FE 85 mm F1.4 GM

Product Reviews

MRP

Rs. 132,990

(incl. of all taxes)
16

4.8 based on 16 customer reviews

13
3
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

16 Customer Reviews

0

Great features!

SEL85F14GM 08 February 2020 by Kjennifer (United Kingdom)

Bought this because I love portraiture and it is a great lens, not as good as I hoped for low light but I’m still getting used to it and the photos are coming out looking very professional.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Lens great - not happy with Sony

SEL85F14GM 14 September 2019 by Dave951753 (United Kingdom)

I'm happy with this lens - expensive - but good. Cash back is a problem. You have to wait 30 days (hoping we forget maybe?) Then type in serial number and photography serial number etc. They seem to look for any tiny reason not to pay out cashback. Bit shabby since we pay a lot to become Sony customers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

8

0

FE85mm F/1.4

SEL85F14GM 12 March 2019 by Fletcher8 (United Kingdom)

The Sony FE85mm F/1.4 is a stunning lens and is capable of producing some stunning images in relation to portraits. I love the rendering of this lens and how it feels. I hope Sony provide an update firmware to improve the speed of this lens and its low light performance. To be fair though most 85 lenses are not speed demons, but I am sure Sony could improve this lens with a future firmware update.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Fantastic Lens

SEL85F14GM 06 February 2019 by shotbyIV (United Kingdom)

After switching from Canon to Sony and using my old Canon 85 1.2L this lens along with my Sony a7iii focusing much better and is tack sharp! Very sharp and wide aperture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Creamy Bokeh and very sharp

SEL85F14GM 14 October 2018 by purephotoni (United Kingdom)

Having recently moved from Nikon to Sony I needed to purchase a new 85mm lens. As a wedding photographer the 85mm range is an important one for me and most of the portraits of our couples are taken using this focal length. I first purchased the Sony FE85MM f/1.8 which is also a strong performer with very quick autofocus and is razor sharp but I missed the better bokeh that I was able to get when using my previous 85mmm f/1.4. After looking in store I decided on 85mm GM Lens after comparing it to another third party lens. This lens was a little more compact than the third party option and also has the focus hold button which I really like as it I assign eye a.f to this button. Since purchase we have photographed a few weddings and engagement sessions with this lens and I have been extremely happy with the performance. It renders out of focus areas beautifully and is very sharp. The autofocus speed isn't as quick as the f/1.8 Sony but that would be the case with most 85mm lenses. For me this is the best 85mm lens available for e-mount. It's an expensive lens but well worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

85 1.4 gm

SEL85F14GM 28 September 2018 by Unalom (United Kingdom)

It's not cheap but optical preformance is out of this world.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

One the best portraits lens in the game!

SEL85F14GM 13 August 2018 by AJMCRPhoto (United Kingdom)

One the best portraits lens in the game! Game changer and faster than other brands at focussing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

All I hoped for.

SEL85F14GM 09 July 2018 by Sussexandy (United Kingdom)

After much deliberation I part exchanged all of my APS-C equipment and bought an A7-3 and this lens. The lens is magnificent, it is heavy but re-assuringly so, the quality of the images are all that I hoped for. I take many pictures in low light (dawn and dusk) and prefer to avoid external light sources, absolutely no problem for this lens. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sharpest and Colourful 85 on the market!

SEL85F14GM 20 April 2018 by GMAN2018 (United Kingdom)

Absolutely LOVE this lens! Skins tones and colour pop is second to none - truly beautiful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very nice focal length

SEL85F14GM 05 March 2018 by BikeVisionScotland (United Kingdom)

Great focal length for head to full portrait. The f1.4 aperture draws my subject out from the diffused background.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Sony 85mm G Master

SEL85F14GM 10 June 2017 by FearNoMortal (United Kingdom)

Awesome bit of glass. 85mm fixed focal length may not suit all however this is a wonderful lens...... bokehlicious with the 1.4 aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Best Portatrait Lens

SEL85F14GM 05 May 2017  (United Kingdom)

Beautiful lens, very sharp and lovely bokeh. Just an annoying autofocus noise

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

4

0

First class lens.

SEL85F14GM 30 November 2016 by Anhow (United Kingdom)

The best lens I've had in 60 years of photography, very pleased with all aspects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

1

0

very sharp lens but with few shortcomings

SEL85F14GM 25 October 2016 by OlivierLondon (United Kingdom)

I am very impressed with the level of details I get from this lens and I am glad with my purchase. However it is a bulky object that defeats the purpose of my 7RII. Also it is let down by a rather slow autofocus. I thought it would be on par with the best in the business at this price but clearly it can't compete with the likes of Canon or Nikon lenses. I understand it has got a lot of glass to move but stil...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

25

0

Superb glass

SEL85F14GM 25 September 2016 by Aquila1 (United Kingdom)

Stunning Bokeh and pin sharp. Absolute best portarait lens out there.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

probably the best 85 available

SEL85F14GM 29 April 2016 by BAzzFreeman (United Kingdom)

This is probably the best portrait 85mm available right now. The resolving ower is designed far past what todays sensors are capable of which should give it a long useful life. It's a little expensive bu the cost of ownership should even out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

46

35