FE 135mm F1.8 GM

Product Reviews

MRP

Rs. 185,990

(incl. of all taxes)
20

4.8 based on 20 customer reviews

17
2
0
1
0
Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

20 Customer Reviews

0

What's all the fuss about

SEL135F18GM 21 March 2022 by Minolta4me (United Kingdom)

135mm has an historic interest for anyone who used to shoot film [allegedly the longest lens you could focus on a rangefinder] but has not interested me till I was invited to photograph dance practice. The low stage lighting used meant even my 70-200 GM f2.8 would struggle to freeze motion without resorting to even higher ISO. The lenses ability to separate the subject from the background, to make colours "pop" and its speed of Auto Focus will all be tested to the limits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

The sharpest lens I have ever used.

SEL135F18GM 30 January 2022 by Swanni (United Kingdom)

This lens has not left my camera since I got it. It is soo sharp even wide open. Gives you complete control over depth of field. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Pin sharp

SEL135F18GM 07 December 2021 by Peter 112 (United Kingdom)

I usually work in very low light and love this lens, it’s pin sharp wide open, giving an image quality similar to medium format.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharp Lens

SEL135F18GM 13 October 2021 by JohnWildlife (United Kingdom)

This is one of the sharpest 135 lenses on the market. This lense is exceptionally good for portrait photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Poorly constructed

SEL135F18GM 13 October 2021  (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens a few months ago have hardly used it but the front ring has fallen off so I am unable to attach filters or a lens hood. It is a very flimsy ring that is apparently glued in place. I Took it back to shop where I bought it they said it will take 1 - 2 weeks to repair under guarantee even longer if it is sent back to Sony. (They kindly offered to rent me one in the meantime.) I am a TV cameraman, and have been for 30 years, I use this lens on a Sony FX9 camera as the auto focus is extraordinary, far better than me. However in my 30 year career I have never had a lens fall apart on me and until now I have never used Sony lenses. In my work I require my equipment to be reliable and rugged. I also require a decent after sales service neither of which seem to come with this lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Sharp Sharp Fast Fast

SEL135F18GM 13 October 2021 by iZaZA (United Kingdom)

This is the sharpest lens I have ever used, solid build and amazing bokeh

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic Sharpness , even at maximum aperture

SEL135F18GM 13 October 2021 by BobRriach (United Kingdom)

I have an range of Sony’s premium lenses and I am very impress with Sony’s optics. The FE 135mm F1.8 GM is one of the most impressive with its amazing sharpness and gorgeous bokeh. This is likely to appeal strongly to portrait and wedding photographers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

impresive picture quality

SEL135F18GM 13 October 2021 by mishko (United Kingdom)

I have seen reviews before purchasing the lens but it blows my mind every time I use it and see results. It reproduces the light and clarity to a new level and I own some very sharp Sony lenses

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Brilliant Lens

SEL135F18GM 30 September 2021 by alans220 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best lens I have ever used, the most expensive lens I have ever bought, but worth it...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens

SEL135F18GM 26 September 2021 by Aaronuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this over a month ago and it’s the best lens i own

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning lens - pity about the Cashback terms

SEL135F18GM 24 June 2021 by Harstoner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a stellar lens - possibly the best in terms of sharpness, contrast, colour accuracy and AF that I have ever used in more than 50 years of photographic activity. My only gripe is that Sony ask you to disfigure the box in order to claim the Cashback. This affects the resale value of the lens and significantly reduces the attractiveness of the Cashback offer. Shame on you Sony! Canon and Fuji, brands from whom I have also claimed Cashbacks, don't ask for such ridiculous conditions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Extremely sharp and auto-docus is unbelievably fas

SEL135F18GM 03 December 2020 by Papayaw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this less than a month ago and I'm blown away by quality of pictures from this lens. This is the best lens I've used up to date.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Well engineered & razor sharp.

