FE 50MM F1.8

Product Reviews

MRP

Rs. 21,990

(incl. of all taxes)
44

4.1 based on 44 customer reviews

19
14
9
2
0
Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Awesome lens for the price

SEL50F18F 11 June 2018 by BoyDavey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Prime lens is great for the price only wish I could afford to buy more from Sony .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

nice lens but noisy

SEL50F18F 21 February 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a nice lens with good results both in still image and on video. Unfortunately, everything stop there! The lens is too noosy for use in with friends in an event like wedding. Even on video you can hear the focus micro-adjusting. Due to the noise, i learn to shoot with the back button focus and that only in single focus as the continuous focus sounds like a tractor. I prefer my manual off brand 50mm f1.4!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

44 Customer Reviews

0

The 50mm

SEL50F18F 31 December 2021 by PhilipProcter (United Kingdom)

Cheap and rock solid 50mm, does everything a 50 should, results are decent , this lens is a workhorse and lightweight enough to just chuck in the bag just incase

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A suitable lens for Street Photography

SEL50F18F 30 December 2021 by reynolds_desi (United Kingdom)

This length is very light bright and sharp. I use it coupled with my Sony A7C, obtaining an extremely versatile and portable kit. The only defect is related to the presence of the stepper motor, that makes the autofocus quite noisy and a bit slow. Despite this, the lens has a great quality over price ratio.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good lens!

SEL50F18F 16 October 2021 by Coxie37 (United Kingdom)

I bought this with the A7iii body as a basic lens, but honestly hardly used it as I tend to use my 24-105mm lens mostly. However the quality etc is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hunts like crazy

SEL50F18F 13 October 2021 by Gary1978 (United Kingdom)

I shot with Nikon for about 15 years before I went with Sony. When I purchased my first Nikkor 50mm 1.8, it was like finding photography again. Sadly, when I purchased the Sony 50mm 1.8, it was a terrible let down. This lens spends most of the time hunting for focus. Even in brightly lit conditions and stopped wide open at f1.8, it still struggles unless there is obvious contrast. Lower the light and shut the aperture down and you're in for a nightmare photo shoot. I have no idea why this lens is so bad as I've heard the 55mm 1.8 is fine. Firmware? Hardware? Who knows. It's just a poor lens. Nikon's 50mm1.8D can be sourced for about £80 new and it is blindingly fast. Sony's AF system on my A7mk3 is much faster than the Nikon D750 I had so it's defo a lens issue.

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Nifty inexpensive standard lens, bang on the money

SEL50F18F 13 October 2021 by Paul13Walnut5 (United Kingdom)

One of the first lenses you should buy for A7 series, or if learning about depth of field and perspective. A sharp, compact inexpensive lens with solid if not class leading IQ (although there are lenses costing far more that don't perform any better) these got a bad rep for sluggish focus in earlier incarnations, I've found that with the camera and lens firmware up to date it's about where I would expect, rear button AF and considered choice of focus mode for your subject will also help. If you have a very high resolution camera, such as the R series, A9 or A1 you may want to look at a lens which can more closely match your sensors capabilities, although, for the money, this is pretty decent.

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Average prime

SEL50F18F 07 September 2021 by No nicknsme (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Cheap entry level prime. OK. But i need more, so have exchanged for the 55mm Zeiss lens. Much more expensive ! I suppose it depends on one's budget.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Value for Money

SEL50F18F 19 August 2021 by Photodojo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A a native Sony lens, for the price new, it performs very well when compared to more expensive others. Auto focus is more than adequate for day to day usage.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It is sharp and fast

SEL50F18F 09 January 2021 by Partick Express (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this lens for a month and use it for street photography and some close ups at high aperture. It has nice bokeh, it focuses fast and it is perfectly fine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value

SEL50F18F 18 November 2020 by Chris Bucks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the price, a good buy. There are better options out there but not at this price.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fabulous little lens

SEL50F18F 08 June 2020 by Cameramark (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this a few weeks now and it's well made, good value for the price and excellent in lower light, pretty much a bag essential!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great quality

SEL50F18F//CSYX 28 May 2020 by ammicamm (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this lens 4 months ago this is the best lens i have . this is a must have lens in sony kitthis fulfill all my needs like good focal length, background blur, compact , good picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Vlaue for money

