Article ID : 00144927 / Last Modified : 11/04/2018

What is the difference between Reset Default / Camera Settings Reset and Factory Reset / Initialize?

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

NOTE: The functions that can be selected differ depending on the camera.

  • Reset Default / Camera Settings Reset function

    Only reset the shooting settings of the camera to their default settings.

  • Initialize function

    Reset the settings that the Reset Default / Camera Settings Reset function does, as well as other functions like Date/Time Setup and Wi-Fi Settings. In addition, the Initialize function also deletes information stored in the camera such as registered faces, registered AF micro adjustments, file numbers, and downloaded applications.

  • Factory Reset function

    Reset all the settings that the Initialize function does, as well as AF Micro Adj..

NOTE:
  • Do not turn the camera off while resetting.
  • The camera may show a blank screen for approximately 10 seconds after performing a reset. This is a normal operation and not a malfunction on the camera.