a small package

DSC-RX100M7 09 January 2021 by Nick82g (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After using this camera for a month I am so pleased with the results im getting. I think it will take a bit more time to master all the great possibilities this camera offers .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb - big features in a small box

DSC-RX100M7 06 January 2021 by roydolan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a superb camera with many features found in a big DSLR is a small pocket sized camera. No need to carry a bag full of kit for most situations now and is so much smaller than the DSLR I would normally use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Broke after less than 6 weeks

DSC-RX100M7 21 December 2020 by DH123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera 6 weeks ago mainly for landscape and nature photography and action videography. Results were excellent for videos and not bad for photos but unfortunately the camera broke after 6 weeks which for a high end product is rather disappointing. I would have forgiven this if the repair experience with Sony was easy and hassle free but as it was anything but, it meant I have actually returned the camera for a refund and will not purchase a Sony product again. This may be an isolated incident but it was enough to put me off. I have spent MANY monies with canon over 20 years of photography purchases and never had any problems so will keep my business with them.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

Compact with big features

DSC-RX100M7 23 November 2020 by Smiler2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I am impressed. Disappointed that there doesn’t appear to be focus bracketing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Suits my photographic output - walkabout!

DSC-RX100M7 22 September 2020 by monkey snapper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An amazingly specified small portable camera that suits my walk-about photography. The array of menus and navigation within them is a trifle baffling but the picture quality and camera build and features are superb. It suits what I do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Very versatile camera.

DSC-RX100M7 23 August 2020 by misery guts (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned this camera for a week, there was a delay in its delivery and consequently it has very little use so far but it certainly a very capable tool. I am less than impressed by the overall package however; there is noo proper grip provided, it has to be bought separately, the flimsy carrying envelope which was packed with it is a waste of space and I think a decent set of instructions should be proveded; asking the purchaser of this expensive camera to print 630 odd pages smacks of penny pinching. The charging cable is woefully short. For just another few pounds all thes miserly omissions could have been supplied, making the purchase a joy rather than leaving this customer feeling somewhat ripped off. Anyway, the camera itself is a delight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

3

0

Ideal travel/pocket camera that packs a punch

DSC-RX100M7 19 August 2020 by WacWac (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The vii is a very capable camera whether you are a beginner wanting point and shoot or more advanced control through the various functions on offer. Picture quality is good and has exceptional auto focus capabilities. I’ve previously had SLRs (old school) and super zoom bridge cameras all of which require large carrying cases and for the SLR extra lenses. This camera is compact and fits in the pocket and is capable of macro pictures, wide angle and 8x optical zoom - did I mention it fits in your pocket! The digital zoom pictures are also very acceptable. I originally upgraded from a bridge camera to the rx100 v and was very impressed with the picture quality and versatility of that model. Having the camera for 2 years I always yearned for a better zoom capability. Finally I took the plunge and upgraded to the vii for the 8x optical zoom but had to compromise on the lens speed. This isn’t too much of an issue as the iso range of the camera helps compensate for the slower lens. The auto focus performance and touch screen were both additional benefits in the vii. I’ve had the camera for over a month and torn between the two (v and vii). I’ve taken similar images with the vii and and in certain circumstances the v took better images due to the faster lens; I take a lot of night shots. I’d definitely recommend both, especially if you are upgrading from a smaller image sensor, but bear in mind what you want to takes pictures of. Overall the zoom lens, improved auto focus and touch screen make the vii the all round, versatile compact camera. Note: Attached pictures have been compressed to fit the 5mb limit. Should provide a great view though of the quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

21

6

0

FANTASTIC CAMERA BUT.....

