FE 85mm F1.8

Product Reviews

MRP

Rs. 55,990

(incl. of all taxes)
52

4.8 based on 52 customer reviews

43
9
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

52 Customer Reviews

0

Sony 85mm f1.8

SEL85F18 22 October 2020 by Dev JETHWA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great image Quality super sharp Portraits very light weight absolutely loving this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good landscape lens

SEL85F18 04 September 2020 by CaptainK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you are looking for a good portrait or landscape lens, then this could be an obvious choice

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant portrait lens!

SEL85F18 12 August 2020 by James NS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant portrait lens Brilliant portrait lens Brilliant portrait lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Blown away

SEL85F18 25 July 2020 by Cinema Donut (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a couple of weeks ago, and it just keeps blowing me away. I did a photo shoot recently and also did some interiors, and oh boy I have never been more hyped about doing photos than now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredible Lens

SEL85F18 SYX 02 June 2020 by We V (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am in love with this lens. It's been a year since I started using this lens and I have no issues with the lens. Still so fast and the focus thats beautifully sharp. Sony A7iii with this lens make a solid combo. I would definitely recommend it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Feature

SEL85F18 SYX 28 May 2020 by Ram28 (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just Awasome Lens ...Amazing Vision Quality .. I am vary happy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp

SEL85F18 24 May 2020 by Grumpy 007 (United Kingdom)

This lens is sharp and focus is fast and spot on the DOF is out of this world. a really good lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good lens for portrait shooting

SEL85F18 SYX 20 May 2020 by Phani2495 (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

The lens is awesome actually. After a month of usage, i realised i got the right lens. The only issue is service. Once i had a fungus issue with this lens, gave it to the sony authorised service centre. Got it back after 2 months. It was very slow service. Otherwise this is an awesome lens in performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for enthusiasts

SEL85F18 SYX 17 May 2020 by lakshay agarwal (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything is just amazing about this lens. The AF speed, Beautiful creamy bokeh and natural colors. One thing I have noticed that the eye af is not that sharp as it should be or I guess that's the gmaster lens are for. As an intermediate I am very satisfied with this product

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works superbly

SEL85F18 27 February 2020 by Maurrro (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love using this lens at wide open fabulous feel and superb quality at an excellent price

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent portrait lens

SEL85F18 09 February 2020 by PFL01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent portrait lens for reasonable cost. Very sharp images and good bokeh

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First play!

SEL85F18 15 January 2020 by Doubled58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this late Nov as Christmas present to myself. Thank you Santa! So far it is providing very sharp photos covering varying subjects. Might end up being my fav lens which I now have 3 off.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

light weight

SEL85F18 15 January 2020  (United Kingdom)

purchased for portrait photos and am happy with the results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Super sharp, super fast.

SEL85F18 19 December 2019 by Dotingdad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens and excellent value for the money. I’ve used a lot of portrait lenses over the years and this is one of the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Razor sharp

SEL85F18 30 September 2019 by Geotzen (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens after reading various reviews for 85mm category. Did not want to spend a fortune so this lens had the best price/quality ratio for my budget. I'm extremely pleased with image quality. Also AF, build quality, and overall feeling are great. Highly recommend!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Amazing light weight lens.

SEL85F18 14 September 2019 by Dommy the tommy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had several fast lenses in my time but this lens is a true winner IMHO. Sharp everywhere, super fast focus and light enough to hold and use all day long. My results are astounding and beyond expectations. We'll done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Perfect balance & sharp images

SEL85F18 31 August 2019 by Pauls Studio (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having bought the A7R3 with the kit lense 24-105 F4 I wanted a prime with a wider apreture and this F1.4 is such good vaule and had excellant reviews. it balances nicely with the camera and is super sharp and bright

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

A perfect portrait lens

SEL85F18 17 July 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A truly excellent lens for the price, cannot find any negatives with image or build quality, even shooting wide open at f1.8.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great affordable prime

SEL85F18 28 June 2019 by G4RKO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with lens........ ..... .........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Excellent Portrait lens

SEL85F18 24 June 2019 by helendee1408 (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens with super results. Very pleased with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens

SEL85F18 08 June 2019 by Ty _dnb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this Lens a month ago when and I’m not dissatisfied. It’s incredibly sharp and works amazing with the eye af system

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great image quality

SEL85F18 07 June 2019 by PFJ59 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Moved to Sony from Nikon I was worried about image quality but blown away by the excellent images from this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens!

