MRP

Rs. 205,990

(incl. of all taxes)
39

4.8 based on 39 customer reviews

33
6
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries

39 Customer Reviews

0

Switch to Mirrorless

SEL100400GM 18 June 2020 by Stew8351 (United Kingdom)

I chose this lens as it was the best choice for me to purchase along with the a7lll. I am delighted with the image quality and the Sony products have boosted my photographic experience. Still experimenting and enjoying the new learning curve.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An excellent lens, with good features.

SEL100400GM 11 June 2020 by Bones1945 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens for wildlife filming. I usually work underwater with macro subjects, so land wildlife with a zoom was something very new. This lens has not disappointed, it is easy to use and not too heavy. So far the images and video I have produced are better than I had expected. It maybe sometime before I can get back under warm waters, so I will have fun with this lens in the meantime.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

On location shooting Eagles

SEL100400GM 13 February 2020 by Euphman (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to take on a wildlife trip to Norway in January. I have the 100-400 but needed a little extra distance and did not want a ‘trombone’ mechanism to zoom. The lens was easy to transport and was no problem with my carry on back pack with airlines. Temperature on location was not extreme, -4degrees with snow and some showers. No problems with the lens functioning at all. I used the lens on a fixed gamble, hand held and in a boat across several Fjords. There were no problems using the lens hand held, the eye tracking and focusing was exceptional. My hit rates increased considerably with pin sharp images. I am very pleased with my purchase and the images I managed to take. An excellent lens for this type of shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Very versatile lens

SEL100400GM 29 August 2019  (United Kingdom)

I recently bought this lens after lots of thought and I'm so glad I did, I previously had the 70-200 and x2 converter but this 100-400 is a much sharper option its not too heavy for the range either, ideal for hiking with your 24-70 and have everything covered

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Quality Lens

SEL100400GM 25 July 2019 by Cordless (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens two weeks used on the A7 iii pleased with results without a doubt a quality lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Fast focusing

SEL100400GM 20 July 2019 by Davey445 (United Kingdom)

Bought this - replacing my Canon 5DMk3 camera with A7Mk3 and Canon equivalent 100-400 Mk2 lens. For me - as a wildlife photographer - focus acquisition time / speed / accuracy is key. My new Sony camera + lens combination meets all my needs, plus providing a “complete integrated package” with following additional benefits . . . . . . ** superb sensor performance, not seen on Canon SLR cameras ** excellent low light capture, matching any SLR performance ** superior focus tracking ** burst shot rate equivalent only to expensive SLRs. ** small, light & compact camera footprint / unlike this lens which is solid but weighty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

A brilliant lens, excellent quality and optics

SEL100400GM 13 July 2019 by PatJF69 (United Kingdom)

I have been upgrading my system to full format and this lens completed the upgrade. It was an excellent choice. A very good lens optics and response are very good, tracking with the A7iii is superb. This gives me the longer focal options for the photo choices I make. Excellent lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Another superb lens

SEL100400GM 22 June 2019 by Broono (United Kingdom)

Superb quality both in build and image. Perfect companion for my A7r3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Compact and sharp

SEL100400GM 22 June 2019 by aamirsab (United Kingdom)

Bought a couple of weeks back to give me extra reach

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Masterful lens

SEL100400GM 29 May 2019 by JulianS (United Kingdom)

A very good all-round lens as well as excellent performance as a telephoto lens. Versatile and adaptable in a range of conditions. Image quality produced is excellent and I am very pleased with it so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Incredible lens

SEL100400GM 21 May 2019 by angelsodyssey (United Kingdom)

I recently switched from Canon to Sony but kept all my Canon L lenses. I was so impressed with my A7RIII that I sold all my good lenses for the 100-400mm GM – I am not disappointed! This lens is super sharp and the focusing is very fast. I mainly photograph wildlife and this lens is perfect for the sort of environments I photograph (mainly around ponds and woodland). The OSS seems to work very well, and I have no problem shooting at 400mm handheld. Having the programmable button(s) on the barrel is fantastic and it is great being able to have focus lock right where I am holding the lens. The only downside is the colour (not the best for wildlife photography), but thankfully there are third party neoprene camouflage sets available. While it is an expensive lens, you get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Fast focus & pin sharp

SEL100400GM 10 May 2019 by JLS1 (United Kingdom)

Delighted with the quality and performance of this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Excellent image quality

SEL100400GM 11 April 2019 by Photo2001 (United Kingdom)

Had this some time, excellent image quality, fast focus, well made. Expensive but good things are.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Superlative

SEL100400GM 20 March 2019 by Steveah (United Kingdom)

Phenomenal long distance image quality when paired with my A7Rii I have been a keen photographer for over 30 years, using some seriously good kit and this lens still managed to blow me away with its results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

great quality

SEL100400GM 13 March 2019 by merlot (United Kingdom)

it has improved my photography know end and renewed my enthusiasm

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Very sharp and fast

SEL100400GM 11 March 2019 by Jellybelly1960 (United Kingdom)

The first time I used this lens I was shocked on how sharp and fast it was the lens produces great quality images and well worth the price I paid I would definitely recommend this lense

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Outstanding sharpness from a super telephoto

SEL100400GM 26 February 2019 by DavidHogg (United Kingdom)

I've used the original Canon 100-400 lens before and always knew that its sweet spot was around f/8 or thereabouts ... but by contrast this lens seems to be razor sharp wide open at any focal length! It's truly astonishing ... the sharpness at f/5.6 at 400mm is as good as you'd get with a 400mm prime. If you can afford it, go for it, there's no way you will be disappointed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Good

SEL100400GM 22 February 2019 by worldaviation4k (United Kingdom)