SEL50F18F//CSYX 21 May 2020 by cuddapah (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is sharp and Sony mirror less camera with high speed shutter can handle without OSS because of some inbody stabilization

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice lens but noisy

SEL50F18F 21 February 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a nice lens with good results both in still image and on video. Unfortunately, everything stop there! The lens is too noosy for use in with friends in an event like wedding. Even on video you can hear the focus micro-adjusting. Due to the noise, i learn to shoot with the back button focus and that only in single focus as the continuous focus sounds like a tractor. I prefer my manual off brand 50mm f1.4!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Nice bokeh in a small lens (and affordable)

SEL50F18F 12 February 2020 by jojim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very handy little lens to have at hand. I use it for street photography and portraits all the time, the bokeh is good enough unless you are a professional. You need to get closer to the subject than with an 85mm but this works for me. Small lens to carry around, which means is pretty much always with me, even if the focal range is covered by some other more expensive lenses. And that's one of the best things about this lens, the price is fantastic, I bought mine for £130 on a quick sale on Amazon and couldn't be happier. For that price is a steal. Best price per value I've seen on Sony lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An excellent value lens

SEL50F18F 08 February 2020 by scuddriver (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was on offer at Amazon, and is a great little lens for the price. To improve on it you would need to spend 4 times the cost. It is very light and compact, and I found the autofocus speed to be quite acceptable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Quality

SEL50F18F 19 December 2019 by DC77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first full frame camera having switched from a Canon Apsc camera. I was a little concerned how I was going to cope with the change in system however so far things have been smooth running. The camera is amazingly light and the eye focus, animal and human is amazing. It is an expensive camera however well worth it and I’m looking to develop my photography skills with this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great optical perfomance across the aperture range

SEL50F18F 30 October 2019 by AmiranB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great to see such a great perfomance of not very expensive lens. Thank s

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value for money

SEL50F18F 15 October 2019 by aggiee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it few months ago and I'm fairly happy with this lens. It is light and does have sufficient max aperture. However it is not that sharp as my previous nifty fifty from Nikon. I would say you get what you pay for and if you are able to accept that you will be happy.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Slow focus

SEL50F18F 28 August 2019 by aaphotography (United Kingdom)

it have the slower focus i ever used ,and on dark is more slower :)

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great Prime Lens

SEL50F18F 23 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

I use this lens primarily for portraits and the fact that it can open up to f1.8 is fantastic. I love the bokeh it gives and the rich vibrant colours as well. The images I have are all pin sharp. The autofocus works well and am now looking forward to trying it with my new A7iii. I would certainly recommend this lens. Great value and great pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great for Beginner and casual

SEL50F18F 17 July 2019 by faizan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago for casual photography, which i was not sure my iphone was giving me the results, with variety i need. This is a great lens although the i will also be buying a 28mm FE F2.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Poor focusing

SEL50F18F 07 July 2019 by Compton (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to go with my A7. But the focusing speed is abit of a let down.

Picture Quality

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sony-FE 50mm F1.8

SEL50F18F 29 June 2019 by ALeebar11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good lens had it about two weeks, And it is never of my camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Small Lens

SEL50F18F 18 June 2019 by Turpin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great quality lens as you would expect from Sony, well made. What more can you say.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value sharp prime lens but slow focus

SEL50F18F 04 June 2019 by Benzas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this along with a new a7iii. It takes fantastically sharp bright photos with good bokeh, especially for the cost. My one negative is it's quite slow to focus and has to hunt a bit. I thought this was just a feature of the camera until I got a 24-70 too but that focuses instantly and silently. Still, great value and a good focal length day to day and nice and compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not actually a 50mm - 75mm? Very unclear.

SEL50F18F 13 May 2019 by Annon09 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sent this back because despite doing endless research and this lens being specially for crop sensor cameras such as the A6000 or A6300 - this is not a 50mm lens as advertised! It still crops into a 75mm. Not impressed! I assumed that if I bought a lens that was made for the crop sensor camera's, that the lens wouldn't crop in. Clearly that's not the case! Stupid system!

0

81

0

Excellent optics, slow AF!

