MRP

Rs. 68,990

(incl. of all taxes)
81

4.9 based on 81 customer reviews

76
3
1
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Super sharp and fast lens

SEL55F18Z 04 March 2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a beatuful lens for me. It's fantasticaly sharp (almost too sharp - a nice problem to have). The colours transfer is brilliant and holds the whites tremendously well. Well built solid lens too. You can feel the quality when you hold the lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Has manufacturing fault.

SEL55F18Z 07 February 2019 by benthechimp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The focus failed on this lens, £200+ to repair. I think it had been faulty since purchase, make sure there is no noise when focusing at high aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

81 Customer Reviews

0

great lens

SEL55F18Z 06 October 2020 by Flow2 (United Kingdom)

great image quality, build ,autofocus and very compact for a ff lens, impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Like the Hubble telescope.

SEL55F18Z 20 September 2020 by Ynos01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The images I’ve taken from this lens are outrageous. Frankly, Sony need to give themselves a good talking to and allow the others to catch up. Buy it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

fast & accurate

SEL55F18Z AE 26 May 2020  (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

i'm using this lens mostly for portrait work.it is very fast focus & very sharp lens i ever seen.images looks very great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great form factor

SEL55F18Z 28 March 2020 by PJM171 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I could no be more happy with this lens. I have over a dozen lenses but had not got a 50/55 as it was not my favourite focal length, but i had read so many good reviews that i decided to add it to my collection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Light, Sharp and good value.

SEL55F18Z 26 March 2020 by Mick A (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a long time Fuji user but because I wanted the best BIF and sports action camera I opted for an A9. Apart from the 200-600 for my main use I needed to get an all round street/general photography lens to justify this system along side my Fuji. I have been stunned by the quality of my 55mm. i assumed Fuji had it sown up, but the quality and versatility of this lens has made me think seriously about trading in my Fuji gear and getting the sister 85mm lens for my use.The 55mm is so crisp and the Bokeh is lovely. Get it........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

a super sharp fast lens

SEL55F18Z 03 March 2020 by dad48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens as part of a deal with a A7iii, and I am pleased that I did. It is super sharp across the aperture range and has a quality feel about its construction.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Wonderful lens

SEL55F18Z 01 March 2020 by MarkQ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Incredibly light, very sharp, fast AF and lovely colours and contrast. As good a ‘50’ (ish) lens as I’ve ever owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Art & Engineering Excellence

SEL55F18Z 28 February 2020  (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens with my A7RIV about a year ago along with 3 Sony GM lens. The body and other lenses are all great but this lens is outstanding. It stays on my camera 90% of the time. It's sharp, it's fast and it's tiny. I might upgrade my other gear but this will be with me forever. It's so good I get excited every time I see it. (I know!) If you own a Sony camera you must get this lens, it will be the best purchase you ever made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sharpness is amazing

SEL55F18Z 04 February 2020 by Stevo1626 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in December never really considered doing any kind of portrait work but this lens alone combined with the a7iii has really changed my style of photography. Awesome lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharp ++

SEL55F18Z 24 January 2020 by FED20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this lens for a few months now, it is a delight. It is used on a Sony A7 mk 3. Very sharp, lovely bokeh. It is well balanced on the camera and has become one of my favourite lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens

SEL55F18Z 06 January 2020 by D S S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although not a new model this lens gives great sharpness.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A eternal classic

SEL55F18Z 17 November 2019 by CARLOSANDRADE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought it a week ago anyway I have already some pics that confirm why I choosed theese lens as premium lens for my A6400. Quite sharp, and colour rendering fantastic. That's why passing years they are one of the best...a classic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great construction

SEL55F18Z 11 September 2019 by Just55 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lense around a month ago and I am very pleased with the outstanding results it gives me especially when doing night street photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Best lens I have ever had! expensive but the best!

