MRP

Rs. 229,490

(incl. of all taxes)
69

4.8 based on 69 customer reviews

58
11
0
0
0
Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

69 Customer Reviews

0

superb sharpness

SEL100400GM 26 July 2022 by rcstewart (United Kingdom)

I bought this one month ago and have been using it on my a9 have not managed to take an out of focus shot absolutely superb lens

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding optics

SEL100400GM 17 May 2022 by Mdanger217 (United Kingdom)

Incredibly sharp, very fast focus, good minimal focus distance. The G Master delivers everything it promises, but you do have to pay for it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality engineering, OK IQ

SEL100400GM 19 March 2022 by andrew23920 (United Kingdom)

This lens is wonderfully well-designed and built and relatively small and light. It produces outstanding images from an A7R4 at 100mm from wide open. At 400mm it can produce very sharp images in evenly lit scenes. My copy suffers from veiling if there are highlights in the scene, with loss of contrast. I'm assuming that the coatings are not fully up to the GM label and price.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Telephoto Capability

SEL100400GM 07 March 2022 by D8rters (United Kingdom)

I have recently moved from A mount to E mount and required a telephoto zoom lens, as I like landscape, sports and moving objects like birds. So I chose this lens as it it had everthng that I required. It is just a fantastic lens with great zoom capability

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful lens that Delivers

SEL100400GM 26 February 2022  (United Kingdom)

I knew this lens was good and since its purchase it has exceeded all my expectations, a wonderfully sharp cary around all day lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb image quality

SEL100400GM 29 January 2022 by Roscarrack (United Kingdom)

What a super lens, it's done everything I’ve asked of it. If it wasn’t that I need more reach sometimes I would leave it on the camera all the time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great image quality

SEL100400GM 10 December 2021 by Rickblue (United Kingdom)

First impressions, using it with my Sony A7R111, razor sharp images at all focal lengths, focusing fast and accurate. The lens feels well balanced and relatively light considering it’s size. Seems easy to use handheld but I use it mostly on a monopod, my only criticism would be the tripod foot doesn’t have a Swiss Arca fitting requiring the purchase of a suitable plate. Quality of the lens appears great but I can’t comment on durability having only had it a short while, overall I think this is a great lens and anyone taking the time to use it properly certainly wouldn’t regret the purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL100400GM 15 November 2021 by HappySnapper13 (United Kingdom)

This lens gives bitingly sharp with images and produces good Bokeh. I don't find the focussing as good as I had hoped from reading reviews beforehand

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pin sharp

SEL100400GM 17 October 2021 by Kempy (United Kingdom)

This is a quality lens giving pin sharp images throughout the zoom range. It is also excellent to use as a macro lens, and also works well with the 1.4 converter. It isn't the lightest lens but I have no problem carrying it all day on a black rapid strap.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great images

SEL100400GM 14 October 2021 by Ncarter (United Kingdom)

I bought this product during lockdown, I’ve had some really good quality images

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super travel lens

SEL100400GM 13 October 2021 by Alsads (United Kingdom)

I tend to use this lens for holiday as it’s a great all rounder. Close focusing down to around a metre so excellent for butterflies and dragonflies too. Not to heavy and pretty compact but too expensive for what it is.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All rounder.

SEL100400GM 13 October 2021 by JohnWildlife (United Kingdom)

This lens gives you the versatility to take close ups from a distance and to capture also things at a distance like wildlife.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb image quality

SEL100400GM 13 October 2021 by TobyG (United Kingdom)

I've used this lens for over a year now on the A7RIV and A9 Mark II and it's been superb on both cameras. Image quality is excellent, great sharpness with very nice rendering. Autofocus is very snappy and accurate. My only niggle with this lens is that it does not have a zoom lock, and even with the zoom ring set to "tight" the lens does suffer lens creep (zoom extends) when walking around with the camera and lens on a sling strap. Oh, it would nicer if it was lighter too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Lens

SEL100400GM 13 October 2021 by Val50 (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens for a couple of months now and really love using it. It takes amazing photographs. One of the reasons I bought this lens was because it is so light and I have not been disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY G Master 100-400mm personal account

SEL100400GM 13 October 2021 by HEWRPS (United Kingdom)

I love this lens, because of its build, quality, reach and size/weight. Not very happy with tightener ring, as the lens tends to drop in or out, depending on position. Also, would be nice having a lock. Ideally would be internal zooming, to avoid all this. Maybe in the next version.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Expensive, but worth the price.

