DT 16–50 MM F2.8 SSM

Product Reviews

MRP

Rs. 44,990

(incl. of all taxes)
11

4.5 based on 11 customer reviews

6
4
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

11 Customer Reviews

0

Great zoom range for the low light.

SAL1650 14 October 2021 by 100625 (United Kingdom)

A bit bulky but I guess that's what you get if you want a F2.8 aperture. Love the zoom range for the low light capture. I'll always have this in my camera bag when I'm out shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My most used glass by far

SAL1650 15 December 2020 by Rayzee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perfect upgrade over my kit lens a Sony 18-55 sam II which at the time was ok but noisy when filming. This lense with 2.8 constant aperture is a dream to use, heavier than my old 18-55 but feels just right in the hand, on my a57 it feels well balanced with the body. Came without a UV protection filter and genuine Sony lens hood both of which are now resolved it looks the business. This is my first SSM lens from Sony and now will not be my last, it just sucks in the light and focuses quickly in almost silence. I say that because I have filmed with this lens and I cannot hear it change focus. Overall I love this lens and without a doubt this will be my most used glass in my kitbag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic Pocket Rocket

SAL1650 04 March 2020 by SCPH1000 (United Kingdom)

I've had this lens over a year now and even though it's for APS-C cameras - on my full frame A99II it is superb, really sharp images and near silent focusing. I use this for YouTube work, interviews, landscapes, portraits and general walking about lens. It's one of my best purchases to go with my A99II.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

ok

SAL1650 20 June 2019 by skred (United Kingdom)

i BOUGHT THIS 1 YEAR AGO. Its OK.. Need to try it with my old A55 to confirm quality.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Great lens.

SAL1650 15 July 2016 by Itfcsam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

4/5 because it's an awesome lens but it developed a fault just within the year. This being that the focus ring became a bit loose and could make the photo out of focus. Up until this point, I had used it all the time and will still use it all the time when it comes back (hopefully fixed in warranty.) Great lens though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Super Lens

SAL1650 29 January 2016 by MikeCL (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This gives me such a good range on my camera I'm sure it will be the most common I use. Lovely handle and excellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Quality Product

SAL1650 04 September 2015 by Darky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens 6 weeks ago. So far had excellent results with it. With aperture of 2.8f it is fast, it renders the colours beautifully. As mentioned in other reviews it is slightly heavy than 100 mm 2.8f lens. It balances in the hand well, I have stopped using a tripod, it is so easy to hold steady. Only grumble I would have is the lens hood that has been supplied. Cheap and very thin plastic. One slight drop and it cracked, had to be repaired by sellotape. I have not been able to bye a new one, it does not seem to be stocked any were. Sony please do sort the problem out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

1

0

Best kit zoom I've ever owned

SAL1650 04 May 2015 by DutchMikeM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife is very pleased with the portraits I get with this lens. It keeps up well with the grandchildren when I have the A77M2 in AF-C mode. It's brighter than the DT18-55 (mk 1) that came with my A55. The colours are good, and I haven't had any trouble thus far with ghosting. No zoom creep to report, either.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Superb piece of glass

SAL1650 16 March 2015 by Angelladee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is fast and sharp. I have done whole days crowd shooting after forgetting a flash gun. Silent focusing means you can use this lens for video. The weather sealed lens means you can have fun, its solid build makes it a little heavy, but f2.8 throughout its focal length makes up for it . My everyday lens and I will live with it forever.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

Kit lens

SAL1650 07 November 2014 by Goredolf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far only used occasionally but offers fast autofocus, build quality and images

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Amazing Results

SAL1650 09 August 2014 by Tiny (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

In January I upgraded from an a65 to an a77, and the SAL1650 kit lens. I had used the a65 exclusively with a SAL18250 and kept that lens for my new purchase. The SAL1650 is an exceptional lens matching the optical performance of earlier Minolta lens. Constant f2.8 aperture and a silent efficient focus motor make this lens a joy yo behold.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0