SEL50F18F 11 May 2019 by snowy151 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This must be about the cheapest "native" Sony-mount lens for full-frame, so I wasn't expecting Leica-quality. However the optics are excellent and the build-quality is a notch above most manufacturers' "nifty-fifty" lenses. The only real downside is the AF which is slow but it's accurate and not particularly noisy. For the price I don't think anyone could complain.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good quality for lower price

SEL50F18F 02 May 2019 by Andre L (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best quality for Manual Focus setting, autofocus working too, but only in best light, for allday, autofocus must be off.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

average

SEL50F18F 28 April 2019 by manage (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a couple of months ago. Optically it is okay, but focussing is slow and hit and miss.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

What do you want a title for? No title.

SEL50F18F 22 April 2019 by None again (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens as a portrait lens for my 6500 a job it does very well. Good value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value for the price!

SEL50F18F 19 April 2019 by Pedroteixeira (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens a couple months ago and i happy with it because I'm using it for product pictures with static scenes. The only complaint i have is the focus delay.. Its just to much to take picures like in a weeding or for people that need a rapid response on their photo. Despite this is a quite sharp lens and overall I'm happy with this 18F50. I'm using it with v3.0 firmware and in a Sony a7ii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Better than expected and great value for money

SEL50F18F 10 March 2019 by Stephen67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a budget option for use indoors without a flash. The sharpness is good, though it does hunt slightly more than other lenses and is quite noisy. I don't do clogging or video work so the noise and slight delay in focus does not bother me but something to bear in mind for others. Some reviews I read delayed my decision to get this lens. I think they undersell how good this lens is for price point. I don't regret buying it. Decent bokeh as well

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fine backup, use 75mm cropped on FFnA7III

SEL50F18F 06 February 2019 by vanRhine (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As backup travel lens, also used for portraits while waiting for my G-Master 85mm F/1.4 Great results, lightweight, sharp.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic lens, even better at the price!

SEL50F18F 04 February 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a professional photographer using a mixture of Canon and Sony equipment I was a bit sceptical of such a cheap lens, but I thought I had nothing to lose, and I have not being disappointed. Yes the auto focus could be quieter and quicker, but I've only been caught out a handful of times in 6 months, yes there is a bit of CA when a subject is heavily backlit but nothing that Lightroom cannot sort with a single click. I have this lens on the camera almost constantly when I'm out and about with the family, but also find it super light and easy to use when producing commercial video work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good value for money

SEL50F18F 28 October 2018 by The Photo Brewery (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens as a compact option when walking around and when I don’t need my bigger and heavier G Master lenses. The lens is small, light and has an excellent image quality. For me personally, the only real downside is focussing in low light which can be a bit slow. However, you have to consider the price and for that it is great and also comes with a lens hood which other brands like Canon do not manage to give you unless you buy the high end glass. I can wholehartedly recommend this lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Best value for money lens

SEL50F18F 19 October 2018 by Tomatkins (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really happy great lens for a great price best starter lens for sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great price, great performance

SEL50F18F 03 October 2018 by I3R0k3N7FEET (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everyone needs a nifty fifty. fast, quiet focus, sharp, lightweight, lovely bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Slow and searchy wins the race. Oh it doesn`t

SEL50F18F 09 July 2018 by enSnare (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few months ago. And slow and searchy is the best way to describe it. When you compare it to the 28mm f2 it is applauding slow. When you compare its PRICE to the likes of Canon 50mm f1.8 you feel like Sony are laughing all the way to the bank. The update (which have been done and double checked) make no difference. Don`t bother with this lens get the 28mm and move closer or get cropping

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Lens

SEL50F18F 09 July 2018 by John the one (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great prime lens good bokeh .cheaper than Zeiss lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome lens for the price

SEL50F18F 11 June 2018 by BoyDavey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Prime lens is great for the price only wish I could afford to buy more from Sony .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Nice lens on a budget

SEL50F18F 31 December 2017 by Gobs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is nice budget lens, sharp and light, but AF is terribly slow on A7 body.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good standard lens

SEL50F18F 08 July 2017 by Humfan1943 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A good lightweight general purpose lens at a reasonable price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Amazingly sharp lens.

SEL50F18F 12 March 2017 by GrafxArt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens a couple of weeks ago and the results from it are brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Nice quality but a bit beyond my expectation

SEL50F18F 14 May 2016 by Jazz123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

"Alright" product but the speed of focusing is slow and make quite loud noise.I'm not satisfied with its image quality. Acceptable prime lens with this price.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

34

55