BLU-RAY DISC™ PLAYER

Product Reviews

MRP

Rs. 8,490

(incl. of all taxes)
65

4.3 based on 65 customer reviews

39
17
3
4
2
Performance

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sony BDP-S1500 Blu-ray player

BDP-S1500 06 March 2015 by tsl14 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First rate product. Only criticism would be time elapse & chapter should be shown.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Feature in older model missing from new model

BDP-S1500/BMIN5 05 October 2021 by Yateen (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

Dismayed that a feature supported by the earlier model (S380) -- to play DVDs of all regions, from 1 to 5 -- was not supported by what was supposed to be a newer model (S1500). I knew that it will play Blu Ray discs on only Region C, which was fine with me, but I expected the new model (S1500) to be able to play DVDs of all regions, as my older model of Sony Blu Player (S380) could. But this one (S1500) does not: what a waste. The model itself is fine, not a problem at all. But did not serve my purpose. I wish Sony had displayed this warning up front and more clearly: that S1500 it will play DVDs of Region 5 only.

Performance

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

65 Customer Reviews

0

Feature in older model missing from new model

BDP-S1500/BMIN5 05 October 2021 by Yateen (India) Verified Purchaser Verified

Dismayed that a feature supported by the earlier model (S380) -- to play DVDs of all regions, from 1 to 5 -- was not supported by what was supposed to be a newer model (S1500). I knew that it will play Blu Ray discs on only Region C, which was fine with me, but I expected the new model (S1500) to be able to play DVDs of all regions, as my older model of Sony Blu Player (S380) could. But this one (S1500) does not: what a waste. The model itself is fine, not a problem at all. But did not serve my purpose. I wish Sony had displayed this warning up front and more clearly: that S1500 it will play DVDs of Region 5 only.

Performance

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Does what it says on the can

BDP-S1500 19 August 2017 by PPLb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

High quality HD from DVDs. Have found extremely good in upgrading my home DVDs that were copied from 20yr old VHS tapes from an old analogue camera to end up almost like true HD. Have not tried the BlueRay yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great value for money

BDP-S1500 13 June 2017 by Dazjez76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The only down side to this product not enough apps other than that absolutely brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Small and great

BDP-S1500 08 March 2017 by jmw140 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this. I am a bit late to Blu Ray but this replacement for my Panasonic DVD player really hits the spot. I am impressed with ability to access the internet and various apps, still discovering the apps that I can get. Love it that I can get You tube on my Samsung.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Does exactly waht it says it will

BDP-S1500 17 December 2016 by Viridian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only minor problem is the remote which is poorly designed and non-intuitive

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great value

BDP-S1500 02 October 2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it to replace my game console for the time being and I'm loving it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Solid performer

BDP-S1500 22 September 2016 by Gilh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although one of the lower end Sony Blu-ray players, it's a reliable performer with no weaknesses and gives a great picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

nice and small perfect for bedroom

BDP-S1500 14 August 2016 by soxs1710 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for my sons bedroom - great size and simple to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Updated my DVD player

BDP-S1500 28 May 2016 by Batchy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as my present Sony DVD player was not Blu-Ray

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great picture quality

BDP-S1500 25 May 2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

it is light and very easy to understand the instructions

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sony Blu-Ray DVD Player

BDP-S1500 26 April 2016 by Grotty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the best DVD I have brought very easy to set up picture is perfect

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Didn't work

BDPS1500 13 April 2016 by Jaknolly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It wouldn't open so returned it and bought an LG. That one is brilliant.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

6

0

Great Features!

BDP-S1500 12 April 2016 by Flamenco16 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so happy I bought this blu ray player. It's features are brilliant. It has online connectivity and has a great range of apps such as iplayer; Netflix; Amazon video; Curzon Cinema; etc. It plays blu ray and upgrades DVD discs to much higher quality. my previous blu Ray player had started to slow down, it was one of the first models and unlike this one had no online connectivity so it couldn't be updated like this one. It is really easy to check for updates to the software. A brilliant blu Ray player with excellent features and apps, I am delighted with it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Terrible remote control

BDP-S1500 29 March 2016 by RRPP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is far to easy to press the wrong button by mistake (especially that awful Netflix button which dominates the remote), strangely causing the DVD/Blu-ray to start again from the beginning rather than simply continue.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great replacement for our old Sony DVD player

BDP-S1500 26 March 2016 by Aust1603 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great replacement/upgrade from our old Sony DVD player to a Blu ray player. Small, compact & value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great, tiny blu-Ray player!

