MRP

Rs. 51,990

(incl. of all taxes)
30

4.7 based on 30 customer reviews

24
4
0
2
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

Most Helpful Positive
0

Take Everywhere Lens

SEL1670Z 05 December 2014  (United Kingdom)

Been using for a couple of months now and delighted with the overall image quality and functionality of this lens. Bigger and heavier than the Sony kit zoom lens, but attached to such a small light weight camera as the A6000, this is hardly an issue. I have a few prime lenses too, but short of macro facility... this lens gives me pretty much all I need for day to day travel photography... even used in studio for portraiture and product shots and the results were crisp with excellent colour clarity when processed through Lightroom as raw file. The native jpegs are fabulous too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Average performance high price

SEL1670Z 10 November 2018 by David_newcastle (United Kingdom)

Starting with positives, build quality is superb, the look and feel of using this lens is fantastic. The zeiss colour is great too. However the optics on this are very poor. Edge sharpness is very bad wide open and barely passable stopped down. It is actually outperformed by the kit lens in a number of situations. For the price this is a very disappointing lens which I don’t expect to be keeping for long

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

30 Customer Reviews

0

Produces wonderfully natural looking images

SEL1670Z 07 September 2019 by Buddhamakessense (United Kingdom)

This lens isn't known for its sharpness, and often gets bad reviews by those who are slaves to fashion and tests that have no real world relevance. It's not soft; it's just not razor sharp. People focus on razor sharpness because it's unnatural...we don't notice such details with our own eyes, day to day, and so it gives us a sense of the exotic. But if you're focusing on skin pores, you're not really looking at the picture are you? Pictures from this lens draw your eye to the subject instead, and the luxury of light and colour surrounding it. The micro-contrast and smooth colour gradients give a wonderful sense of depth. Its representation of light and colour is natural in a way that other zoom lenses for APS-C E-Mount can't match, and can render a scene more real than razor sharpness ever will.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Absolutely delighted

SEL1670Z 04 March 2019 by Rae58 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens over a month ago to replace the kit lens supplied with my Sony a6300. Am absolutely thrilled with it as photos are much sharper and the zoom gives me greater versatility for taking pictures. It was very expensive but I can't see any need for another lens in the 16-70mm range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Average performance high price

SEL1670Z 10 November 2018 by David_newcastle (United Kingdom)

Starting with positives, build quality is superb, the look and feel of using this lens is fantastic. The zeiss colour is great too. However the optics on this are very poor. Edge sharpness is very bad wide open and barely passable stopped down. It is actually outperformed by the kit lens in a number of situations. For the price this is a very disappointing lens which I don’t expect to be keeping for long

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sharp lens

SEL1670Z 31 July 2018 by Naughty Nige (United Kingdom)

Bought yesterday to complement A6300 Camera and my Hobby.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Small size and quality pictures

SEL1670Z 02 July 2018 by Maurice 45 (United Kingdom)

Had the lens only a few weeks but I would recommend it, quality is very good, small in size and picture quality excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharp Images

SEL1670Z 27 June 2018 by JakBux (United Kingdom)

Great lens to travel around with on the sony a6000 compact and sharp across the board

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My Zoom... oooOO

SEL1670Z 19 May 2018 by Naboo (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago along with an A6500 cameea. So far very impressed. Only criticism so far is the lack if a lock.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Review for Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm F4 ZA OSS

SEL1670Z 24 March 2018 by Rochebois (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens three months ago.It has performed superbly well.The only draw back is an absence of a macro setting.This is an odd omission on a £700+ lens, this is the only reason why i am not awarding it 5 stars.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great universal lens

SEL1670Z 27 January 2018 by billhg (United Kingdom)

I have only had the camera & lens for about 2 weeks, but I am just learning to use it, however this lens has a great zoom range, perfect for keeping on the camera as a standard lens. The fact it is f4 through its zoom length means it is ideal for low light photography. It is pin sharp right to the edge& the telephoto end is great for distance shots & even half way is perfect for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A great lens, not in size, but in every other way.

