MRP

Rs. 230,490

(incl. of all taxes)
44

4.9 based on 44 customer reviews

41
2
0
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

44 Customer Reviews

0

Great Lens

SEL70200GM 31 October 2021 by idjbell (United Kingdom)

I've had my lens for nearly 3 years now and its perfect for my needs. I shoot sports but also use it for odd potrait. I find it feels well balanced on the alpha series of cameras and I can't think of a time I've had to use the tripod collar. I love that its internal zoom. It also has a useful array of buttons on the lens- ones for telling it what zoom range it should use and also a couple of buttons you can allocate functions to using the menu on your camera. Always found it to be sharp. I hear theres a new version on the way but can't say I'm in a rush to do an exchange.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best 70-200

SEL70200GM 14 October 2021 by Tuder (United Kingdom)

This lens is the best 70-200 I have 'EVER' owned and believe me I've tried them all over the years Canon, Nikon, Sigma. Pin sharp, a joy to focus, fast enough, small, light and tough.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply the best

SEL70200GM 13 October 2021 by VisionOfYou (United Kingdom)

this lens is very rarely off my camera and is my go to lens. In fact it is also my walk around lens, the ability to swop from portrait to landscape within this focal range is of primary importance to me and this lens delivers it all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

what a lens

SEL70200GM 13 October 2021 by CJ Blues (United Kingdom)

Love using this lens on my a7r4. Also purchased the 2 x teleconverter. Great images all round

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

fast, sharp, great bokeh

SEL70200GM 13 October 2021 by MSaunders (United Kingdom)

Fast, sharp, great bokeh. A little heavy but you must expect that for a lens such as this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing lens

SEL70200GM 01 October 2021 by MeerkoT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens in July of this year but due to Covid and shipping I had to wait almost two months for it, but it was worth it! It is a bit heavy lens but quality of that lens and also of photos is great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sharp, fast focus.

SEL70200GM 28 September 2021 by alancru (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a concert photographer so work in low light, this lens is sharp and has fast focus, i have the lens coupled to a Sony A9 mk1

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

new lens 70-200

SEL70200GM 23 September 2021 by locoboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

far too heavy for me. still in the box at the present

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL70200GM 01 September 2021 by GordonT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the lens about a month ago and very pleased. Images are excellent as expected from the Sony GM range. The focusing motor is not as quiet as the 100-400 and 200-600, and you can hear and feel it move but works fine. One feature l find different to the other 2 zooms mentioned is that the MF ring is still active even if the lens is in AF, as if its in DMF but doesn't zoom in or activate the focus peaking, still haven't decided if this is a good feature or not as if you knock the MF ring after it has focussed can put if out of focus, but it maybe useful at times. Overall very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Lens

SEL70200GM 04 July 2021 by Rostay (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens along with the A9 back in 2019. Heavy but has the focal range I was looking for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL70200GM 05 May 2021  (United Kingdom)

I use this lens for many years. This is the lens with best bokeh. Fast and accurate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

outclass

SEL70200GM 25 January 2021 by abide (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

very good sharp sense so happy, shooting with A7r4 like wow

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Amazing lent

SEL70200GM 23 January 2021 by Charly86 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lent las years in October and I love it every time that I use the tools downside is the weight to heavy:(

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

A beast

SEL70200GM/QSYX 15 October 2020 by Navman (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens unbelievably great when it comes to Phots and Videos. The construction and build quality is robust. It perfectly fits my hand when doing a handheld shoots. Being a Travel junkie, I highly recommend for streets and headshots instead of prime lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Wow, what a lens

SEL70200GM 23 September 2020 by Rabb54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens a couple of months back as I had been using my Canon 70-200 f.2.8 on an MC-11 converter since moving across from Canon. Wow, what a lens. Absolutely a must have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sharp as a tack and simply stunning on my A7r4

SEL70200GM 22 August 2020 by ChrisLPhoto (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to complement my FE200-600G for shooting wildlife. It's very early days with it but I'm simply blown away by how sharp it is on my A7r4. Focus is quick and it really does resolve well with 61MP. I've yet to try this with my A9 but I expect big things based on what I've seen so far. Yes, it's expensive but you get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Outstanding performing pro lens.