SEL100400GM 22 September 2021 by Tchitchikof (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm still getting used to it, since I'm not really strong in tele photography, but so far I've enjoyed it a lot. The glass is clear and sharp and the hardware is silent, so it's very convenient for video as well. The only downside is that it's very heavy, but bear in mind it's aimed for professional use (which I am not).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

An absolutely stunning lens

SEL100400GM 09 September 2021 by jderyk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this lens after asking a friend who has one his reply was "you will not regret owning it". He was not wrong this lens is the best I've owned. It is just outstanding. Sharpe, fast focusing and crystal clear.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL100400GM 23 August 2021 by Mirpy1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So I’ve been using 3rd party lenses for some time and been happy for the majority of the time. I decided having bought a new Sony full frame camera, it was time to invest in a top quality lens so went with my first G Master. All I can say is WOW! The difference between 3rd party and more premium glass is on another level.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Perfect lens for getting closer to things

SEL100400GM 07 August 2021 by Del25 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens to enable me to capturer things that I was unable to with my previous zoom lens, I have not been disappointed. It is heaver that I expected, however that is also a good thing, in that it's mass makes it more stable to hold however a good tripod is a useful accessary.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Lens

SEL100400GM 08 July 2021 by Gordon1961 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perfect for my uses and tack sharp with lightning focus speed. If you are looking for this lens, don't hesitate. You won't regret it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL100400GM 01 July 2021 by Jones79 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a considered purchase but worth every penny

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL100400GM 22 June 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this lens for just a month and so far it has been outstanding. Fast and accurate with superb image quality, just what I need to take wildlife photographs in any light. Thanks Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony GM Lenses are Truely Grand Masters lenses

SEL100400GM 21 June 2021 by DrRaj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens few weeks ago. I went out to test this lens today in cloudy day. Took few snaps. What is my impression. Build quality is great. Doesn't feel heavy in hand but eventually you feel it. As paired with my A7R4M its cumulative 2kg. 1.4 kg from lens.Lens zoom part relapse if set on smooth. However if you turn ring towards tight it hold well. Focus is quick but if you have used GM lenses you may feel its not quickest .I think 200-600mm G OSS and 70 to 200mm GM OSS are faster. Works well at 3ft distance in case you wanna shoot something up close. Optics are sharp, but not as sharp as 70-200mm GM OSS.Low light performance is reasonable. Bokeh is creamy. Lens produces superb detail. Noise is very little on high shutter speed even in low light and hand held.Colour reproduction is excellent. When I compare image quality with my SONY FE 24-70GM or FE 70-200GM I feel that its a bit less sharp in detailing. Very difficult to quantify. Its not that its not sharp. Its a great lens I dodnot experience chromatic abrassion. There was no vignetting.Corners maintains sharpness.I have not shot a very tall linear building hence cannot talk about linear distortion. Although it maintained alignment and sharpness when I covered a wide brick wall.Unfortunately I deleted those image. For wild life many times I felt like missing my 200-600mm. But I changed to APSC mode and it was on job again. I didnot felt any loss of quality.It wins on its small length. One can pack 3 lenses and go. As it all fits in small backpack or camera bag unlike 200-600mm G OSS. What is my final opinion, Yes I would buy it, but price is hefty. I would like it to improve at par with FE 70-200mm GM lens. Here I am attaching you few pic from my todays shoot. I used apple photo to edit it. Please leave your comment for me to look into your experience. Its my early review.Thanks for read.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

top notch lens

SEL100400GM 21 June 2021 by T old Lad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Better than I expected, auto focus very fast lock on focus excellent picture quality spot on this is a top notch lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Simply a great lens

