FE 20 MM F1.8 G

Product Reviews

MRP

Rs. 89,490

(incl. of all taxes)
19

4.7 based on 19 customer reviews

16
2
0
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

19 Customer Reviews

0

Wow. GMaster class for a fraction of the price.

SEL20F18G 19 January 2022 by Kevastley25 (United Kingdom)

A must in every ca era bag. Sharp, light and rugged build. Sony quality stamped all over it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great results

SEL20F18G 19 January 2022 by Standonman (United Kingdom)

This was a Christmas present to add to my collection of lenses. The results have been very good indeed. The lens is well made and up to G Master standard.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp

SEL20F18G 23 December 2021 by Seeky59 (United Kingdom)

Fabulous lens, edge to edge sharpness, virtually no distortion, excellent bokeh and lightweight. I use it in DMF mode on A7 iv for ultimate focus for all subjects. A joy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A versatile, sharp lens

SEL20F18G 16 October 2021 by BruceC (United Kingdom)

The Sony 20mm f1.8 G is a versatile lens: great for landscape, astrophotography and architecture. It's incredibly sharp, compact and relatively light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Too Sharp !

SEL20F18G 28 September 2021 by HammyUK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is often too sharp , i chose this lens for an all round wide angle landscape lens that was also perfect for astronomy, its light / compact / very high build quality. I personally think it should be priced more in the £825 range due to it no boing a GM lens.

0

1

0

Sharp image

SEL20F18G 25 September 2021 by SURINDER (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my favourite lens on a gimbal the image is much superior. Really impressed. Sharpness and autofocus is amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GM20 1.8 Review

SEL20F18G 13 September 2021 by LDUNN1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A bit of background: I was on the Canon Eos system for 3 decades prior to buying my first Sony (A7R3) at the end of 2017. I have used adapted Eos lenses using the Metabones & Sigma MC11 adapters. I also adapt a wide range of old 'classic' lenses to the Sony camera too. I only bought one Sony native lens, GM85, when I bought the A7R3 as I wanted to have one native lens so I can better judge the camera by & compare to my adapted lenses, I went for the GM85 because its a portrait lens & the A7R3 has eye AF - it would be rude not to have gone for a portrait lens! At the end of 2019 I added the G200-600, which was on a 'double sale'. At the very end of 2020 I added the GM24 having deliberated for a long time between it & the 20 1.8. A focal length of 24mm on full frame/35mm film has always been a strong preference for me photographically, so it got the nod over the 20mm, I purchased when it was also on a 'double sale'. I am biased toward Landscape type of photography, but shoot a bit of everything. I tell you the above to help frame my following comments about the 20mm. Why did I get the 20mm when i had the 24mm? Well, I think there were three 'drivers' for me. I added an A7S3 in the first half of 2021 (separate story), & amongst other things, used it for a vlogging camera when I was out shooting, I obviously used the GM24 for this, but it felt a little too tight when at arms length, especially when using image stablisation which crops in a little. Second, I've also shot the night sky alot over the past decade, with motorised telescopes & cooled mono CCD's etc - full astro imaging rigs. These are computer controlled & once setup & going I then leave them running all night & then get out camera & wide angle lens to shoot nightscapes, both the 20 & 24 are good for this, but the 20 gives a more sky, so arguably is the better option. Thirdly & finally, the G20/1.8 was on a double sale for a few weeks in the summer of 2021 - that was the tipping point for me in a 'now or never' kind of way. The G20/1.8 is perfect on the A7S3 for a vlogging lens, its quite light & a little more compact than the GM24. I also see that I will use it for hiking - both for vlogging the trip & also doubling up as a light weight wide angle landscape lens, & if/when those hikes include an overnight camp, then for nightscape/astro use too. If I am not vlogging, or not needing to hike light, then I would probably take the GM24 as it would be my preference for landscape use. Both a great lenses optically I think, the GM24 does feel slightly better in the hand, more solid/substantial, but the G20 being lighter & feeling 'less solid' as a result is both a pro & a con. Just waiting for the Sony 14/1.8 to be on double sale now ;-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL20F18G 10 July 2021 by gabi57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the lens. Excellent results. Very simple handling and incomparable quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp!

SEL20F18G 10 July 2021 by Kev239 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with this lens. Takes very sharp images and perfect for landscape work. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sony 20mm f1.8 waste of money

SEL20F18G 19 April 2021 by Ram101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

expensive lens, its actually quite bulky on A7R IV with lens hood. Quality is ok for a lens costing 950 pounds. I have seen fantastic quality from other lenses such as Voigtlander, leica. This lens is not in their league.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

13

0

Sony - FE 20mm F1.8 G

SEL20F18G 07 April 2021 by TMAK333333 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not had this long but i am impressed . Very well put together and very light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good equipment

SEL20F18G 12 March 2021 by Lifestylemaddie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recommend to anyone who already has a base as a camera, it is enough to buy a lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best landscape astrophotography lens made

SEL20F18G 03 February 2021 by _dan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

tack sharp, lightweight, image quality is crazy good couldn't ask for more for my use(astrophotography)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Excelent glass

SEL20F18G 30 January 2021 by SR_S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The combination of FOV and aperture is an excellent choice for landscape photography. Combined with 7S series, it creates magical night sky sceneries.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Sharp But Maybe Expensive?

SEL20F18G 10 December 2020 by ItchyPong (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very sharp not too big for a full frame lens but it is quite pricey. Maybe the 16-35mm f2.8 G would be a better option if you don't need the f1.8 and want more for you money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Who needs a G Master

SEL20F18G 27 August 2020 by supertaf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this lens only a short time but I am very impressed with the clarity and sharpness of this lens. I have not really used wide angled lens in the past as I tend to shoot wildlife but had nothing to shoot wide vistas hence the purchase. This is a stunning lens for the price and am glad that I did not buy the 24mm f1.4 GM as I feel I am getting 95% of that lens and saving several hundred pounds. Unless you are absolute pixel peeper the 20mm F1.8 is a must have for your photos. I should also say that it is ridiculously light and compact so it makes a good travel lens as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

incredible resolution and focus

SEL20F18G 27 July 2020 by mapy1 (United Kingdom)

I am delighted with this lens. It is very light, takes super sharp photos even wide open, and has a very fast focusing with my a7III. I love the aperture ring - so easy to use, with a helpful de-clicking switch for smooth and silent video use. It is a little hard to see how this lens wasn't graded as a GM lens - it certainly benefits from lots of GM type features, and it is really brilliant value for its quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Fantastic lens

SEL20F18G 23 May 2020 by Mr Marvo (United Kingdom)

Got this lens only a few days ago, and although the coronavirus lock down means that subjects are very limited, I can tell that this is going to be a fantastic addition to the Sony lens range for the A7 Mk 2

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

3

0

Outstanding Lens

SEL20F18G 24 March 2020 by Alstomping (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this lens for a couple of weeks and have fallen in love with it Very high quality - small and light - amazing sharpness,corner to corner - I also really like this focal length - no real distortion I can see . Great features - love the clickable aperture,and manual focus switch. I think it is/will be a classic lens ! Highly Recommended !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0