SEL1670Z 14 December 2017 by Paolo the Snapper (United Kingdom)

My taste in photography is wide and after ditching my life-long camera manufacturer in favour of Sony, I needed a lens for my new a6500 which would give me options for Landscape, Street, and above all, Portrait photography. One of my big asks was for a lens which isn’t too big as on holiday I want to carry it around all day in a coat pocket or small bag. I also needed a lens which can focus quickly and accurately in order to take great pictures of my grandchildren, particularly as my current compact camera (not Sony) fails miserably as it is so slow - by the time I have pressed the shutter the children are out the door! I've only had the a6500 and this lens for less than a couple of weeks but I've already taken hundreds of pictures, all so far indoors and mainly of the grandchildren. The results are extremely pleasing. The lens copes with multiple shots well, and the images are very sharp. Only yesterday I was reviewing some shots and was amazed as to how much I can crop without any degradation of image quality. The 16-70mm zoom range is very good too and is just about right for my needs as it goes from a 35mm full frame equivalent of 24mm at the wide end to a portrait pleasing 105mm at the other. Finally, colour rendition is very good and my pictures look very pleasing. Although it isn’t a cheap lens, I chose to buy it in favour of the kit lens often sold with the a6500. I am very pleased I did and I know that moving to Sony has been a good decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A quality product

SEL1670Z 28 November 2017 by mamba20 (United Kingdom)

Not had it long, but the balance and feel on my A6000 is great and the telephoto action is very smooth and quiet. Results to date just what I expected. Look forward to putting t through its paces

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mixed results

SEL1670Z 27 August 2017 by Micha2 (United Kingdom)

This is an expensive lens with many pretensions. It doesn't live up to them. There are mechanical problems in that the zoom ring is sticky in use but still slides out when carrying the camera. The stated zoom range is 16 to 70 mm but it isn't possible to use the 16 mm setting due to poor edge definition. This puts the range at 24 - 70 mm. This edge definition situation is not what would be expected from Carl Zeiss and puts the lens on a par with cheaper alternatives. I have now used it for around 1500 - 2000 images.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

8

4

0

Light and easy to use

SEL1670Z 23 July 2017 by Nonick (United Kingdom)

Bought from the Sony Centre in Carlisle where I received excellent customer service and advice on the use of this lens. I have now had the lens for three weeks and I am very pleased with the sharpness of the photographs and the fast focusing of the lens. Although it is not a macro lens it does produce excellent close up pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2

0

Good all round lens

SEL1670Z 19 July 2017 by JAM13 (United Kingdom)

Had this a few weeks now and it takes Sharp photos and I use it as my "walk Around" lens. All was ready to take a shot. Just wish it had Power Zoom with in the price of this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Sony Vario-Tessar 16-70mm F4 Zoom lens

SEL1670Z 03 June 2017 by Chrispen4 (United Kingdom)

I have only had this lens about 2 weeks but the pictures I have taken are so sharply focussed - almost unbelievable!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Good quality, good range

SEL1670Z 24 May 2017 by fiftysixa (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens, build quality good, crippling price the only negative

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Nice lens

SEL1670Z 03 November 2016 by Jeremyg (United Kingdom)

I bought this with a A6300 to replace a large DSLR that didn't shoot video. Since I was intending to use it more for video than stills the smoothness of the zoom was important but I found it was pretty graunchy, also the lens suffered from shocking chromatic aberration, and this from a lens with Zeiss glass? Surely not! After a couple of weeks I thought this simply can't be right and took it back to the dealer - who swapped it out immediately and cheerfully. The replacement has a silky smooth zoom and I have seen no aberration since, though I haven't been forensic about it yet! The fact that f4.0 is available throughout the zoom range is great for video, not massively fast for stills work and sometimes I would like to be able to get a shallower depth of field, but as a first lens for the camera I find it a very good compromise. (I use my previous camera's 35mm/f1.8 for critical fast or shallow images on an adapter mount). It is light, the zoom doesn't slide about when pointing the camera down (my previous camera's zoom did). I happily recommend it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

4

0

Fantastic sharp and fast lens

SEL1670Z 18 April 2016 by TerminalUnit (United Kingdom)