BDP-S1500 18 March 2016 by KerryC18 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this around a month ago and am very pleased with it. The up scaling of DVDs is very impressive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Not bad, has netflix and lovefim !

BDP-S1500 11 March 2016 by Brydeca (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's not too bad, it's a bit noisy and can be slow. It has Netflix and Lovefilm which work great so am very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent pictures and sound

BDP-S1500 12 February 2016 by Churton (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought the product about a month ago and in many ways it is excellent. It converts DTS sound tracks to Dolby Digital so am able to hear the sound-track of Blu Ray discs that do not have a Dolby Digital one. I have two minor complaints however. When the disc is stopped part way through, it does not restart from that place and the digital output stays live even when the player is turned off. This means that I have to unplug the player when I want to use the optical input of my digital to analogue converter. So I would give the player a score of 8 out of 10.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fantastic range of sound options

BDP-S1500 08 February 2016 by 12345678 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owned for about a month now. Very pleased with sound adjustment options as i struggle hear treble on other systems i have tried and returned including bose and cambridge. I can now hear the clarity of treble along with a strong deep base. Well done Sony. Remote functions are fiddly but I'm sure i'll get used to it

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Worked out of the box

BDPS1500 05 February 2016 by Endomongo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had read other reviews of this and though most seemed happy, a few had problems updating. I had no problem, and when I checked on update, I was simply told "up-to-date". I am very impressed by what Sony have managed to cram into such a small box, and the ability to access the internet is a great plus. Very good price, too. My only niggle is that it is not multi-zone as I have some DVDs from the USA and I was able to program my old player to use those - I still have it and will continue to use it for that purpose.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Super sleek

BDP-S1500 25 January 2016 by Helmey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this couple of weeks ago it's small so doesn't take up much room the picture is fab it does a lot more than are old one just need to connect it up +excellent value for money on a Sony happy days!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for the job required

BDP-S1500 23 January 2016 by dapper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works just fine, does the job perfectly, a quality blu ray player

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony excellence!

BDP-S1500 23 January 2016 by Howie31 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my umpteenth Sony purchase over the years ,thank you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Budget Performance

BDPS1500 22 January 2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product has surprised me greatly.For the price, i have got a superb picture, & sound quality to match

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A+

BDP-S1500 19 January 2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Knew what features I wanted, therefore picked this!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Blu-Ray Player

BDP-S1500 18 January 2016 by bgmusic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It has been a good replacement to my old DVD player with the additional feature of playing Blu-Ray discs. So far no issues, except that it does not remember the last play position of the last Blu-Ray disc - that may be a Blu-Ray disc issue not the player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

As expected

BDP-S1500 17 January 2016 by getlost (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As with other SONY product purchased this met all my requirements and expectations

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value Player

BDP-S1500 17 January 2016 by Compwitch (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought two of these to replace my previous BluRay players, which both mysteriously ceased to play BluRay discs at the same time. Compact and bijou, this player is excellent value for the price, and has so far performed flawlessly. The network and USB ports allow me to access my media libraries easily, and it even accesses my 3Tb USB drive, which my previous players would not, as they had a 2Tb limit. Playback from disc or media file is flawless, and 'net access is easy, with a reasonable range of apps available (although not, as yet, the BFI player), and a dedicated Netflix button on the remote. The only small niggle I have is that there is no clock/play-time display on the fascia, but this can be easily accessed via the Info button on the remote, so not a deal breaker. The Info button also displays video/audio bitrates and other file info. The player is very easy to set up, and updates firmware/software automatically on first start. All in all, a great value and compact player, which I have no qualms in recommending.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0