Article ID : 00155083 / Last Modified : 11/04/2018

PlayMemories Online Support Page

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article



Account Information

Can I use my Personal Space account for PlayMemories Online if I have not updated my account to a PlayStation Network (SEN) account?

You can use it, but it is recommended to update to a PlayStation Network (SEN) account before using PlayMemories Online.

When should I update my Personal Space account to a PlayStation Network (SEN) account?

There is no specific time limit, but it is recommended to update to a PlayStation Network (SEN) account as soon as possible.

I already have a PlayStation Network (SEN) account. Can I use it for PlayMemories Online?

Yes, you can. If you have a Personal Space account that has not been updated to the PlayStation Network (SEN) account, please finish updating your account before using PlayMemories Online.

I cannot update my account to a PlayStation Network (SEN) account.

If the message "An account with this e-mail address already exists." appears, visit the PlayMemories Online website (http://playmemoriesonline.com) and update the account from the [Sign In] screen.

I cannot sign in with my PlayStation Network (SEN) account.

If you use PlayMemories Home older than Ver.1.3, please update it to Ver.1.3 or later.

I forgot the password to my account. How can I retrieve it?

In order to retrieve your password, visit the PlayMemories Online website (http://playmemoriesonline.com) and click on the "Forgot Your Password?" link. Enter your registered e-mail address and you will be sent an e-mail with a link to reset your password.

If I update my Personal Space account to a PlayStation Network (SEN) account, can the recipients of my share mails still view my images that were previously sent from the Personal Space account?

Yes, they can.


Storage

Is there any capacity limitation for the files uploaded to the PlayMemories Online website?

Each account has a 5GB storage space in total. The size of each file is limited to 200MB, but the number of files are unlimited.


PlayMemories Online vs. Personal Space

What are the differences between PlayMemories Online and Personal Space?

PlayMemories Online supports movies, uploading and downloading images/movies with a web browser and BRAVIA TVs that were not supported by Personal Space.

Can I view the images uploaded to Personal Space after it becomes PlayMemories Online?

Yes, you can.


Device Compatibility

Is there any difference in the functions of PlayMemories Online when used from the dedicated application and web browser on a device such as a Tablet?

Basic functions, such as Library, Albums, Friends and Postcards, are common to all PlayMemories Online interfaces. However, using the dedicated PlayMemories Online application for each device or operating system (i.e. Android, iOS, etc.) will provide a user experience optimized for each device.

Is there any difference in functions and operations of PlayMemories Online when used with Sony Tablet S-series and P-series?

The functions and operations are the same. However, because the P-series has two screens, the display format has the following differences:

  • When viewing in full screen, the images are always displayed in landscape mode in the upper screen.
  • When viewing in portrait mode, the lists of sharing groups and libraries are displayed on the left screen and the content list in displayed on the right screen.


Uploading and Downloading

Can I download images from PlayMemories Online?

Yes, you can. If the image is shared in the original size, you can select the size option (Small, Medium or Original) when downloading.


Sharing

If I share images with my friends, do they need to have a PlayStation Network (SEN) account?

Images will be shared as an Album or Postcard, and those images can be viewed by recipients even if they don't have a PlayStation Network (SEN) account. However, if they want to use the PlayMemories Online application (i.e. Android, iOS, etc.) to view the images, they need to have a PlayStation Network (SEN) account. Applications can be used free of charge.

If I share images with my friends, can they download the images, in addition to viewing them?

Yes, they can download the images using a web browser if they have a PlayStation Network (SEN) account.


Troubleshooting

When I deleted the Postcard after sending it to my friend, my friend cannot view the Postcard any longer.

The Postcard function only shares the online image with the recipients. It does not actually send the image. Therefore, if you delete the image online, it will not be accessible to the recipients. If you want to keep the images accessible for the recipients, do not delete the online image.