SEL85F18 03 June 2019 by RichC58 (United Kingdom)

Superb lens! Very sharp from 1.8 to 8. 1.8 has a very scary narrow depth of field naturally. I usually use it a couple of stops down. Bokeh is great, if thats what you crave. For the size its light and easy to carry. I find it very useful for isolating subjects at 5.6 and above. Little bit pricey for what it is, but far better value than the 1.4 with equal quality. Who needs 1.4 and for that matter, who needs 1.8, 2.8 would have been fine! Great lens! If portraits are your thing, buy it!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best portrait lens!

SEL85F18 21 May 2019 by MayaMo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality is absolutely amazing! This is the best lens for portrait photography!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing clarity

SEL85F18 12 May 2019 by Cameraman999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had been using the 24-240 lens and enjoyed it but the 85 f1.8 is much lighter and so sharp with no colour aberration that I have experienced as yet. It is possibly not for vedeographers because the lens 'breathes' as it checks focus - but I bought it for still shots and it's excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super Sharp

SEL85F18 04 May 2019 by Ben Jones (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens 3months ago after playing with it at the photography show and what can i say? The lens hasn't left my camera since buying it. it is incredibly sharp and the auto-focus is on point, even in low light situations. I couldn't be happier! Pros: Super sharp even wide open. a nice size on the a7iii focus hold button (i've assigned this to eye auto focus) build is great Cons: None really! minor issue is in the design of the focus hold button, I would like to see it on the lens twice so when using the camera in a vertical position you can still use your thumb. overall: excellent value for money for a fast super sharp prime lens. Well done Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good quality lens that delivers.

SEL85F18 07 April 2019 by Doclis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the lense for photographing artwork, allowing myself to get behind the two soft boxes when shooting smaller pieces. I'm delighted with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp

SEL85F18 01 April 2019 by Redrsr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

To get the best out of the A7Riii sensor I decided on primes, this one is a cracker, super sharp, lovely bokeh, fast focusing, nothing to fault, looking at the f1.4 it’s a bit of a bargain

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens. Great price.

SEL85F18 31 March 2019 by Mpayne99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve been using this lens for 4 months. It’s great in the studio and out in the field. Super sharp. Lightweight and lovely and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It’s so sharp and fast.

SEL85F18 24 March 2019 by Gigshots Peter (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wasn’t sure whether to get the 1.4 or the 1.8 but glad I saved the money. So far it’s doing an excellent job at low light music gigs for stills and video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL85F18 11 March 2019 by Trubshot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is light, super sharp, lovely bokeh and on my A7iii 75% of the time, with a fe 35mm f2.8 in the pocket. Switch between full frame and apsc (super 35) and I'm covering 35, 52.5, 85 and 127.5mm with 2 primes. Ideal travel set up with great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very sharp,

SEL85F18 22 February 2019 by Trubs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this 5 weeks ago, and its on my A7iii 90% of the time. Its light, f1.8 , very sharp and worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic value for money

SEL85F18 16 February 2019 by RichardFoxPhotography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens as a replacement for my old canon 135mm to use natively on my a7r3. I wanted a sharp portrait lens with great bokeh but the 85mm GM was out of my price bracket. AF is very snappy, it's very sharp with low CA and great bokeh for a 3 figure lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lens!

SEL85F18 16 February 2019 by Costasa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is a much have in any photographers bag, amazing value for what you get. Beautiful rendering, nice bokeh, the picture quality is not far from the gm equivalent and very similar to the batis version, comparing the differences in terms of performance and the price is a no brainier, this is the lens to go.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just awesome

SEL85F18 16 February 2019 by Dre2020 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this lens a while ago and have put it through its paces. I have to say it’s brilliant I wanted to get the GM f1.4 but for now this beautiful lens is doing the job.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sony FE 85mm 1.8

SEL85F18 03 September 2018 by Del1970 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since this is the first lens i have purchased since the purchase of my A7r 111 this lens has been tested in depth over the last few weeks. The build quality is solid and feels like a very good quality lens, having come from Canon where i only used L lens this lens has the same feel although it is not weather sealed. So far i have had good results with this lens from portrait to Landscape. I bought this from an online retailer and paid what i concider a reasonible price for the product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sharp !

SEL85F18 27 August 2018 by Crerand (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and am extremely pleased with the results. Minimal weight, great sharpness, colour and contrast.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love it

SEL85F18 03 July 2018 by dougalrose (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have used it for two photoshoots - a school show and a for dance academy. So far I absolutely love it. Lovely pinpoint accurate focusing and depth of field. This is quickly becoming my go to lense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Absolutely fantastic!