SEL55F18Z 08 September 2019 by GrégoireC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Trials, first time using the lens, great fun to experiment..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

The best prime lens for the A7iii

SEL55F18Z 05 July 2019 by Rookwood Productions (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tax sharp and a great all rounder lens. I use this lens most on my camera. Quickest auto focus I’ve ever seen. And stable as any thing I’ve ever used. Now looking at the 35mm prime

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

amazing

SEL55F18Z 12 June 2019 by PeterHT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

small, beautifully made and deadly accurate .. it's my current favourite

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL55F18Z 23 March 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice lens. Sturdy built and super sharp. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Quite outstsanding superbly sharp prime lens

SEL55F18Z 14 March 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As an advertising photographer I require critically sharp images for my clients. This prime delivers on this requirement and is a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sharp, small and fast

SEL55F18Z 16 February 2019 by Davidreidphotography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens a welcome addition to my kit bag, small light and sharp. A great all round prime

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Has manufacturing fault.

SEL55F18Z 07 February 2019 by benthechimp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The focus failed on this lens, £200+ to repair. I think it had been faulty since purchase, make sure there is no noise when focusing at high aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellent photo quality in all conditions

SEL55F18Z 07 January 2019 by docv (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Shipping worked perfectly. I used the Sonnar now about one week - with really good and really bad light and weather conditions. The photo quality was excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL55F18Z 04 January 2019 by Lowbox (United Kingdom)

This is not a newly released lens but it one of the best in my kit, fast, focused and a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Best prime I've ever used!

SEL55F18Z 02 January 2019 by Scott SW (United Kingdom)

5 months in with this awesome lens (on A7iii) and absolutely loving it. I'm at wedding photographer and switched from Nikon to Sony this year, so glad I did! This lens is tack sharp at all apertures, lightening fast, beautiful bokeh, great contrast, tiny, light and great build quality. The only con - no manual focus / auto focus switch but hey that can be mapped to a custom button. If you're worried about the price over another 50mm you will be pleased you took the plunge on this one. Ref. I've owned Nikon 50mm f1.4G & Sigma Art 50mm f1.4. Many thanks, Scott

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sharp as Heck!

SEL55F18Z 30 December 2018 by Sierra NV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super sharp. Solid build yet light and compact. Overall, great prime lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Tack Sharp & Fast.

SEL55F18Z 11 December 2018 by Teotizon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it last 1stDec'18 with A7III as a package after I straight swap it with my Nikon arsenal D300, battery grip, nikkor 24-70f2.8, 105f2, Tokina 100 macro, Tokina 11-18, SB800, nikon tele 2X, R1 macro flash.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Small but well-formed

SEL55F18Z 01 November 2018 by Leftyrex (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a Sony 850 from some time back, decided to upgrade to an A73R. Most of my lenses are ~1kg apiece, and part of the point is to reduce the weight for everyday photography. The 55mm is small, and seems very well made. From what I can see - limited experience so far - the product is producing nice images.

3

2

0

Possibly the sharpest lens I've ever owned

SEL55F18Z 20 October 2018 by Dylthedog (United Kingdom)

When I got my A7R3 I planned to build up a set of primes to go with the zoom I purchased with the camera, and this was first on my list. If I'm honest before buying I would have preferred a 50mm, but I'm happy to say the 55mm has worked out OK for me; in practice I've not noticed the extra 5mm. The title says it all - this is lens is amazingly sharp. It also focuses very quickly, and I've found it to be excellent for portraits and as a general walk-around prime where wide shots aren't needed. I've noticed some lateral chromatic aberrations (colour fringing at the point focus drops out) in certain circumstances, but it isn't a deal breaker by any means - I'm sure most people wouldn't even notice it. I wouldn't hesitate to use this lens for paid work at all. Contrast is great, as is colour rendition, though I'd say its more neutral than saturated. Camera settings can change this, of course. I like that the lens is relatively compact and very light, which makes it easy to carry as an alternative to a heavy zoom. It's also nice to see that it includes a lens bag and hood, but then it isn't a low cost lens at all. It's pricey but well worth the cost in my opinion, and I stand by my comment about sharpness - it's amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

great lens

SEL55F18Z 24 September 2018 by Spitfire7950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

outstanding pictures and sharpness of the lenses The camera feels like a extension of your hand

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Super sharp and super quiet.

SEL55F18Z 07 September 2018 by Andyvalver (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantasic little lens. Silent autofocus and a super sharp image. Really impressed with it. I just wish there was a 35mm 1.8 for around the same price or less.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning lens.