SEL70200GM 05 February 2020 by Impact_Images (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have just swapped from Canon (which I have been using since 2000) to the Sony Alpha system. The FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS, is an exceptional lens, which produces pin sharp images in all lighting conditions and when coupled with the new Sony a9ii and the tracking focus, it has increased my action hit rate to almost 100%! It is also smaller and lighter than its rivals and so makes it much more user friendly. An excellent piece of glass.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

3

0

Outstanding quality

SEL70200GM 01 February 2020 by Adrian39 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A stunningly high quality tele photo lense that is also a 2.8! Build quality is superb, yes it weighs a lot but either use a monopod or go to the gym more fun Great feature like the filter window to allow changes while the lens hood is on is a great touch Combined with Sony a7riv in full or crop mode you won’t be disappointed And so glad it’s an internal zoom as it’s for using not displaying

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

So sharp!

SEL70200GM 23 January 2020 by Snowboard Paul (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replace the f4 version with this a month ago, and it’s noticeably better quality. It’s slightly heavier but the steady shot means you don’t miss a moment. I used it at the snowboard World Cup in laax in -12 conditions and it was amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

3

0

Perfect lens for all time.

SEL70200GM 26 December 2019 by Aleks Great (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very magnificent lens for all time using. 100% happy about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning lens

SEL70200GM 03 October 2019 by Smudgie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a wedding photographer I consider this lens to be a vital piece of my kit. It is pin sharp, fast focusing and nails every image. Wide open at 2.8 it produces the perfect portrait. Also great for those candid images everyone loves.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fabulous lens

SEL70200GM 12 September 2019 by J Louis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens over a week ago for a trip in Tanzania, coupled with the A7rIII the resulting shots are fantastic. This lens is sharp, fast with beautiful bokeh isolating some of the subject bringing the images to life. Videos also comes out great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

STUNNING

SEL70200GM 11 September 2019 by Wilkinson110501 (United Kingdom)

First day I got it I used it for a horse show and wow! It is a beautiful lens that created beautiful images! If you've got the money, buy it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sharp lens

SEL70200GM 11 June 2019 by Topshotfoto (United Kingdom)

I have owned versions of both the Canon and Nikon 70-200 f2.8 lenses previously, but I jumped ship to Sony last year in an attempt to decrease the weight of equipment I lug around airshows. This lens is not significantly lighter than the above and it carries a price premium. The easy answer would have been to go for the Sony 70-200 F4 but I admit to being a "pixel peeper" and my 100-400 GM Sony lens is so sharp I decided to pull the trigger on the 70-200mm F2.8 GM. In the month since purchasing it I have used it in different situations and bravely in light rain! I am genuinely impressed with the sharpness of this lens. The central areas are stunningly sharp at all normal apertures and the edges likewise once shut down to F4. It is expensive but if I had bought a different lens I know I would always have regretted not paying the extra for the sharpness. I was tempted to only give four stars due to the cost but decided I was reviewing the lens not the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Excellent image quality

SEL70200GM 13 May 2019 by ianwatt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant quality paired with my A7R3, it has improved my photography know end and renewed my enthusiasm.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 70-200GM For Equine Photography

SEL70200GM 12 March 2019 by Fletcher8 (United Kingdom)

I have been using the 70-200GM for a year now for the majority of my equine work, it produces stunning images and it's auto focus on the A7lll, A9 & A7Rlll is a joy to use and just gets the job done.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Good lens rather expensive

SEL70200GM 19 February 2019 by BGeeGee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used the lens extensively. It is very sharp and focusses fairly quickly. I've tried using the Canon 70 200 2.8 with an adapter, really not worth it if you want reliable autofocus. The Sony lens is rather overpriced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Good quality...£800 overpriced

SEL70200GM 10 February 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent lens. Good image quality. Comparing to my old Nikon glass I’d say this should be a 1500-1700 lens. Does not feel as solid and weather sealed. Mount is not as solid. Don’t get me wrong great lens for system just overpriced for overall build quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Outstanding Lens

SEL70200GM 23 January 2019 by Bonekicker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned several zoom lens over my long years and not found one of them to be any good--until now--I changed from Fuji to Sony mirrorless system and just recently bought this FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS lens-- the range is perfect for me and Quality as got to be seen to believe--Just Stunning Results 10/10 -5Star

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Worth every penny!