DSC-RX100M7 18 August 2020 by BrianAAA (United Kingdom)

I bought the original RX100 a few years ago.... Great stills but so so video. The Mk7 soots truly fantastic stills and amazingly high quality video....... immensely impressed and nought the bluetooth shooting grip as well. Very happy indeed until....... After 2.5 of taking great photos and video I turned it on and....... Nothing. Completely dead........ investigated possible solutions online to no avail. I bought from John Lewis in the UK and communication with them about repair of replacement has been appalling..... Very disappointed with John Lewis and disappointing to be without a camera that was truly superb....... I will keep trying to get through to John Lewis or will put on a mask and take it to their nearest store Despite the camera dying on me I think I just got a strange problem and would still highly recommend it...... but not from the store I purchased from....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Dropped 3 x times

DSC-RX100M7 12 August 2020 by adamfromayr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sent it back as o kept dropping it, its very slippy and small! If you can handle it! its a brilliant small camera but its too small and slippery for my needs

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

12

0

Everything you need in a small package

DSC-RX100M7 09 July 2020 by Mane1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a week ago so it's early days. I decided that owning a lot of expensive heavy gear that stayed at home most of the time was pointless, whereas this camera can be always with me, so I never need to miss a shot. It packs a terrific lot of technology into a small package, but at a cost. Nevertheless it's still cheaper than buying a body and zoom lenses. Early experience is that the Af works great and the camera features are really useful, once you have learned how to navigate the menu. Image results have been good so far and I got some great shots that I might have otherwise missed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

2

0

Just amazing!

DSC-RX100M7 27 June 2020 by BastonZ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small, beautiful, featureful, AF like nothing else! A delight to hold in the pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Very Good Compact Camera

DSC-RX100M7 17 June 2020 by Brads1980 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this product for travel and to replace my ageing Sony A77 so that i wouldn't have the burden to haul multiple lenses around. The RX100M7 is extremely well built, and features comprehensive and extensive. The focus is extremely fast and never misses, the colours are brilliant and i get tack sharp images time and time again. My only complaint is for the money that this costs Sony didn't include a manual in the box. I know i can view it online, but its nice to have a paper copy, also flicking through an online manual is time consuming and lengthy process.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

2

0

Small, Light, with great Capabilities

DSC-RX100M7 17 June 2020 by GilliB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received this from my husband for my birthday. I knew I wouldn’t carry heavy lenses and bags around, so it had to be the size of a point & shoot, with capability to grow with my own. This product came highly recommended by experienced photographers

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

The best compact camera

Body Only 19 May 2020 by Priyanka Tiwari (India)

Check out my YouTube channel for the stunning video quality, it's in the name of priyanka tiwari.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact quality

DSC-RX100M7 15 April 2020 by Notpiks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this for my birthday because I take photos for a walking group. Unfortunately because of lock down I have not been out as usual but I am trying to get used to the cameras myriad of features. The build quality is amazing. I did want a small camera “all in one” which it is but the small size takes getting used to after big cameras. Just what I need for climbing styles and muddy fields! Still great quality photos

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

4

0

Great camera and video device for travelling

DSC-RX100M7 04 April 2020 by Stephent122 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an upgrade to the WX500. I wanted a camera I could take on holiday which allowed me to take great pictures and video. This will do that. However, the Covid-19 outbreak is keeping me at home and I haven't yet had a chance to go through all it's features. I love the quick autofocus and the optical zoom. The new microphone jack means I can record good audio without as much win noise through an external microphone. I have recorded a short video as part of teaching amateur radio and it worked well. The big downside is price. It really is a lot a money. I am hoping to have it for years but technology does move quickly so I wonder if it is value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Fab Features and Pics

DSC-RX100M7 31 March 2020 by Oxford Cherry (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I researched long and hard before buying the Mark 7. I was look in g for a DSLR quality camera without the need to carry round loads of lenses when on holiday. The Mark 7 is very good at most things I was looking for, ease of use, battery life, sharp images and compact. 4K video is great, the hinged view panel is really good, shame it’s not ‘touch pad’. Some say it’s small size makes it difficult to hold; I don’t have any issues with this but have recently bought the Sony handle and small tripod. Although this is £100ish it’s well worth it and makes use even better. Great camera, I love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