SEL55F18Z 23 August 2018 by Mark C (United Kingdom)

This lens is truly stunning.Vibrant colours,the detail is amazing across the frame. The handling is superb,small,light with super fast accurate focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Awesome Lens!!!

SEL55F18Z 03 August 2018 by Ray Picart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the sharpest and the best lens money can buy. You will never regret buying it. Portable, light, durable and fast. Definitely I would recommend to a friend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Stunning lens, amazing sharpness

SEL55F18Z 29 June 2018 by Pete Lonsdale (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This has to be one of the sharpest lenses you can buy. but for me it's not just about that. With great micro contrast, beautiful colour and the Zeiss "pop" you will love the images. It's small enough to work well with any of the a7 models and unlike some other lenses out there you can use it wide open a f1.8. Such a lovely walk about lens if you don't want the bulk of anything larger. Well worth the money paid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL55F18Z 21 May 2018 by Asela (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really please with this lens. It's lightweight and portable. The pictures are crisp and sharp, autofocus is fast - overall a very good versatile lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Compact lens

SEL55F18Z 05 May 2018 by Lees123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very high quality lens which is not only light but I’ve found it be very sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice lens

SEL55F18Z 13 April 2018 by Clived (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a lovely lens, images are really crisp with nice bokeh. Focus is fast. It is everything I hoped it would be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

outstanding fast prime

SEL55F18Z 01 April 2018 by drewp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Zeiss 55mm f/1.8 is sharpest lens I've experienced in 50 years of photography. What would make it better is to have non focus-by-wire, because (occasional) manual focus is tiresome. Small compact light fast and extremely high performance. Love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great lens. Wonderful pictures.

SEL55F18Z 29 March 2018 by PCPhil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens for all styles of pictures. Wonderfully sharp and wonderful bokah. At first look it seems pricey but this is one lens that wont gather dust.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact brilliance

SEL55F18Z 24 March 2018 by Jim64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant image quality in a compact size. Amazing resolution and IQ. Lenses are generally getting larger in order to achieve the resolution figures required for today's high megapixel sensors, but this lens proves that it can be done in a compact design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent all rounder

SEL55F18Z 11 February 2018 by Grandysandy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens primarily for portraiture, but it excels in most situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

One of the best lens ever !

SEL55F18Z 30 January 2018 by Nick1212 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very satisfied with the optical quality . A very precise lens .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Solid

SEL55F18Z 03 January 2018 by gater27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

very pleased with overall quality and images, if I was to ask for one more thing it would be a slightly closer focussing distance

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lens at a sensible price

SEL55F18Z 12 December 2017 by morse4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simply put this lens is stunning and the image quality does not match the way it looks. When I first saw it I thought it might be a kit lens .... how wrong could i be. I tend to shoot weddings with 35/85 but I occasionally switch and use the 55mm 1.8 and i am never left disappointed. The focus is fast and when paired with the A7R2 or 3 the image quality is very professional. Something I really love about it is the size.... again something that I thought in the old days was a negative but now I know clients could not care less I use it a lot as a versatile lens. If I could only have one lens it would be this one, and I have some amazing G master and Ziess glass. The only downside is for manual focus for video. Focus by wire is not good to rack focus or be creative as its just strange.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Stunning contrast, colour and sharpness

SEL55F18Z 07 December 2017 by Mangerj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent and relatively lightweight prime for full-frame Sony cameras. Beautiful IQ.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great portrait lens

SEL55F18Z 12 November 2017 by Andrydeen (United Kingdom)

With Sony 6500 it is perfect combo , especially for portraits

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very sharp lens

SEL55F18Z 28 September 2017 by OwenP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a low light lens for filming on my A7RII and this is the perfect solution. The Lens is sharp wide open and produces decent bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lightweight

SEL55F18Z 26 August 2017 by Stables3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice lightweight lens on my A6500, good sharp image with nice contrast. Too early to give a long review as just had the lens a few couple of weeks.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This is my all time favourite Prime!

