MRP

Rs. 139,990

(incl. of all taxes)
23

4.9 based on 23 customer reviews

21
2
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

23 Customer Reviews

0

So easy to use.

SAL70400G2 16 February 2019 by the coddy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I travelled 400 miles return trip to get this Lens as it was the only one in the UK, and did not want it Being bumped about in delivery, worth every penny in fuel. I some times use a third party converter with it and it holds at F8. WELL WORTH THE MONEY IF YOU CAN AFFORD IT.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Pin sharp

SAL70400G2 07 February 2019 by Mal1958 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got to be my favourite lens, pin sharp, smooth fast auto focus and fantastic clarity. Replaced my faithful Minolta zoom for this with no regrets. Fabulous on my Sony a99ii and super long and just as good on my a77ii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great lens for nature and sport

SAL70400G2 16 October 2018 by TomSMCC (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to replace the mark 1 version that has given good service over the years from Svalbard to the Falklands and from Japan to Churchill. The new lens gives sharp results and good colour like the previous lens, but with improved autofocus speed. Here are a few photos with my new lens from a safari to the Masai Mara a week ago.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

3

0

Solid well made

SAL70400G2 23 August 2018 by Dons Sony (United Kingdom)

Great additional lens solid well manufactured with good features a little heavy so may need support of mono stand or tripod

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Stunning image sharpness and clarity

SAL70400G2 25 April 2018 by Aardwolf6886 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although I haven't had time yet to extensively use and test my SAL 70–400mm F4–5.6 G SSM II, the test shots I have taken with my a99M2 and a77M2 show fantastic levels of sharpness and clarity with great colour and contrast. The lens also autofocuses when using my 3rd party, Kenko Pro 300 2x converter on the a99M2. As I mentioned I haven't used it extensively yet, but my only slight gripe is, I find the balance a little front heay at 400mm on the a99m2 with batterie pack/grip.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Great Lens

SAL70400G2 14 January 2018 by DeLemmon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I own a number of Sony lenses that I am very happy with but eventually bought the lens I really wanted for wildlife (and other) photography. The build quality of this lens is very good. The auto focus is also very fast and quiet and the picture sharpness and quality gives you a professional grade super zoom lens. I would definitely recommend this lens to anyone wanting the best possible results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

sony 70-400mm f4-5.6 G

SAL70400G2 26 July 2017 by Caknow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A good lens, i use it for wildlife photography, the lens is easy to use, auto focus extremely fast and quiet .picture quality is excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Best telephoto zoom lens on the market for Sony.

SAL70400G2 11 March 2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Definitely the best zoom lens currently on the market for Sony. The build quality is excellent. The focusing is very quick and much faster than its predecessor. The focusing is also silent due to the SSM motor. Thee focus and zoom rings is very smooth to operate. All the photos I have taken so far with the lens has been tack sharp. The IQ of photos taken on the lens is not far off from prime lenses if not identical. The lens will complement any Sony camera and works particularly well with hybrid focusing system of the new Sony Alpha 99II. The photo of the squirrel was at 80% quality and heavily cropped.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

A Quality Product

SAL70400G2 15 September 2015 by thepars85 (United Kingdom)

Getting great results with this lens. Very sharp photos. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

Great

SAL70400G2 11 September 2015 by Heron (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it two months ago and its living up to all its expectations. It could do with a 1.4 converter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

sony 70/400mm with a77mk2

SAL70400G2 11 September 2015 by woody10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this lens a few weeks ,quick to focus great range.As a wildlife photographer good at tracking birds in flight with a77 sharp wide open

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

Excellent piece of kit

SAL70400G2 01 September 2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens to upgrade from my SAL70300G, and wow, what a difference! The 70-400 GII is fast and sharp even at the long end. It focuses nicely and can easily be used handheld as well as on a tripod. It is a pretty heavy lens, especially compared to the 70-300G I used before, but it's absolutely worth carrying that extra weight around.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

4

0

best lens ever

SAL70400G2 28 June 2015 by snapperoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i got the 70 > 400 just about 5 weeks ago & i am so glad i did , it is the best lens i have ever owned pic quality is second to none . Sony's done a real good job highly recommend this one .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

3

0

Superb lens

SAL70400G2 27 May 2015 by Joe801 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used this lens a few times now and am very happy with the results. Auto focusing is very fast and quiet, the build quality is excellent. I am very happy with the resulting images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

0

A great super zoom lens to have

SAL70400G2 30 April 2015 by Lukias (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I do a lot of birds in-flight shots and am one of those who like to travel light without having to carry any pods with me. The lens is reasonably well built, compact enough and coping well on both static and dynamic shots throughout the zoom range while handheld. The focus is fast and sharp. It works extremely well with both A77V and A77 Mk2 when it comes to locking on and tracking a fast moving subject. A great lens to have and am glad that I bought it. One little nag is that the lens is not weather sealed and doesn't has a zoom barrel lock. Therefore, when you carrying it around with camera facing downward, the zoom barrel will slide out on its own. A risk of surface dusts being drawn back into the inner housing when the zoom is pulled back in. Sample images below were all taken handheld.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

26

1

0

A BEAST OF A LENS

SAL70400G2 07 April 2015 by gunner004 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The lens looks good and is good. I find the auto focus very quick and effective even hand held and the lens is heavy. Not a lens to be carrying long distances hanging from your neck!! A dream to use on a tripod, very pleased with build and picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

new sony 70-400 mk2 ssm2

SAL70400G2 17 November 2014 by thorpy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought to replace sigma telephoto lens, i have already noticed how much quicker this lens focuses and how much better the detail is it was well worth buying this lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Astonishing sharpness

SAL70400G2 14 November 2014 by RickyD01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a supplement to my 70-200 f2.8 to get extra."reach" for those distant subjects. I did wonder about the logic of owning two zooms with similar ranges but this lens is so sharp it rivals my 24-70 Sony Zeiss so I am certain it was a good idea. I don't think its been off my camera since I got it, it's that good!

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

11

1

0

Great wildlife Lens

SAL70400G2 07 November 2014 by Goredolf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this specifically for wildlife and bird photography, so has proved great purchase with excellent build quality, fast autofocus and excellent colour reproduction on images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

0

A stunning lens

SAL70400G2 03 October 2014 by Robbo44 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens three weeks ago and have used it hand-held ever since. Despite the weight (although this is reasonable for this type of lens) I have had remarkably clear shots with nice bokeh. Expensive, but worth every penny, and adds a new dimension to my photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

The best Alpha 70-400 fit lens

SAL70400G2 19 August 2014 by morrigah (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant Lens. If you want the best 70-400mm for your Sony Alpha camera buy this lens. Third party lenses are cheaper but no comparison in image quality, build and focus speed. A must if you have A77 mark 2 camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

2

0

quality lens

SAL70400G2 31 July 2014 by the rat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to put on my sony a77mkii camera, all in all I think this is as good as any canon combo, l compare it to the eos 7d with 100 - 400 L which I also have, would definitely recommend the sony combo as superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

2

0

Excellent Image Quality

SAL70400G2 02 June 2014 by Davy793 (United Kingdom)

Excellent image quality at all apertures and focal lengths. Fast and responsive auto focusing but now need a camera that can keep up with it as my A99 is a bit slow in that department. The new A77 II might be the answer but it would appear that it is not as good as the A6000 in controlling noise at higher ISO's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2