Brought this on the advice of my dad and glad I did, it is a fantastic sharp and fast lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Early days but the lens is proving top notch

SEL1670Z 29 October 2015 by Scouser38 (United Kingdom)

Only had the Sony 16-70 for a few weeks, having made the move to the CSC platform recently. The lens has proved to be on par with my L series Canon glass it seems as sharp and is extremely quick focusing with no hunting. I'd certainly recommend this as an essential piece of glass to have on your A6000.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

3

0

Excellent lens which covers a lot of bases

SEL1670Z 31 May 2015 by Silverscreen (United Kingdom)

I bought this because I wanted the low light capability throughout the zoom range and also because of the very positive reviews I'd read online about it. I've had it a couple of weeks and shot landscapes and portraits so far - I'm delighted with the sharpness and quality of the images. It offers wide angle and a decent zoom for walkabout purposes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

A great all round lens...

SEL1670Z 20 May 2015 by roryo (United Kingdom)

Excellent picture quality and compact. Perfect for when you only want to carry the camera and one universal lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

A very good match to the Nex-7.

SEL1670Z 29 March 2015  (United Kingdom)

I had a clear objective when I bought this lens. I wanted to achieve a lighter compact camera with a performance similar to my full frame SLR. I think I have done that. I am very impressed with the results. It is very sharp, enabling heavy cropping if required . overall it requires less adjustment in light room & gives very good colour rendering. It is also helpful to me that it covers the same range as my canon EF 24-105L f4 & its much lighter to carry about ! . Altogether a brilliant lens if rather expensive

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

4

0

Fantastic Lense

SEL1670Z 16 January 2015 by Cast a giant shadow (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens about a month ago and it is now my main lens for my A6000. The quality of the images is excellent making full use of the A6000's 24mp and the images are sharp - The build quality is great too. I highly recommend this lens to anyone with a Sony Nex, A6000 or A5000.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

1

0

Fab!

SEL1670Z 05 January 2015 by Hnetting (United Kingdom)

Fab lens which is as fantastic as the reviewers say. Is expensive it worth it for one really good lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Take Everywhere Lens

SEL1670Z 05 December 2014  (United Kingdom)

Been using for a couple of months now and delighted with the overall image quality and functionality of this lens. Bigger and heavier than the Sony kit zoom lens, but attached to such a small light weight camera as the A6000, this is hardly an issue. I have a few prime lenses too, but short of macro facility... this lens gives me pretty much all I need for day to day travel photography... even used in studio for portraiture and product shots and the results were crisp with excellent colour clarity when processed through Lightroom as raw file. The native jpegs are fabulous too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Sony Zeiss 16-70

SEL1670Z 08 November 2014 by johnnyfb (United Kingdom)

Bought a while ago as a replacement for the 16-50 kit lens, which although compact is a bit "soft" for more high quality use. The Zeiss lens is amazingly sharp and the colour transmission is excellent, clearly very pleased with this lens so far, obviously this is an expensive lens but you do get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Cracking little lens

SEL1670Z 04 November 2014 by keefiman (United Kingdom)

you'll read a lot on the web about this lens. Lots photoistas waxing about soft corners etc. We'll I've been a Olympus & Contax user in the past and a Nikon user for 30 years and this is a great lens! If you have an 'a' series Sony with an E mount you must have a Zeiss lens - and this is the most versatile one in a VERY limited range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

1

0

Sharp lens

SEL1670Z 09 October 2014 by Pauld77 (United Kingdom)

I've had this lens for about a year. It has a useful zoom range and it is sharp even at maximum aperture. Definitely worth the money.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

First thoughts on Sony 16-70mm e-mount lens

SEL1670Z 05 August 2014  (United Kingdom)

Whilst it is early days, I am very pleased with the images I have taken with this lens on my Sony 6000. The sharpness, clarity and colour output appears to be significantly better than the kit lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Great lens

SEL1670Z 23 June 2014 by Ruadhan (United Kingdom)

Finding this lens a great companion to my a6000, it hardly comes off the camera! Crisp sharp photos with a solid sturdy build.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0