SEL100400GM 04 June 2021 by Bashee (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens in March for wildlife photography and it has not disappointed, it is simply the finest lens I have ever owned. Thanks to its excellent image stabilisation it produces pin sharp pictures from its maximum 400mm extension even hand held. It is lighter than my previous lens of this size, important when out for a whole day in the field. Even cropped pictures retain a quality that is a significant cut above the norm. A brilliant product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

All in one

SEL100400GM 12 March 2021 by Gatekeeper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent lens purchased to accompany my A9 camera. Having already used the A mount version on a Sony A77 I was aware of the versatility of this lens for wildlife photography. Foreign trips with bulky 500 mm prime lenses are a thing of the past with no more bulky luggage and packing dilemmas . Excellent product combining all my photographic needs in one !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality product

SEL100400GM 24 September 2020 by TweePet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am extremely impressed with the quality of build and pin sharp focus of this lens. Bought for sport and wildlife, I have no regrets about splashing out - but perhaps I should not be surprised given all the good press around G Master lenses. It's true.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Fantastic lens

SEL100400GM 28 August 2020 by Meagain (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb lens, works so well with the a7r3. I was extremely impressed with the quality of this lens, ease of use,and the excellent pictures. Not too heavy either

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

beautiful wildlife lens

SEL100400GM 25 July 2020 by Bammers54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

been using the 100-400mm with a sony 2x teleconverter on a 7M3, mostly photographing butterflies, dragonflies and the odd bird. Very impressed with the sharpness and the speed of the lens using autofocus. Excellent replacement for my old canon 5D and 300mm, 2.8 USM

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Amazing all rounder

SEL100400GM 08 July 2020 by Rich images (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I rented this lens several limes before buying it. I found it very versatile, the main thing that sold it to me is the auto focus on this lens is amazing. This lens has optical steady shot as well that allows you to get away with some very slow shutter speeds.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Switch to Mirrorless

SEL100400GM 18 June 2020 by Stew8351 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I chose this lens as it was the best choice for me to purchase along with the a7lll. I am delighted with the image quality and the Sony products have boosted my photographic experience. Still experimenting and enjoying the new learning curve.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

An excellent lens, with good features.

SEL100400GM 11 June 2020 by Bones1945 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens for wildlife filming. I usually work underwater with macro subjects, so land wildlife with a zoom was something very new. This lens has not disappointed, it is easy to use and not too heavy. So far the images and video I have produced are better than I had expected. It maybe sometime before I can get back under warm waters, so I will have fun with this lens in the meantime.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

On location shooting Eagles

SEL100400GM 13 February 2020 by Euphman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to take on a wildlife trip to Norway in January. I have the 100-400 but needed a little extra distance and did not want a ‘trombone’ mechanism to zoom. The lens was easy to transport and was no problem with my carry on back pack with airlines. Temperature on location was not extreme, -4degrees with snow and some showers. No problems with the lens functioning at all. I used the lens on a fixed gamble, hand held and in a boat across several Fjords. There were no problems using the lens hand held, the eye tracking and focusing was exceptional. My hit rates increased considerably with pin sharp images. I am very pleased with my purchase and the images I managed to take. An excellent lens for this type of shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Very versatile lens

SEL100400GM 29 August 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought this lens after lots of thought and I'm so glad I did, I previously had the 70-200 and x2 converter but this 100-400 is a much sharper option its not too heavy for the range either, ideal for hiking with your 24-70 and have everything covered

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Quality Lens

SEL100400GM 25 July 2019 by Cordless (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this lens two weeks used on the A7 iii pleased with results without a doubt a quality lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Fast focusing

SEL100400GM 20 July 2019 by Davey445 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this - replacing my Canon 5DMk3 camera with A7Mk3 and Canon equivalent 100-400 Mk2 lens. For me - as a wildlife photographer - focus acquisition time / speed / accuracy is key. My new Sony camera + lens combination meets all my needs, plus providing a “complete integrated package” with following additional benefits . . . . . . ** superb sensor performance, not seen on Canon SLR cameras ** excellent low light capture, matching any SLR performance ** superior focus tracking ** burst shot rate equivalent only to expensive SLRs. ** small, light & compact camera footprint / unlike this lens which is solid but weighty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

