MRP

Rs. 34,990

(incl. of all taxes)
28

4.1 based on 28 customer reviews

12
11
3
0
2
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Kit Lens

SEL2870 11 October 2015 by nico2002 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens can as part of the A7ii kit and I'am surprised how how good it is especially when stepped down a little, its ideal as a walk around lens so I will be keeping and using on a regular basis.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Poor quality at wide angles

SEL2870 16 July 2020 by GarethM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased with Sony A7 as seemed a good value package, unfortunately the lens has not lived up to expectations and on wideangle is very soft at the sides, at 28mm only the middle 50% of the picture width us useable, ok from 50mm onwards only, so no good for landscapes.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

28 Customer Reviews

0

Good standard lense

SEL2870 15 January 2021 by lukolevic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony A7 iii and this lens came with it. It’s a good standard lens. Good quality and style.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not up to scratch

SEL2870 07 September 2020 by SB1961 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for my A7R2 for casual use but had to return it immediately as it was very noticeable that the left hand side of the image was out of focus compared to the right hand side. This showed up badly at infinity focus setting. I had heard of this optical fault from other reviews on the web but couldn’t believe this was still occurring on new lenses. I did not replace it with the same lens as I had lost faith in that particular model. I have been very happy with my A6 and A7 cameras and the other lenses I already have for them.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good budget Lens along with the body

SEL2870 16 August 2020 by PRABHAS (United Kingdom)

This lens produces decent picture and video quality. If you are in a tight budget then I recommend it to buy along with the body.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Poor quality at wide angles

SEL2870 16 July 2020 by GarethM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased with Sony A7 as seemed a good value package, unfortunately the lens has not lived up to expectations and on wideangle is very soft at the sides, at 28mm only the middle 50% of the picture width us useable, ok from 50mm onwards only, so no good for landscapes.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Very useable kit lens!

SEL2870 25 May 2020 by JackP79 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As kit lenses go, this is one of the best I've used. It's both wide enough and long enough for general use. Being a kit lens its not fast, with a maximum aperture of f3.5 at 28mm, around f4.5 at 50mm and f5.6 at the 70mm end but is has stabilization (OSS), which allows for slower shutter speeds in low light without blur. However, if you want some nice bokeh, you'll have to get close to your subject. The lens is sharp, even wide open and doesn't seem to have any issues with CA. And an added bonus for a kit lens is that its weather sealed! Great little lens (actualy not that little, which is the only down side) which represents amazing value, because if you had to buy this lens on it's own, its not priced like a kit lens at £395!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A great Kit Lens

SEL2870 15 March 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Zoom Kit Lens the same time I bought the camera about a month ago. It seemed a good choice at the time as this is my first camera. After having used it, I find it a very suitable starter lens to get the most out of my new Sony A7ii camera offering a very precise Focus Ring and excellent image quality. The construction is as I expected from the brand being smooth, sturdy, clean and I really enjoy owning it. It gives me confidence to save up to get its bigger brother the 55-200mm lens next month to complement it. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

nice lens

SEL2870 29 July 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens 14 days ago and have taken 899 photographs with it, all so far excellent.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pretty Good

SEL2870 22 July 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Given the quality of the Sony 7a which this lens accompanied, the FE28-70mm F3.5-5.6 kit lens has turned out to be a worthy contender. My tests so far have shown better than average results with good resolution and contrast. Nice and crisp at the wide end for landscapes, and able to de-focus the background for portrait and close-ups at the 70mm setting. I am very pleased with results so far.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Excellent Pro Camera in a small lightweight packag

SEL2870 14 July 2019 by JonJacq (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used to own Canon 5Dsr but it was very heavy to carry around, saw the Sony A7iii was so impressed with specifications and build handling weight and quality, so went out and bought it , never looked back brilliant Camera all rounder too , just right for taking on those long walks/ hikes , next project getting some quality lenses for it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Cheap starter lens

SEL2870 03 April 2019 by Dmenace (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Came with the camera and ideal to start with but a faster lens or prime would have been the better option but it was dictated to by costs..