I like the sharp and clear quality. I used it on my Tokyo Haneda Airport live streams at night time (the ones that look brighter as i used to switch sometimes to my camcorder) for my worldaviation4k channel

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL100400GM 19 February 2019 by dnfb (United Kingdom)

This lens is focuses very quickly and has amazing resolution

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Great

SEL100400GM 16 February 2019 by kimkim90 (United Kingdom)

Is a great great just expensiv I recommend to evryone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Sharp and clear at times

SEL100400GM 16 February 2019 by Go britexit (United Kingdom)

I changed my set up from a canon to Sony last year. Generally you can get some really sharp images with this lens, yet one of the most frustrating parts I find as it’s a variable length same with the Canon L series variable lens, is that that it doesn’t hold securely when you change the length of the lens. The lens is quite heavy to compliment the mirrorless range of full frame cameras.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Ultra fast to focus and tack sharp even at 400mm

SEL100400GM 10 February 2019 by DMTh (United Kingdom)

Sharp at every length, and super fast to focus when paired with my A9, this is a very versatile tele zoom. It's great for picking out detail in general shooting as well as the obvious use in wildlife and sport. No compromises here!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A super lens, right in there and as sharp as a pin

SEL100400GM 03 December 2018 by Mark Poly (United Kingdom)

A lot sharper than the Zeiss lens that I bought with the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

superb lens.

SEL100400GM 19 October 2018 by Frank171 (United Kingdom)

Always had a 200mm lens but upgraded to the 100-400 cant rate it enough, super fast and pin sharp focusing, a superb companion for the A7riii. Amazing results, and very acceptable with the 2x converter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fabulous resolution and clarity

SEL100400GM 14 October 2018 by MarkM (United Kingdom)

Very impressed, even with the 1.4 teleconverter, image sharpness and focussing is impressive

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL100400GM 27 September 2018 by Mel1of4 (United Kingdom)

I use with a7rii and have added 1.4xs converter. Reducing to APC delivers as much as 896mm focal length at f8. Autofocus can still cope and I have good results. The lens is even manageable hand held. Do not be greedy and go for 2xs converter unless you have the a9. A7 and 2xs will drop to f11 and you will be manually focusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great Lens

SEL100400GM 31 August 2018 by Bob_Riach (United Kingdom)

Great lens works well with the A9 still waiting fro the 1.4 extension the lens is also not heavy to carry

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Brilliant for wildlife.

SEL100400GM 28 July 2018 by Robonova (United Kingdom)

Just the job for nature walks because you can use it for distant birds etc. or because it focuses so close at 400mm macro's of butterflies etc. & its light as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast and sharp lens for action photography.

SEL100400GM 06 July 2018 by BikeVisionScotland (United Kingdom)

Used this lens for the first time for action-shots four days ago. The results are amazing, even when used during sunset. All at 400mm f5.6 1/1000sec ISO640.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

0

Super sharp lens

SEL100400GM 17 June 2018 by Humfan1943 (United Kingdom)

An expensive but high quality lens that works well with the Alpha A7R3 giving good auto focus performance and good sharpness, colour rendition and contrast. Works well with the 2x converter. A good lens for wildlifeif you can afford it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Amazing lens. Far better than my previous 600mm

SEL100400GM 15 June 2018 by Maaggiem (United Kingdom)

The best lens I have bought. Picture quality and sharpness is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Top Class

SEL100400GM 01 May 2018  (United Kingdom)

Best super telephoto zoom for your E-mount Sony. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sports and wildlife lens

SEL100400GM 20 April 2018 by Chutch (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens together with the 2x extender for most of my nature and distance work as it is an ideal combination ie a 200-800mm lens. I am well pleased with this purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Exceeds expectations

SEL100400GM 09 April 2018 by G1ITV (United Kingdom)

Tremendous capability for hand held use in Bird photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic IQ

SEL100400GM 08 April 2018 by Viramati (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens mostly for landscape use and I have to say that the IQ that it delivers even at wide open apertures across the frame is simply stunning. Focus is very fast and silent and is still good in low light on the A7rIII. Build quality would appear to be excellent and all the controls are well placed. It is not a small or light lens but that is to be expected. My only serious issue with it is that they have not included a zoom lock as my 70-300 G lens had and this means that even when set to the 'tight' position front of the lens can extend if it is hung at your side and you are walking about. There are work arounds to solve this but I would have thought that on a GM lens they would have thought of this. Apart from this it is indeed worthy of the GM rating and though expensive (as all Sony lenses are) I am happy to have it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best Buy

SEL100400GM 06 February 2018 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom)

Hard to believe that this is a 100-400mm lens the weight is great after having had other manufacturers.Using it on a A7mk2 not the fastest but at the moment suits my needs.If you have the A9 I envy you because this would be stellar if you can afford it go for it you will not regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great quality Lens and perfect weight.

SEL100400GM 06 January 2018 by Topper1 (United Kingdom)

At last a 400mm lens I can use with my Sony Alpha 6500.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Excellent Quality Lens

SEL100400GM 11 December 2017 by Barbara_L (United Kingdom)

Owned the lens for about a month and have done quite a bit of hand held bird life and surfing photos. I am delighted with the quality at all focal lengths. Only negatives are the price, which is the most I have ever spent on a lens, and the weight, but I guess without that the quality of construction wouldn't be possible. Am yet to try it on the tripod.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Superb quality

SEL100400GM 09 September 2017 by MicroPete (United Kingdom)

I have been waiting for this lens for some time and the wait was worth it, fantastic optical quality and also excellent with a 2x, the only negatives for me is at f40 the images show any dust on the sensor and the A9 really attracts dust and there is an issue with manual focus when using back button focusing, I have highlighted to Sony and it should be fixed with a firmware update (the problem is not on the 70-200), still really love this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0