SEL85F18 22 June 2018 by Marcus51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am an amateur photographer and I was looking for a good portrait lens that was also compact enough to suit the A7iii camera body as well as being reasonably priced. I can only say that my expectations have been hugely exceeded, this lens is fantastic, it is super sharp, fast focusing especially with Eye AF, has terrific bokeh and is a perfect size and weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing

SEL85F18 21 June 2018 by Trumpeter01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful Bokeh. Amazing sharp pictures. Very happy I decided to go for this lens..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great, multi use lens.

SEL85F18 08 May 2018 by PCPhil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perfect for family portraits but also a great mid tele for landscapes. Bokah is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Much better results than zoom lens.

SEL85F18 17 April 2018 by TomKtoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although really happy with the 24-70mm Sony zoom I wanted more optical isolation of my subject matter from the backgrounds and it really delivered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

As sharp as the Zeiss 55mm f1.8

SEL85F18 23 March 2018 by Jim64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant. Get one. Lens hood is cheap tat but the lens is way better than the asking price. Good enough for pro work all day long.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sharp as a tack

SEL85F18 26 February 2018 by Taid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the perfect portrait lens. No need for the faster and more expensive version.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Don't be fooled- this is not a consumer grade lens

SEL85F18 05 December 2017 by Vision of You (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

for the past 30 years or so I have shot using Canon L glass- I am indeed a lens snob. I purchased the Sony A7rii and have been using my own glass via an adaptor but thought I needed to try a native lens. I have to admit that I was very reluctant to get a 'cheap consumer' grade lens but the write ups assured me that this was a good lens.. I have used the G Master version of this lens and was not impressed, the focus was slow and the lens itself is heavy. This 'cheap' lens is fast and accurate to focus. The images are sharp, in images of very high contrast you may see some colour fringing (although to be honest you would see this with most lens!), lightroom removes this quickly and efficiently. For the cost point this lens is definitely worth the investment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

What a lens!!

SEL85F18 11 November 2017 by gwtog (United Kingdom)

When you see a lens at this price point, with others very similar in features but more than double the price, you assume it will be low quality. You couldn't be further from the truth! The FE 85mm f1.8 is pin sharp, focuses fast and gives you an almost butter smooth background. This will stay on my body for a long time as my new "go to" portrait lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

1

0

FE 85mm F1.8 - WOW

SEL85F18 25 August 2017 by rodriguesn84 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

85mm F1.8 compared to FE 85mm F1.4 you're not gonna find much difference, but a little. The lens is well built and it's got a little bit of weight to it, which I really love. The images that you can get from this lens is just so great, if you shoot in Manual like I do you're gonna love the results. If you're a serious photographer and you don't have one of this bad boys in your bag, you've gotta get one. The FE 85mm F1.8 is much cheaper than the FE 85mm F1.4 They both perform great, so if you've got deep pockets get the FE 85mm F1.4 If not, go for the FE 85mm F1.8 and you WON'T regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

4

0

Solid performer

SEL85F18 30 July 2017 by Cast a giant shadow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens about a month ago and I'm delighted. Sharp, great quality and a great depth of field range. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Good feel features, magnificent on camera

SEL85F18 05 May 2017 by ideas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens 3 weeks ago purposely to get richer shots on baptism event Was greatly impressed. My clients comment says it all- Lovely pictures. Sharp bold and isolated background superb, quick auto focus.The lens balance well on my A7s. Journalists must have this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Compact fast lens with a cutting edge

SEL85F18 06 April 2017 by Jackie S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ergonomic design coupled with a fast F/1.8 aperture that focuses swiftly and provides pleasing images.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Excellent portrait lens for the A7 and A7ii

SEL85F18 05 April 2017 by Pauld77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens in preference to the 90mm f2.8 Macro, the 85mm f1.4 and the 85 mm Zeiss Batis because it represents the best value for money for what I shoot. It is sharp, autofocuses quickly and it sits well on the small A7 bodies.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

0

0

Almost identical to the Zeiss Batis 85mm F1.8!

SEL85F18 01 April 2017 by Carlj (United Kingdom)

I tend to focus on portrait shooting, so when I moved to full frame with the A7ii, I needed a fast, prime 85mm and Sony had just released this. Of the 3 main lenses at this focal length for the Sony, the others being the Batis and F1.4GM, this qualifies as the cheapest. It certainly doesn't earn the title of cheap and cheerful. Wide open, eye af nailing focus, there's a nice fall off into clean bokeh. Where the focus is, the detail is amazing. Certainly better than a lens at this level is expected to perform. In conclusion, I understand now why the Artisans raved about it - so glad I got mine prior to general release.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

0