A brilliant lens, excellent quality and optics

SEL100400GM 13 July 2019 by Pat JF Kernow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been upgrading my system to full format and this lens completed the upgrade. It was an excellent choice. A very good lens optics and response are very good, tracking with the A7iii is superb. This gives me the longer focal options for the photo choices I make. Excellent lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Another superb lens

SEL100400GM 22 June 2019 by Broono (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb quality both in build and image. Perfect companion for my A7r3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Compact and sharp

SEL100400GM 22 June 2019 by aamirsab (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a couple of weeks back to give me extra reach

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Masterful lens

SEL100400GM 29 May 2019 by JulianS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very good all-round lens as well as excellent performance as a telephoto lens. Versatile and adaptable in a range of conditions. Image quality produced is excellent and I am very pleased with it so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Incredible lens

SEL100400GM 21 May 2019 by angelsodyssey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently switched from Canon to Sony but kept all my Canon L lenses. I was so impressed with my A7RIII that I sold all my good lenses for the 100-400mm GM – I am not disappointed! This lens is super sharp and the focusing is very fast. I mainly photograph wildlife and this lens is perfect for the sort of environments I photograph (mainly around ponds and woodland). The OSS seems to work very well, and I have no problem shooting at 400mm handheld. Having the programmable button(s) on the barrel is fantastic and it is great being able to have focus lock right where I am holding the lens. The only downside is the colour (not the best for wildlife photography), but thankfully there are third party neoprene camouflage sets available. While it is an expensive lens, you get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Fast focus & pin sharp

SEL100400GM 10 May 2019 by JLS1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Delighted with the quality and performance of this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Excellent image quality

SEL100400GM 11 April 2019 by Photo2001 (United Kingdom)

Had this some time, excellent image quality, fast focus, well made. Expensive but good things are.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Superlative

SEL100400GM 20 March 2019 by Steveah (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Phenomenal long distance image quality when paired with my A7Rii I have been a keen photographer for over 30 years, using some seriously good kit and this lens still managed to blow me away with its results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

great quality

SEL100400GM 13 March 2019 by merlot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

it has improved my photography know end and renewed my enthusiasm

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Very sharp and fast

SEL100400GM 11 March 2019 by Jellybelly1960 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The first time I used this lens I was shocked on how sharp and fast it was the lens produces great quality images and well worth the price I paid I would definitely recommend this lense

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Outstanding sharpness from a super telephoto

SEL100400GM 26 February 2019 by DavidHogg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used the original Canon 100-400 lens before and always knew that its sweet spot was around f/8 or thereabouts ... but by contrast this lens seems to be razor sharp wide open at any focal length! It's truly astonishing ... the sharpness at f/5.6 at 400mm is as good as you'd get with a 400mm prime. If you can afford it, go for it, there's no way you will be disappointed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Good

SEL100400GM 22 February 2019 by worldaviation4k (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the sharp and clear quality. I used it on my Tokyo Haneda Airport live streams at night time (the ones that look brighter as i used to switch sometimes to my camcorder) for my worldaviation4k channel

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL100400GM 19 February 2019 by dnfb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is focuses very quickly and has amazing resolution

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Great

SEL100400GM 16 February 2019 by kimkim90 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Is a great great just expensiv I recommend to evryone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Sharp and clear at times

SEL100400GM 16 February 2019 by Go britexit (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I changed my set up from a canon to Sony last year. Generally you can get some really sharp images with this lens, yet one of the most frustrating parts I find as it’s a variable length same with the Canon L series variable lens, is that that it doesn’t hold securely when you change the length of the lens. The lens is quite heavy to compliment the mirrorless range of full frame cameras.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Ultra fast to focus and tack sharp even at 400mm

SEL100400GM 10 February 2019 by DMTh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharp at every length, and super fast to focus when paired with my A9, this is a very versatile tele zoom. It's great for picking out detail in general shooting as well as the obvious use in wildlife and sport. No compromises here!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A super lens, right in there and as sharp as a pin

SEL100400GM 03 December 2018 by Mark Poly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A lot sharper than the Zeiss lens that I bought with the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

superb lens.