Quality product,great pictures/video

DSC-RX100M7 30 March 2020 by IP11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only negative is the 5 minute limit on 4K video recording,everything else is great for such a small camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

8

0

Great Autofocus and Powerful for the size

DSC-RX100M7 18 March 2020 by Birchy2000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this camera for it’s compact size, great features and its 1” sensor. I intend to put it in a waterproof housing for scuba diving. So far I’m really happy with it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Great all rounder Semi Pro Camera

DSC-RX100M7 25 February 2020 by Stew the brew (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great all rounder Semi Pro Camera that fits in your Pocket, I have had The RX100 V, VI and now the VII, Although not a dedicated Sony user, this is one camera I keep coming back to, It has Great Pro Features all I a handy small Camera. Great for days out or trips when you don't want to take one of your Larger DSLR's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Poor build quality and long delay in repairing

DSC-RX100M7 18 February 2020 by swingman (United Kingdom)

I bought this as Christmas present for me and used it on the Christmas day and for a wee after it. Only taken about 100 photos and 5 video clips. hoto quality was bet below par but it's early days and hope it would improve with usage. The main problem was that the camera wouldn't engage to computer to download using WiFi. After spend few days by changing setting and trouble shooting secession with 'customer services' it was decided that it needs to be sent for repair. I was told after few days that it would take longer to repair implying serious fault. I then asked for a new replacement as the unit was not fit for purpose and only a month old. I was told that they can't do that. After paying a premium price for the compact camera, now I have to wait don't know until when to get my camera back. At this price point I would expect top quality fully working camera out of the box. On paper this is one of the top cameras in this segment but reading at various computer forums, many had quality control issues. A camera is only good if one can use it.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

7

4

0

Great little Camera for travel

DSC-RX100M7 15 February 2020 by Foto Jock (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for use on a Travel Holiday and I am not disappointed with its features, so much in a small (almost) pocket sized camera. Only gripe is the raw files are Sony's own, I don't think I would have purchased had I known. Capture One Software not very user friendly in my opinion and would be better to have had a generic raw file in my view in which case it would get 5 stars so a little dissapointed as post processing will not be as simple as I had hoped.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Works well

DSC-RX100M7 14 February 2020 by bobr666 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been using a Sony Alpha 7s as my main camera for work (I do a lot of reports as a technology journalist). I love that camera especially with the 24/240 lens, but got fed up with the weight around my neck for days at a time. I also found the focus was a bit slow, so I often found on processing that close ups were out of focus, which was frustrating. Changed to the RX100 VII to reduce weight and improve focus. So far, I have only used it for two events - the weight is much better and with a 'sling' strap, the ergonomics are much better. Quality is not quite as good as the Alpha, but shooting Raw and with DXO for processing, it's good enough and not far off the Alpha 7. After the first event, I still had some focus failures, but fewer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic camera

DSC-RX100M7 11 February 2020 by jt 100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very impressed with this camera, all the settings fantastic and microphone socket an added bonus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact

DSC-RX100M7 05 February 2020 by Kip75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s a good camera but the WiFi transfer of photos to phone is terrible and needs much improvement

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great pocket-able camera with quality results

DSC-RX100M7 30 January 2020 by brucool (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the camera less than 3 weeks. Great design features built into such a small space, but needs to be easier to adjust the multitude of settings needed to get the best out of the camera. Reviews of previous models made the same complaint! Body needs improving so one can hold it more safely - Sony stick-on grip - on a £1200 camera - No!!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

amazing

DSC-RX100M7 26 January 2020 by 3manxlegs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This compact camera has all the functions a serious photographer needs . Yes the controls are small for big fingers but the menu is extensive . Is an A7 in miniature , the lens is good and sharp with a zoom to 200 mm . An attachment from lensmate in USA for a lens cap and filter which Sony might have included as many photographers like using filters.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0