SEL55F18Z 19 June 2017 by Residentevilzerofan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having owned the SEL55F18 Zeiss Plannar for 18 months it's my favourite lens - it's the sharpest lens I have ever come across and this is also reflected in DXO Mark for the E-Mount series. I cannot highly recommend this lens enough - The Bokeh is insane.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exceptional lens for a6000

SEL55F18Z 19 June 2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this FF lens in anticipation of buying A7x camera. On a6000 gives excellent sharpness, nice colours. Also very light and compact and remarkably 'thin' for a FF lens. Satisfactory only for macro, but very good for portraits with especially nice bokeh. A bit expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Must have lens

SEL55F18Z 10 May 2017 by Cast a giant shadow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The FE 55mm is a must have general purpose, short portrait lens. The images it produces are fantastic. They are sharp and the subjects pop. I highly recommend this lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

SONY & ZEISS PRO PRIME LENS

SEL55F18Z 16 August 2016 by FDAC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb Prime 55mm Lens on an A7Rii,excellent optic

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Outstanding lens

SEL55F18Z 11 June 2016 by Mfm20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautifully sharp. ..with true colours. Good general purpose focal length. It is very expensive but the quality is obvious

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Brilliant supreme prime

SEL55F18Z 08 June 2016 by Giggy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony - Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA has turned out to be the main lens I use most of the time on the full frame Sony Alpha 7 Mk 2. To achieve best results I manually tweak the final focus on the part of the subject that will make the picture pop out the best in an almost 3D look. The lens is razor sharp in any part of the picture frame at any aperture. Although this lens is expensive compared to similar sized prime lenses I think it is worth the extra money and would fully recommend it on mirrorless Sony Alpha cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great Lens, you'll love it!

SEL55F18Z 10 May 2016 by keefiman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As most Review sites and reviewers here have said, this lens is pin sharp. Nice bokeh and colour rendering. Probably not the cheapest, depending on where you get it from but worth it. Perfect match for the A7Rll. The only thing it lack is the DoF indicator of the Batis.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Little Choice

SEL55F18Z 14 April 2016 by plattsnaps (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had read the reviews and done the research. FE full frame, 55mm versatile lens, F1.8 fast, colours wow, sharpness as anticipated very good, cost? you get what you pay for. Other problems no problem in post.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Quality lens

SEL55F18Z 07 April 2016 by silkystrings (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This had a lot to live up to. As a recent adopter of the Sony A7R I was used to using a 5D3/Sigma Art 50mm combination. I am glad to say it's up there with the best. Very sharp, very good contrast with excellent colour rendition. Beautifully built and (hopefully) should last a lifetime.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A quality and pinpoint clarity

SEL55F18Z 26 March 2016 by Deepfield (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens in early March in London with the Sony a 7RII and do not regret it, the lens has a wonderful solid feel to it and excellent low light capabilities. It's versatile as an everyday prime lens as well as a great for portraits portraits. Using it properly yesterday in a large park in Sao Paulo I was amazed that every shot I took was this great image, even though it was the first time out to actually take pictures. This is a go to lens when ever you are going out. No counts when I understand the eccentricities of the lens and my improved use of it my pics will be even better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply fantastic

SEL55F18Z 11 February 2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First some background information. I recently sold all my Alpha mount lenses and camera and moved over to the Sony mirror less system. I now own the A7ii, Sony 24-70mm Zeiss f4, Sony 70-200mm f4, Sony 90mm macro f2.8 and my latest purchase the beautiful Sony 55mm Zeiss f1.8. Yes this lens is beautiful, it feels, looks top, top quality and a pleasure to own. The photographs it produces are amazing, sharp, sharp. The colour renditions of this lens are typical Zeiss and 3D like. I honestly believe this is the best lens I have ever owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Sharpness!

SEL55F18Z 07 January 2016 by Frighty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely happy with this lens however I am upset that it doesn't have any stabilisation built in. But the Sharpness of this lens kinda makes up for it. Over all I'm happy and I'm sure that once I've remortgaged in the distance future I will be able to purchase the 24-70 with built in OSS.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

16

0

Quality Zeiss lens

SEL55F18Z 06 December 2015 by Nick46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb prime lens. Produces clear bright images. Ideal starter lens for my new Alpha A7ii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Superb Lens

SEL55F18Z 13 October 2015 by Lanadre (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this a few weeks ago and what a lens it is. Light, fast, superb image quality, cannot fault this lens at all. I do wish there was a hard focus rather than focus by wire but this is something on most of the sony lenses now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic definition with A7r mk2