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Good Features

SEL2870 29 March 2019 by Fotosmani (United Kingdom)

Bought it few weeks ago ... very good back up lens. Good image quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

very solid and smooth.

SEL2870 28 March 2019 by nostairway (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this is the standard lens, i wasn't expecting much. I was wrong

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

awesome value for money excellent quality build

SEL2870 22 March 2019 by Just55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best value lense iv had for the money it takes fantastic pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Small and light

SEL2870 06 February 2019 by Reddave999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A typical kit lensslightly bone average for a kitlens

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

This should not be the kit lens

SEL2870 21 August 2018 by FOALEAGLE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I finally switched from Canon to Sony and this is the Kit-lens that came with my Sony A7iii. Previously I used a Canon 6D with a 24-70 L IS USM and a 70-200 L IS USM lens. It't early days, but in tems of weight/performance I am not fully convinced about this lens. Sony would do better adding a light prime lens (35mm perhaps) or offering an option for a kit with a more sophisticated lens, as this one does not do the camera full justice.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

6

0

Good all rounder

SEL2870 14 April 2018 by alanealing (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased second hand as a general walk around lens, I am surprisingly pleased with the general sharpness and field of vision of this budget kit lens. Light enough to keep in your bag if you are carrying other lenses that do not cover its range.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great kit lens!

SEL2870 12 November 2017 by Nikonman2u (United Kingdom)

I was not sure about the photographic quality of this lens when I bought it, however having used it it is a great all round lens which I recommend.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Better match for A7II than A7r

SEL2870 01 January 2017 by silkystrings (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works very well on my A7II. Very sharp centre performance. Great general everyday lens. Works even better on an APS-C camera, brilliant on my old NEX5N but of course you loose the wide angle 28mm because of the crop factor. Worth considering if you can find a good price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

4

0

Nice Lens

SEL2870 24 August 2016 by Flycatcher50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens 12 days ago, And I a very pleased with it, It's well made, quite sharp, light and east to carry around, I can recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

3

0

Brilliant optical quality, sturdy build quality

SEL2870 07 July 2016 by Marcusrg66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as an upgrade from apsc and also to have a lighter walk around giving superb image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

The Sony FE 28-70mm F3.5-5.6 A Most Excellent Lens

SEL2870 08 February 2016 by Giggy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Probably the best cheap Kit zoom in the standard short zoom lens kit class, very good value for money, the best thing about this lens is optically very sharp, almost silent, the zoom control feels very positive with a classy feel resistance grip, but above all it takes very good pictures and stable videos, It is very light if you don’t want to carry around too much weight. I would recommend this lens over all the other full frame camera standard kit lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

0

Great Kit Lens

SEL2870 11 October 2015 by nico2002 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens can as part of the A7ii kit and I'am surprised how how good it is especially when stepped down a little, its ideal as a walk around lens so I will be keeping and using on a regular basis.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

0

0

Great value for money

SEL2870 11 July 2015 by SteveInParis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to go with my new Alpha 7 Mk II. It is a step up from usual kit lenses, being solidly built with a good finish, yet remaining compact and relatively light. It is silent & quick in operation, and produces bright, sharp photos. There is bit of vignetting at the 28mm end of the zoom, but nothing really noticeable.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

1

0

Surprising good for a kit lens

SEL2870 07 July 2015 by AAG1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Image quality is very good for a kit lens although it is a little slow thereby limiting low light usage without pushing ISO up.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

fe28-70mm lens

SEL2870 10 April 2015 by Dr Do (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice lens and a good match with the Sony camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Walkabout lens

SEL2870 19 February 2015 by Xweini (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good quality, well balanced with A7. This is the one I keep attached to the camera as a go anywhere lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Sony FE 28-70mm

SEL2870 19 January 2015 by Philegl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic lens, great weight and feel. Good build quality

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Great lens!

SEL2870 06 November 2014 by SandyW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this lens with a new Sony A7. It's great and I have acquired some super images, both landscapes and portraits. Can't see why some people knock it as a "mere kit lens".

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3