SEL70200GM 10 January 2019 by 1slandgirl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use this lens mainly for sports photography and it is just about perfect. It is fast, pin sharp, well balanced and I particularly like the 'internal' zoom, which keeps the lens balanced across the 70-200mm reach. Being able to zoom the full range in a single wrist action makes this lens perfect for shooting under poor conditions and using a rain cover. I have a number of Zeiss and G-Master Sony lenses (55mm, 90mm 24-70mm etc.) so I am used to quality glass but this is quite possibly the best! Very happy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Unlock your photos

SEL70200GM 03 January 2019 by JohnandSue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I hesitated buying this lens ever since I moved to Sony mirrorless but took the plunge recently. The lens is fantastic. Its so fast and accurate and brings even the most lifeless pictures to life

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Pretty much perfect

SEL70200GM 22 October 2018 by Designic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After experimenting with using Zeiss Batis primes (which are superb, no complaints) as an alternative, I ended up getting the Sony FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS instead. It's like having a bag full of prime lenses. Yes, it is big and heavy, but for an event photographer like me, it makes perfect sense. I have previously owned the Can and Nikon equivalent lenses, both excellent, but this Sony lens is next level. The only thing I'd change in the colour of the barrel - it makes it very conspicuous compared to the all black of Nikon's lens. But overall, this lens is pretty much Perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent optics

SEL70200GM 28 February 2018 by David1000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to go with 16-35 and 24-70 GM lenses and specifically wanted excellent optical quality on an A7Riii and it doesn't disappoint. I also wanted excellent autofocus. I haven't had a chance to test this fully yet but it looks promising so far. The only matter that has put me off slightly was a LensRentals strip down of the lens that shows a comparatively soft metal joining ring at the centre of the lens construction and I imagined the lens splitting in half! I waited three months to see whether any reports of this happening before buying and there don't appear to be any such reports, so went ahead with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

The best 70-200

SEL70200GM 21 February 2018 by Paulinfocus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned and used 70-200f2.8 lenses from all the major manufacturers but the Sony version is the best. Coupled with my a7r3 the results are nothing short of spectacular.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Lovely piece of kit

SEL70200GM 16 January 2018 by Spotteddog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for a job and I wasn’t disappointed, focusing was quick and precise and the images were great. Love using it with my new So y A9 R II

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Only buy the best

SEL70200GM 15 December 2017 by Dinky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only buy the best The G master is a great lens but expensive not quite as sharp with the teleconverters on but overall great lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Outstanding product

SEL70200GM 07 December 2017 by Chris7W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this lens approximately 6 months ago and have used it on numerous occasions with my Alpha A9, main reason I bought the A9 and this lens was the weight, compared with the Canon 1DX and the Canon 70 to 200 its an excellent lens in all aspects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Lighning speed autofocus

SEL70200GM 07 December 2017 by dynot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product that suits my photographic needs perfectly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Amazing lens!

SEL70200GM 30 August 2017 by MPount (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've done a few shoots with this lens so far, attached to the A7RII, fast AF producing clear, pin sharp images in low light conditions. Amazing lens, expensive, heavy but Great Quality!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Super sharp !

SEL70200GM 21 July 2017 by MPics (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Expensive but top quality and can focus on moving subjects, delivers on all counts !!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

White Wonder

SEL70200GM 14 May 2017 by kensom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hardware - Sony FE 70-200 2.8 GM OSS and A7R2. Stunning results and coming from the Nikon (almost) equivalents! Colours, bokeh, sharpness and I am just speechless at how this combo performs. Nothing in this range of equipment, no matter what brand, can compare. Every penny spent on this lens will be repaid in your satisfaction at the end of the day. As they say; 'Forget the rest, buy the best' - and it is!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Amazing lens.

SEL70200GM 12 May 2017 by TomB11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing sharp, great colours. Only hitch for me is that the tripod mount isn't completely removable collar.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

A Great Lens

SEL70200GM 19 April 2017 by Freddyboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had this lens for a week but already I've had some amazing results using it on my A7RMk2 !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Winchester 73

SEL70200GM 17 March 2017 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my Winchester 73, because it's the Best of the Best. At times I use it with the 1.4 converter, and sometimes with the 2X. The image quality is just awesome.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

46

3