SEL100400GM 19 October 2018 by Frank171 (United Kingdom)

Always had a 200mm lens but upgraded to the 100-400 cant rate it enough, super fast and pin sharp focusing, a superb companion for the A7riii. Amazing results, and very acceptable with the 2x converter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fabulous resolution and clarity

SEL100400GM 14 October 2018 by MarkM (United Kingdom)

Very impressed, even with the 1.4 teleconverter, image sharpness and focussing is impressive

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL100400GM 27 September 2018 by Mel1of4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use with a7rii and have added 1.4xs converter. Reducing to APC delivers as much as 896mm focal length at f8. Autofocus can still cope and I have good results. The lens is even manageable hand held. Do not be greedy and go for 2xs converter unless you have the a9. A7 and 2xs will drop to f11 and you will be manually focusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great Lens

SEL100400GM 31 August 2018 by Bob_Riach (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens works well with the A9 still waiting fro the 1.4 extension the lens is also not heavy to carry

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Brilliant for wildlife.

SEL100400GM 28 July 2018 by Robonova (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just the job for nature walks because you can use it for distant birds etc. or because it focuses so close at 400mm macro's of butterflies etc. & its light as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast and sharp lens for action photography.

SEL100400GM 06 July 2018 by BikeVisionScotland (United Kingdom)

Used this lens for the first time for action-shots four days ago. The results are amazing, even when used during sunset. All at 400mm f5.6 1/1000sec ISO640.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

0

0

Super sharp lens

SEL100400GM 17 June 2018 by Humfan1943 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An expensive but high quality lens that works well with the Alpha A7R3 giving good auto focus performance and good sharpness, colour rendition and contrast. Works well with the 2x converter. A good lens for wildlifeif you can afford it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Amazing lens. Far better than my previous 600mm

SEL100400GM 15 June 2018 by Maaggiem (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best lens I have bought. Picture quality and sharpness is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Top Class

SEL100400GM 01 May 2018 by Elem (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best super telephoto zoom for your E-mount Sony. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sports and wildlife lens

SEL100400GM 20 April 2018 by Chutch (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens together with the 2x extender for most of my nature and distance work as it is an ideal combination ie a 200-800mm lens. I am well pleased with this purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Exceeds expectations

SEL100400GM 09 April 2018 by G1ITV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tremendous capability for hand held use in Bird photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic IQ

SEL100400GM 08 April 2018 by Viramati (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens mostly for landscape use and I have to say that the IQ that it delivers even at wide open apertures across the frame is simply stunning. Focus is very fast and silent and is still good in low light on the A7rIII. Build quality would appear to be excellent and all the controls are well placed. It is not a small or light lens but that is to be expected. My only serious issue with it is that they have not included a zoom lock as my 70-300 G lens had and this means that even when set to the 'tight' position front of the lens can extend if it is hung at your side and you are walking about. There are work arounds to solve this but I would have thought that on a GM lens they would have thought of this. Apart from this it is indeed worthy of the GM rating and though expensive (as all Sony lenses are) I am happy to have it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best Buy

SEL100400GM 06 February 2018 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hard to believe that this is a 100-400mm lens the weight is great after having had other manufacturers.Using it on a A7mk2 not the fastest but at the moment suits my needs.If you have the A9 I envy you because this would be stellar if you can afford it go for it you will not regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great quality Lens and perfect weight.

SEL100400GM 06 January 2018 by Topper1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

At last a 400mm lens I can use with my Sony Alpha 6500.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Excellent Quality Lens

SEL100400GM 11 December 2017 by Barbara_L (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owned the lens for about a month and have done quite a bit of hand held bird life and surfing photos. I am delighted with the quality at all focal lengths. Only negatives are the price, which is the most I have ever spent on a lens, and the weight, but I guess without that the quality of construction wouldn't be possible. Am yet to try it on the tripod.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Superb quality

SEL100400GM 09 September 2017 by MicroPete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been waiting for this lens for some time and the wait was worth it, fantastic optical quality and also excellent with a 2x, the only negatives for me is at f40 the images show any dust on the sensor and the A9 really attracts dust and there is an issue with manual focus when using back button focusing, I have highlighted to Sony and it should be fixed with a firmware update (the problem is not on the 70-200), still really love this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0