Article ID : S500028973 / Last Modified : 11/04/2018

Why are the images displayed on the LCD automatically when the computer is connected to an external display?

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

When an external display is connected to the computer, the images will be displayed on the LCD automatically.

This is because the Plug & Display function is enabled by default. This function allows the computer to display images in an external display right after the connection.

Please make the following settings in Sony Notebook Setup to disable this function.

Note: Please ensure administrator rights to perform this setting.

1. Click Start, go to All Programs -> Sony Notebook Setup -> Sony Notebook Setup.
2. Click the Plug and Display tab and disable th Enable automatic output function option. Click OK.

The following settings are also available with the Enable automatic output function:

1. Enable display on the notebook's LCD and the external monitor.
With the option set to On, this will allow images to be displayed on both the notebook and the external display simultaneously.
If this option is set to Off, images can only be displayed on the external display.

2. Show Display Switching window when external display is connected.
With the option set to On, the display switching window will be shown when connected with an external display.
If this option is set to Off, the display switching window will be disabled when connected with an external display.

3. Show balloon when external display is connected.
With the option set to On, the balloon indicator on the task tray will be displayed when connected with an external display.
If this option is set to Off, the balloon indicator on the task tray will not be displayed when connected with an external display.