SEL55F18Z 08 October 2015 by dacdave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this lens 2 weeks, I have been in photography 50 years and the 55mm f1.8 Zeiss with the Sony A7r mk2 is producing the best images I have ever experienced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Made the right choice

SEL55F18Z 23 September 2015 by The_Northumbrian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the A7ii and had to choose between the 24-70 f4 and the 55 f1.8, versatility vs quality and shallow depth of focus - made the right choice with the 55mm. I've never owned a fast prime and the 55mm has now given me the bug to buy other primes. Focus is precise and fast and the quality and sharpness of the files is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Stunning Lens

SEL55F18Z 18 September 2015 by The fool in the rain (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and it hasn't left my Camera. Truley a stunning lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony - Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA

SEL55F18Z 12 September 2015 by fstop007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I traded all my Canon equipment for the Sony alpha 7 Mark II and a few lenses, including the Sony - Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA. It focuses as quickly and accurately and renders color as well as the "L" Canon lenses. Plus it's less bulky and much lighter, making it easy to carry and pack.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

The best prime ever made

SEL55F18Z 17 July 2015 by Nate (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Prime lenses are known for having superior clarity, contrast and a much larger aperture. Well, this lens certainly doesn't disappoint. Its exceptional! compared to allot of primes i have previously used.. At larger apertures like f1.8 some lenses suffer with softness, but lens this is razor sharp! The out of focus elements are buttery smooth! The auto focus is quiet, and fast on an A7ii and A7s E-mount camera system. Use this on the A6000 and it becomes the perfect focal length for portraits. The build quality is a nice solid metal all round, so it will withstand many years of use. It may be a pricey lens, but in my opinion this is definitely one of the best primes ever made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

An outstanding lens

SEL55F18Z 13 July 2015 by Ulrome (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since buying this lens, it has rarely been off my Sony A7 (and now A7II). This and the 35mm Zeiss Prime lens make an extremely good pair. The 55mm is amazingly sharp and when used at wider apertures it produces a lovely bokeh. On an APC camera like the A6000 it is ideal as a short telephoto, for example for portraits. In short, it is every bit as good as the leica lenses that I also use with the A7.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Unbelievable

SEL55F18Z 18 June 2015 by Hillwalker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was originally going to get the Sony ziess 24-70 lens, but after reading reviews went for this lens. It surpassed all my expectations it is tack sharp, amazing even unbelievably good, I would state in all my years it is by a long shot best lens I've ever owned. My advice buy it you won't regret it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Otus Junior

SEL55F18Z 01 April 2015 by Seba84 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharpness of the photos is the best I have ever seen !!! Lack of OSS is a shame and the price is high but you would not be disappointed with quality from wide open !!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super sharp and fast lens

SEL55F18Z 04 March 2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a beatuful lens for me. It's fantasticaly sharp (almost too sharp - a nice problem to have). The colours transfer is brilliant and holds the whites tremendously well. Well built solid lens too. You can feel the quality when you hold the lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Sony Zeiss Sonnar 55mm f1.8

SEL55F18Z 03 February 2015 by GordonS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As might be expected, this lens delivers superior results, particularly when a decent tripod, or flash, is used. It can resolve fine detail, even in difficult lighting circumstances. The colour transmission lives up to the len's T* badge. It's well built, and feels purposeful in use. On a camera with an aps-c size sensor, it's an excellent portrait lens, perhaps delivering some results that are too sharp. Not everyone appreciates seeing the fine hairs, and pores of their skin. This is a very satisfying piece of optical equipment to use. I'm very glad I took the plunge, and got one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Sharpness, and great colour

SEL55F18Z 31 October 2014 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to compliment my A7R as it is the same high image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great Prime Lens

SEL55F18Z 07 October 2014 by chriscamera (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a lens to put on my A7R as a general purpose high end lens. In conjunction the photos are excellent, with clear focus, no apparent chromatic aberrations or distortions across the photos. Light capture appears excellent for its small 49mm diameter. The lens is very well made, looks and feels solid. The fit to camera is sound with no movement and the manual focus, when used works well. I have used a slim polaroid circular filter on the lens which is difficult to operate with the slight recess on the front, almost impossible with the excellent lens hood provided, but what's new. High end fantastic lens as you should expect from Zeiss.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0