SEL135F18GM 29 October 2020 by Col278 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently purchased, initial impressions are very positive. Solid, well engineered lens and while pretty heavy it balances well on an A7Riii. Very comfortable to use. AF is very quick & accurate; MF mode is also a pleasure to use. Images appear razor sharp, even wide open at at minimum focus distance (manual); bokeh is amazing (better than my Zeiss Batis 85mm/f2). Although expensive, I have no regrets in buying this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL135F18GM 13 July 2020 by CeeJaySee (United Kingdom)

I am very surprised that the lens switches are so stiff. This is not the case on any other of my Sony lenses. I have also seen this mentioned elsewhere on the internet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

This lens is a game changer!

SEL135F18GM 06 June 2020 by Mono135 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After starting my Sony journey with a second hand A6000 and kit lens(which is a great camera by the way, but has its limits ) I was itching to step up to a full frame body and lens, and a more capable prime lens as well. After much research I decided on the A7R3 body and because of the high 42.2 mp resolution, I wanted to pair it with an equally good lens. Because I shoot a lot of outdoor, full body portrait for my website, I needed crisp images and bokeh, from a distance, as I wanted a certain look for my product photography. The images are just unbelievable and the clarity and sharpness of the subject, in full frame and in crop is staggering. Drawbacks, while there are not many, you will have to stand quite a distance from the subject to get top to toe in the frame, so you'll need plenty of space. Also one thing to keep in mind is its a big lens(weighs a bit too) and with the hood attached, which is always attached its even bigger, so don't expect to be discreet. To conclude, if you have the money and a good camera body(so it can play to its potential) I wouldn't even think twice. It doesn't matter if you're a pro or intermediate, it will transform the appearance of your photos and the satisfaction from looking at the raw images is worth the price of admission. Believe all the hype, this lens really is a game changer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Simply Stunning

SEL135F18GM 17 February 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this Lens not only for studio work, but also for creating shallow depth of field for Street Time Lapse. It's such a creative lens and fulfils my thought process in every way possible. The click free aperture ring is a gem when ramping exposures and slick enough not to move camera during shoot on my motorised head. If you're thinking of moving to Sony, this would be a very good excuse.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Much more than a portrait lens

SEL135F18GM 28 January 2020 by Chasdog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using this a month in my sports imaging. It was bought primarily for portrait work and weddings but is actually a real joy for sports, My only gripe would be more to do with me than the lens. I have large hands and perrenially use long lenses with plenty of room to support the lens without fouling the focus or aperture rings. Quite tricky on this lens especially in gloves but I am impressed by the way it feels in the hand, the solid build quality and excellent images especially in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Sharp as a razor!

SEL135F18GM 10 January 2020 by Stopher77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I decided to purchase this lens as I wanted a telephoto low aperture lens and traded in my Sony FE 70-200 F/4. Wow! What a purchase. This lens is razor sharp even wide open. This is marketed as a portrait lens, however, I have seen incredible results using it for landscapes paired with my Sony A7 III. My only minor issue is the weight, although, it is reassuringly heavy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

1

0

Faultless

SEL135F18GM 16 October 2019 by Chimneyfinder (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very fine lens. The sharpness is incredible and impressive for maintaining such a high level not only through the aperture range but from close to far distances. Focus speed is at a pro level response. Resistance to flare, ghosting, veil, etc. is very high. The weight and size comes with the design capability so it would be fatuous to criticise it for this. Really, I can not say that this lens is lacking in any department and very few lenses would achieve this in my experience. I have this lens (it is the longest lens I own) as it sits in the mid range of a 70-200mm, and it covers what I want as a telephoto. As I go out walking for a whole day the f2.8 zoom would need a larger bag and it can start to feel heavy. Apart from that the 135 is an absolute joy to use and, being used to prime lenses for 40 years, framing isn't an issue, it suits my eye. I am delighted and fortunate to have such a great lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Beautiful lens

SEL135F18GM 29 July 2019 by Doug75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unbelievably sharp lens. The Eye AF tracks perfectly for portraits even in low light. The two focus hold buttons instead of the one is very useful when rotating the camera for portraits. The lens is expensive but you get what you pay for with the G master lens. Very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0